March 28, 2024, 02:45:29 PM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs Bahamas Game (5-Jun-2021)  (Read 18777 times)

Re: Thread for T&T vs Bahamas Game (5-Jun-2021)
« Reply #30 on: May 28, 2021, 11:38:54 AM »
WATCH: More positive COVID-19 test results on eve of National Team's departure for World Cup Qualifiers

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/qsP2-6Tp0TM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/qsP2-6Tp0TM</a>

they can call up ranjitsingh

YESS!!!!!
dont know what the hold up is about

« Reply #31 on: May 28, 2021, 12:06:43 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago's 28-man roster for Concacaf World Cup Qualifiers against Bahamas Flag of Bahamas on June 5th and St. Kitts and Nevis on June 8th.

« Reply #32 on: May 28, 2021, 12:13:47 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago's 28-man roster for Concacaf World Cup Qualifiers against Bahamas Flag of Bahamas on June 5th and St. Kitts and Nevis on June 8th.

Ranjitsingh and the 2 players from the CPL  - Garcia and Rampersad should be in the mix long time...

wonder how come no queries on them...

« Reply #33 on: May 28, 2021, 02:53:02 PM »
This is the weakest player pool I have ever seen .....

« Reply #34 on: May 28, 2021, 03:43:14 PM »
GG III. really!?

« Reply #35 on: May 29, 2021, 12:18:08 AM »
Maybe so, but is Bahamas an St Kitts we playing.. Lawd, don’t make meh eat dem words...joe King.. look ah taking it back.  Is meh only card this rounds. :yellowcard:

« Reply #36 on: May 29, 2021, 05:42:39 AM »
what is the difference from this squad and the last squad that we travelled with the last time? the same starting eleven and subs are in this squad,

GK fenderup, david, bateau, primus, hackshaw.

hyland, levi garcia, jovin jones, danial phillip, poon angeron.

ryan telfer.

same starting eleven and only a few subs were left out like marcus joseph (who's yet to score a competitive goal, willis plaza, another no goal contributor, andre boucaud and brent sam) in fact we have a better front line sub in danial carr and andre fortune, so where's the big loss??

« Reply #37 on: May 29, 2021, 06:17:18 AM »
Didn't the MoS state that all the players - for whom passports were requested - have received passports?

Who falls in that category? All the players listed in that graphic have held a TT passport previous to this round.

That aside, presumably JW has resolved his passport issue?
« Last Edit: May 29, 2021, 06:25:47 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #38 on: May 29, 2021, 06:36:41 AM »
Now that we've seen the squad, how are those Bahamas 5-0 and 7-0 expectations?
« Last Edit: June 03, 2021, 06:28:36 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #39 on: May 29, 2021, 07:38:27 AM »
Reaction to the squad selection

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/xKs13Ye5nJ8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/xKs13Ye5nJ8</a>

« Reply #40 on: May 29, 2021, 07:39:41 AM »
what is the difference from this squad and the last squad that we travelled with the last time? the same starting eleven and subs are in this squad,

GK fenderup, david, bateau, primus, hackshaw.

hyland, levi garcia, jovin jones, danial phillip, poon angeron.

ryan telfer.

same starting eleven and only a few subs were left out like marcus joseph (who's yet to score a competitive goal, willis plaza, another no goal contributor, andre boucaud and brent sam) in fact we have a better front line sub in danial carr and andre fortune, so where's the big loss??

No i am comparing the playerpool we have now  to previous WC campaigns....Well  the local league is not playing and there seems to be no good  foreign born players. so fenwick has limited options .however  if he can call up dan carr gary griffith 3 and jesse williams etc  he could have called/looked at the LH rangers players becuase they are also training .. let see if the campaign last beyond the home and away games in june because i am yet to be convinced ....................

« Reply #41 on: May 29, 2021, 08:14:46 AM »
Maybe so, but is Bahamas an St Kitts we playing.. Lawd, don’t make meh eat dem words...joe King.. look ah taking it back.  Is meh only card this rounds. :yellowcard:
Yuh boy geh a lil bligh man! Would love to see him come on and get a lil sweat (put that canada callup talk to bed long before it start). He have tools and as you say- nice with the ball at his feet

« Reply #42 on: May 29, 2021, 08:16:17 AM »
Now that's we've seen the squad, how are those Bahamas 5-0 and 7-0 expectations?
GG-3 good for a goal in this one man! (after all that money spend!?!?)

« Reply #43 on: May 29, 2021, 11:17:52 AM »
TTFA saying Michael Poon-Angernon is unattached, but I've heard he's still under contract for Banfield?

« Reply #44 on: May 30, 2021, 12:32:08 AM »
Soca Warriors arrive in Nassau for W/Cup Qualifier.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

Members of the senior men's national team arrived in Nassau, Bahamas after midday on Saturday ahead of their CONCACAF World Cup qualifier against the Bahamas on June 5.

Coach Terry Fenwick and the home-based contingent checked into the Breeze's Hotel after overnighting in Miami, USA on Friday night. All members underwent their PCR Tests at the hotel before a light workout at the hotel facility on Saturday evening.

Belgium-based defender Sheldon Bateau was the first of the overseas players to join the squad in Nassau.

Soon after the team's arrival defender Robert Primus stressed the importance of the match, saying it will come down to who wants it more and who is more prepared.

"It's two do-or-die games and we need the six points, so we'll take it one game at a time and approach it as it comes. I believe everyone on board knows the importance of both games so I believe everyone is up and ready for the task ahead.

"It all comes down to preparation, who is more prepared, who is willing to work harder. We're going to show a lot of character in training, show what we want to do and go out there and get the points we need," Primus said.

The T&T team is in a precarious position in Group F of the qualifiers, in the second position with four points from two matches behind leaders St Kitts and Nevis who they will play in an expected virtual final on June 8 in Santo Domingo in the Dominican Republic.

The Soca Warriors need to win the group to advance to the next stage of the qualifiers, but they would first be required to get past the Bahamas on Saturday from 5 pm at the Thomas Robinson Stadium in Nassau.

The team will be without the services of goalkeeper Nicklas Frenderup, Jomal Williams and Luke Singh, all of who are unavailable for the Bahamas clash but will be on Fenwick's roster for the all-important St Kitts and Nevis encounter.

RELATED NEWS

No Bostock or Boucaud, but Fenwick picks Jomal, Julien, Singh, Orr and Griffith III in T&T 28-man squad.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Senior Team head coach Terry Fenwick made 10 changes to his squad from their last international match day window, as they head for crucial Qatar 2022 World Cup qualifying contests against the Bahamas and St Kitts and Nevis on 5 and 8 June respectively.

But they were not necessarily the ones he wanted, as, again, his attempts to introduce a series of United Kingdom-born players to his squad proved fruitless.

Fenwick openly courted former England national youth team midfielder John Bostock since his appointment, while he also tried to secure passports for defender Ryan Inniss, midfielder Kurtis Cumberbatch, and forwards Tristan Abrahams and Rory McKenzie.

Bostock, not for the first time, said ‘no’ to joining the Soca Warriors when it counted, while neither Inniss, Cumberbatch, McKenzie or Abrahams got their documents.

Regardless, there are a raft of fresh faces in the national squad as the Warriors face a series of must-win outings.

Pacy former national youth team full backs Shannon Gomez and Keston Julien are included, as predicted. United States-based midfielder Andre Fortune Jr was also recalled, after featuring in the national team’s 7-0 friendly defeat to the United States in January.

El Salvador-based flanker Jomal Williams and forward Daniel Carr, who is set for a move to the India third division, got maiden call-ups under Fenwick.

Versatile left-sided midfielder Nickell Orr, a former national youth team stand-out also received his first national senior team summons after helping Paeek FC win the Cyprus second tier competition. And ball-playing Toronto FC central defender Luke Singh is also in line to make his senior debut after competing at National Under-17 and Under-20 level.

Veteran Defence Force midfielder Hashim Arcia is also back in the travelling party for the first time since the United States outing, as are teenagers and former national youth team players Jesse Williams and Gary Griffith III.

Williams, a defender, and Griffith III, an attacking flanker, were both listed by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) as employees of Northern Ireland team Coleraine FC, although neither were registered by the team after failing to land work permits.

Griffith III is the son of Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith.

Ace US Major League Soccer (MLS) midfielder Kevin Molino, who moved from Minnesota United to Columbus Crew this season, again misses out due to injury. Molino has 21 senior international goals in 50 appearances but is yet to feature for Fenwick.

Otherwise, the players omitted from the Warriors squad that played in the last match window are: defender Leland Archer, midfielders Andre Boucaud and Jabari Mitchell, and attackers Sean Bonval, Marcus Joseph and Willis Plaza.

The 36-year-old Boucaud, who retired from the domestic game in 2019, was recently subjected to a failed protest by the Guyana and Puerto Rico football bodies due to his status as a player agent. However Fifa ruled that the protest was groundless.

The TTFA also acknowledged that three players were ruled out by positive Covid-19 tests.

“It must be noted that three players were deemed unavailable for selection after each individual returned two consecutive Covid-19 positive results this week,” stated the TTFA Media. “The TTFA wishes them a speedy recovery and will continue to monitor their recovery over the next few weeks.”

Wired868 understands that the three positive players are veteran goalkeeper Marvin Phillip, forward Brent Sam, and attacker Isaiah Hudson, although this remains unconfirmed by the local football body.

Once more, there was no sign of any players from the Terminix La Horquetta Rangers squad, which includes former national youth or senior team players Aikim Andrews, Isaiah Lee, Kadeem Corbin, Keron ‘Ballpest’ Cummings, Yohannes Richardson, and Keston George.

Rangers managing director Richard Ferguson has said his players are available for selection within the Fifa international match window but not for training with Fenwick’s local contingent.

The Warriors touring party will be led by captain Khaleem Hyland and includes defender Sheldon Bateau, attacker Levi Garcia, and utility player Joevin Jones.

“Looking around the world [at] the players that are available, that have reached out to me that want to play and represent their national team,” Fenwick told the TTFA Media. “It’s been fantastic the response that we’ve had. I’m pleased to bring them together.

“I’m delighted with the players that I’ve got on the ground in Trinidad and Tobago as well. They’ve been brilliant. I love them to death. They have showed lots of professionalism.”

The Warriors are without Singh, Williams, and Frenderup for their outing against the Bahamas. No official reason was given for the absences, although Wired868 understands that Frenderup has remained in Denmark to be with his girlfriend who is due to give birth.

The Bahamas have no chance to advance from the group, after losing 4-0 in both of their fixtures so far against St Kitts and Nevis and Guyana respectively. Fenwick will hope to give them another spanking in Nassau next week Saturday.

The English coach’s most intriguing selections, from a tactical viewpoint, may prove to be Gomez and Julien. In their earlier qualifiers, central defenders Aubrey David and Neveal Hackshaw played as full backs which left Fenwick’s team short of attacking thrust down either flank.

Gomez and Julien are both mobile and adventurous and more likely to bomb forward in support of, potentially, Garcia and Jones.

MLS full back Noah Powder only featured for a few minutes against Guyana while he skipped the Puerto Rico contest with a knee injury, but he can also offer offensive momentum to the team if needed.

It is possible Fenwick might switch to a 3-4-3 formation, which he used regularly at Central FC, in light of his current squad.

The Warriors leave for Miami today before heading to Nassau tomorrow. Trinidad and Tobago’s outing against St Kitts and Nevis will be played in Santo Domingo, as Covid-19 protocols on the twin island republic make the logistics of hosting an international match near impossible.

Remarkably, the Warriors’ road trip could last anywhere between 13 days and two months if they keep winning.

If Trinidad and Tobago defeat Bahamas and St Kitts and Nevis, they advanced to a two-legged playoff on 12 and 15 June against the winners of Group A for a place in the final eight-team group stage. At present, El Salvador and Montserrat are fighting to finish top of Group A.

The Warriors are already scheduled to face Montserrat in a 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup qualifier in Miami on 2 July and, should they win, will go on to face either Cuba or French Guiana in a second playoff for the Gold Cup group stage.

The TTFA, headed by normalisation committee chairman Robert Hadad, will be expected to provide team manager Adrian Romain and logistics manager Major Basil Thompson with the administrative support to get through two months on the road, in the middle of a global health pandemic, without issues.

The Warriors have played three matches under Fenwick so far, and tallied a 7-0 friendly loss away to USA, a 3-0 win over Guyana, and a 1-1 draw with Puerto Rico.

Team info listed as: club, age, caps/goals)

Goalkeepers:

Adrian Foncette (Police FC; 32; 16/0), Nicklas Frenderup (Ranheim—Denmark; 28; 4/0), Denzil Smith (W Connection; 21; 0/0);

Defenders:

Neveal Hackshaw (Indy Eleven—US; 25; 17/0), Justin Garcia (Defence Force; 25; 3/0), Sheldon Bateau (Mechelen—Belgium; 30; 44/4), Jesse Williams (Unattached; 18; 0/0), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa—Costa Rica; 30; 55/1), Radanfah Abu Bakr (Unattached; 34; 37/2), Robert Primus (FC Bengaluru Utd—India; 30; 9/0), Luke Singh (Toronto FC—Canada; 20; 0/0), Shannon Gomez (Sacramento Republic—USA; 24; 2/0), Noah Powder (Real Salt Lake—US; 22; 2/0), Keston Julien (FC Sheriff Tiraspol—Moldova; 22; 3/0), Joevin Jones (InterMiami CF—USA; 29; 79/9);

Midfielders:

Michel Poon-Angeron (Unattached; 20; 3/0), Duane Muckette (Unattached; 25; 7/0), Daniel Phillips (Watford FC—England; 20; 2/0), Khaleem Hyland (Al Batin FC—Saudi Arabia; 31; 89/4), Andre Fortune Jr (Memphis 901—USA; 24; 3/0), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force; 32; 13/1), Judah Garcia (Unattached; 20; 5/0);

Forwards:

Levi Garcia (AEK Athens FC—Greece; 23; 28/3), Ryan Telfer (Atletico Ottawa—Canada; 27; 9/4), Gary Griffith III (Unattached; 18; 0/0), Daniel Carr (FC Bengaluru—India; 26; 4/0), Nickel Orr (Paeek FC—Cyprus; 20; 0/0), Jomal Williams (CD Águila—El Salvador; 27; 19/2).

Trinidad and Tobago footballers arrive in Bahamas ahead of World Cup qualifier.
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday).

THE NATIONAL men’s football team touched down in Nassau, Bahamas just after noon on Saturday ahead of their FIFA World Cup Concacaf Zone Group F qualifier against the host nation on June 5.

The 28-man squad, under the guidance of coach Terry Fenwick, checked into Breeze’s Hotel after overnighting in Miami, US on Friday night. All members underwent their PCR tests at the hotel before a light workout at the hotel facility on Saturday evening.

Belgium-based defender Sheldon Bateau was the first of the overseas players to join the squad in Nassau on Saturday as they resumed their preparations for a pair of qualifiers.

The Bahamas fixture kicks off from 5 pm at the Thomas Robinson Stadium, Nassau. The national squad then travel to Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic for their clash against St Kitts/Nevis at the Felix Sanchez Olympic Stadium on June 8.

T&T began their 2022 qualifying campaign on March 25 by defeating Guyana 3-0 in the Dominican Republic. Three day later, however, they were held to a 1-1 draw by hosts Puerto Rico.

As it stands, St Kitts/Nevis lead the five-team group with six points, followed by T&T (four), Puerto Rico (one), Guyana and Bahamas (zero). The group winners will advance to the next round of qualifiers.

Upon arriving in Bahamas on Saturday, India-based defender Robert Primus (FC Bengaluru) said the team are in high spirits.

“We arrived safely and now it’s time to stay concentrated and get down to business. These games are very important as they are two do-or-die games. We need the six points but we’ll take it one game at a time and approach it as it comes.

“I believe everyone on board knows the importance of both games and I believe everyone is ready for the test ahead of us,” he said.

Primus said victories in both matches will come down to who are more prepared and who are willing to work harder.

“We are going to show a lot of character in training, show what we really want to do and go out and get the points we need. The coach laid (our plans) out very well at home in training. They know what the coach wants from them so I’m hoping they are ready as well to take on the task ahead,” he added.

Uncapped defender Luke Singh, winger Jomal Williams and goalkeeper Nicklas Frenderup will be available for selection only for the St Kitts/Nevis encounter.

Watch More Positive COVID-19 Test Results On Eve Of National Team's Departure For World Cup Qualifiers

Watch Trinidad & Tobago 28 man squad for Bahamas and Saint Kitts & Nevis World Cup qualifying REACTION!

« Last Edit: June 02, 2021, 10:35:07 AM by Flex »

Offline ffisback

« Reply #45 on: May 30, 2021, 02:53:49 PM »

While i am happy to see players like Keston Julien and Shannon Gomez finally getting a chance because they are the future but picking 11 defenders is not a good sign this tells me Terry Fenwick is in way over his head he is now going down the same part as Steven Hart going into a defensive shell hoping you might be able to get a result.

« Reply #46 on: May 30, 2021, 04:20:05 PM »

While i am happy to see players like Keston Julien and Shannon Gomez finally getting a chance because they are the future but picking 11 defenders is not a good sign this tells me Terry Fenwick is in way over his head he is now going down the same part as Steven Hart going into a defensive shell hoping you might be able to get a result.

What are your thoughts on the Arcia pick?

Offline ffisback

« Reply #47 on: May 30, 2021, 05:33:17 PM »

I saw him play under Dennis Lawrence and he did not do much to impress me I am surprised that Mathew Woo Ling is not in the squad since he is getting back to match fitness now.

« Reply #48 on: May 30, 2021, 05:53:12 PM »
Training Session

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/I6qOqnl7PrI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/I6qOqnl7PrI</a>

Foncette speaks

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/LxtnNlUfB0o" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/LxtnNlUfB0o</a>

« Reply #49 on: May 30, 2021, 06:01:52 PM »

I saw him play under Dennis Lawrence and he did not do much to impress me I am surprised that Mathew Woo Ling is not in the squad since he is getting back to match fitness now.

Woo Ling has a deep hole to climb out of.

If Arcia plays with a higher level of concentration and focus and mental toughness and makes decisions to put the opposition on the back foot maybe a helpful contributor. I find him too casual. But, he has a lot of ability although predictably very right-footed. Maybe playing with confidence and insistence ... more than just letting the game come to him would make a difference. He has more experience than Woo Ling. Given the state of play it makes sense. Not wowed by it though. Want him to lead by demonstration. He is years past the "potential" talk. He has to deliver on the offensive side of the ball because he's not exactly a defending general.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2021, 06:03:59 PM by asylumseeker »

Offline ffisback

« Reply #50 on: May 30, 2021, 07:08:27 PM »

Woo Ling has a deep hole to climb out of.

If Arcia plays with a higher level of concentration and focus and mental toughness and makes decisions to put the opposition on the back foot maybe a helpful contributor. I find him too casual. But, he has a lot of ability although predictably very right-footed. Maybe playing with confidence and insistence ... more than just letting the game come to him would make a difference. He has more experience than Woo Ling. Given the state of play it makes sense. Not wowed by it though. Want him to lead by demonstration. He is years past the "potential" talk. He has to deliver on the offensive side of the ball because he's not exactly a defending general.
Unfortunately at 32 Arcia does not have much time to grow he has miss the boat at 25 M W Ling can still get a lucky break.

« Reply #51 on: May 30, 2021, 07:51:52 PM »
Training Session

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/I6qOqnl7PrI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/I6qOqnl7PrI</a>

Foncette speaks

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/LxtnNlUfB0o" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/LxtnNlUfB0o</a>

This is a business trip. Work like it! Success to the Warriors today and forever!

« Reply #52 on: May 31, 2021, 12:28:46 AM »

I think the natural implications is 5 at the back with wingbacks, which can be quite attacking with the right players. There are a couple attacking-minded defenders in that list.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #53 on: May 31, 2021, 01:53:03 AM »

I think the natural implications is 5 at the back with wingbacks, which can be quite attacking with the right players. There are a couple attacking-minded defenders in that list.
I can see playing defensively vs St Kitts and Nevins but against Bahamas we should be running up the score line players like Daniel Carr and Levi Garcia should be scoring hattricks in that game.

« Reply #54 on: May 31, 2021, 04:54:58 AM »
Ah see GG II has been policing the Internet heaping venom on those who challenge III's selection or the appearance of impropriety and conflicted interests. He would have been able to keep that venom in reserve, for a proper public purpose rather than a private crusade, had the situation been managed more sensibly from the beginning. Ah well, too late for that now.

Maybe a goal or two from GG III versus the Bahamas will settle the debt. BUT doh get it twisted: the questioning shouldn't end.
« Last Edit: May 31, 2021, 05:04:15 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #55 on: May 31, 2021, 11:34:15 AM »
Foncette: We cannot take Bahamas for granted.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

T&T goalkeeper Adrian Foncette is warning that his team must not take the Bahamas for granted, as they go after six points from two matches over the coming week and a half in the FIFA/CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers.

The Bahamians are winless after two matches against St Kitts and Nevis and Guyana and will be hoping to break their losing trend against T&T on Saturday from 5 pm at home. The Soca Warriors, on the otherhand, cannot afford to drop any points if they are to finish at the top of Group F and advance as the only team.

Coach Terry Fenwick's men dropped two vital points against Puerto Rico on March 28, three days after they opened their campaign with an impressive 3-0 win over Guyana in the Dominican Republic.

Foncette, following a training session on Sunday said a victory against the Bahamians will help build their momentum going into the all-important match against St Kitts and Nevis on June 8.

With two wins in as many matches, the St Kitts and Nevis men are in the pole position and could need as simple as a draw against T&T, if they beat Guyana on Saturday as well.

"This game is one not to be taken for granted at all. It will be important for us, building our momentum going forward. So this is a crucial three points we need here. We need to minimise our mistakes including build from strength to strength, game to game, taking it from this one here and on to the others," said Foncette, a police constable.

The 32-year-old comes in for Marvin Phillips and Nicklas Frenderup, who are both unavailable for various reasons, said, is one of three players to have fallen ill. According to Foncette, who has 17 caps, he has been in that position before so he is not concerned.

The T&T team arrived in Nassau, Bahamas on Friday and has been accepting the overseas-based stars over the past few days. So far Foncette said things have been good in the camp and everyone is positive.

"It's good to see some of the guys coming back in after the little break that we had between the last set of matches, so we're just looking forward to the games at hand."

RELATED NEWS

Trinidad and Tobago footballers focused on busy week ahead.
T&T Newsday Reports.

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO goalkeeper Adrian Foncette said the entire squad must be ready for the challenge ahead as the players gear up for 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers, Concacaf Gold Cup qualifiers and potentially the Gold Cup in the next two months.

Following matches against the Bahamas in Bahamas on Saturday and versus St Kitts and Nevis in the Dominican Republic on June 8, T&T will travel to Ft Lauderdale, Florida to compete in the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup qualification tournament from July 2-6.

T&T will aim for a top-three finish in the qualification tournament to qualify for the Concacaf Gold Cup from July 10-August 1 in the USA.

T&T are second in Group F in the Concacaf zone of the World Cup qualifiers with four points after one win and one draw. T&T defeated Guyana 3-0 in their opening match on March 25, before being held to a 1-1 draw by Puerto Rico on March 28.

St Kitts lead Group F with six points. Only the top team will advance to the next round of World Cup qualifying.

Discussing the possibility of being on the road for the next two months, Foncette told TT Football Association media, “It is something that all our players need to be ready mentally and physically (for). We are not here on a vacation, we here for business. Going forward we just need to stay focused. We need to do what is required and everybody needs to do their part.”

Foncette said the short training camp leading up to the Bahamas encounter will be pivotal to the team’s preparation ahead of the two World Cup qualifiers.

“Is one (camp) that we really needed. We needed it for some time. We needed to be away from the general public and just be in a bubble, so that we could put our heads down and just get the work done.”

Foncette is expected to be the starting goalkeeper as Marvin Phillip in injured.

Foncette said, “Is unfortunate what happened to Marvin. I wish him a speedy recovery, but these things happen and whenever I am called upon to play I am always ready. I’ve been here before (and) it is always an honour to represent the country, it is just something to look forward to. It is nothing over the top. This is what we train for - to play.”

Bahamas are rooted at the bottom of the group, but Foncette said there is no room for complacency.

“To be fair this game is one not to be taken for granted at all. Is one that I think it will be important for us building our momentum going forward. These are crucial three points that we need here. We need to minimise on our mistakes (and) just build from strength to strength, game to game taking it from this one here to the next one and on to the others."

Watch Foncette focused on task ahead as T&T prepare for Bahamas

Watch SMNT Session Highlights - Day 2 in Nassau

« Last Edit: May 31, 2021, 11:36:26 AM by Flex »

« Reply #56 on: May 31, 2021, 04:02:21 PM »

I can see playing defensively vs St Kitts and Nevins but against Bahamas we should be running up the score line players like Daniel Carr and Levi Garcia should be scoring hattricks in that game.

I disagree on two parts - 1) 5 man defenses can be very attacking if the two wing backs attack properly, knowing they're covered. 2) Bahamas team is mostly US college and lower leagues, so they will have actually played games over the past year..

We should best him, but I worry.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #57 on: May 31, 2021, 05:15:08 PM »

I disagree on two parts - 1) 5 man defenses can be very attacking if the two wing backs attack properly, knowing they're covered. 2) Bahamas team is mostly US college and lower leagues, so they will have actually played games over the past year..

We should best him, but I worry.
While i agree with what you saying i don't see it working without a good #10 if there is not a good midfielder to give the ball to the wing backs its a waste of time.

« Reply #58 on: May 31, 2021, 08:32:40 PM »
Garcia and Rampersad invited to Trinidad and Tobago’s training camp for the WCQs
By Dylan Lawrence (hfxwanderersfc.canpl.ca)

Akeem Garcia and Andre Rampersad have been invited to join the Trinidad and Tobago’s Men’s National Team training camp for the CONCACAF World Cup qualifying matches this June.

Unfortunately Garcia and Rampersad won’t be joining due to Canadian travel visa restrictions. Although this may not be the desired outcome for the two Wanderers players, this shows great progress and growth for these promising footballers.

Garcia led the Wanderers in their inaugural 2019 season with 7 goals in 24 appearances. Adapting to the adjusted season format at the 2020 Island Games, Garcia won the Golden boot with 6 goals in just 10 games, each goal crucial to the success of the Wanderers 2020 campaign.

At the international level, Garcia earned his first cap for the Trinidad and Tobago senior team in 2015 in a friendly against Panama, coached by now Wanderers Head Coach Stephen Hart. Following strong performances in the Canadian Premier League, Garcia was recalled to the national side for CONCACAF Nations League matches against Honduras and Venezuela in October 2019.

Rampersad had yet to be called up to represent his native country, although all of his teammates, staff members and fans would say this is no surprise based on his recent form.

“Every player dreams to play for their country I would think. For me that’s one of the biggest things in my career, playing for your country. I want to represent the red, white and black to my full potential,” Rampersad said as he smiled.

Although he can now say he has been called up to represent his country, Rampersad will have to wait before he steps on to the pitch to represent the red, white and black. Hearing about Garcia’s invitation the previous year was added motivation for the 6’1” midfielder.

“Seeing him go to the national team was really inspiring for me, to do better because I know if both of us go to the national team, we can connect,” says the Wanderers skipper.

To add to Rampersad’s motivation, Jems Geffrard is another Wanderers teammate who has earned an invitation to represent his country at the World Cup Qualifiers and has already left Halifax to do so.

“Anytime one of our players gets the call from their country we want to honour that and do everything to support them,” said HFX Wanderers vice president of football operations Matt Fegan. “For Akeem and Andre, we’re working with Immigration Canada to get permission for their travel out and back to Canada. Sadly it didn’t come in time for this round but hopefully they can answer the call at the next opportunity. With a Canadian passport, Jems was able to travel more freely and we’re looking forward to seeing him in action for Haiti’s important World Cup Qualifiers and Gold Cup games.”

The club wishes Trinidad and Tobago’s Football Association the best of luck in their upcoming matches and their journey through the World Cup Qualifiers.

« Reply #59 on: June 01, 2021, 06:50:10 PM »
WATCH: Bateau eyes maximum points in the next two matches

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/6kJ2OD7TeWQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/6kJ2OD7TeWQ</a>