March 28, 2024, 06:18:25 AM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs Guyana Game (25-Mar-2021)  (Read 26229 times)

Re: Thread for T&T vs Guyana Game (25-Mar-2021)
« Reply #90 on: March 08, 2021, 12:52:04 AM »
Who Guyana and all the other countries running against. How many Big League players they have, who flying in for them, they throwing together a team just before ?  Can we scout them  ? Can we get games against the big teams they getting games against ? Are they as worried as us ?   

Breds, we can't even scout eligible overseas players, far less scout Guyana. This pandemic has thrown the entire world a googly(curve ball). The country with money and clout will do whatever it takes to get around barriers real and unreal. Look Comebol just cancelled their qualifications. The Euro clubs(the all powerful) flexing their muscles.
https://sports.yahoo.com/south-america-world-cup-qualifiers-174215370.html.

« Reply #91 on: March 08, 2021, 03:09:18 AM »
Who Guyana and all the other countries running against. How many Big League players they have, who flying in for them, they throwing together a team just before ?  Can we scout them  ? Can we get games against the big teams they getting games against ? Are they as worried as us ?   

Breds, we can't even scout eligible overseas players, far less scout Guyana. This pandemic has thrown the entire world a googly(curve ball). The country with money and clout will do whatever it takes to get around barriers real and unreal. Look Comebol just cancelled their qualifications. The Euro clubs(the all powerful) flexing their muscles.
https://sports.yahoo.com/south-america-world-cup-qualifiers-174215370.html.

At the core this goes to a problem and reality within international football and its management and governance. CONMEBOL has the stature to respond like this. Would CONCACAF be able to do that? Or have the cojones to do that? By extension, the participating members would be told to get on with it. A squeeze on the small men of international football that have players located at less influential clubs. Prestige of the clubs was a feature at the center of the FIFA policy.

Shifting the release policy on players during the international window, from favoring countries to favoring clubs, reduced the significance of federations coordinating policies with national governments. FIFA wreaked havoc on itself (and us) by transferring the burdens. The clubs should have been told the rules are the rules. Play with the players that are available to you. It happens with the Africa Cup. It should have happened in this instance.

The players that are waiting in the wings have multi-million contracts and huge infrastructural investments invested in them. The opportunity for other players to 'step up' was framed for moments such as this. Coaches all over the world have to tailor their cloth according to its dimensions. The same should apply here because this serves to widen the gap between footballing nations.

Where FIFA should be weighing-in aggressively is on aiding national competencies in bolstering quarantine protocols and vigorously injecting its prestige into return to play policies.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2021, 03:28:11 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #92 on: March 08, 2021, 08:47:24 AM »
 :thumbsup: asylum, I could not put it any better.

« Reply #93 on: March 09, 2021, 02:21:07 AM »
Cudjoe confident Soca Warriors will make winning start.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Shamfa Cudjoe, the Minister of Sport and Community Development says she is confident in this country making a winning start to its 2022 Concacaf Qatar World Cup Qualifying later this month against Guyana.

The Terry Fenwick-coached Soca Warriors will open their Group F round-robin home encounter against Guyana on March 25 in the Dominican Republic.

The "Soca Warriors" will then be away to Puerto Rico (March 28) in their next encounter; away to the Bahamas (June 5), and home to St Kitts and Nevis (June 8.).

Addressing members of the team after witnessing their 8-0 win over a Tobago’s Orange XI at the St James Police Barracks in St James on Saturday in a practice encounter, Minister Cudjoe said she was confident in the team going ahead.

She said, “I see the work being done and the guys are training and of course I know that conversations are happening at the level of the Normalisation Committee to get the team ready. Of course, we will like to see more co-operation and collaboration but these guys are hungry and ready to play and ready to win. And, I feel confident that they are going to go forward and we are going to play our very best and they are going to get the three points that we need.”

Concerning her presence at the match, the Tobago-born Minister Cudjoe said, “Today, I was invited by the Commissioner of Police, Gary Griffith to participate in this evening of celebration. I would say celebration for the national team rather than the Tobago team because we got some licks today 8-0.

“But I am thankful for the opportunity to interact with these guys and fellowship with them and talk with these football players and hear how passionate they are about the game, about seeing football being restored to its former glory and about getting ready for the international game and World Cup qualifiers and so on, I am excited."

Minister Cudjoe while acknowledging the off the field issues have left a sour taste in the mouths of locals, said like everyone else she was anxious to see the game in T&T get back to its glory days.

“Like I said to them football is everybody’s game, whether you played or never kicked a ball in your life, football is T&T’s game.

She said, “You know everybody feels like we are a part of it so as Minister of Sport it is in the best interest of the country and sports development and in football development to see that we settle down.

“As it relates to football there is a lot of rumbling taking place at this point in time but I am pleased to see that hope is still alive and that we have everybody on board, stakeholders on board, down to the COP on board. You know just trying to get in there and make the investment of your time, your talent and bringing them together in these friendly matches extending the reach and the love of the T&TFA to even Tobago."

She aded that, "The Government continues to make its investments and support T&T football.

“The records will show that over the years the amount the investment has been. So we stand ready to contribute to football and support football. Of course we are going through a really trying difficult time as it relates to Covid-19, as it relates to trying to have some level of normalcy amidst financial trials, amidst abiding by the health protocols and keeping these guys energized and those in the Semi-Pro and Pro football at home."

The Sports Minister also hinted that a restart to local professional football could be on the horizon adding, “I know right now the Pro League and T&TFA are having conversations about having a combined league, and we look forward to all the new ideas and strategies towards the resurgence of football.

“I met with Robert Hadad (Normalisation Committee chairman) and SporTT about some of the plans they are thinking about on the way forward for football and of course those plans are going to be discussed with the football fraternity to make sure that there is buy-in and we can all move forward harmoniously and peacefully. We need that in football and we as Government stand ready to support."

She continued: “We the fans are waiting, we are ready to see T&T in full effect once again and I call on all football players, stakeholders, associations, community groups and anybody who has any say in the football fraternity and, in the development of football in T&T, lets put our differences aside and really come together and plan a proper way forward."

The Minister citing one of the key areas for the disruption of T&T football said, “At the end of the day, over the years we have had management, poor management, mal-management and lack of management being a major cause for break down of football in T&T and we have to find a way to rebuild bridges and to mend all that has been broken."

She concluded that: "It’s a herculean task and it’s a lot of work to be done, every time I look at these gentlemen and I talk to them and I hear about the passion that they have, their plans and their dreams and their aspirations I am excited and we should get excited too and it makes us more willing to work and more willing to invest and I hope that that is the type of energy that runs throughout football fraternity if not for management definitely for the young men and women whose future depends on the beautiful game.”

« Reply #94 on: March 09, 2021, 08:46:53 AM »
Yes that good. Soundbites even. "Practice match for yuh money"   ;D :-[ :laugh:

Yuh know whah is a real practice match fuh yuh money? When the opponents pay for expenses.

Note the range of physiques ... to put it delicately. They put together something like $15,000 US to play Haiti's U-23s.

« Last Edit: March 09, 2021, 08:50:51 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #95 on: March 09, 2021, 12:14:17 PM »

Yuh know whah is a real practice match fuh yuh money? When the opponents pay for expenses.

Note the range of physiques ... to put it delicately. They put together something like $15,000 US to play Haiti's U-23s.

Lordie!. This sure eh normal times!

Online maxg

« Reply #96 on: March 09, 2021, 12:36:51 PM »

obviously that is ‘fete match for yuh money’. But why/how this Mexican Amateur team decided to give the Haitian youth a bligh. What’s the back story?

« Reply #97 on: March 09, 2021, 01:32:44 PM »

obviously that is ‘fete match for yuh money’. But why/how this Mexican Amateur team decided to give the Haitian youth a bligh. What’s the back story?

Comes down to the prince versus the paupers in world football. Ca$h needy federation that can't afford proper preparation. The opponents wanted to know what it felt like to wear NT colors with all the ceremonial observations. They lost 15-0. A return of a grand a goal.

« Reply #98 on: March 09, 2021, 01:35:26 PM »

Lordie!. This sure eh normal times!

Ent! It is despicable that federations are in financial dire straits when football generates so much money globally. There needs to be a rethinking of the allocatory model and a redistribution of resources.

Online maxg

« Reply #99 on: March 09, 2021, 02:48:34 PM »

Comes down to the prince versus the paupers in world football. Ca$h needy federation that can't afford proper preparation. The opponents wanted to know what it felt like to wear NT colors with all the ceremonial observations. They lost 15-0. A return of a grand a goal.
Got it. I would probably pay more than that to wear the colours long as it beneficial to someone and doesn’t affect my NT team standin or rep... Matter of Fact, we already did.... To some, might seem foolish, will do it again, but not indefinitely like a few has.

« Reply #100 on: March 09, 2021, 06:20:27 PM »
Maximo: ‘Jaguars’ can surprise T&T.
T&T Express Reports.

The Guyana senior men’s football team will be highly competitive against Trinidad and Tobago in its first FIFA World Cup qualifier fixture and has a good chance of delivering a surprise, according to “Golden Jaguars” head coach Marcio Maximo.

Guyana face Trinidad and Tobago away in Group F of the first round of CONCACAF qualifying on March 25, followed by a home match against the Bahamas on March 29.

The domestic-based squad is currently in training — five days a week — at the Guyana Football Federation National Training Centre in Providence.

“We have a good chance to deliver a surprise. Trinidad has a track record as participant of the World Cup before, but nothing intimidates us. We know that a difficult challenge awaits us but that is encouraging and motivating us to do better,” Maximo said.

“We go with a good possibility to make a surprise and we will be very competitive. You can’t predict a win but what you can predict is a competitive game. We hope that we will take full advantage of this game. It is not only Trinidad, it’s the Bahamas, St. Kitts and Puerto Rico. The qualifiers are not the starting or finishing with Trinidad so we should make a good start to motivate us for the rest of the qualifiers,” he added.

Only the winner of Group F progress to the second of three rounds of qualification for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar. Maximo said he was impressed with the level of commitment shown by the squad as players work hard to regain fitness and secure a place in the final squad, after a prolonged layoff due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

“If you train hard with intensity, with tactical discipline and technical discipline, and a physical effort every day, that is reflected during the match,” the former Brazil U-20 and U-17 coach said.

“With our locally-based group, I can see a big development, according to the commitment, intensity and knowledge. They are growing in each training session.”

The former Tanzania, Cayman Islands and Livingston coach supported the GFF’s policy of providing greater opportunities for domestic talent to break into the national squad, as well as bringing in the best overseas-based talent possible.

“Following the Federation’s policy, we need to give a chance to more local players to be part of the group. Internationally-based players are very important for us, with their experience, knowledge and tactical discipline, but together our group also has to be realistic about the development of football in Guyana.”

“Now more than 50 percent of the players are Guyana-based, so we are improving our local football as well as the hope of players to participate and even to go to international markets, especially the younger players.” said Maximo, who worked with Brazilian stars Ronaldo and Ronaldinho during his time with the Brazilian set up.

Maximo said he could sense an increased interest and level of support among the public as the World Cup qualifiers edge closer. “When we go in the street, or take a taxi, I see that people feel more interested in football. I see more people with more hope in the Golden Jaguars now,” he added.

—Courtesy Kaieteur News

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #101 on: March 09, 2021, 09:11:13 PM »
Maximo: ‘Jaguars’ can surprise T&T.
T&T Express Reports.

The Guyana senior men’s football team will be highly competitive against Trinidad and Tobago in its first FIFA World Cup qualifier fixture and has a good chance of delivering a surprise, according to “Golden Jaguars” head coach Marcio Maximo.

Guyana face Trinidad and Tobago away in Group F of the first round of CONCACAF qualifying on March 25, followed by a home match against the Bahamas on March 29.

The domestic-based squad is currently in training — five days a week — at the Guyana Football Federation National Training Centre in Providence.

“We have a good chance to deliver a surprise. Trinidad has a track record as participant of the World Cup before, but nothing intimidates us. We know that a difficult challenge awaits us but that is encouraging and motivating us to do better,” Maximo said.

“We go with a good possibility to make a surprise and we will be very competitive. You can’t predict a win but what you can predict is a competitive game. We hope that we will take full advantage of this game. It is not only Trinidad, it’s the Bahamas, St. Kitts and Puerto Rico. The qualifiers are not the starting or finishing with Trinidad so we should make a good start to motivate us for the rest of the qualifiers,” he added.

Only the winner of Group F progress to the second of three rounds of qualification for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar. Maximo said he was impressed with the level of commitment shown by the squad as players work hard to regain fitness and secure a place in the final squad, after a prolonged layoff due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

“If you train hard with intensity, with tactical discipline and technical discipline, and a physical effort every day, that is reflected during the match,” the former Brazil U-20 and U-17 coach said.

“With our locally-based group, I can see a big development, according to the commitment, intensity and knowledge. They are growing in each training session.”

The former Tanzania, Cayman Islands and Livingston coach supported the GFF’s policy of providing greater opportunities for domestic talent to break into the national squad, as well as bringing in the best overseas-based talent possible.

“Following the Federation’s policy, we need to give a chance to more local players to be part of the group. Internationally-based players are very important for us, with their experience, knowledge and tactical discipline, but together our group also has to be realistic about the development of football in Guyana.”

“Now more than 50 percent of the players are Guyana-based, so we are improving our local football as well as the hope of players to participate and even to go to international markets, especially the younger players.” said Maximo, who worked with Brazilian stars Ronaldo and Ronaldinho during his time with the Brazilian set up.

Maximo said he could sense an increased interest and level of support among the public as the World Cup qualifiers edge closer. “When we go in the street, or take a taxi, I see that people feel more interested in football. I see more people with more hope in the Golden Jaguars now,” he added.

—Courtesy Kaieteur News

Don't think this will e a surprise- in my opinion we are the u dergogs going into this campaign

Online maxg

« Reply #102 on: March 09, 2021, 11:42:00 PM »
They NOT beating us ! TF should play who he training, and make GG pass the ball.

« Reply #103 on: March 10, 2021, 02:45:35 AM »
TTFA still uncertain over warm-ups, departure.
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

AS the time draws closer to the pair of 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers, against Guyana (on March 25 in the Dominican Republic) and Puerto Rico (on March 28 in Puerto Rico), there is still uncertainty over warm-up matches for the T&T men’s football team, as well as a confirmed date for the squad’s departure to the Dominican Republic.

On Monday, T&T men’s coach Terry Fenwick bemoaned the lack of feedback from the FIFA-appointed normalisation committee, headed by Robert Hadad, with regards to friendly matches for the team, with two weeks to go before the qualifiers.

TT Football Association (TTFA) acting general secretary, Amiel Mohammed, said on Tuesday that talks are still ongoing over practice games and the scheduled date for the team to leave T&T.

About any warm-up games for the team when they get to the Dominican Republic, Mohammed said, “We’re still working on such and having those discussions with the coach.”

He added, “Our calendar is still in flux. We’re still organising with all of the logistics.”

With regards to when the team will be leaving T&T for the Dominican Republic, Mohammed said, “I can’t tell you off the top of my head when they will leave.”

Mohammed was also unclear if the T&T team will take up the offer from Terminix La Horquetta Rangers’ owner Richard Ferguson, to play a $100,000 winners-take-all friendly match.

“I can’t say at this point in time,” Mohammed mentioned.

« Reply #104 on: March 10, 2021, 05:26:24 AM »

Mohammed was also unclear if the T&T team will take up the offer from Terminix La Horquetta Rangers’ owner Richard Ferguson, to play a $100,000 winners-take-all friendly match.

There should NOT at this juncture be any lack of clarity regarding this matter - either from the perspective of logistical considerations or from the vantage point of institutional values.

After all that the TTFA has experienced prior to the NC, under a normalization committee, the TTFA ought to be projecting its public face of being a serious entity that does not equivocate on matters regarding institutional values. It should not be pirouetting or vacillating among internal/external stakeholders. This is NOT a hard call.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2021, 05:50:03 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #105 on: March 10, 2021, 10:29:56 AM »

There should NOT at this juncture be any lack of clarity regarding this matter - either from the perspective of logistical considerations or from the vantage point of institutional values.

After all that the TTFA has experienced prior to the NC, under a normalization committee, the TTFA ought to be projecting its public face of being a serious entity that does not equivocate on matters regarding institutional values. It should not be pirouetting or vacillating among internal/external stakeholders. This is NOT a hard call.
I think that we will have a decision by March 24. That's the Trini way. Then we blame Airlines, the passport office, the fans and everyone else we could find.

Online maxg

« Reply #106 on: March 10, 2021, 10:32:56 AM »

Maybe there is added fear in getting another 7, exposing even more flaws. I bet doh, if this game was taken when first offered, the practice game against US would have been more beneficial both strategically, tactically not to mention financially and selections, regardless if the score unluckily remained the same.
 Reminder of a old Jewish goalie fella who used to attend our practices (but wasn't part of our team) in all the best gears, training hard, disciplined, always on time, pull up in a beemer. Once practice game start he guaranteed to let in about every shot on net. Yuh see the ANALogy.

Online maxg

« Reply #107 on: March 12, 2021, 01:02:14 PM »
Who like this kit for a borrow, instead of the last one ?

« Reply #108 on: March 12, 2021, 05:02:36 PM »
Actually, I like the last kit!

Online maxg

« Reply #110 on: March 13, 2021, 09:30:28 AM »
How come Newsday has a photo of the day Nt vs Police , and we don’t know and no papers report ? Closed session?
How come police before rangers, they asked since August ? Or Fren ting with perks and payback? Maybe just a old photo ?

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/03/12/photos-of-the-day-mar-12/
« Last Edit: March 13, 2021, 05:22:02 PM by maxg »

« Reply #111 on: March 14, 2021, 06:37:18 AM »
How come Newsday has a photo of the day Nt vs Police , and we don’t know and no papers report ? Closed session?
How come police before rangers, they asked since August ? Or Fren ting with perks and payback? Maybe just a old photo ?

here you go

https://wired868.com/2021/03/13/fenwick-snubs-rangers-challenge-warriors-whip-police-fc-4-1-with-three-late-goals/

« Reply #112 on: March 14, 2021, 06:58:33 AM »
Primus was callup ... plays in india .....

« Reply #113 on: March 14, 2021, 07:44:52 AM »

here you go

https://wired868.com/2021/03/13/fenwick-snubs-rangers-challenge-warriors-whip-police-fc-4-1-with-three-late-goals/

NT players should NOT be coming out of an exercise such as this battered and bruised from reckless tackling.

Polished and gracious comments by Hood. Among the best he has delivered.

« Reply #114 on: March 14, 2021, 09:42:29 AM »

Indian 3rd Division at that

« Reply #115 on: March 14, 2021, 11:01:20 AM »

Indian 3rd Division at that

wow how far we have fallen.....i wonder what happened to them 12 elglish player ....
« Last Edit: March 14, 2021, 11:17:35 AM by Trini _2022 »

Online maxg

« Reply #116 on: March 14, 2021, 11:27:11 AM »

here you go

LHM.. thanks Mr Liburd and Trini_2022... and he want Intl warm up matches? I not feeling Fenwick at all, but will pray for our success.

« Reply #117 on: March 15, 2021, 12:43:36 PM »
Watford Academy Earns Three International Call-Ups

https://lastwordonsports.com/football/2021/03/07/watford-academy-three-international-call-ups/

The Watford Academy is not known as one of the larger youth set-ups in England. However, the Hornets’ recent investment into their development program is paying off. Three players from the Watford Academy have now received senior-international call-ups.

Watford Academy Sees Three Players Chosen For International Duty
Guyana Roster Bayli Spencer-Adams
Bayli Spencer-Adams spent the majority of his youth career with Arsenal. In the summer of 2019, he made the very short switch to Vicarage Road (only a hedge separates the two clubs’ training grounds!)

The 19-year-old made his senior debut for the Hornets in last season’s FA Cup Third Round. The centre-back, who can play at left-back if necessary, played 77 minutes in a 3-3 draw with Tranmere Rovers. However, two of Tranmere’s goals came as soon as he came off. He also played the full 120 minutes in the replay.

Watford sent Spencer-Adams on a short-term loan deal to National League side Dover Athletic earlier this season, where he made eight appearances. As a result, Guyana have taken note of his performances and chose to include Spencer-Adams in their squad for the upcoming international break. Guyana play World Cup Qualifying matches against Trinidad and Tobago and The Bahamas.

Watford Academy Product Daniel Phillips Earns Trinidad And Tobago Call-Up
The strong central-midfielder could very well make his international debut against Spencer-Adams. Phillips made his senior debut for Watford in the opening match of the season. He appeared in the Hornets’ FA Cup defeat at Old Trafford, as well as playing the full ninety minutes in both of Watford’s League Cup clashes.

The club will take extra pride in his call up, as the 20-year-old spent his entire youth career in Hertfordshire. He endeared himself to many supporters through the tenacity and physicality he showed in the Club’s preseason victory against Tottenham.

Kane Crichlow Rounds-Off Atlantic International Call-Up Trio
The talented attacker joined Watford from AFC Wimbledon in 2019. The 20-year-old earns his Bermuda call-up after coming into the fringes of the Hornets’ first-team.

Although he has only played six senior minutes this season (in the League Cup), he frequently makes the match-day squad. On ten other occasions this season, Crichlow found himself on the final team sheet.

The club are not especially known for their youth development, so the Hornets’ young players have done pretty well to get their names selected.

« Reply #118 on: March 15, 2021, 12:56:55 PM »
I wonder who else guyana called up ? I know taylor richards(doncasterrovers) is elligible for guyana and grenada  and fredricks of west ham can also play for guyana .. One thing about guyana is that are recruiting young players .We only know of two players called up primus  ??? and phillips(out injured) ... Has shaq moore made the switch?how about  john bosotck he been playing regular now is he getting a call  nick deleon has he received his passport ? .....
« Last Edit: March 15, 2021, 01:00:49 PM by Trini _2022 »

« Reply #119 on: March 15, 2021, 01:01:50 PM »
WCQ: Guyana in “competitive”, “winnable” group- GFF Head

Guyana’s National Men’s football team has been drawn in Group F for the Concacaf qualifiers for the FIFA World Cup, slated for Qatar from November 21 to December 18, 2022.

President of the Guyana Football Federation, Wayne Forde, in giving an update on the squad’s preparation for the matches, said while the group is a competitive one, the Jaguars are capable of emerging as the top team.

The senior men’s team, commonly called the Golden Jaguars, will face Caribbean rivals Trinidad and Tobago, St. Kitts and Nevis, Puerto Rico and the Bahamas in their first step to possible World Cup qualification.

Forde confirmed that the first two games against Trinidad and Tobago and the Bahamas would be played in the Dominican Republic, and the Golden Jaguars’ final squad would be announced on March 17, the same day the team and staff will depart for the Dominican Republic.

Forde said the Federation is investing heavily into this window, both in terms of training and operational costs for the matches.

He added that the Federation is confident in the Jaguars chances of progressing beyond this stage of qualification.

Guyana will play Trinidad and Tobago on March 25 and the Bahamas on March 30.

“Our group is clearly very competitive, but it is also winnable. We all know that the first game against Trinidad and Tobago will be the crunch tie. Getting this campaign off to a good start is crucial – these matches will set the tone for the rest of the year, not just for our World Cup journey but also for the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup,” Forde said on Tuesday during a press briefing.

“Our expectation is to come away from the Trinidad and Tobago match with a win – and certainly nothing less than a draw – and to beat the Bahamas. We have the talent, both domestic and international, and the expertise in terms of our coaching staff to deliver these results.”

A group of 27 domestic-based players have been in training under Head Coach Marcio Maximo five days a week since January 10 with ongoing weekly COVID-19 testing.

The latest test results from March 4 showed that all staff and players were in the clear, Forde reported.

“Training has been progressing well, with the squad showing the professional commitment, discipline and passion that we expect at this level. We are investing G$3.3 million monthly to cover the cost of the domestic training programme. This includes, travel, meals, medical, equipment and staffing,” Forde explained.

The Football head further stated that the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association’s move to switch the game to the Dominican Republic has contributed to the Guyana Federation opting to have the Bahamas game there as well, noting that it was more feasible from a logistical and financial standpoint.

“We are also somewhat hamstrung by the UK’s decision to place Guyana on its COVID-19 “red list” of banned countries. This decision means that clubs would not be able or willing to release players for travel to Guyana. We are grateful to the Dominican Republic Football Association for accommodating us, and we have the full cooperation of the Bahamas Football Association, Concacaf and FIFA in this matter.”

“It is obviously disappointing to not be able to host a home match this time around, but we are hopeful that conditions will allow this in the next window in June.”

The switch to the Dominican Republic comes at an additional cost to the Guyana Football Federation, with the overall operating costs for this window being G$27 million, plus a further US$10,000 fee payable to the Dominican Republic Football Association for hosting the Bahamas contest.

Forde said he is confident the Dominican Republic FA will provide a professional and safe environment, alongside Concacaf’s strict match-day testing schedule.

The matches will be played behind closed doors, without spectators.