March 28, 2024, 12:55:42 PM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs Guyana Game (25-Mar-2021)  (Read 26244 times)

Re: Thread for T&T vs Guyana Game (25-Mar-2021)
« Reply #120 on: March 15, 2021, 03:08:09 PM »
I wonder who else guyana called up ? I know taylor richards(doncasterrovers) is elligible for guyana and grenada  and fredricks of west ham can also play for guyana .. One thing about guyana is that are recruiting young players .We only know of two players called up primus  ??? and phillips(out injured) ... Has shaq moore made the switch?how about  john bosotck he been playing regular now is he getting a call  nick deleon has he received his passport ? .....

Guyana have called Matthew Briggs who plays for Vejle BK in the Danish Superliga
Shaq Moore has not made the switch
Bostock is getting some minutes for Rovers, but he has only played three full games. I think he's looking to solidify himself at the club.
After all these years, I would be surprised if we ever see Nick DeLeon play for we

« Reply #121 on: March 16, 2021, 12:10:35 AM »
Recent Results

March 12

T&T 4 (Duane Muckette Pen, Brent Sam, Sean Bonval [2]) v Police FC 1 (Raheim Jawahir).

March 15

T&T 1 (Brent Sam) v Defence Force FC 0

« Last Edit: March 16, 2021, 12:12:16 AM by Flex »

« Reply #122 on: March 16, 2021, 12:14:20 AM »
I wonder who else guyana called up ? I know taylor richards(doncasterrovers) is elligible for guyana and grenada  and fredricks of west ham can also play for guyana .. One thing about guyana is that are recruiting young players .We only know of two players called up primus  ??? and phillips(out injured) ... Has shaq moore made the switch?how about  john bosotck he been playing regular now is he getting a call  nick deleon has he received his passport ? .....

Guyana have called Matthew Briggs who plays for Vejle BK in the Danish Superliga
Bostock is getting some minutes for Rovers, but he has only played three full games. I think he's looking to solidify himself at the club.
After all these years, I would be surprised if we ever see Nick DeLeon play for we
we don’t need them, not moore not bostock and certainly not deleon. I think ATM we have a line of very capable front line players, what we do need however are 4 solid defenders and a top shelf goalie more than anything else.

« Reply #123 on: March 16, 2021, 12:31:52 AM »
Who are the front line players ?

« Reply #124 on: March 16, 2021, 05:14:54 AM »
WATCH An insight into Justin Sadoo's path to the national team and the team's preparations prior to departing for the Dominican Republic.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/csx3OSpwO8Y" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/csx3OSpwO8Y</a>

« Reply #125 on: March 16, 2021, 05:41:30 AM »

we don’t need them, not moore not bostock and certainly not deleon. I think ATM we have a line of very capable front line players, what we do need however are 4 solid defenders and a top shelf goalie more than anything else.

We need to get something going, particularly if we compare what our principal competitors are doing. Costa Rica's Sequeira is making progress in Spain. We've been marking time.

By the way, in this respect, I really give kudos to Molino for having outmatched Navas when there were several botched efforts to beat him.

« Reply #126 on: March 16, 2021, 06:05:59 AM »
Something about terry have me lacking confindence in him....

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #127 on: March 16, 2021, 06:29:05 AM »

Do t think Deleon would be an asset at this point in his career- his last year's  outings were not overwhelmingly impressive.  Don't think we could default to riding and hoping that players like these would be the answer.
We paying aman 20 k us to make mountains out of molehills - to placate an illusion that a ragtag bunch will get us to WC!  Sorry for the first time - I see little hope of us getting by the first round- my opinion- my hope is that the  current players put up a fighting chance and prove me wrong .

« Reply #128 on: March 16, 2021, 09:44:55 AM »

Do t think Deleon would be an asset at this point in his career- his last year's  outings were not overwhelmingly impressive.  Don't think we could default to riding and hoping that players like these would be the answer.
We paying aman 20 k us to make mountains out of molehills - to placate an illusion that a ragtag bunch will get us to WC!  Sorry for the first time - I see little hope of us getting by the first round- my opinion- my hope is that the  current players put up a fighting chance and prove me wrong .

Making it to the WC can be acheived (REAL REAL hard but we can do it  )  it  can be acheived . If we  1) get good coach 2) get our local league going 3) get the best eligible players out there on board (it will take convincing hey lookn at jamaica)..Curacoa has hiddink on board suriname now allows dual citizenship  dominican republic  is looking at guys in spain .... we have to get our ship in order ......

« Reply #129 on: March 16, 2021, 10:09:44 AM »

Making it to the WC can be acheived (REAL REAL hard but we can do it  )  it  can be acheived . If we  1) get good coach 2) get our local league going 3) get the best eligible players out there on board (it will take convincing hey lookn at jamaica)..Curacoa has hiddink on board suriname now allows dual citizenship  dominican republic  is looking at guys in spain .... we have to get our ship in order ......

I don't think we can achieve it this cycle. Too much bakanal. But we have to participate to see how far we can go. We have done it before and missed it on two other occasions. This cycle is very difficult. We don't have an English "talent" pool like JA. There are some out there, I don't know them. Forget Bostock, Moore and Deleon. Play with what we have and what little overseas born players we may be able to convince. If we make to the round to get to the Hex, that would be a fabulous achievement for this WC cycle. See allyuh in LA 2026.

« Reply #130 on: March 16, 2021, 11:12:18 AM »

It is a top to bottom thing. And we are inconsistent and at the bottom in this respect. We stick. Even teams like Nicaragua are not messing about. They just brought in a 23 year old from Norway's second division who also holds Spanish and Norwegian citizenship. It's time for us to dance and make a proper go of things. Turnaround on that? Not the forever in which interest dissipates.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2021, 11:14:53 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #132 on: March 16, 2021, 03:32:23 PM »
GFF issues provisional suspensions to players, coaches and officials
GFF Sports.

Several national team players, registered coaches and match officials have been provisionally suspended from all football activity with immediate effect pending a Guyana Football Federation (GFF) Disciplinary Committee investigation following reports of an unauthorised football event in Buxton.

The individuals will be unable to participate in any international or club football until the resolution of Disciplinary Committee proceedings and could face further disciplinary action.

They will be notified of the venue, date and time of their separate hearings in due course.

The provisional suspensions apply to the following:

National team players: Trayon Bobb, Kelsey Benjamin, Nicholas McArthur, Kevin Dundas, Sese Norville

Match officials: Dwayne Johnson, Deon Feasall, Roydon Ramsay

Coaches: Dwayne Jacobs, Philbert Moffatt, Sharon Abrams, Sherwin Neblett

This action, in line with the GFF’s constitutional mandate and responsible governance duties, has been taken following notification of an unsanctioned football event at the Buxton Community Ground.

Further, GFF investigations into the participation of other individuals are ongoing and may result in similar disciplinary action in due course.

To defend the integrity of the game and protect the safety and wellbeing of its membership, the

GFF Constitution – approved by FIFA – contains specific clauses related to unauthorised football activity.

Under Section 5.3 of the Constitution, registered “players may not take part in football matches that are not under the jurisdiction of the Federation and/or FIFA and /or Concacaf”.

Under Section 13.1(a), “members must comply fully with the Statutes/Constitution, regulations, directives and decisions of FIFA, Concacaf, and the Federation at all times and to ensure by a statutory clause that these are also respected by its Affiliates”.

Under Section 13.1(h), members are obliged “not to maintain any relations of a sporting nature with entities (e.g. clubs, Leagues) that are not Members or Affiliates nor with Members that have been suspended or expelled”.

Section 13.2 states that the “violation of the above-mentioned obligations by any Member may lead to sanctions”.

Furthermore, under current official COVID-19 restrictions designed to save lives and protect communities, gatherings of more than 10 people are banned. Since the onset of the pandemic, the only football event the GFF has sanctioned with approval from the National COVID-19 Task Force has been the GFF “Bounce Back Classic”, which took place at the turn of the year behind closed doors without fans and under strict health protocols.

The GFF Disciplinary Committee is one of the three independent oversight bodies of the Federation and addresses any alleged breaches of the GFF Constitution. (GFF)

RELATED NEWS

WCQ: Guyana in “competitive”, “winnable” group- GFF Head
GFF NEWS

Guyana’s National Men’s football team has been drawn in Group F for the Concacaf qualifiers for the FIFA World Cup, slated for Qatar from November 21 to December 18, 2022.

President of the Guyana Football Federation, Wayne Forde, in giving an update on the squad’s preparation for the matches, said while the group is a competitive one, the Jaguars are capable of emerging as the top team.

The senior men’s team, commonly called the Golden Jaguars, will face Caribbean rivals Trinidad and Tobago, St. Kitts and Nevis, Puerto Rico and the Bahamas in their first step to possible World Cup qualification.

Forde confirmed that the first two games against Trinidad and Tobago and the Bahamas would be played in the Dominican Republic, and the Golden Jaguars’ final squad would be announced on March 17, the same day the team and staff will depart for the Dominican Republic.

Forde said the Federation is investing heavily into this window, both in terms of training and operational costs for the matches.

He added that the Federation is confident in the Jaguars chances of progressing beyond this stage of qualification.

Guyana will play Trinidad and Tobago on March 25 and the Bahamas on March 30.

Wayne Forde- President of the Guyana Football Federation

“Our group is clearly very competitive, but it is also winnable. We all know that the first game against Trinidad and Tobago will be the crunch tie. Getting this campaign off to a good start is crucial – these matches will set the tone for the rest of the year, not just for our World Cup journey but also for the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup,” Forde said on Tuesday during a press briefing.

“Our expectation is to come away from the Trinidad and Tobago match with a win – and certainly nothing less than a draw – and to beat the Bahamas. We have the talent, both domestic and international, and the expertise in terms of our coaching staff to deliver these results.”

A group of 27 domestic-based players have been in training under Head Coach Marcio Maximo five days a week since January 10 with ongoing weekly COVID-19 testing.

The latest test results from March 4 showed that all staff and players were in the clear, Forde reported.

“Training has been progressing well, with the squad showing the professional commitment, discipline and passion that we expect at this level. We are investing G$3.3 million monthly to cover the cost of the domestic training programme. This includes, travel, meals, medical, equipment and staffing,” Forde explained.

The Football head further stated that the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association’s move to switch the game to the Dominican Republic has contributed to the Guyana Federation opting to have the Bahamas game there as well, noting that it was more feasible from a logistical and financial standpoint.

“We are also somewhat hamstrung by the UK’s decision to place Guyana on its COVID-19 “red list” of banned countries. This decision means that clubs would not be able or willing to release players for travel to Guyana. We are grateful to the Dominican Republic Football Association for accommodating us, and we have the full cooperation of the Bahamas Football Association, Concacaf and FIFA in this matter.”

“It is obviously disappointing to not be able to host a home match this time around, but we are hopeful that conditions will allow this in the next window in June.”

The switch to the Dominican Republic comes at an additional cost to the Guyana Football Federation, with the overall operating costs for this window being G$27 million, plus a further US$10,000 fee payable to the Dominican Republic Football Association for hosting the Bahamas contest.

Forde said he is confident the Dominican Republic FA will provide a professional and safe environment, alongside Concacaf’s strict match-day testing schedule.

The matches will be played behind closed doors, without spectators.

« Last Edit: March 16, 2021, 03:34:47 PM by Flex »

« Reply #133 on: March 16, 2021, 03:43:14 PM »
Who are the front line players ?
jovin, levi, Ryan telfer, molino, mukkette, woo ling, poon ageron, Daniel carr, fortune andre, fortune ajani, brent sam, bonval, cato, plus the other UK and north american additional front line players who have thrown their hat in the ring.

now let’s look at our defenders, we have cyrus....just a plain ole awful defender who has cost us dearly, Alvin jones...struggles tremendously, david...off and on player very inconsistent a pure crap shoot, bateau... very slow and is often caught out of position and prone to making silly errors, mikel williams...another crap shoot off and on inconsistent player.

these players has always been the worst back line in concacaf top 10 and has always cost us games in the end due to poor decision making and textbook mistakes and errors. we need defenders who play on the highest level or at least a solid pair of central defenders, I think we have a very good left full back in tristin hodges...providing his injury didn’t spoil him forever, but that’s it.

We also need a very solid goalie who knows how to play his position well, because these goalies we have are pure liabilities. they too are often caught out of position mainly wanting to play last stopper instead of holding their position and line thinking ahead, which often cost us, and it’s very frustrating to watch these same ole dum errors over and over and over again costing us many times over and it’s time to move on from these poor players.

just look at clips of Louis lopez, keylor navas, zack stephon even Tim Howard, these men play their position very very well and on many occasions were the difference between their team grinding out wins, with their stellar performances. we need to shed a lot of dead wood mate.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2021, 04:03:02 PM by pull stones »

« Reply #134 on: March 17, 2021, 01:18:18 AM »
Fenwick to reveal squad today
...players face short quarantine at ‘Home of Football’
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express).

MEN’S FOOTBALL national coach Terry Fenwick will today name his squad for next Thursday’s World Cup qualifier against Guyana after which the local contingent will head to the Home of Football (HoF) for a short quarantine.

Players in Trinidad and Tobago will depart tomorrow for the Dominican Republic match venue and will be joined there by the overseas-based contingent.

T&T open qualifying for the Qatar 2022 World Cup, next Thursday, against Guyana, kicking off from 7 p.m. at Estadio Panamericano in the capital Santo Domingo of the Dominican Republic, before flying to Puerto Rico for a similar qualifier against Bahamas three days later, also with a 7 p.m. kick-off, at the Estadio Centroamericano in Mayaguez.

On Monday, the team played its final local warm-up. Soldier Brent Sam scored the lone goal as the Soca Warriors scored a 1-0 win over Pro League champions Defence Force at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, having also defeated Police FC 4-1 last Friday.

In that match, the aforementioned Sam, USA-based midfielder Duane Muckette and industrious San Juan Jabloteh striker Sean Bonval --Who netted a barce -- account for the goals. Meanwhile, Raheim Jawahir scored for the lawmen.

One of the players hoping to make Fenwick’s final squad is Justin Sadoo, the 23-year-old former Naparima College and Point Fortin Civic midfielder. Sadoo was among the shining lights for the resurgent Civic Centre -- finishing third when local Pro League football was last played in March 2020. And he is confident the T&T team has what it takes to beat both Guyana and Bahamas.

“I think we just have to follow what the coach says, and keep the togetherness, and I think we will pull through,” Sadoo said. “Victory first and foremost, and a good performance. I think if we take what the coach has told us onto the field, that will get us the victory.”

Sadoo believes it was beneficial to have trained alongside several players who play their trade abroad, among them Kevin Molino, Joevin Jones, Alvin Jones, Duane Muckette, Neveal Hackshaw, along with others with previous overseas experience.

He is also particularly pleased by the togetherness exhibited among players in the squad. “It’s been amazing. It’s been an honour just to share the field with some of these players,” Sadoo intimated, adding, “This is the longest spell I have had with the national team. I know things have not been the best, but for me, it is always an honour and always a privilege to play.”

RELATED NEWS

Fenwick to name Trinidad and Tobago squad Wednesday
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

T&T men’s football team coach Terry Fenwick is expected to announce his squad on Wednesday for a pair of 2022 FIFA World Cup Concacaf Zone qualifiers, against Guyana (March 25 in the Dominican Republic) and Puerto Rico (March 28 in Puerto Rico).

Fenwick said on Tuesday, during a telephone interview, “In my mind, I’ve been settled for a long while on the players that I want to introduce and bring in. Some of them, unfortunately, would not be available for these two games coming up.

“We’ve got one or two (with) injuries that we’re accessing,” he added. “I’ll be naming my squad (on Wednesday) morning.”

Concerning the team’s expected departure from T&T, the T&T coach said, “Everything is in the hands of the (FIFA-appointed) normalisation committee. I’m hoping we’re going to fly on Thursday.”

The T&T team defeated Defence Force 1-0 in a warm-up game at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo on Monday.

According to the T&T coach, “I thought we played some really good and exciting football. We should have scored more goals. Defensively we looked relatively solid. We tried two different formations with the different players that we had available for the game.”

Asked if the players are buying into his tactics, Fenwick replied, “The guys have recognised (that) whatever team I’ve managed in (T&T) that I’ve always won a title.”

Concerning the mood in the camp, Fenwick said, “We’ve kept them very buoyant. Apart from the US game (where T&T lost 7-0 on January 31), we’ve won every game that we’ve played. They’ve seen the benefits of how we’ve played over 95 minutes where we’ve changed the style of play, what we’re trying to achieve with and without the ball.

“It’s a very young squad. My intentions are that the locally-based (players) will continue to get younger as we progress. I’ve got a handful of senior players around which I would consider as good role models, players that the youngsters can look up to. That is trying to shortcut to the success that we need.”

In a message to the T&T public, Fenwick said, “Get behind your country, get behind the kids that have come from your communities. This is a chance to give them your support, show them a level of trust and let’s do this together.”

« Last Edit: March 17, 2021, 01:20:34 AM by Flex »

« Reply #135 on: March 17, 2021, 03:44:19 AM »
Asked if the players are buying into his tactics, Fenwick replied, “The guys have recognised (that) whatever team I’ve managed in (T&T) that I’ve always won a title.”

Guyana beware. :)

« Reply #136 on: March 17, 2021, 06:06:54 AM »
Fenwick to reveal squad today
...players face short quarantine at ‘Home of Football’

Fenwick said on Tuesday, during a telephone interview, “In my mind, I’ve been settled for a long while on the players that I want to introduce and bring in. Some of them, unfortunately, would not be available for these two games coming up.

We’ve got one or two (with) injuries that we’re accessing,” he added. “I’ll be naming my squad (on Wednesday) morning.”

Innis and Phillips

« Reply #137 on: March 17, 2021, 07:03:22 AM »
Guyana's Squad

« Reply #138 on: March 17, 2021, 10:17:47 AM »
The bargain for kicking United TTFA to the curb was the assumption of a flat track to WC qualification. Clearly not a straightforward bargain. And not everyone in the halls of officialdom has stopped kicking the political football on that flat track. And worse, there's a lot of lateral passing when it is time for the long ball because we are running out of time.

The TTFA is still a captured organization. If this Guyana match is compromised, the TTFA must be freed of its chains or not we are all in for long-term chain-up.

Compromise in progress.

« Reply #139 on: March 17, 2021, 10:26:22 AM »
Unless I am mistaken, I think Marvin Andrews played for Guyana's coach. That should be an interesting perspective to get.

Forde is a very professional federation president. Left an impression. Stood out positively among his peers. Unassuming.

Anyone call Marvin yet?

« Reply #140 on: March 17, 2021, 11:10:21 AM »
A number of european based players will miss out on the trip  to puerto rico due to US restrictions 14 day quarantine anyway that should have been moved ...
« Last Edit: March 17, 2021, 11:29:22 AM by Trini _2022 »

« Reply #141 on: March 17, 2021, 12:37:04 PM »
Levi Garcia, central defender Sheldon Bateau and the rest of Trinidad and Tobago’s Europe-based contingent—which includes assistant coach and goalkeeper coach Kevin Jack—are unavailable to play in Puerto Rico on 28 March, due to United States travel restrictions.

Kevin Molino reported a hamstring strain during pre-season training with the Columbus Crew.

Alvin Jones and Radanfah Abu Bakr is also struggling tight injuries.

« Reply #142 on: March 17, 2021, 01:59:01 PM »
This while Guyana's squad has a like 11 foreign players, some having played in the top 2/3 levels of England.

This will be difficult

« Reply #143 on: March 17, 2021, 02:55:31 PM »
Molino, Alvin Jones doubtful for Trinidad and Tobago World Cup qualifiers.
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday).

EXPERIENCED players Kevin Molino and Alvin Jones are doubtful for the T&T men’s senior football team’s 2022 FIFA Concacaf World Cup qualifying match against Guyana on March 25 in Dominican Republic because of injury.

T&T men’s football team coach Terry Fenwick confirmed the news at a team training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, on Wednesday. Molino and Jones may also be forced to miss T&T’s second World Cup qualifier against Puerto Rico on March 28 in Puerto Rico.

Fenwick said, “We’ve one or two concerns on injuries at the moment. Alvin Jones (is) struggling to make the trip because of an injury he sustained against Army on Monday morning. (There is) a little doubt over Kevin Molino also (with his) hamstring.”

Fenwick added that the team will be without the services of some of the European-based players for the clash against Puerto Rico because of travel restrictions during the covid19 pandemic.

“A lot of the European guys will not be able to play in Puerto Rico so obviously that is a big concern, so our administration and technical staff this afternoon will iron out and organise the numbers that we need to travel with in case we have to use more local players for the Puerto Rico game coming up only three days after the game against Guyana across the road.”

Fenwick did confirm that Khaleem Hyland, who captained the national team for years, is available for both matches.

The T&T squad that will play Guyana will be announced at 4 pm, on Wednesday.

« Reply #144 on: March 17, 2021, 04:26:05 PM »
T&T Squad

« Reply #145 on: March 17, 2021, 04:36:42 PM »
Post de real squad nah man.

« Reply #146 on: March 17, 2021, 04:38:35 PM »

« Reply #147 on: March 17, 2021, 04:52:56 PM »
With the exception of Molino...this is a decent squad!?! Fenwick should be able to pull off a win against Guyana’ with this talent...I can’t believe I just say that  :banginghead:

« Reply #148 on: March 17, 2021, 04:57:24 PM »
Soca Warriors squad named for World Cup qualifiers.
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday).

MANY senior players have been included in a 26-member T&T men's senior football squad to face Guyana in a 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying match on March 25 in the Dominican Republic.

Among the defenders chosen are Sheldon Bateau, Aubrey David, Joevin Jones and Radanfah Abu Bakr and the midfield includes former captain Khaleem Hyland and Andre Boucaud.

The talented Levi Garcia will lead the attack, along with other players Willis Plaza and Brent Sam. Adrian Foncette and Marvin Phillip are among four goalkeepers who will make the trip.

Kevin Molino and Alvin Jones are injured and have been excluded.

Trinidad and Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Marvin Phillip (Unattached), Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Denzil Smith (W Connection), Nicklas Frenderup (Stjørdals-Blink);

Defenders:

Noah Powder (Real Salt Lake), Leland Archer (Charleston Battery), Justin Garcia (Defence Force FC), Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa), Radanfah Abu Bakr (Unattached), Robert Roberts (Bengaluru United), Joevin Jones (Inter Miami CF);

Midfielders:

Michel Poon-Angeron (Club Atlético Banfield), Andre Boucaud (Maidstone United), Neveal Hackshaw (Indy Eleven FC), Duane Muckette (Unattached), Daniel Phillips (Watford FC), Judah Garcia (Neroca FC), Khaleem Hyland (Al Batin FC), Levi Garcia (AEK Athens), Sean Bonval (Central FC);

Attackers:

Brent Sam (Defence Force FC), Ryan Telfer (York United FC), Willis Plaza (Mohammedan SC), Jabari Mitchell (Police FC), Marcus Joseph (Unattached).

Staff

Terence Fenwick (head coach), Derek King (assistant coach), Kelvin Jack (assistant/goalkeeper coach), Sion Cain (masseuse), Joseph Rooplal (physiotherapist), Akash Dhanai (doctor), Michael Williams (equipment manager), Shaun Fuentes (media officer), Clyde Thompson (logistics coordinator), Adrian Romain (team manager).

RELATED NEWS

No Kevin Molino
...many surprises as T&T depart for D/Republic

A DAY prior to today’s departure for World Cup qualifying, Trinidad and Tobago’s men national football coach Terry Fenwick faces a litany of woes, including a likely ban on his European-based footballers, Sheldon Bateau and Levi Garcia, from entering Puerto Rico due to US Covid-19 protocols.

The former England defender also has to deal with the unavailability, through injury, of key players Kevin Molino (hamstring strain) and Alvin Jones. At midday yesterday, Fenwick still did not know the final composition of his squad or definitely who would be his captain.

“It’s a difficult situation,” stated Fenwick. “We are still trying to get a friendly game in the Dominican Republic. A lot of things are last minute,” added Fenwick during a brief media window prior to yesterday’s final training session on local soil.

Inadequate at times, rarely has Trinidad and Tobago’s preparation for international competition been so chaotic. And Fenwick’s tone in his response suggests that things may not have improved in the one year since FIFA appointed its normalisation committee to run the local game.

“These games, I think, were announced on the 23rd of August. So there has been a long, long time for us to get organised and make sure that we nail everything down...and we still have these problems,” Fenwick lamented.

T&T open qualifying for the Qatar 2022 World Cup against Guyana on March 25 at the Estadio Panamericano, in the capital Santo Domingo, before flying to Puerto Rico for another qualifier three days later at Estadio Centroamericano in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico.

Belgium-based Mechelen defender Sheldon Bateau is available for the Guyana match, but US protocols—concerning exposure to possible Covid-19 variants —prevent him from entering the US territory of Puerto Rico without a 14-day quarantine.

“A lot of the European players would not be able to play in Puerto Rico, so that is a bit of a concern, stated Fenwick, ”Most of them will not be available for the second game against Puerto Rico, which is being played on a synthetic (surface) — another surprise to us.

”The contradiction for me is that most of the guys (playing) for Puerto Rico are coming from the US, which has the same (Covid-19) situation. But they are putting (restrictions) strongly on the European guys, like Sheldon Bateau and the guys we got coming out of England. So, that will be a bitter pill for us to swallow.”

Fenwick eventually went for experience, including giving a recall to 36-year-old England-born midfielder Andre Boucaud after a five-year absence; along with Willis Plaza and Radanfah Abu Bakr. He also gave a first call up to young Watford midfielder Daniel Phillips.

“I want to be able to put men out on the pitch. Guys that are prepared to go out there to get a result for Trinidad and Tobago,” stated Fenwick, “It’s very important that we have them big characters in the squad,” he added.

« Last Edit: March 18, 2021, 01:20:49 AM by Flex »

« Reply #149 on: March 17, 2021, 05:04:00 PM »
Who is de Willis PLAZER fella? And do we have Ferguson on speed dial?