March 28, 2024, 05:49:15 AM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs Guyana Game (25-Mar-2021)  (Read 26228 times)

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
Re: Thread for T&T vs Guyana Game (25-Mar-2021)
« Reply #240 on: March 25, 2021, 06:27:31 PM »
Phillips looking top shelf.. I happy with the team play, some defensive blunders doh. The goalie doh panic, Yet.
He really does look like a very good player

Online maxg

« Reply #241 on: March 25, 2021, 06:32:04 PM »
Frendy is kicks but he special

« Reply #242 on: March 25, 2021, 06:36:28 PM »
Telfer needs to STFU and cool it

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #243 on: March 25, 2021, 06:52:01 PM »
Good start boys

« Reply #244 on: March 25, 2021, 06:53:27 PM »
 :beermug: :applause: we move !!!

« Reply #245 on: March 25, 2021, 06:53:34 PM »
seem like he is the best we have as of now

« Reply #246 on: March 25, 2021, 06:54:40 PM »
I like how the keeper looks confident coming off his line.

« Reply #247 on: March 25, 2021, 06:55:10 PM »
Nice start fellas.

« Reply #248 on: March 25, 2021, 06:55:16 PM »
Phillips looking top shelf.. I happy with the team play, some defensive blunders doh. The goalie doh panic, Yet.
yes but this is Guyana  remember people ....

« Reply #249 on: March 25, 2021, 06:55:26 PM »
happy for the win

« Reply #250 on: March 25, 2021, 06:55:28 PM »
Pretty decent game guys...we will get better with more games under the belt...Levi has really matured. Tefler is a work horse, Phillip is a work horse as well, with experience he’ll be a huge asset! We finally have a real goal keeper, and that Poon Angerson fella run his legs off. This team is a definite work in progress. Could have been 5-0 with better composure. Molino was definitely missed! Well done. 3-0...

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #251 on: March 25, 2021, 06:56:54 PM »
yes but this is Guyana  remember people ....
It will only ever be who in front u eh. So good first game by the youth 🙌🏾

« Reply #252 on: March 25, 2021, 06:58:08 PM »

Really? Or yuh happy with the goals?

« Reply #253 on: March 25, 2021, 06:58:41 PM »
Well done T&T! Poon-Angeron was decisive and confident, Judah Garcia and Powder will build confidence with experience. Overall the younger generation held their own

« Reply #254 on: March 25, 2021, 07:05:54 PM »
seem like he is the best we have as of now

Very possibly, and he put in some hard work tonight. The Guyanese were grabbing him and trying to hack him down. But we need him card free!

« Reply #255 on: March 25, 2021, 07:07:07 PM »
Pretty decent game guys...we will get better with more games under the belt...Levi has really matured. Tefler is a work horse, Phillip is a work horse as well, with experience he’ll be a huge asset! We finally have a real goal keeper, and that Poon Angerson fella run his legs off. This team is a definite work in progress. Could have been 5-0 with better composure. Molino was definitely missed! Well done. 3-0...

+1

« Reply #256 on: March 25, 2021, 07:14:01 PM »
trini_stallion
Yuh mention "composure",the best word to sum up quite a lot of our Mid Field game where we losing ball tooeasily,and as you say more composure needed up front.We won it with a team that didn't play the best football.

Offline raj

« Reply #257 on: March 25, 2021, 07:16:06 PM »
Definitely an improvement from the last game. The goalkeeper was confident and anticipates well. He was only tested once. The defence looks decent and the midfielder Poon Angeron was good even though he almost made a lethal mistake in front of the goal. The penalty miss and the yellow cards should have Fenwick a little worried. They moved the ball well in possession. But we should remember that this was Guyana.

Standouts: Poon Angeron, Aubrey, Frederup, Phillips, Levi, Hyland, Telfer

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #258 on: March 25, 2021, 07:22:00 PM »
http://www.hesgoal.com/news/76206/Trinidad_and_Tobago_vs_Guyana.html
Decent stream
Thank you for that link. It worked well. You literally saved the day for me.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #259 on: March 25, 2021, 07:36:27 PM »
This was a scrappy game but a good result St Kitts & Nevins would be another test for them. 

« Reply #260 on: March 25, 2021, 07:45:59 PM »
80th min Panama 0 - 0 Barbados. Latapy might pull it off.

« Reply #261 on: March 25, 2021, 07:58:54 PM »
Substitutions should probably have come on a different timing bearing in mind the next match.

If I am Puerto Rico's coach, I wouldn't be especially impressed although the difference between me and the PR coach is that I don't have the headache of figuring out the next step. He certainly will be expecting to be more organized than Guyana.

I am disappointed that we did not impose our qualities on the opponent, despite the somewhat imposing score.

Frenderup added value.
Judah was positively Judah.

Not thrilled by JJ's penalty fiasco. Potentially very costly on a different stage.

Won't mention any other individual names because everyone played a positive part.

Looking forward to Hyland squeezing the best out of his squad.

I want to see Fenwick look in the mirror and acknowledge that we are still on the way up the mountain. We are not on the way home. Share the load, TF. There will be bigger challenges. Celebrate the three points but recognize we didn't play or deliver a recognized brand of football.

« Last Edit: March 25, 2021, 08:00:44 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #262 on: March 25, 2021, 08:20:57 PM »
Soca Warriors whip Guyana 3-0.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Trinidad and Tobago's Soca Warriors defeated Guyana Jaguars behind three first-half goals (3-0) in their opening-round 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers at the Pan American Stadium in San Cristobal in the Dominican Republic on Thursday night.

The Soca Warriors moved to the top of Group F and ahead of St Kitts & Nevis which defeated Puerto Rico 1-0 on Wednesday night. The latter will host T&T on Sunday.

The Soca Warriors opened their account when midfielder Levi Garcia, who plies his trade for AEK Athens in Greece, opened the scoring after he robbed two defenders on the goal-line and fired a right-foot shot into the goal beating goalkeeper Akel Clarke for placement in the eighth minute.

Eight minutes later, defender Sheldon Bateau extended to the T&T lead when he scored when he raced into the penalty area behind the defence and the ball hit his body and raced into the goal of a Garcia's freekick from about 25 metres out.

Midfielder Jovin Jones got an opportunity to put his name on the scoresheet penalty spot after defender Trayon Bodd fouled striker Ryan Telfer, who attempted to dribble past two defenders. Jones right-foot shot was save by the keeper's out-stretched right-hand which diving to his right, and on the rebound, Jones again had his second attempt saved by the keeper's right and his third attempt all in one play, went out of play.

However, two minutes from half-time, Telfer, then made it 3-0 when he challenged the keeper for a ball that was played upfield by the T&T goalkeeper Nicklas Frenderup. The Guyanese keeper Clarke missed judged the fight of the ball and was caught outside the penalty area and in his attempt to retreat into his area the ball slipped through his hands and legs and Telfer kicked the ball into an open goal.

Guyana had two good chances in the first half but the T&T defence which was well marshalled by goalkeeper Frenderup, who earned his first national cap along with Daniel Phillip withstood that pressure.

The second half was an even contest with both team building plays but not executing effectively. However, the second stanza was dominated by players from both teams being showed Yellow cards, two from T&T Telfer and Phillips, while and two from the opposition.

Meanwhile, the concerns within the T&T senior men’s football team camp ahead of the match on Wednesday about a possible coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak turned out to be false.

This after a retest result for the previously unnamed player was received and was deemed negative yesterday.

In keeping with T&T Football Association (T&TFA) medical protocol and best medical practice, the media release said: This player would remain isolated from the squad until a second consecutive negative result has been achieved.

Isolated training and travelling privileges would be allowed to maintain social distancing from the rest of the squad and strict hygiene practices as best as possible at all times.

Once a second negative result has been achieved, this player would be reintroduced into team activities and eligible for participation in the second World Cup Qualifier against Puerto Rico on Sunday.

Full Results

Trinidad and Tobago 3 (Levi Garcia 8, Sheldon Bateau 16, Ryan Telfer 43) v Guyana 0, Estadio Panamericano, Santo Domingo.

(Teams)

Trinidad and Tobago (4-1-2-3): 21.Nicklas Frenderup (GK); 2.Aubrey David, 12.Robert Primus, 4.Sheldon Bateau (17.Justin Garcia 46), 15.Neveal Hackshaw; 18.Michel Poon-Angeron; 8.Khaleem Hyland (captain), 19.Daniel Phillips; 11.Levi Garcia (20.Noah Powder 68), 7.Ryan Telfer (13.Brent Sam 75), 3.Joevin Jones (10.Judah Garcia 75).

Unused substitutes: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK), 22.Adrian Foncette (GK), 5.Leland Archer, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 9.Willis Plaza, 14.Andre Boucaud, 16.Marcus Joseph Jr, 23.Jabari Mitchell.

Standbys: Denzil Smith (GK), Sean Bonval, Duane Muckette.

Coach: Terry Fenwick

Guyana (4-2-3-1): 22.Akel Clarke (GK); 5.Miquel Scarlett (2.Bayli Spencer-Adams 64), 15.Terence Vancooten, 3.Matthew Briggs, 23.Kadell Daniel; 8.Sam Cox (captain), 14.Daniel Wilson (12.Pernell Schultz 70); 11.Callum Harriott (9.Kelsey Benjamin 75), 7.Keanu Marsh-Brown (6.Jobe Caesar 64), 20.Trayon Bobb (17.Omari Glasgow 64); 10.Emery Welshman.

Unused substitutes: 1.Kai McKenzie-Lyle (GK), 18.Shawn Adonis (GK), 4.Jeremy Garrett, 13.Nicolai Andrews, 16.Ryan Hackett, 19.Nicholas Mc Arthur, 21.Nathan Moria-Welsh.

Coach: Márcio Máximo

RELATED NEWS

Soca Warriors off to winning World Cup qualifying start after beating Guyana 3-0.
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

T&T MEN’S football team got their 2022 FIFA World Cup campaign off on a winning note when they brushed aside Guyana 3-0 on Thursday, in their Concacaf Zone Group F fixture at the Estadio Panamericano, San Cristobal, Dominican Republic.

Levi Garcia, Sheldon Bateau and Ryan Telfer got their names on the scoresheet for T&T, as they took advantage of an under-par Guyanese squad on a day and uneven surface.

With the result, T&T moved to the top of the five-team standings with a superior goal-difference of plus-three, compared to St Kitts/Nevis’ plus-one. St Kitts/Nevis edged Puerto Rico 1-0 at the Estadio Panamericano on Wednesday.

Garcia, who has been in fine form for his Greek club AEK Athens, capitalised on poor defending to break the deadlock, after seven minutes.

Wing-back Aubrey David’s long ball was chased down by Garcia, on the right flank. Garcia spun between defenders Kadell Daniel and Matthew Briggs before drilling his left-footed shot past goalkeeper Akel Clarke.

The Guyanese team, coached by Brazilian Marcio Maximo, featured seven English-born players (Daniel, Briggs, fellow defenders Miquel Scarlett and Terence Vancooten, as well as midfielders Samuel Cox, Callum Harriott and Keanu Marsh-Brown) and a Canadian-born striker (Emery Welshman).

T&T’s coach Terry Fenwick handed fellow English-born player, 19-year-old Daniel Phillips, his international debut and the defensive midfielder gave a mature performance, while a surprise selection between the uprights, Denmark-born Nicklas Frenderup, looked mostly assured.

Garcia had a hand in T&T’s second goal. In the 15th minute, the winger swung a freekick from the right which grazed the left hip of central defender Bateau and nestled into the back of the net.

Guyana had a couple of chances to trim the deficit.

In the 23rd, Marsh-Brown intercepted a poor clearance from Phillip in the penalty box, but his deflected left-footed effort went wide. Five minutes later, Welshman got a through ball from his skipper Trayon Bobb but could only watch in agony as his right-footed drive struck the post, with only Frenderup to beat.

Mexican referee Marco Antonio Ortiz awarded T&T a penalty in the 35th when Telfer was brought down by Marsh-Brown, but Joevin Jones was thwarted three times by Clarke, a former St Ann’s Rangers, Central FC and North East Stars goalie.

Clarke dived to his right to deny Jones’ first effort, used his right hand when Jones tried to chip home the rebound, while the third try smashed off Clarke’s right leg.

Frenderup was alert to save a right-footer from midfielder Daniel Wilson, after he capitalised on a weak pass from Michel Poon-Angeron.

Guyana were made to pay for their mistakes when Telfer smashed his right-footed shot into an open net, two minutes before the half-time interval, after Clarke failed to hold a long ball from Frenderup.

Both teams made changes in the second half and the tempo was not the same. In a rare attempt on goal, T&T substitute Brent Sam met a ball from Poon-Angeron but he headed straight at Clarke.

This game was played in the Dominican Republic, instead of T&T, due to the government’s covid19 quarantine regulations.

T&T will continue their World Cup quest on Sunday when they meet hosts Puerto Rico at Mayaquez while Guyana will remain in the Dominican Republic to face Bahamas on Tuesday, at Santo Domingo.

Watch Fenwick's Post-Match Comments following T&T's 3-0 win over Guyana

Watch Hyland: It's a Positive start to our World Cup campaign

« Last Edit: March 26, 2021, 01:17:26 AM by Flex »

Offline lil damo

« Reply #263 on: March 25, 2021, 09:03:19 PM »
Anybody have copy of the replay? Missed it bec if work but I want to see how the formation looked and some of the new players. Glad we’re off to a good start and have some young players in the mix.

Online maxg

« Reply #264 on: March 25, 2021, 09:15:59 PM »

Really? Or yuh happy with the goals?
Happy with the win. True, didn't se any particular tactic, but the individual quality was more evident than the previous fete-match. A US strength team would have definitely capitalized on some of those chances we gave, and probably would have created more chances, yet, it was most reassuring to see a few passes being strung together. Yes it was Guyana, yes they have to be better, yes, goals may not come as easy, however, as a confidence and bonding builder it served the purpose. Hyland led well. The debutants were encouraging. We still need proper shots on goal stats, hopefully with this individual and squad improvement, the coach can now earn his money and devise some strategies, rather than fake conducting on the sidelines. As imposing as he was, still would like Levi (and JJ) to do some defensive and inside coverage, so Telfer don't have so much ground to cover by himself, but definite improvement. Let's hope they all can continue on the up.

« Reply #265 on: March 26, 2021, 02:39:13 AM »
After being on hiatus

I decided to take in the match. Congrats on the win but it was not cohesive, well played football which is obvious given the fact these players have hardly played together in a while or at all.

Keep in mind its Guyana, the real opposition hasn't started yet.. tbh I also dont know what style, brand of football fenwick is implementing?

Anyone care to share their thoughts on that?

« Reply #266 on: March 26, 2021, 03:15:39 AM »
After being on hiatus

I decided to take in the match. Congrats on the win but it was not cohesive, well played football which is obvious given the fact these players have hardly played together in a while or at all.

Keep in mind its Guyana, the real opposition hasn't started yet.. tbh I also dont know what style, brand of football fenwick is implementing?

Anyone care to share their thoughts on that?
you just answered your own question even before you asked it mate. it’s too early to tell what brand he plays, and BTW who cares, as long as it’s a winning brand then I’m happy. and a lot of people is resorting to “ it’s only guyana” sentiment, well tell me when was the last time we best guyana?

had we loss or drew the game then people would be crying on the coach and singing a different tune and saying “we can’t even beat guyana” fire fenwick and bring back steven hart. you really cannot please trinidadians no matter how hard you try.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2021, 03:20:35 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #267 on: March 26, 2021, 03:16:43 AM »
Somebody please post the game, I would love love to see it.

« Reply #268 on: March 26, 2021, 04:03:35 AM »
WATCH: Post-match comments by Trinidad and Tobago senior MNT coach Terry Fenwick following a 3-0 victory over Guyana in the opening World Cup qualifier played in San Cristóbal, Dominican Republic on March 25, 2021.

<a href="https://youtube.com/v/6sXswn5lgtU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://youtube.com/v/6sXswn5lgtU</a>

« Reply #269 on: March 26, 2021, 04:14:03 AM »
WATCH: Post-match reaction by Trinidad & Tobago senior MNT captain Khaleem Hyland following a 3-0 victory over Guyana in the opening World Cup qualifier played in San Cristóbal, Dominican Republic on March 25, 2021.

<a href="https://youtube.com/v/PlY5_8u9dCU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://youtube.com/v/PlY5_8u9dCU</a>