March 28, 2024, 05:30:15 PM

Author Topic: Thread for USA vs T&T Game (31-Jan-2021)  (Read 21813 times)

Re: Thread for USA vs T&T Game (31-Jan-2021)
« Reply #210 on: February 01, 2021, 08:08:34 PM »
Would have parked the bus and worked on defensive solidity...for this game.... 4-3-3 is just as easily 4-5-1 that can be adjusted in transition....I would  sat back and used this game to coach defense "in the field"

That's a sophisticated perspective. BUT, it still needs to be trained. And whether it collapses into an effective 4-5-1 depends on the distances involved and location on the pitch.

Just for discussion's sake though, a way to circumvent the problem is to go 'halfway' in both directions and form another line. That too needs coordination regarding who and when. The mere system itself is not the solution.

Anyway, as things were last night, 5 players stretched across the width of the field would not have disrupted the US. The issues were fundamental.
« Last Edit: February 01, 2021, 08:11:06 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #211 on: February 01, 2021, 08:25:03 PM »
WATCH: Former National Footballer now Coach, Angus Eve, says last evening's record-breaking defeat at the hands of the United States was not a good sign for national football.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/XOvAoDbN2A8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/XOvAoDbN2A8</a>
listen to the rubbish this idiot is pushing, local vs foreign based. that’s all he got from the game, I thought we was supposed to be a team? this is exactly the sentiments that I alluded to in an earlier post, the egomania amongst our local football fraternity is an ever impending doom on the growth and developement of the game on the twin islands.

years ago before there were any such thing as local vs foreign there was north vs south vs tobago. The southern players would cry about being undermined by coaches who favored northern players, and Tobagonians would complain how their players are being marginalized and overlooked for trinidad born players. now in the 21st century it’s local vs foreign based. when would this divisive nonsense end?? aren’t we supposed to be one bloody team?

He is a T&T-based coach. Quite naturally that renders him an advocate for local players. And it's his place to advocate and to shed light on those players and their qualities. Coaches like Eve and Cooper are important cogs in the ecosystem. And that's also what was at play in the old days. You think Edgar Vidale wasn't going to lean on a player from his neck of the woods if he had observed that player intimately?

What I want to know is what advice Eve has for Sadoo.

Anyway, I don't think Eve is being out ah timing. Fenwick gambled. Some coaches don't gamble their reps. Fenwick had a lot of in-built insurance to geh way with this gamble.

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #212 on: February 01, 2021, 09:07:40 PM »
Ent ent ent ah say so- boys versus men- yuh playing with slingshot and man firing cannons
20k us ah month --- you could pull ah man from the school
league and save yuhself lots!

And what dem boys learning from this? You have ANGUILLA RIGHT DEY a- nah  yuh arrogance  get the better of yuh - gone to take the USA on- FC king madness
See allyu in 20 whatever - qualifying days done - coach getting some nice change for this.

Hurry up Stern make ah name fun yuh self arrange game with TNT  is like picking ripe mangoes on the ground - they done fall can't get any lower - well then again - let Anguilla put ah arse kicking on dem

Too much arrogance -
« Last Edit: February 01, 2021, 09:18:47 PM by ABTrini »

« Reply #213 on: February 01, 2021, 10:50:14 PM »
They paying a GK coach in Florida by the hour or will Marvin and Foncette be taking turns prepping each other? This doesn't strike me as a match to be cutting corners in the GK department.

So what happened? How did this play out?

« Reply #214 on: February 01, 2021, 11:24:01 PM »
"Fenwick will be hoping to have more seasoned campaigners available such as Kevin Molino, Joevin Jones, Khaleem Hyland and Levi Garcia when the Concacaf World Cup qualifiers kick off in March."

Me thinks he better have some seasoned defenders in mind, guys who he won't have to develop or teach his system - whatever that might be, instead of an unknown escort service .  :devil:

« Reply #215 on: February 01, 2021, 11:30:32 PM »
What's worse? Playing Anguilla and winning by some ludicrous number or playing the US and losing by "lucky 7"?
« Last Edit: February 01, 2021, 11:33:27 PM by asylumseeker »

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #216 on: February 02, 2021, 03:19:14 AM »
What's worse? Playing Anguilla and winning by some ludicrous number or playing the US and losing by "lucky 7"?

That's answere is predicated on whether or not we could even beat Anguilla with this current squad.  As a hyperbole, I am calling on a game versus Anguilla so it builds momentum rather than  suffer football suicide  or massacre

« Reply #217 on: February 02, 2021, 03:52:37 AM »
WATCH: Former National Footballer now Coach, Angus Eve, says last evening's record-breaking defeat at the hands of the United States was not a good sign for national football.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/XOvAoDbN2A8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/XOvAoDbN2A8</a>
listen to the rubbish this idiot is pushing, local vs foreign based. that’s all he got from the game, I thought we was supposed to be a team? this is exactly the sentiments that I alluded to in an earlier post, the egomania amongst our local football fraternity is an ever impending doom on the growth and developement of the game on the twin islands.

years ago before there were any such thing as local vs foreign there was north vs south vs tobago. The southern players would cry about being undermined by coaches who favored northern players, and Tobagonians would complain how their players are being marginalized and overlooked for trinidad born players. now in the 21st century it’s local vs foreign based. when would this divisive nonsense end?? aren’t we supposed to be one bloody team?

He is a T&T-based coach. Quite naturally that renders him an advocate for local players. And it's his place to advocate and to shed light on those players and their qualities. Coaches like Eve and Cooper are important cogs in the ecosystem. And that's also what was at play in the old days. You think Edgar Vidale wasn't going to lean on a player from his neck of the woods if he had observed that player intimately?

What I want to know is what advice Eve has for Sadoo.

Anyway, I don't think Eve is being out ah timing. Fenwick gambled. Some coaches don't gamble their reps. Fenwick had a lot of in-built insurance to geh way with this gamble.
i understand all that, but the point is......sigh...all he got from the game is that we didn't have enough local players ? :pissedoff: how bloody foolish. why should he use players who didn't kick a ball all season?

regardless of how much training they did all year the local players were not match fit, and these USL players just finished their season and probably was in some sort of self training to preserve their match sharpness.

as any good coach would do, you must play your fittest sharpest players. not to mention that terry had an even better reason to start these foreign based, he has never seen them play and what better reason than to match them with one of the best teams in the region to see what goodies they can bring to the table.

but angus and the other egomaniacs in trinidad are on about the loss like the game somehow meant something, it was a bloody practice match people get over yourselves, the only thing that was damaged here is your egos.

angus eve is a part and parcel of the problem with the silly local mentality, which have our football is in the toilet. people like dexter skeene, brent sancho, david nakid, stern john, dennis lawrence, brian williams, gally cummings, alvin corneal, selby brown, andre baptiste, DJW, jack warner, keith look loy, bertille st claire to name a few, are all part of that silly disruptive mind set, and they are opponents of progress with their inflated egos and their grudging ways, but no ideas.

you're telling me that all these men with the influence they wield in trinidad can't come together and open a football school (not some evening run around, but a real live in 24/7 academy) or come together to create a proper league, one that is competitive and up to standard?

as we speak jamaica is putting out very good competent players who's holding their own with the best in concacaf, and all this was done in the last 5 years. no team in cancacaf regardless of how good they are ever come to play jamaica with a cocky attitude.

they don't rush to close them down in their defensive third or push up into their box in great numbers on offense, they know very well that it could cost them especially on the counter attack. that's because jamaica has put in the work on their league which is now bearing fruit. they have put aside their foolishness for the greater good, so isn't it time we follow suite, come on trinbago it's time to wake up.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2021, 04:36:45 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #218 on: February 02, 2021, 07:12:43 AM »
No time to dwell on what we knew would have been the outcome. Even though I was disappointed with the some players basic errors. Get rid of the dead wood from this team that played last night. No need to call names.
Reinforcements should definitely include Ryan Innis (Charlton Athletic), Daniel Phillips (Watford Fc) & Rory Mckenzie (Kilmarnock FC). Add them to Molino, Jones, Bateau, Telfer, Garcia & Powder and we can build from there.
I imagine Fenwick is aware of those three you mentioned because Wiki plainly says two of them can represent us...I imagine you know why you included Inniss' name though. Two centre backs and a midfielder. I also think we safely include Muckette's name to this group?

« Reply #219 on: February 02, 2021, 09:23:28 AM »
Asylum mih phone screen giving me some issues so I would g8ve a better answer on d pc when I home but would just say i wouldn't hold a 5 man line mihself, would have gone for a compact 442  clog up d middle as best as possible and "trigger press" dey wing play on d pass with 2 players(one blindside if dat possible in d moment) for ah few seconds to try and force a transition...but dat assumes dem fellas could handle dem kinda mechanisms  or we being able to coach it effectively dem Americans were big and fit going pound for pound with dem and dat team would be a no go for me but then I different
« Last Edit: February 02, 2021, 10:19:44 AM by lefty »

« Reply #220 on: February 02, 2021, 11:21:17 AM »
So what activities are taking place in FL now? Drop some debrief post-match videos for us nah. Player feedback.

« Reply #221 on: February 02, 2021, 11:56:01 AM »
WATCH: Arnold Corneal's analysis of Trinidad and Tobago's 7-0 loss to United States

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/OqVxEaDcHhE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/OqVxEaDcHhE</a>

« Reply #222 on: February 02, 2021, 12:50:54 PM »
Hmmm! I have wanted to hear an Arnold Corneal perspective on football for a while, but I didn't see it coming on the heels of Sunday.

Looks like the Corneals are circling the wagons and Fenwick and Hadad are in the ring. Must mean Anton is still to be paid and still not integrated into the NC/TTFA structure alternatively ... so kick up dust and lick shots at the bleeding.

NONETHELESS, the parties under attack ambushed themselves. And I think we all figured out that Arnold is absolutely correct about Fenwick wanting to announce himself to the world. Earl Best also sussed that desire.

Will we be able to get to the Guyana match incident free? T&T football is like a minefield of constantly detonating bombs.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2021, 12:52:32 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #223 on: February 02, 2021, 01:01:34 PM »
Hmmm! I have wanted to hear an Arnold Corneal perspective on football for a while, but I didn't see it coming on the heels of Sunday.

Looks like the Corneals are circling the wagons and Fenwick and Hadad are in the ring. Must mean Anton is still to be paid and still not integrated into the NC/TTFA structure alternatively ... so kick up dust and lick shots at the bleeding.

NONETHELESS, the parties under attack ambushed themselves. And I think we all figured out that Arnold is absolutely correct about Fenwick wanting to announce himself to the world. Earl Best also sussed that desire.

Will we be able to get to the Guyana match incident free? T&T football is like a minefield of constantly detonating bombs.

Sure! But what of the TRUTH of his comments?

« Reply #224 on: February 02, 2021, 01:03:46 PM »
WATCH: Arnold Corneal's analysis of Trinidad and Tobago's 7-0 loss to United States

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/OqVxEaDcHhE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/OqVxEaDcHhE</a>

I 100% agree with him and Eve. (Although, I thought Eve's comments are ill-timed.

Ever since TF appointment, I adopted a wait and see for myself attitude since I only heard of his success at Jab. and his penchant for discipline along with the many calls to "Give Fenwick a chance"
But listening to his interviews, he has struck a largely superior attitude. He has taken no responsibility for his naive decisions and quick to throw his players under the bus. . .shameful indeed, disrespectful indeed.
Sadly too many T&T nationals will wait till he takes T&T further afield before the sack. And he is going nowhere, the money too sweet and he is in league with the nonsense that is the NC.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2021, 02:13:01 PM by Cocorite »

« Reply #225 on: February 02, 2021, 01:27:53 PM »

I addressed that singular comment as "absolutely correct" because the rest is in evidence. I don't disagree. The one caveat I would tender is that if a NT coach uses his discretion to select an opponent, why malign the administrative side?

I do not know the precise mechanics of how this offer/arrangement came about. What was the decision-making process? Was the Technical Director involved? What was the hierarchy of decision-making? How influential was the TV/ streaming element?

I understand why the match was tempting, but my view has been that we should have scrimmaged. Rotated players in and out and met the observation component maxg stated. Say 30 x 3 [x 2 days] Who knows?, it is also tied to the US training calendar and they had Canada in mind etc.

But, the TV friendly was a step too far. Somehow I feel if KLL was still "TC/TD" and this offer came up, an atomic bomb would have been detonating on the pages of Wired. There would likely have been an internal clash on this and how it was constructed.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2021, 01:45:49 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #226 on: February 02, 2021, 02:10:37 PM »

I addressed that singular comment as "absolutely correct" because the rest is in evidence. I don't disagree. The one caveat I would tender is that if a NT coach uses his discretion to select an opponent, why malign the administrative side?

I do not know the precise mechanics of how this offer/arrangement came about. What was the decision-making process? Was the Technical Director involved? What was the hierarchy of decision-making? How influential was the TV/ streaming element?

I understand why the match was tempting, but my view has been that we should have scrimmaged. Rotated players in and out and met the observation component maxg stated. Say 30 x 3 [x 2 days] Who knows?, it is also tied to the US training calendar and they had Canada in mind etc.

But, the TV friendly was a step too far. Somehow I feel if KLL was still "TC/TD" and this offer came up, an atomic bomb would have been detonating on the pages of Wired. There would likely have been an internal clash on this and how it was constructed.

Thank You! Yes you did. Sorry I missed it. Thanks for your balanced critique. Seems to be missing from quite a few of the analyses

« Reply #227 on: February 02, 2021, 07:46:01 PM »
WATCH: Post-game comments from forward Ryan Telfer after Trinidad and Tobago's 7-0 loss to the United States

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/UJ26EQ3bRVg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/UJ26EQ3bRVg</a>

« Reply #228 on: February 02, 2021, 08:12:59 PM »
I feel bad for Tefler. He works hard, plays well...but he hasn’t played with a full strength T&T team yet....

« Reply #229 on: February 02, 2021, 09:24:54 PM »
WATCH: Field of Dreams reviews Trinidad and Tobago's 7-0 loss to the United States

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/o_PuePCy2PY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/o_PuePCy2PY</a>

« Reply #230 on: February 03, 2021, 02:25:05 AM »

after one game and this fat wanker has it all figured out. it's so funny to hear these armchair has been wanne be coaches run off their bocas saying absolutely nothing of value. for starters it's way too early to blame anyone for this.

apart from not kicking a single ball in a competitive game this past year the coach saw his starting line up for the first time in person 48 hrs before the game and did not have enough time to impart his philosophy on the team.

this is exactly what i alluded to in regard to angus eve. these one time former internationals know very well that we don't have any players with pedigree on both the twin islands. these lads can't control a ball at their feet at top speed without faltering nor can they pass the ball well under pressure, it's quite obvious that their technical skills are severely lacking and with good reason, they are not well developed because we don't have any academies of any quality.

two years ago i attended a game in arima, after the game i mentioned to an old class mate the need for proper developmental programs, a bloke who was listening in took major offense to my objection being very abusive claimed that there are quite a few academies in trinidad and i should shut up,

so i decided to visit an academy in central, and low and behold it was an after school program teaching kids the basics of football and some drills on a busted pitch. not to mention that i was aghast to see what they were calling an academy.

a true academy is a school that is geared towards academics and football where kids stay from mon-fri and go home on the weekends. they learn the basics all the way to a professional standard of play. when they leave to attend university they are considered pros and can walk onto any team from the conference league to the premiership. that's an academy, not some kiddy evening sessions or weekend drills.

these men are too bloody hypocritical. they sit around and do very little for football. they won't even go out and get their euafa badges, yet they want to coach the children. watching the pro league is like going to a high school game, the standard is beyond poor, yet they complain when the lads underachieve in international tournaments and start throwing blame at the coaches. these apes can't even pick a proper federation president for the greater good for football, yet they complain the most. it's disgusting.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2021, 02:29:16 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #231 on: February 03, 2021, 03:40:33 AM »
WATCH: Field of Dreams reviews Trinidad and Tobago's 7-0 loss to the United States

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/o_PuePCy2PY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/o_PuePCy2PY</a>
i just wasted an hour watching this rubbish discussion. brian williams started off well but he lost me when he invoked foncette as one of the positives from the game, in fact they all agreed that had it not been for his heroics we would have conceded much more, what a hot steaming load.

i don't know what game they saw but the first and the second goal was totally his fault, he ran out like a lunatic when his defenders were already engaging the attacker, and his best move would have been to drop back and deal with the shot.

i don't know what is with our keepers, but they hate dropping back on their line in defense. when i watch barca i pay very close attention to navas very well, and one of his methods is to stay very close to his goal line.

luis lopez is another goal keeper who plays his goal line very close, and you would never see those guys running out unless their defenders lose control of the situation, and when they do they either get piece of the ball and just enough to interrupt the attack giving their defenders enough time to regroup, our goalies on the othere hand either get rounded or are made to look foolish.

then again what do i expect from people who has high praises for the fat boss. if they could justify not going to the olympics, and buying into that bogus under under15 debacle with staurt charles as some kind of preparation for the future, then i should have known not to expect anything cognizant of these local mad fellows.

i really sorry for trinidad yes. our babies are definitely in the wrongs hands....in every aspect of their existence.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2021, 03:45:42 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #232 on: February 03, 2021, 03:48:18 AM »
what happened to micheal de shields?

« Reply #233 on: February 03, 2021, 08:16:45 AM »

i just wasted an hour watching this rubbish discussion. brian williams started off well but he lost me when he invoked foncette as one of the positives from the game, in fact they all agreed that had it not been for his heroics we would have conceded much more, what a hot steaming load.

i don't know what game they saw but the first and the second goal was totally his fault, he ran out like a lunatic when his defenders were already engaging the attacker, and his best move would have been to drop back and deal with the shot.

i don't know what is with our keepers, but they hate dropping back on their line in defense. when i watch barca i pay very close attention to navas very well, and one of his methods is to stay very close to his goal line.

luis lopez is another goal keeper who plays his goal line very close, and you would never see those guys running out unless their defenders lose control of the situation, and when they do they either get piece of the ball and just enough to interrupt the attack giving their defenders enough time to regroup, our goalies on the othere hand either get rounded or are made to look foolish.

then again what do i expect from people who has high praises for the fat boss. if they could justify not going to the olympics, and buying into that bogus under under15 debacle with staurt charles as some kind of preparation for the future, then i should have known not to expect anything cognizant of these local mad fellows.

i really sorry for trinidad yes. our babies are definitely in the wrongs hands....in every aspect of their existence.

They are crediting Foncette for doing his job. Which is sort of a lowest common denominator salute. He stopped several otherwise likely goals. Undeniable.

That is a separate commentary than the composition of the goals that were conceded.

I am not going to beat up on Foncette, but he made individual errors that were part of the accounting. Not on all the goals.

Nonetheless, framing the accounting exclusively on his shoulders would be wrong.

Clarke was very forthright in his assessments (the only one of which I would engage him on is his comment regarding culture and the use of certain tactics. I disagree.)

I wonder how he would deconstruct Foncette's performance objectively, membership in the goalkeepers union deactivated.

Wish that Q had been asked explicitly.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2021, 08:26:22 AM by asylumseeker »

Offline raj

Trinidad team stepped in to play US after Serbia game fell though
« Reply #234 on: February 03, 2021, 01:11:16 PM »
FROM Stars and Stripe FC:

The United States Men’s National Team will welcome in a familiar foe to conclude January Camp. Today, U.S. Soccer announced that the USMNT will play Trinidad and Tobago on Sunday, January 31st at Exploria Stadium in Orlando. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:00pm ET and will be shown on FS1, UniMás, and TUDN.

The USMNT had been rumored to be in discussions with Serbia to play during this year’s January Camp. However, it appears those talks hit a snag, and the Soca Warriors stepped in as the opponent.

The last time the two teams met on the field was the group stage of the 2019 Gold Cup, where the USMNT throttled Trinidad and Tobago 6-0. Braces by Aaron Long and Gyasi Zardes, and goals by Christian Pulisic and Paul Arriola led the United States. The USMNT is 19-3-5 all-time against the Soca Warriors, and they look to begin 2021 with their 20th win against the Caribbean’s southernmost island nation.

“It’s nice after an intensive training camp to get to compete,” USMNT head coach Gregg Berhalter said in a statement released by U.S. Soccer. “The guys have been working hard and we welcome the opportunity to play against a regional rival like Trinidad and Tobago.”

« Reply #235 on: February 03, 2021, 04:34:44 PM »
Soca ‘not so much’ Warriors? A night to forget.
By Colin Murray (T&T Guardian).

Having spent an enjoyable Sunday afternoon watching the champions of England - Liverpool - and in particular, Mo Salah score for me what could be the goal of the season, I eagerly awaited the clash between the Soca Warriors and the USA later on in the evening.

Now, let me state categorically I did not expect T&T to win the game. I figured a 4-0 loss was the worst-case scenario but 7-0 was embarrassing and totally degrading and coach Terry Fenwick has to stand up and say it is his fault and no one else’s. All great coaches the world over must take responsibility for the results of their teams.

Quite bizarre was the fact that coach Fenwick thought it was a good idea to gamble against the USA. With all due respect to some of our regional neighbours, you can gamble against them but not against a well-drilled, well-oiled unit like the United States.

Even though they played only their domestic players as highly-rated stars like Christian Pulisic and Tyler Adams weren’t called in (thankfully) with the game falling outside of a normal FIFA window, they were still able to run all over the Soca Warriors leaving them looking battered and bruised all over the football field.

I felt genuinely sorry for the T&T players because they looked like a ‘pick up’ side for a Sunday evening sweat in the park. How can you start six players that you had not seen before? Instead, relying on observations from YouTube and other information you collected from wherever and whenever. Dear me! I would not like to go shopping with you. You may look at a store and order goods from the outside without doing any quality control yourself.

Come on, Terry, this was unacceptable! You have let T&T down. This was not San Juan Jabloteh or Central FC but the vast majority of the population was looking at the game and from the second minute, even the least interested or enthused football fan knew full well that it was going to be one of those long, disastrous and forgettable nights in the history of T&T football.

You knew what you were getting into when you took this job. You knew the T&T Football Association’s (TTFA) development programme left a lot to be desired but do not talk about the poor concentration of the players. It was your job to ensure they were fully prepared and motivated for the game. They needed to be focused and ready to pour their hearts and souls on the field of play for their country. I just didn’t see that, did you? The first 15 minutes of the game were going to be crucial and the USA waltzed through your team like skiers going downhill and just churning up the snow.

Now, having a supposed game plan in place for the first 15 minutes, I would have thought the defence should have been packed even with five at the back. I have seen you analyse games on television and when the smaller clubs play the top six, the game plan is to get everyone behind the ball, frustrate the opposition and hit them on the counter.

This USA team was quick, they were fit and passed the ball well. As a result, T&T always seemed to be chasing the ball and because the team’s defence was not compact, holes aplenty appeared and the opposition exploited them ruthlessly. When a team is playing against better opposition and this high press is used, if the players cannot play the system, acres of space is found and so the USA was quite literally having a field day.

Important to ask - what happened to the locally-based players that were training for months? Were they not good enough for this game? Was that decision made overnight? Did you suddenly wake up and decide you were going with mostly foreign-based players because they were playing more consistently than the local players through no fault of theirs other than a pandemic?

I would have thought that with all the months of training, you would have been able to analyse what you have locally and supplement that with a few foreign-based players that you would have got scouted; and brought them in to make the squad stronger and better. Are you going to go back to the locally-based players? What will happen to those foreign-based players? Is it fair to discard some of them who only trained with the squad for a mere 48 hours? Some looked unfit which is really unforgivable - if you are a professional athlete, it is your duty to keep yourself active and fit at all times.

Admittedly, T&T looked better in the second half so it is something Fenwick is able to work on but what has he really learned from this game? Thankfully, it is not all doom and gloom as the likes of Levi Garcia, Kevin Molino, Joevin Jones, Khaleem Hyland, Sheldon Bateau, Akeem Garcia and a few others are to come into the squad.

Fenwick has to look fast and get some other quality players up to the standard of those well-established players. Duane Muckette, Neveal Hackshaw and Michel Poon Angeron (whom I remember was a standout for St Mary’s College a few years ago) have some potential at this level, but he has little time to do it. Exercise number one has failed so he needs to look at where his team is going and where he wants them to ultimately be.

Up next for the Soca Warriors is a 2022 World Cup qualifier against Guyana at home on March 26 and Fenwick has a nucleus of players to choose from. As mentioned, his primary objective must be to find a couple of good foreign-based players and actually see them in action before he can make a judgement call and bring them into the fold to join the likes of Hyland etc. He must also give the local players a chance to showcase their talents and get them up to international standard.

For your sake, Mr Fenwick, things can only get better from here but remember your words in January 2020 shortly after you were appointed T&T head coach, “...we’ve got to start playing a style of football that suits the players that we’ve got. We are blessed with some fantastic footballers, but unless you put the footballers together in a system of play that suits them, you lose games”.

I await the change, the system and the winning of games.

Editor’s note: The views expressed in this column are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of any organisation of which he is a stakeholder.

« Reply #236 on: February 03, 2021, 06:18:03 PM »
a true academy is a school that is geared towards academics and football where kids stay from mon-fri and go home on the weekends. they learn the basics all the way to a professional standard of play.

Breds, you honestly think that will happen in TT. If it eh happening in cricket, you think it go happen in football? If the govt remove the stipends to the pro league, the super league will be the new league of TT football. So if that person tell you that is TT version of an academy, believe it. That is an academy, TT style. The clubs in TT are financially weak. They can barely pay their players far less have an in-house academy. I understand that You really have the well being of TT at heart. But the people with money who could make this work has no interest in football. Well unless they winning. Winning is EVERYTHING!

« Reply #237 on: February 03, 2021, 09:19:48 PM »
a true academy is a school that is geared towards academics and football where kids stay from mon-fri and go home on the weekends. they learn the basics all the way to a professional standard of play.

Breds, you honestly think that will happen in TT. If it eh happening in cricket, you think it go happen in football? If the govt remove the stipends to the pro league, the super league will be the new league of TT football. So if that person tell you that is TT version of an academy, believe it. That is an academy, TT style. The clubs in TT are financially weak. They can barely pay their players far less have an in-house academy. I understand that You really have the well being of TT at heart. But the people with money who could make this work has no interest in football. Well unless they winning. Winning is EVERYTHING!
mate when last have you been to trinidad? believe me when I tell you that there are people down there who live better than the average englishman. you would not believe the amount of wealth there is on that big island. go down central and you would see mega mansions with swimming pools and expensive cars parked in the back yard. so don’t tell me they can’t afford it.

the reality is that it’s not in their interest because they leave everything in sports up the the government to subsidize. in case you forgot, trinidadians are no longer a sport loving people that’s why I laughed at the fat corneal guy yesterday when he claimed that we are a football loving nation, what utter rubbish.

go to any pro league match and the crowd is scant with a sprinkling of fans. I spoke to a few of my mates on Sunday and asked if we’re getting ready to watch the game and their reply was, what game, is that a football loving nation? If they put the same effort on sports that they put into feting especially carnival productions, football would be king in that nation. no money my ass.

« Reply #238 on: February 03, 2021, 09:37:17 PM »
Seeker, the point was that these guys are not good for football if they could credit such a poor display of goal keeping madness with accolades. The reason why europe and North America are so dominant in world football is because they don’t accept mediocrity as a partway to success.

If something is not working well for them they would dissect it and pin point the weakness and not only rectify the problem, but also modify it so that it would be the blue print for the future. we in the third world tend to cover up faults and make excuses for failure just so we could feel good about being failures.

just look at the usa, they lose out on the world cup and 4 years later they’re playing like robots from a super cyborg factory. it’s a strong possibility that they just might win the World Cup in 2022. so until these complaisant parakeets who love the sound of their own voice don’t step away from sports on The Who.e in trinidad, then expect  ore heartache in sports.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2021, 10:07:32 PM by pull stones »

« Reply #239 on: February 03, 2021, 09:46:37 PM »
PS. I almost fell out of my chair when Clark and cyrus claimed that DJW had a plan for football development by giving Stuart charles the responsibility to groom some under 15s as the crop for the future and Brian Williams agreed. they even praised his decision to abandoned the U23 and the rest of the football programs including the women just so he can concentrate on the U 15,

then I recall those same kids being mauled by venezeula and.....I believe it was panama in a tournament where they had not won a single game or even came close, yet these jokers sat there and thumbs up that charade as a good idea?

this is my sincere opinion and conclusion to our failure or success. our football will remain in trouble and our lads embarrassed all over the world if we don’t rid our football of these vermin masquerading as football ambassadors in trinidad and tobago.

they need to start by schooling these kids in a proper footballing environment with European or American coaching staff with a the proper nutritional, physical and mental program. that’s the only way forward.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2021, 10:06:55 PM by pull stones »