March 28, 2024, 06:19:21 AM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs French Guiana (06-Jul-2021)  (Read 7155 times)

Re: Thread for T&T vs French Guiana(06-Jul-2021)
« Reply #30 on: July 05, 2021, 04:26:20 PM »
Soca Warriors to face French Guiana Tuesday, Cuba out Gold Cup qualifiers
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T Soca Warriors will face French Guiana on Tuesday in their winner-take-all Concacaf Gold Cup preliminary round playoff for the right to join Mexico,El Salvador and Curacao in the Group A main draw.

This after Concacaf in a media release on Saturday (July 3) said that the French Guiana and Cuba match which was carded for Saturday will no longer take place after the Spanish-speaking players failed to travel to the USA.

In the release, Concacaf said it has been in regular communication with the Cuban Football Association regarding their travel to the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup Preliminary Round.

Unfortunately, due to COVID-19 related travel and visa challenges, and the required COVID-19 testing regime, their match against French Guiana will not take place.

Given the current public health situation and the ongoing need for protocols to be adhered to, the health and safety of the participating teams cannot be compromised.

French Guiana will advance to the second round of the Preliminaries and will now face T&T on Tuesday (July 6).

The other two Preliminaries matches for Saturday night will be played as originally scheduled.

Fans that had previously purchased tickets and planned to attend the Cuba vs French Guiana match, scheduled for 7 pm Saturday, will be eligible for a refund. Fans should contact Ticketmaster’s customer service line at 800-653-8000 or return to the DRV PNK Stadium box office if they purchased tickets at the venue. No refunds will be honoured if fans decide to attend the other matches scheduled for Saturday evening.

RELATED NEWS

Trinidad and Tobago coach Angus Eve fostering healthy bond with players.
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday).

TRINIDAD AND Tobago men’s football team coach Angus Eve has already fostered a healthy working relationship with his players heading into Tuesday’s final Concacaf Gold Cup qualifier against French Guiana.

Eve was installed as coach three weeks ago and had just two weeks to prepare the squad for their opening Gold Cup qualifier against Montserrat on Friday at Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States.

His appointment came on the heels of T&T’s surprising 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying exit on June 5, under then head coach Terry Fenwick. Fenwick and his assistants Kelvin Jack and Derek King were sacked one week later.

Undeterred and inspired, Eve led the Soca Warriors to a 6-1 triumph over Montserrat and now gears up for his second official match at helm on Tuesday.

A victory against French Guiana on Tuesday guarantees a place for T&T in the Gold Cup group stage which gets underway on Saturday.

Against Montserrat, second half substitute Reon Moore bagged a brace while Kevin Molino, Marcus Joseph, Ryan Telfer and Judah Garcia also got their names on the scoresheet for T&T.

Moore, who made his Gold Cup debut in his fourth cap for the senior team, said Eve has quickly established a connection with the team.

“From day one, the connection between the coach and players was fantastic. He dealt with us on a (mature) level and we have a very good understanding. It’s more like we’re working together and not like somebody’s over your back with a big stick. So the transition is perfect,” said Moore after Friday’s win.

The Defence Force winger added that Eve’s five-day preparation camp – held at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva before the team departed en route to Florida – was short but well-executed.

He added, “It’s a great feeling. It all started from the training camp. The preparation was great and we transferred that into the game and we got the victory. It’s the training camps that we did, the preparation, knowing what the opposition would give, that made the game.”

Although he was not involved in the ill-fated T&T’s World Cup qualifying campaign, Moore said he was confident and “had a point to prove” heading into Friday’s meeting. Against French Guiana, if selected, Moore noted that he wants to build on his performances.

Similarly, Garcia, who scored his first international goal for T&T, was elated. He also showered praises on Eve for his never-say-die attitude and smooth ability to connect with a player.

The 20-year-old midfielder said there was some pressure on him leading up to the match but the coach was able to repress these feelings and get the best out of him on the field.

“The pressure will be there but coming up in the (training) camp with coach Angus was great. We had an excellent camp. From the game that we looked at with the team (Montserrat), we saw their strengths and their weaknesses. I think we focused on it and executed,” he said.

Garcia also credited Eve for his tactical foresight which allowed him to record his first-ever international goal.

On his achievement, Garcia added, “it was great. Something I’ve been dreaming about and wanting to have a long time now. The instructions from coach to me, was to go in behind the defence because they don’t like to run a lot. That’s exactly what I did and that’s how the goal came about.”

Likewise, Eve acknowledged the passion and commitment shown by his team to withstand the pressures of such a topsy-turvy season. This was also his first official game in charge of the the T&T men's team.

The 49-year-old Eve, who is T&T’s most capped player with 117 international appearances, will serve as the national coach until August 31.

“I feel very humbled by the experience. This is a new stage, a new experience for me. I do believe I prepared myself well for it through all the things I would have done. Through the grace of God I kept my composure through it all. I thought the guys really implemented what we did in training,” he said.

The coach added that it was important for the team to get going with a win after the “Terry Fenwick era”. He said the team felt that they had a responsibility to the T&T people to go out and give a good performance; especially after their unsettling World Cup qualifying exit.

Looking ahead to Tuesday’s match, Eve wants the team to maintain its momentum and secure the much-needed three points to affirm a spot in the group stage.

He said that T&T may be without left-back Triston Hodge who suffered a groin injury against Montserrat. Also uncertain is Aubrey David, who was kicked in the chin against Montserrat, which gave way for Molino to open the scoring from the penalty spot. According to Eve, David received nine stitches.

Eve concluded, “Our goal is to first reach the group stage and then we will reboot and replan and go forward again. It’s most important that the job hasn’t ended, it has now begun.”

« Last Edit: July 05, 2021, 04:28:51 PM by Flex »

« Reply #31 on: July 05, 2021, 05:42:46 PM »
WATCH: Press conference with Trinidad and Tobago Interim Head Coach Angus Eve and Ryan Telfer ahead of the Concacaf Gold Cup Second Preliminary Round match against French Guiana.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/tT1-YZpsF_w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/tT1-YZpsF_w</a>

French Guiana hoping to tame resurgent Trinidad and Tobago
« Reply #32 on: July 05, 2021, 06:12:17 PM »
French Guiana hoping to tame resurgent Trinidad and Tobago
Concacaf.com

French Guiana will be out to tame resurgent Trinidad and Tobago when the two sides meet in the Second Round of the 2021 Gold Cup Prelims on Tuesday at DRV PNK Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

The winner will advance to the Gold Cup group stage and slot into Group A along with Mexico, El Salvador and Curacao.

But first things first, a tricky test awaits for both sides.

Tuesday’s contest will mark French Guiana’s first match of the Prelims and their first official match since their group finale in League B of the 2019-20 Concacaf Nations League, a 3-1 win over Saints Kitts and Nevis in November 2019.

Nevertheless, with a team boasting many European-based players, including FW Sloan Privat, who scored one of his country’s two goals in the 2017 Gold Cup, and DFs Kevin Rimane, formerly of Ligue 1 giants Paris Saint-Germain, and Stade Brestois 29’s Ludovic Baal, plus Boulogne GK Simon Lugier, Les Yono Dokos have the pieces in place for a good performance.

While Trinidad and Tobago’s campaign in Concacaf World Cup Qualifying for Qatar 2022 ended in disappointing fashion in the First Round, the Soca Warriors are enjoying a resurgence under Interim Head Coach Angus Eve.

Trinidad and Tobago returned to their high-flying ways in a 6-1 triumph over Montserrat in the First Round of the Prelims, with Kevin Molino, Marcus Joseph and Judah Garcia among the goal-scorers.

A win against French Guiana would provide a massive momentum boost going into the Gold Cup group stage.

« Reply #33 on: July 06, 2021, 03:56:54 AM »
Wounded Soca Warriors confident against French Guiana.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Newsday).

T&T’s Soca Warriors will be blind and wounded metaphorically, when they head into Moday’s all-important CONCACAF Gold Cup qualifier against French Guiana at the DRV PNK Stadium, in Florida, USA from 4:30 pm knowing anything about their opponents.

National coach Angus Eve’s team could stroll into Group A of the CONCACAF Gold Cup, along with giants Mexico, El Salvador and Curacao, should T&T come out on top in the encounter, but it seems to be an unpredictable task with little to no information known to his technical staff about a team that has no FIFA ranking, as an overseas department of the French Republic.

In fact, in the past 30 years, the French Guianese Mulatto team has entered the Gold Cup just once in 2017, where it was defeated in the group phase, going down 3-0 to Costa Rica and Honduras, and 4-2 to Canada. Otherwise from 1991- to 2021, the French Guianese team has either not entered or did not qualify for the CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament.

French Guiana did participate at the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) or Caribbean Cup level where an encounter with the T&T Soca Warriors in November 2014, landed them at the end of a 4-2 beating.

French Guiana was expected to face Cuba in the preliminary round on Saturday, but with Cuba pulling out of the tournament, due to their inability to travel to the US for not being able to comply with the COVID-19 safety protocols, they earned an automatic spot in today’s the second round.   

At a press conference, yesterday Eve believes that today's opponents could have an advantage over his team, having gotten the chance to see the Soca Warriors play while he did not get that opportunity.

The French Guiana’s entire team currently plays its football at home, with an option to play in French Leagues if they can.

Meanwhile, the Soca Warriors also face the possibility of making changes to their starting team, with defenders Aubrey David and Triston Hodge uncertain due to injuries. 

“They (French Guiana) haven’t played a competitive match for a while, that we could see them. It’s unfortunate Cuba couldn’t make it for one reason or the other, but the roster that they have you could go back and see some of the things that some of their players would have done in the past, but that’s basically it. We’re basically going relatively blind.

“They would have a better idea of what we do because they would have seen our games, so they have an advantage in that regard, but we’re pretty confident in our game and we’re pretty confident of what we’re capable of doing,” Eve explained.

Eve, a last-minute replacement for Terry Fenwick, fired after the T&T team failed to get past the first round of the World Cup Qualifiers, has said they will be taking this game as a final: “Each of the matches matters because they are must-win games. So we have to treat each match as a virtual final because to play the other match you have to play the first one to go into the group stage. The mood in the camp is good, although we have the possibilities that some guys will not be able to play, we just don’t know just yet.

“The medical staff is working on it but at the end of the day, we saw the guys who came off the bench, they were fantastic. We have a squad of players we can trust, so if somebody’s injured, they’re no problem for us to replace them with one of the guys on the roster.”

Meanwhile, Ryan Telfer, the Athletico Ottawa winger has said he will play any role that will help the team pull off a victory in a game that he too considers a virtual final: “As the coach has been re-iterating in the camp, there isn’t going to be a Gold Cup for us if we don’t take this game tomorrow (Monday) as a final.”

Eve’s men are coming off an impressive 6-1 victory over Montserrat which will be a morale booster for them as well.

RELATED NEWS

Eve: Soca Warriors confident ahead of Gold Cup qualifier vs French Guiana
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

ANGUS Eve, coach of the T&T men’s football team, acknowledges that he is not totally aware of the capabilities of the French Guiana squad, as both teams square off in their 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup qualification second-round match on Tuesday, from 4.30 pm, at the DRV PNK Stadium, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States.

French Guiana were due to face Cuba on Saturday in their first-round fixture. However, Cuba had to default the game since they were unable to leave Nicaragua for the US due to covid19 related travel and visa challenges.

French Guiana are not a member of FIFA as they are an overseas department of the French Republic. Ironically, their last competitive match was a 3-1 victory over St Kitts/Nevis, in the Concacaf Nations League, on November 17, 2019.

Eve, speaking at a pre-game media conference via Zoom on Monday, said, “They haven’t played a competitive game for a while. It’s unfortunate we couldn’t see them (on Saturday).”

The T&T coach continued, “The roster that they have, we could basically go back and see things that some of the players would have done in the past, but that’s basically it. We’re basically going relatively blind.

“They would have a better idea of what we do because they would have seen our game, so they have an advantage in that regard. We’re pretty confident in our game and what we’re capable of doing.

Two T&T defenders suffered injuries during Friday’s 6-1 trouncing of Montserrat, in a first-round tie. Left-back Tristan Hodge was replaced by Ross Russell Jnr at the half-time break due to a groin strain, while centre-back Aubrey David needed stitches after a cut to his face, from a high boot from defender Nathan Pond.

But Eve said, “We’re still treating with them and they’re pretty much day-to-day. If any changes had to be made, we’ll have to wait until the last moment to see.”

The winners of Tuesday’s qualifier will advance to Group A of the Gold Cup, alongside Mexico, El Salvador and Curacao.

“We have to treat each match as a virtual final,” said the T&T coach. “Each match is equally important. The mood in the camp is really good. The guys who came off the bench were fantastic. We have a squad of players who we trust so if somebody is injured, there is no problem for us to replace them with one of the other guys on the roster.”

Eve shifted Ryan Telfer to the left-wing position and recalled Marcus Joseph to play as the lone striker.

Telfer and Joseph, along with Kevin Molino, scored in the first half of Friday’s game while, in the second half, Reon Moore added a pair and Judah Garcia netted once.

On his team’s attacking prowess, Eve said, “We scored goals from different positions of the park. We don’t have the luxury of a Stern John, Kenwyne Jones or Dwight Yorke.

“We have to use the players that we have and get them to contribute. We got goals from five different players and five different positions.”

Telfer made his T&T debut in 2019 and has played under three coaches – Dennis Lawrence, Terry Fenwick and Eve.

“It’s different coaching styles,” said Telfer. “I played in a similar role with Dennis Lawrence, as a left-winger. With Fenwick, it was more of a centre-forward role. In terms of what (Eve) wants me to do, he wants me to be creative.”

The T&T team had their final training session at the Inter Miami training pitch on Monday morning.

Teams –

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO: Marvin Phillip, Nicklas Frenderup, Adrian Foncette (goalkeepers); Aubrey David, Jelani Peters, Curtis Gonzales, Radanfah Abu Bakr, Alvin Jones, Justin Garcia, Tristan Hodge, Ross Russell Jnr, Jesse Williams (defenders); Neveal Hackshaw, Hashim Arcia, Khaleem Hyland, Kevin Molino, Judah Garcia, Reon Moore, Andre Fortune II, Duane Muckette (midfielders); Ryan Telfer, Marcus Joseph, Isaiah Lee (strikers).

FRENCH GUIANA: Simon Lugier, Jean-Banuel Petit-Homme, Noha Pulcherie (goalkeepers); Dylan Adam, Ludovic Baal, Gregory Lescot, Gary Marigard, Marvin Torvic, Alain Moges, Teddy Adaoude, Inrick Baal (defenders); Rhudy Evens, Regis Leveille, Thomas Vancaeyezeele, Kevin Rimane, Marc Edwige, Miguel Haabo, Jessy Marigard (midfielders); Arnold Abelinti, Sloan Privat, Alex Eric, Carino Atchaliso, Calvin Soga (strikers).

« Last Edit: July 06, 2021, 03:58:55 AM by Flex »

« Reply #34 on: July 06, 2021, 09:19:28 AM »
MATCH PREVIEW: Trinidad and Tobago vs French Guiana

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Gu-D6O9Ns1w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Gu-D6O9Ns1w</a>

« Reply #35 on: July 06, 2021, 10:38:29 AM »
Any links or streaming for this game?

« Reply #36 on: July 06, 2021, 01:37:23 PM »
Any links or streaming for this game?

This... I know CONCACAF has streamed a lot of these on Youtube

« Reply #37 on: July 06, 2021, 01:58:14 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago's lineup

French Guiana's lineup

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 21.Nicklas Frenderup; 2.Aubrey David, 4.Jelani Peters, 16.Alvin Jones, 19.Ross Russell Jnr; 15.Neveal Hackshaw, 8.Khaleem Hyland (capt), 10.Kevin Molino, 11.Judah Garcia; 9.Marcus Joseph, 7.Ryan Telfer.

Substitutes: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK), 22.Adrian Foncette (GK), 3.Hashim Arcia, 5.Curtis Gonzales, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 17.Justin Garcia, 23.Jesse Williams, 14.Andre Fortune II, 12.Isaiah Lee, 20.Duane Muckette, 13.Reon Moore.

French Guiana: 1.Simon Lugier; 4.Alain Moges, 6.Kevin Rimane, 8.Rhudy Evens, 10.Ludovic Baal (capt), 9.Sloan Privat, 12.Jessy Marigard, 11.Arnold Abelinti, 17.Thomas Vancaeyezeele, 14.Gregory Lescot, 19.Calvin Soga.

« Last Edit: July 06, 2021, 02:25:41 PM by Flex »

Offline hg495

« Reply #38 on: July 06, 2021, 02:09:20 PM »
YouTube blocked the stream for me last game
if yuh never get ah buss toe playing small goal den yuh never play football in trini when yuh was small hehehehe

« Reply #39 on: July 06, 2021, 02:11:18 PM »
WATCH:Angus Eve gives his thoughts just before facing French Guiana.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/8d2981KBKU4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/8d2981KBKU4</a>

« Reply #40 on: July 06, 2021, 02:17:08 PM »
« Last Edit: July 06, 2021, 02:31:05 PM by Peong »

Offline hg495

« Reply #41 on: July 06, 2021, 02:20:15 PM »
Bless ah go check it out because is stress watching big games on de phone
if yuh never get ah buss toe playing small goal den yuh never play football in trini when yuh was small hehehehe

« Reply #42 on: July 06, 2021, 02:32:44 PM »
Lugier
Baal
Lescot
Moges
Marigard G
Soga
Vancaeyezeele
Rimane
Evens
Privat
Abelinti

I think that is it. Evens may be used on L.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2021, 02:34:16 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #43 on: July 06, 2021, 02:58:46 PM »
goal for Molino

Offline Trini boi

« Reply #44 on: July 06, 2021, 02:58:59 PM »
GOOOAALLL!!!

« Reply #45 on: July 06, 2021, 03:03:18 PM »
http://firstrowsports.be/soccer/trinidad-tobago-french-guyana-krk83a4ab?l=3123485090 works but as I said it ah little involved and yuh need ah ad blocker especially on ah smartphone android in particular, phone go be try to open play store constantly if yuh hitting links instead ah "x"s

edit just stop working
« Last Edit: July 06, 2021, 03:05:53 PM by lefty »

« Reply #46 on: July 06, 2021, 03:06:19 PM »
What team is this? Great play by T&T so far, that first goal was a peach, and I'm not sure that second was offside...

« Reply #47 on: July 06, 2021, 03:15:15 PM »
Easy come... Great finish

« Reply #48 on: July 06, 2021, 03:22:31 PM »
I am disappointed that replica situations from the video clips above have been replayed during the first half.

« Reply #49 on: July 06, 2021, 03:22:42 PM »
Oh gyad dat defensive header. Too easy. And Hyland hamstring is a double blow. We have to claw back in front now.
Before they scored I was going to say I didn't like the tempo of the game. Too slow like the game vs Bahamas. Fellas need to pick it up, and don't let the ball drop in the box. We still have it.

« Reply #50 on: July 06, 2021, 03:30:42 PM »
Oh gyad dat defensive header. Too easy. And Hyland hamstring is a double blow. We have to claw back in front now.
Before they scored I was going to say I didn't like the tempo of the game. Too slow like the game vs Bahamas. Fellas need to pick it up, and don't let the ball drop in the box. We still have it.

seems like d weather not agreeing with we dais d second injury sub of this game

« Reply #51 on: July 06, 2021, 03:47:19 PM »
Where de f000ck they find number 4 for T&T. Justin Garcia is much better.

If Molino is we best player, we in trouble.

Andre Fortune, lard fadda, send he back home quick.

Justin Garcia and Jesse Williams should be on the field and play Alvin on de wing.

Angus yuh good boy.

« Last Edit: July 06, 2021, 03:48:10 PM by Flex »

« Reply #52 on: July 06, 2021, 03:55:40 PM »
Fortune has struggled at this level to much and NOAH powder  cannot even get a run

« Reply #53 on: July 06, 2021, 04:16:52 PM »
but wait no comments

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
« Reply #54 on: July 06, 2021, 04:23:32 PM »
Going into penalties either Trinidad is tired or poor tactics

« Reply #55 on: July 06, 2021, 04:40:08 PM »

but wait no comments

Bamcy was winking now ah could breathe......we win
« Last Edit: July 06, 2021, 04:43:27 PM by lefty »

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
« Reply #56 on: July 06, 2021, 04:41:22 PM »
We win

Offline lil damo

« Reply #57 on: July 06, 2021, 04:44:02 PM »
Happy for the win. Happy for Eve. Proud of the boys. The team will need to add some players to compete as this current mix will struggle without some help.

« Reply #58 on: July 06, 2021, 04:44:23 PM »
Heart attack. .

But it shouldn't have come down to this. Congratulations to the team. A lot of work still needs to get done. Mexico awaits..

FG outplayed us. They deserve the win.

« Reply #59 on: July 06, 2021, 04:44:34 PM »
we looked off d pace and dem early injuries didn' help