March 28, 2024, 12:24:55 PM

Author Topic: Whet's Next for the TTMNT?  (Read 1316 times)

Offline ABTrini

Whet's Next for the TTMNT?
« on: July 18, 2021, 09:22:03 PM »
 Well with no  WC22 and no GC, what's next for the team in it  evolution? I am seeing signs of progression and some talent to work with. We could be more:
 1. assertive on offence
 2. Close down faster on  opposition space
  3. more aggressive on offence
  4. stronger on the ball- we are getting pushed off the ball too easily
 5. Find that  center that  holds up defense and  is a threat  up the middle
 6. creative midfielders

I think with  what Eve is doing he may be staring to build a strong local squad . I like his authenticity- He  does not come across as  being bombastic; egotistical; or knows it all. If anything, he has to be open to possibilities and not be short sighted when it comes to  talent from all areas.

I hope we could see a focus on:
 1. a strong local development squad
 2.  revamp of  regional rivalries- North South- east west- Tobago squads
 3. Regional competition  for team selection-
4.  Foreign players will have a squad and will have to  be part of a regional team selection
 5. No automatic  '  friend ting' to make squad. Have to compete to make team.

Hope we could have some friendlies against regional rivalries to keep a local squad game sharp. Best of luck moving forward- WC 26 we coming with a bang!

Re: Whet's Next for the TTMNT?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2021, 05:29:09 AM »
young team?? surely you jest. hashim arcia 32, molino 31, mikel williams 30, aubrey david 30, ryan telfer 27, marcus joseph 30, marvin phillip 36, khaleem hyland 31, abu bakar 34, alvin jones 27,  jelani peters 27, duane muckette 26 and triston hodge 26, so what young team are you talking about? terry had an even younger team with the like of michel poon angeron, danial phillip, judah garcia, sean bonval and gary griffith the third.

Get the U23 and U19 players for the next cycle. If what pull stones say about the ages of these guys is true, then we certainly need new blood. No two ways about it.

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2021, 08:06:37 PM »

« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2021, 07:43:05 AM »
Here are some key points I gleaned from this effort:
1. X's and O's are a small part of success. A Coach's personality makes a huge difference in morale and spirit which can ultimately lead to success
2. Fitness was obviously a key factor! There were too many turnovers; playing faster; loss of concentration. These are all elements that improve with game fitness.
3. With the next WC opportunity in 2026, Angus should now turn its sights to bringing in a much younger squad. At least 10 of the squad are in their 30's. Only goalkeepers are likely to have good performances in their late 30's.
4. Use the next few years to schedule games in every available opportunity. (Over the next few months, WC qualifiers would be looking for games).
5. All the minute steps forward would be meaningless unless the administration (whichever survives this normalization process) gets serious about working for the issues of the country and not for self-gratification and personal gain.
6. Get the local league up and running soo the local players get some game fitness.
7. Stop this local players vs foreign players bs and select the best available players, whether foreign or local.

Go Warriors!
« Last Edit: July 20, 2021, 07:51:29 AM by Storeboy »

« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2021, 11:30:24 AM »
1. X's and O's are a small part of success. A Coach's personality makes a huge difference in morale and spirit which can ultimately lead to success
2. Fitness was obviously a key factor! There were too many turnovers; playing faster; loss of concentration. These are all elements that improve with game fitness.
3. With the next WC opportunity in 2026, Angus should now turn its sights to bringing in a much younger squad. At least 10 of the squad are in their 30's. Only goalkeepers are likely to have good performances in their late 30's.
4. Use the next few years to schedule games in every available opportunity. (Over the next few months, WC qualifiers would be looking for games).
5. All the minute steps forward would be meaningless unless the administration (whichever survives this normalization process) gets serious about working for the issues of the country and not for self-gratification and personal gain.
6. Get the local league up and running soo the local players get some game fitness.
7. Stop this local players vs foreign players bs and select the best available players, whether foreign or local.

Go Warriors!

:thumbsup:

« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2021, 11:58:42 AM »

Go Warriors!

« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2021, 12:16:27 PM »
Well with no  WC22 and no GC, what's next for the team in it  evolution? I am seeing signs of progression and some talent to work with. We could be more:
 1. assertive on offence
 2. Close down faster on  opposition space
  3. more aggressive on offence
  4. stronger on the ball- we are getting pushed off the ball too easily
 5. Find that  center that  holds up defense and  is a threat  up the middle
 6. creative midfielders

I think with  what Eve is doing he may be staring to build a strong local squad . I like his authenticity- He  does not come across as  being bombastic; egotistical; or knows it all. If anything, he has to be open to possibilities and not be short sighted when it comes to  talent from all areas.

I hope we could see a focus on:
 1. a strong local development squad
 2.  revamp of  regional rivalries- North South- east west- Tobago squads
 3. Regional competition  for team selection-
4.  Foreign players will have a squad and will have to  be part of a regional team selectio
 5. No automatic  '  friend ting' to make squad. Have to compete to make team.
n
Hope we could have some friendlies against regional rivalries to keep a local squad game sharp. Best of luck moving forward- WC 26 we coming with a bang!

4.  Foreign players will have a squad and will have to  be part of a regional team selectio

No problem with the concept of the regional games and stuff like that. But foreign players have a limited time to come and  play. Especially guys playing in the English league. If TT playing a friendly in the FIFA window, is a week or 2 at most(depending if it is a two friendly games window). This would be difficult.

This makes perfect sense especially for the local players, since this would keep them match fit. There are lots of people who think playing regional teams means playing weak opponents. Yep!!!! Like Bahamas.

« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2021, 12:27:36 PM »
We have time on our hands for the next theWC cycle. Bring in new blood. Again, michel poon angeron, daniel phillip, judah garcia, sean bonval and gary griffith the third, Justin Sadoo. if allyuh know of more players add them. Form a 30 man squad of U-19s and U-23s. Look at Honduras and Mexico. Both in GC and Olympics.

« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2021, 01:55:13 PM »
young team?? surely you jest. hashim arcia 32, molino 31, mikel williams 30, aubrey david 30, ryan telfer 27, marcus joseph 30, marvin phillip 36, khaleem hyland 31, abu bakar 34, alvin jones 27,  jelani peters 27, duane muckette 26 and triston hodge 26, so what young team are you talking about? terry had an even younger team with the like of michel poon angeron, danial phillip, judah garcia, sean bonval and gary griffith the third.

Get the U23 and U19 players for the next cycle. If what pull stones say about the ages of these guys is true, then we certainly need new blood. No two ways about it.
if it’s true? just go look on the website under player pool and see for yourself, I’m not making this up. these guys are passed their prime yet angus went and scooped them up just to help his own cause. he left out young players who should have gotten the attention of prospective scouts so they could have gotten at least a trial here and there, players like Sean bonval who I thought played quite well u der fenwick and michel poon angeron who leaps and bounds better than 31 yr old Hashim arcia.

These two young men are only 20 years old and could have gained by the experience but instead snatched up 30 year old mikel Williams and 31 year old Hashim arcia at the tail end of their career to play in the midfield when we have poon angeron who could have done much better and only gain by this experience. but this is local coaches for you, these men does some mad crazy shite to make your head spin, like playing a defensive line up against crappy el salvador and guatemala.

« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2021, 01:06:02 PM »

Doh leh Cyrus hear yuh.

Ooonoo tink seh mih dun? Me juss a come! ;D