April 27, 2024, 04:44:50 PM

Author Topic: 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League Thread  (Read 37164 times)

Offline Anbrat

Re: 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League Thread
« Reply #210 on: September 10, 2023, 07:42:28 PM »
Links?

Offline bingie man

« Reply #211 on: September 10, 2023, 07:56:54 PM »
maybe sportsmax
I'm waiting on the pan vs gua to see

Offline bingie man

« Reply #212 on: September 10, 2023, 08:02:00 PM »
sportsmax

« Last Edit: September 10, 2023, 08:36:30 PM by Peong »

« Reply #214 on: September 10, 2023, 08:45:08 PM »
EL SALVADOR JUST RUNNING AT US

« Reply #215 on: September 10, 2023, 08:47:34 PM »
Denzil Smith looking real shaky in this game. We can't keep possession. El Salvador will have about 25 shots this game. Defenders not picking up attacking players in the final third.

« Reply #216 on: September 10, 2023, 09:01:13 PM »
Somebody need to shackle dem two Salva men who running through the middle, Moreno and Roldan. Plenty positives from us, our physical play is working well in attack. We just have to watch out for dem through balls and runs through the middle. Keeper need to hold dem high balls please. Focus boys
« Last Edit: September 10, 2023, 09:06:50 PM by Peong »

« Reply #217 on: September 10, 2023, 09:20:53 PM »
I baffles me how just garcia was not selected for the gold cup he is good

« Reply #218 on: September 10, 2023, 09:22:13 PM »
nice game

« Reply #219 on: September 10, 2023, 09:26:58 PM »
Oh gord man, is 2 mins we hold de lead for?
And I really didn't expect that elsal would be so effective on set pieces. Our boys working hard

« Reply #220 on: September 10, 2023, 09:40:05 PM »
we score

« Reply #221 on: September 10, 2023, 09:42:07 PM »
 :wavetowel: 3 shots 3 goals

« Reply #222 on: September 10, 2023, 09:48:05 PM »
since when elsalvador does have our team looking so shot after shot they just running at us

« Reply #223 on: September 10, 2023, 09:51:22 PM »
Oh gord man, is 2 mins we hold de lead for?
And I really didn't expect that elsal would be so effective on set pieces. Our boys working hard

They know our soft spot, ergo ...

« Reply #224 on: September 10, 2023, 10:03:33 PM »
2 wins  6 points but gosh is ah shooting gallery

« Reply #225 on: September 10, 2023, 10:06:29 PM »
Ey when last we come from behind to win? Congrats

« Reply #226 on: September 10, 2023, 10:06:55 PM »
Much better second half. Denzil settled down in goal. Outshot 27-4. 2 games with 30% possession and 2 wins.

Offline lil damo

« Reply #227 on: September 10, 2023, 10:10:20 PM »
Good win, especially in a place like that. A few things to work on but also quite a few positives.

« Reply #228 on: September 10, 2023, 10:12:02 PM »
Much better second half. Denzil settled down in goal. Outshot 27-4. 2 games with 30% possession and 2 wins.

Yeah, Denzil definitely had a lil challenge today.

« Reply #229 on: September 10, 2023, 10:27:52 PM »
Why did we end up having to play about 15 added minutes,anyway I was well aware that El Salvador will be a very difficult match,this experience will work very well for us.Well done to the boys.

« Reply #230 on: September 10, 2023, 10:36:55 PM »
@Frico if you look at the score on Google, it would say that we played that. But we only played 5mins of extra time. I watched the match. Mistake on Google  scoreboard

« Reply #231 on: September 11, 2023, 01:16:46 AM »
Trinidad and Tobago make statement with win over El Salvador.
CONCACAF.COM

MIAMI, Florida – Group A of League A of the 2023-24 Concacaf Nations League completed its September window on Sunday, with Trinidad and Tobago moving to the top of the group with their second win in two matches.

The day wrapped up with Trinidad and Tobago rallying for a 3-2 victory over El Salvador at the Estadio Jorge Gonzalez in San Salvador.

El Salvador were aggressive from the start and grabbed a 1-0 lead in the 17’ when Dustin Corea played in a free kick that Eriq Zavaleta met with a perfectly placed header into net.

Trinidad and Tobago’s response was almost immediate, as Reon Moore played in a cross to Ryan Telfer from the left wing, and the first touch gave Telfer the time and space to fire into the net the 1-1 equalizer in the 22’.

Things were wide open to begin the second stanza and Trinidad and Tobago made the most of it, taking a 2-1 lead in the 51’ through Malcolm Shaw, who converted a penalty after being fouled in the box by Zavaleta.

Right back came El Salvador to pull even 2-2 in the 53’ courtesy of Brayan Gil, whose nodded header off a corner kick deflected right back to him, allowing him to guide a shot into net.

Back and forth the teams went with each looking for a winning score. That precious third goal would fall for the visiting Soca Warriors, as a falling away Justin Garcia managed to pop a header over El Salvador GK Tomas Romero in the 72’ to make it 3-2.

El Salvador pushed hard for a third to get a point, but Trinidad and Tobago GK Denzil Smith was excellent in net and made the saves to lock down the three points.

WATCH Highlights | El Salvador vs Trinidad & Tobago | 2023/24 Concacaf Nations League

(Teams)

Trinidad and Tobago (4-2-3-1): 22.Denzil Smith (GK); 14.Shannon Gomez, 2.Aubrey David (captain), 17.Justin Garcia, 3.Ross Russell Jr; 15.Neveal Hackshaw, 23.Kristian Lee-Him (10.Duane Muckette 46); 7.Ryan Telfer (16.Michel-Poon Angeron 80), 18.Andre Rampersad, 13.Reon Moore (12.Kareem Moses 75); 19.Malcolm Shaw (6.Andre Raymond 90+3).

Unused substitutes: 1.Christopher Biggette (GK), 21.Jabari St Hillaire (GK), 4.Jesse Williams, 5.Kevon Goddard, 8.Daniel Phillips, 11.Nathaniel James, 20.Kaïlé Auvray.

Coach: Angus Eve

El Salvador (4-1-4-1): 18.Tomas Romero (GK); 21.Bryan Tamacas (captain),  4.Eriq Zavaleta, 2.Erick Cabalceta, 16.Alejandro Henriquez (8.Elvin Alvarado 86); 6.Narciso Orellana (14.Christian Martinez 80); 7.Dustin Corea (10.Mayer Gil 65), 15.Alexander Roldan, 12.Amando Moreno (11.Joaquin Rivas 86), 13.Leonardo Menjivar (19.Emerson Mauricio 80); 9.Brayan Gil.

Unused substitutes: 1.Mario Gonzales (GK), 3.Roberto Dominguez, 5.Rudy Clavel, 17.Eric Calvillo, 20.German Fuentes, 23.Melvin Cartagena.

Coach: Hugo Perez

Referee: Ricardo Montero (Costa Rica)

« Last Edit: September 11, 2023, 01:38:18 AM by Flex »

« Reply #232 on: September 11, 2023, 01:58:26 AM »
gawd on pitch,thanks again mate,I didn't see the match if you saw it what's your take on the win.I know that El Sal have been playing very good football over the last 2 years.

« Reply #233 on: September 11, 2023, 03:42:04 AM »
El salvador vs trinidad since when el salvador does play all over trinidad like that ?  Angus lucky thing just going his way .... .
« Last Edit: September 11, 2023, 03:43:53 AM by Trini _2026 »

« Reply #234 on: September 11, 2023, 05:24:33 AM »
Good competitive game Frico. ES 20 shots = 2 goals. TT 4 shots = 3 goals. Set pieces costed us 2 goals.

Overall, I am impressed by the two wins. I believe this is the hardest game to qualify for the next stage. Next up is Guatemala at home. Then Curacao on the road. Considering that Curacao does not have any points, and qualification to the next round is slim, I don't think their Dutch boys will be showing up for their final game against us. Watch and see.

« Reply #235 on: September 11, 2023, 07:30:08 AM »
Good win we actually look like we know how to counter attack lil bit now, we still can't progressively defend, giving up too much yards to attackers while already defending in a low block......trigger press dey runners after yuh identify dem double up and let ah man take d attacker from he blindside...something...anything.....we just inviting too much pressure......if we going and opt to play without d ball, lehwe at least force ah turnover now and then nah instead ah waiting for one to just happen

We to stop giving so much time and space in we defensive third

« Reply #236 on: September 11, 2023, 09:37:04 AM »
“Possession doesn’t win matches!” Eve explains philosophy as T&T lead Group A

Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Senior Team head coach Angus Eve doubled down on his self-described pragmatic style of play, as the Soca Warriors celebrated a vital 3-2 win away to El Salvador.

The result meant the Soca Warriors close their September match window with a maximum of six points from their opening two Concacaf Nations League A outings, despite managing 37% possess in both games and being outshot and out-passed by Curaçao and El Salvador.

http://wired868.com/2023/09/11/possession-doesnt-win-matches-eve-explains-philosophy-as-tt-lead-group-a/

« Last Edit: September 11, 2023, 05:12:04 PM by Trini _2026 »

« Reply #237 on: September 11, 2023, 05:10:40 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/q85RmCrz2Xg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/q85RmCrz2Xg</a>

« Last Edit: September 11, 2023, 05:20:20 PM by Trini _2026 »

« Reply #238 on: September 11, 2023, 09:10:19 PM »
I agree with Eve on possession but where we diverge is d notion that his plan was this resounding success....the dude benefited heavily from bad finishin and luck from d opposition...........we parking bus but all d window and door wide open, EL Sal second goal was a travesty of poor defending and piss poor effort......nobody moved on d first or loose ball.....nobody......and everybody was pointing at each other after.....ah mean even at d risk of bumping into to each other yuh hadda try

« Reply #239 on: September 12, 2023, 01:16:41 AM »
Soca Warriors 2 matches away from Nations League quarters.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

National coach Angus Eve and his Soca Warriors are now two matches away from qualifying for the quarterfinals of the CONCACAF Nations League 'A' division.

This after their come-from-behind 3-2 victory over El Salvador on Sunday night at the Nacional Jorge Magico Gonzalez in San Salvador.

The victory, coming amidst a barrage of criticism against him following a less-than-impressive performance at the recent CONCACAF Gold Cup in the United States, has now put the Warriors in first position on the standings on six points, with Panama in second on four and Guatemala in third position on four points as well, but with an inferior goal difference.

Martinique is fourth on the chart with three points while Curacao and El Salvador fill the other two positions, respectively, without a win.

The Warriors now have matches against Guatemala on October 13 and then Curacao for a second time on October 17 for the chance to be among the top two teams in the group that will qualify for the quarterfinals of the tournament. Should the Soca Warriors progress past the quarterfinals, they will earn a spot in the Copa America Competition.

Eve expects that their next two matches will be extremely difficult, but his charges have been showing the type of progress they need to show.

"Every team we've played so far is ranked way higher than us, but you know rankings don't mean anything. It is the work that you do on the field. Rankings mean a lot for people in some other places, but when we go into these games, we want to have a clean heart.

"When you listen to the boys, when they do interviews they talk about the crime situation in our country, and to give our country a positive lift, because of the amount of negativity taking place. Credit to these guys who came out and put their hearts for their country today," Eve said.

The victory came following a display of true grit by the T&T players after the home team took the advantage in the 17th minute. Eve said he was truly proud of the performance of the players.

"I am really happy for the guys inside the dressing room to be honest, they gave everything I asked them to give. They played to the plan that we had and we knew we were going to suffer a bit.

"I have seen big coaches like Jose Mourinho, David Moise and these guys, and Claudio Ranieri when he won the English Premier League with Leicester, they had like about 35 percent of the possession. You know possession doesn't win matches.

"We have a plan, we have a way that we want to play and we try to execute to the 'T'. The guys are extremely disciplined, there is a oneness in that dressing room there, and that is what, besides the talent and the discipline that the team has, is what takes us through."

GROUP A - LEAGUE A STANDINGS

Pl*Team*P*W*D*L*F*A*GD*PTS
1*T&T*2*2*0*0*4*2*2*6
2*Panama*2*1*1*0*4*1*3*4
3*Guatemala*2*1*1*0*3*1*2*4
4*Martinique*2*1*0*1*1*3*-2*3
5*Curacao*2*0*0*2*0*2*-2*0
6*El Salvador*2*0*0*2*2*5*-3*0

RELATED NEWS

Soca Warriors edge El Salvador 3-2 for second Nations League win.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T's Soca Warriors came from behind to rally to a 3-2 victory over El Salvador in their second match of the CONCACAF Nations League at the Estadio Jorge Gonzalez in San Salvador on Sunday night.

The El Salvadorians were aggressive from the start and grabbed a 1-0 advantage in the 17th minute when Dustin Corea played in a free kick that Eriq Zavaleta met with a perfectly placed header into the net.

The Warriors, fresh from their opening 1-0 victory over Curacao at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo, Port-of-Spain on Thursday (September 7), responded almost immediately as Reon Moore played in a cross to Ryan Telfer from the left wing, and the first touch gave Telfer the time and space to fire into the net for the 1-1 equaliser in the 22nd minute.

Things were wide open to begin the second stanza and T&T made the most of it, taking a 2-1 lead in the 51st minute through Malcolm Shaw, who converted a penalty after being fouled in the box by Zavaleta.

However, the El Salvadorians came right back to draw level at two apiece in the 53rd minute. Brayan Gil's nodded header off a corner kick deflected back to him and he guided the ball into the T&T net past the custodian for a goal that brought them back into the match.

The fluctuating affair continued thereafter, as the team looked for the winning goal in the moments that followed. That precious third goal would fall for the visiting Soca Warriors, as a falling away Justin Garcia managed to pop a header over El Salvadorian custodian Tomas Romero in the 72nd minute to make it 3-2.

El Salvador pushed hard for a third to get a point from the contest, but T&T goalkeeper Denzil Smith was excellent between the posts and made the saves to lock down the three points.

The Soca Warriors will next face Guatemala on October 13 at a venue to be decided.

Sunday's Nations League Scores

League A

(Group A)

At Stade Pierre-Aliker, FORT-DE-FRANCE:

Martinique beat Curacao 1-0

At the Estadio Doroteo Guamuch Flores, GUATEMALA CITY:

Guatemala drew with Panama 1-1

At the Estadio Jorge “El Mágico” González, SAN SALVADOR:

Trinidad and Tobago beat El Salvador 3-2

League B

(Group A)

At the Stade Municipal de Sainte-Anne, SAINTE-ANNE:

Guadeloupe beat Sint Maarten 4-0

At the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, GROS ISLET:

St Lucia beat St Kitts and Nevis 2-0