April 27, 2024, 11:32:31 AM

Author Topic: 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League Thread  (Read 37147 times)

Re: 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League Thread
« Reply #240 on: September 12, 2023, 06:22:37 AM »
Lefty tell angus If the oppositon has the ball they have a greater chance to score !! the comparison this man  makes leicester city ::)  ::)
« Last Edit: September 12, 2023, 09:43:34 PM by Trini _2026 »

« Reply #241 on: September 12, 2023, 06:39:23 AM »
Angus - T&T must have the Defenders To Play Like Leicester City. Too much Pressure with that Style of Play and too much work for the Gold keeper. The Final Twenty Minutes of  the game against Curacao is the style of play To win matches.

« Reply #242 on: September 12, 2023, 03:27:24 PM »
Exactly. You think we can give up that amount of possession to USA, Canada, Mexico and Costa Rica? We will easily collect at least 5 - 6 goals. Eve got lucky for 2 games and trying to pass it off as he being strategic like Mourinho.

« Reply #243 on: September 12, 2023, 03:35:44 PM »
Fernando Diniz in an interview this week...."I have a lot of defensive concerns but I like the team to play forward and have the ball," he said. "The only chance of not conceding a goal while playing football is when you have the ball.

Read more at:
https://www.latestly.com/sports/football/manager-fernando-diniz-warns-brazil-players-to-keep-feet-on-ground-following-5-1-win-over-bolivia-in-conmebol-fifa-world-cup-2026-qualifiers-5405885.html

Diniz needs to learn from Eve  :)

« Reply #244 on: September 12, 2023, 06:23:44 PM »
Jamaica 0 - 2 Haiti

Only 15mins in the first. Shocked. I thought Jamaica would have walked over Haiti.

« Reply #245 on: September 12, 2023, 08:49:41 PM »
Trini_2026 there is in theory a case for we playing something like dat.....but defenders have to be working d midfield have to be working....yuh supposed to have press triggers to disturb d opponents in designated zones to force turnovers, we getting d ball off d other team feels more like a function of luck rather than planning......at least we seem able  do something useful when we get d ball.......against d u.s however who does be on yuh like ah wet draws when dey loss d ball, we will be torn apart like last time

Add: I think we also need to stop considering ourselves as "ball playing" the environment that created that notion is long gone and was not replaced by organized academy and the crop of players dat put us marginally on the map as "ball players" now graying and retired or on their out in d case of molino
« Last Edit: September 13, 2023, 08:49:16 AM by lefty »

« Reply #246 on: September 13, 2023, 01:31:50 AM »
Angus Eve proud: We had to suffer to win.
By Ronel Walcott (T&T Newsday).

The T&T men's football team surged to the top of their Concacaf Nations League (CNL) A group last night, as they got a hard-fought 3-2 win against El Salvador at the Nacional Jorge Magico Gonzalez Stadium in El Salvador.

T&T fell behind as early as the 17th minute, as El Salvador defender Eriq Zavaleta headed past goalkeeper Denzil "Peng" Smith from a Dustin Corea set piece. Trinidad and Tobago were soon on level terms, as flanker Ryan Telfer sent a powerful left-footed blast into the net in the 22nd minute after receiving a precise pass from the left by Reon Moore.

The teams went to the break tied at 1-1. However, the visitors took the lead in the 51st minute through a clinical penalty by Canada-based Malcolm Shaw. The T&T attacker was bundled over in the area after receiving a clever square pass from halftime substitute Duane Muckette, and his spot kick gave El Salvador goalkeeper Thomas Romero no chance.

Smith was in great form between the uprights, making a string of remarkable saves. Smith's defenders fell asleep after Shaw's goal, though, and the hosts were back on level terms just two minutes later as Brayan Gil beat the T&T goalkeeper from point-blank range after being left unmarked from a Corea corner.

Despite conceding 63 per cent possession to their hosts, who had a whopping 26 shots at T&T goal, coach Angus Eve's Soca Warriors team stayed resolute and disciplined.

"We knew we were going to suffer for a bit. Possession doesn't win matches," Eve said after the match. "We have a plan. We have a way we want to play and the guys executed to a T.

"The guys are extremely disciplined, and there's a oneness in that dressing room there. Besides the talent and the discipline the team has, that's what is taking us through."

In the 71st minute, the togetherness and jubilation were there for all to see, as towering Defence Force defender Justin "Shiggy" Garcia beat Romero with a looping header to the far post after meeting a deep free kick by Telfer. Garcia scored ten goals from his centre-back position as Defence Force won the inaugural TT Premier League and its knockout cup. He was one of several local-based players overlooked for the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup.

In San Salvador, El Salvador, Garcia's value in national colours was evident.

"Justin Garcia has been scoring those headers for fun with Defence Force, so I took something from (Defence Force) coach Hutson Charles and they, and I had him spin around at the back post," Eve said. "He's very effective."

As T&T edged to their first-ever win in El Salvador at senior level, Eve decided to protect the three points at all costs as he inserted defenders Kareem Moses and Andre Raymond, as well as central midfielder Michel Poon-Angeron in the latter stages of the game. The front three of Moore, Telfer and Shaw were withdrawn, with T&T switching from a 4-2-3-1 formation to a more compact 4-5-1 shape.

Despite T&T's defensive approach towards the end of the game, the hosts fashioned two great opportunities and would have equalised if not for Smith's brilliance.

In the 76th minute, the 23-year-old Smith, who injured a finger during the first half, sprawled to his right to stop an effort by Gil. In stoppage time, the former Shiva Boys' Hindu College standout came up huge for T&T once more, as he made a flying save to his left to keep out a precise header by Zavaleta.

"I could call 15 man-of-the-match winners, but I'll give Denzil because he was spectacular," Eve said. "People may not know that he did his finger in during the first half. For him to save the whole game (was excellent). We tried to take him off and he said he didn't want to come off.

"That's the kind of fight and grit we will need to have to build back T&T football."

As the five minutes of stoppage time elapsed, the T&T players and staff members were in an ecstatic mood as they wildly celebrated their historic victory on El Salvador soil.

Eve, whose tenure as head coach was extended to March 2024, defended his team's style of play.

"I've seen big coaches like (Jose) Mourinho, David Moyes and Claudio Ranieri – when he won the English Premier League with Leicester City – have like 35 per cent possession (when their teams played)," Eve said.

"We think we have good wingers. We have good, fast forwards, so we think that we can soak up pressure, because defensively we are very solid.

"We think we can play on the break and play this counter-attacking game we have been playing. It's working for us."

Eve said his players lose their focus and discipline when they try to play a more open game, and this group has now bought into this style.

After two group A matches, T&T sit atop the six-team table with a maximum six points. Panama and Guatemala (both four points) are in second and third spot respectively with two group matches left. With the top two teams in the group progressing to the Nations League quarterfinals, T&T are in an advantageous position at present.

These quarterfinal matches will see the top two teams from groups A and B facing off against the top-seeded Concacaf nations in Canada, Costa Rica, Mexico and the US, in a home-and-away format in Fifa's November 2023 match window. The four winners of these quarterfinal ties will advance directly to the Nations League finals, as well as coveted places in the 2024 Copa America – South America's premier continental competition.

There will be two other Copa spots up for grabs, and this will be determined via a single-match playoff between the four losing quarterfinalists in March 2024.

T&T's remaining Nations League group matches are home versus Guatemala (October 13) and away to Curacao (October 17). Eve could be forgiven for starting to dream of a Copa 2024 spot against the likes of Argentina and Brazil.

RELATED NEWS

Soca Warriors captain: We have unfinished business.
By Ronel Walcott (T&T Newsday).

New Trinidad and Tobago men's football team captain Aubrey David says the Soca Warriors have unfinished business in the Concacaf Nations League as they seek to qualify for the quarter-finals.

T&T top the six-team group in League A with a maximum six points from two games, with two more games still to be played in the October window. With the top two teams from the group advancing to the quarter-finals, David told the team they did a great job beating El Salvador 3-2 on Sunday, but there's still more work to be done.

"This is just one part of the hurdle that we crossed over. It's a good accomplishment but we still have a lot to do," said David, who was named captain following the sudden retirement of playmaker Kevin Molino on September 1. "We have to go back to our clubs and be professional and keep up the good work. When we come back in October we have a job to finish."

David said the team used "bad mind" and "determination" to get them over the line in their first-ever win in El Salvador.

Trailing after just 17 minutes, T&T took their first lead in the 51st minute through a Malcolm Shaw penalty, before defender Justin "Shiggy" Garcia guaranteed the three points with his looping header in the 71st minute.

T&T will host Guatemala (four points) at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo on October 13, before closing off the Nations League group phase with a trip away to Curacao (zero points) on October 17. T&T defeated Curacao by a 1-0 margin in their first match last Thursday.

The 32-year-old David, who has over 70 international caps, is calling for the Warriors to be supported in full numbers.

"It's not going to be an easy (job) of course, but I think we need the support of the stakeholders and the fans to come and give that love," he said. "(On Sunday) we played against (15,000) people and we felt the atmosphere. We need that support also."

David said the T&T team dug deep and stayed positive despite going behind at the Nacional Jorge Magico Gonzalez Stadium.

"We believed in ourselves. I think the victory we got from home was really good for us and we knew that we could build on it. When we went into this game we came with confidence knowing that unity, discipline and teamwork would get the job done.

"Even though we went a goal down, we never dropped our heads and we stayed positive and united. I think the bad mind and determination from each and everybody was the (determining) factor for us."

The Costa Rican-based David has formed a new partnership at the heart of the T&T defence with Garcia, and he hopes he and his teammates can continue the momentum gained in El Salvador.

"I just want to say I am proud of the guys and this is something we can build on. I'd just like to say to the fans and stakeholders, come and throw your support behind the team."

« Reply #247 on: September 13, 2023, 10:21:35 AM »
Reggaeboyz nearly come unstuck against Haiti,and that is  with their foreign brigade. ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #248 on: September 13, 2023, 11:20:40 AM »
Haiti is so unpredictable. That's where they are deadly. The scorer of their 2 goals is a real talent.
They look deadly on the counter too.

Jamaica can turn up the pressure from 2 to 10 in no time. When they make that decision to press, it's trouble. They're also good at holding the ball.

« Reply #249 on: October 10, 2023, 10:28:32 AM »
Angus Eve calls for belief in Soca Warriors
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday)

Trinidad and Tobago's men’s football coach Angus Eve has made an open call to citizens of T&T to come out and support the Soca Warriors at Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo on Friday, as they face their biggest Concacaf Nations League A group test against Guatemala, from 9pm.

Eve made these remarks at the start of the team’s training camp at Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella on Monday.

Eve also announced his 23-man squad, which saw three changes from the previous international window.

Right-back Alvin Jones replaces Shannon Gomez, striker Real Gill is in for Malcolm Shaw and left winger/forward Tyrone Charles dislodged Brent Sam from the team list. Both Gomez and Shaw are nursing minor injuries.

Six foreign-based players – Noah Powder, Aubrey David, Kareem Moses, Andre Raymond, Ryan Telfer and Andre Rampersad – are expected to arrive in Trinidad on Tuesday, to join Eve's camp.

T&T won their two opening group A matches against Curacao and El Salvador, and are now chasing three wins on the trot, to book a spot in the Concacaf Nations League A quarterfinals.

“I think these guys deserve your support – by what they did, the effort they’re giving. Nobody expected us to win the games. Winning, however, has boosted their confidence.

“But what people have seen with this group is their willingness to fight for the country, the jersey, and more importantly, the messages these guys are sending out.”

Eve said players and staff sometime look at comments on social media, and are taken aback by the public’s negativity. While he acknowledged they’re not a perfect team, he said patriotism and positivity go a long way.

“They (team) don’t believe the people are supporting them....We’re in a rebuilding stage. It’s young players; we have 18 and 19 year olds here.

“They’re going out there and putting their best foot forward...They look at social media – I don’t – and they see: 'We’re going to get five (goals),' and 'We’re going to get eight,' – that’s not people supporting the team.

“It’s sad for us to be thinking like that as a community, especially with these guys who really trying to do something for the country,” he added.

Among the squad are forwards Reon Moore, Nathaniel James and Tyrone Charles; midfielders Kaile Auvray, Duane Muckette, Kevon Goddard, Neveal Hackshaw, Kristian Lee-Him and Michel Poon Angeron.

The other defenders are Justin Garcia, Jesse Williams, Kareem Moses and Ross Russell Jr while goalkeepers Christopher Biggette, Jabari St Hillaire and Denzil Smith were also called up.

“This is the first day that we have the group. We still have six players to come in because they played over the weekend. Thank God they didn’t pick up any injuries so they’re good to go.

“We’re in transition. When this group of players come in, there was a little cloud over them. And I think it hampered us in the first half of the first match (Curacao), second half we were better. And we were even better in the second match (El Salvador) at home.

“They got a little more confidence and believe they should be here. Without some of the senior players who have given this country so much, this is their time to shine,” he said.

On their opponents, Eve is well aware of their threats and weaknesses and is hoping he can exploit them with a home advantage.

On Tuesday, they travel to Curacao to play the host nation, in their final group match at Ergilio Hato Stadium.

“We want to win the game and it’s not going to be an easy game. Guatemala made the Gold Cup quarter-finals, very decent unit, unbeaten in the zone so far. They have a lot of competent players, well-coached, so we’re taking nothing for the granted.

“Our first remit in this rebuilding stage was to stay in the A (League). Now that we have the opportunity to do something bigger, we’re going to try to grasp it with both hands.”

Two more wins affirm them a spot in the quarter-finals, where lies regional powerhouses Mexico, USA, Costa Rica and Canada. T&T must finish with the top two nations of group A to seal a spot in the quarters.

Trinidad and Tobago 23-man Roster

Goalkeepers:
Denzil Smith (W Connection), Christopher Biggette (Defence Force), Jabari St Hillaire (Defence Force)

Defenders:
Aubrey David (Club Sport Cartagines—Costa Rica), Justin Garcia (Defence Force), Alvin Jones (Club Sando), Kareem Moses (FF Jaro—Finland), Andre Raymond (GD Vilar De Perdizes—Portugal), Ross Russell Jr (La Horquetta Rangers), Jesse Williams (Central Valley Fuego—USA)

Midfielders:
Kaïlé Auvray (Mount Pleasant FA-Jamaica), Michel Poon-Angeron (AC Port of Spain), Kevon Goddard (Defence Force), Neveal Hackshaw (Oakland Roots), Kristian Lee Him (IFK Eskilstuna—Sweden), Duane Muckette (AC Port of Spain), Noah Powder (Northern Colorado Hailstorm—USA), Andre Rampersad (HFX Wanderers—Canada)

Forwards:
Ryan Telfer (Miami FC—USA), Reon Moore (Defence Force), Real Gill (Club Sando), Tyrone Charles (AC Port of Spain)
« Last Edit: October 11, 2023, 12:15:17 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #250 on: October 10, 2023, 10:36:38 AM »
Reon Moore get listed twide dey bai! like he go feature prominently.

« Reply #251 on: October 11, 2023, 03:56:28 PM »
Hackshaw urges Warriors: Stick to Eve's plan vs Guatemala
By Stephon Nicholas (T&T Newsday)

Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Neveal Hackshaw is urging his team-mates to stick to coach Angus Eve's game plan when they face Guatemala in a crucial Concacaf Nations League A game, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, Friday. Kick off is 9pm.

T&T are top of Group A with two wins from as many matches, and only need three more points to book a spot in the quarter-finals. T&T face Curacao away from home in their final group match on October 17.

Two teams from Group A will qualify for the quarterfinals, where seeded teams such as Mexico, USA, Canada and Costa Rica await. From there, six of the eight teams will qualify for the 2024 Copa America.

In a TTFA video on Tuesday, Hackshaw, known for his combative but purposeful play, urged his team-mates to stay focused on the task at hand.

"They (Guatemala) are are not coming to sit back. They want to get back on top. We are the leaders so it's very important to go out there and get the three points and stay on top."

He said it was important for the players not to deviate from Eve's tactics.

"Once coach give us the game plan, everybody must stay focused and stay on board with the game plan. No one try to switch up and do their own thing, and I think everything will be fine."

Hackshaw noted T&T's slow starts in their first two matches: a listless first-half performance against Curacao followed by conceding the opening goal in El Salvador. However, he said, "Sometimes it's how you finish, not how you start. We need to start stronger now because it's only gonna get harder from here."

He called for unwavering support from the public on Friday. "We want the fans to come out and support us. We've been doing good. The support of the 12th man out there with us will be important."

Recalled defender Alvin Jones is glad to be back in the national set-up, after being absent from the squad during the last international window.

Jones, 29, was a surprise omission having been a staple in Eve's squad previously and on the heels of a strong season with Club Sando in the inaugural TT Premier Football League.

Jones was among a number of senior players dropped by Eve, including his brother Joevin Jones. Former captain Kevin Molino had also announced his retirement one week before T&T's opening game of the new Nations League season. A more youthful T&T did admirably in their absence, picking up a 1-0 win against Curacao on September 7 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, before a shock 3-2 victory against El Salvador in San Salvador three days later.

Jones, who boasts over 40 caps for T&T, said he was happy to see the national team triumphant, but it was difficult not even being on the sideline.

"Well, representing the country is always an honour for me. I'm very grateful to be back here once more. I'm just excited to be out there Friday and to do my best...I didn't like looking on. I always like to be representing my country."

Jones said the unbeaten start to the Nations League has given the players a pep in their step.

"I think the six points did us good – you can see it in the training. A lot of guys – the confidence is there. I'm excited to be out there with the guys once more.

"For us, every game is a final. It's a very young squad. The energy will be there. I just want us to go out there and express ourselves and come out with the three points."

Concacaf Nations League Group A

Teams*W*D*L*GP*Pts

Trinidad and Tobago*2*0*0*+2*6

Panama*2*1*1*0*+3*4

Guatemala*2*1*1*0*+2*4

Martinique*2*1*0*1*-2*3

Curacao*2*0*0*2*-2*0

El Salvador*2*0*0*2*-3*0

« Reply #252 on: October 13, 2023, 07:32:07 AM »
Eve: Soca Warriors treating Guatemala clash as a final
By Roneil Walcott (T&T Newsday)

Trinidad and Tobago men's football team coach Angus Eve says the Soca Warriors will be treating their 2023/4 Concacaf Nations League A game against Guatemala like a final when the two teams meet from 9 pm on Friday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo.

T&T currently sit atop the six-team Nations League group with a maximum six points from two matches and will be looking to secure a top-two spot which guarantees a quarter-final place. Panama and Guatemala (both four points) are second and third respectively.

"We haven't done anything as yet," Eve said, as he addressed the media in a pre-match press briefing at the match venue on Thursday.

"We see this game as a final. We see it as a game that we need to win – and not lose – so that we can first maintain our position in (Nations League A). And then, the possibility of us going on to the quarter-finals with a win is great. The guys understand the expectations."

Eve has "mixed feelings" about the absence of the injured striking pair of Malcolm Shaw and the Greek-based Levi Garcia, as both players give T&T a "strong, physical presence up front."

However, he said: "Winning those first two matches has now given us the freedom to express ourselves a bit more. We are going to take the game very seriously and be in a positive frame of mind. The boys want to do well for their country and we'll be going into the game with no fear.

"The most important thing for us is to qualify for the quarter-finals and stay in Nations League A and maintain our rankings. We're close to doing that and everything else will be a bonus at this stage."

T&T were knocked out of the group stage at the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup. Meanwhile, Guatemala advanced to the Gold Cup quarter-finals before falling 1-0 to a Jamaican team that defeated TT by a 4-1 margin in the tournament's group stage. T&T and Guatemala had their own tussle before the Gold Cup, as the Soca Warriors got a 1-0 friendly win on June 11 courtesy of an Alvin Jones penalty.

Eve said a lot has changed since then, and he credited the 103rd-ranked Guatemalan team for their 1-1 draw with Panama in their Nations League encounter on September 10. T&T are ranked 98th.

"I think they are well-coached. The Fifa rankings are a bit deceiving because (Guatemala) were having some issues for a little while. Ranking means nothing. They drew with a Panama team that got to the Gold Cup final. They themselves got to the quarter-finals and we were booted out at the group stage."

Like Eve, Guatemala coach Luis Fernando Tena paid respect to his opponents. He said Guatemala were the underdogs heading into Friday's encounter.

"I know it's going to be a difficult game. T&T has had a good tournament, inclusive of the game against El Salvador. It's going to be a bit harder," Tena said via a translator.

"They are presently on a good course. We understand that T&T will be the favourites. In football, there is also time for surprises."

Tena expects the hosts to set up defensively.

"It's a key game for us. We know that T&T wants to win to qualify for the quarter-finals. Even a draw wouldn't serve us well. A draw may benefit T&T better than us because they already have six points.

"I think it will be a similar match like T&T versus Curacao. I think T&T has a defensive style of football which we will be playing against. They are very solid in defence and they also know how to play very well with their quick players up front."

In their first game of this Nations League A campaign, T&T eked out a 1-0 victory over Curacao at the Hasely Crawford Stadium thanks to a late goal from 19-year-old striker Nathaniel James. The 2023 TT Premier Football League (TTPFL) top-scorer has moved to Jamaican champions Mount Pleasant Football Academy alongside his T&T teammate Kaile Auvray. Eve sees great potential in the teenage attackers.

"You are seeing the potential of the young men Nathaniel and Kaile," Eve said. "These young guys are the future of the team and they are getting the opportunities now."

Eve also spoke about the qualities of 34-year-old AC Port of Spain winger Tyrone Charles, a surprise inclusion in the 23-man squad.

"We looked at Tyrone in the final of the TTPFL Cup against Defence Force and he has been very consistent in the league," he said. "We saw him transfer to AC Port of Spain without scoring many goals in the Concacaf Caribbean Cup. I think he has enough to add something to the group."

Eve says his team will go after three points, but they will do it their way.

"We're going to play the game to what we seek. There are different styles and thoughts on how football should be played.

"We are not producing top-class players – meaning our players haven't been playing at the highest level for a very long time. We have to use the resources we have and we have to use the players we have. We believe that we have to play a particular style to get the results. Hence the reason we have six points today."

From 9 pm on Friday, Guatemala and T&T will stake their claim for a Nations League quarter-final spot.

« Reply #253 on: October 13, 2023, 03:16:04 PM »
natty get injured or something? how he go score and then get drop?

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #254 on: October 13, 2023, 05:54:59 PM »
Any links for the game tonight? Thanks in advance.

« Reply #255 on: October 13, 2023, 07:05:39 PM »
Yes angus we not producing top class but are you seeking out player also? Your job is to win?

« Reply #256 on: October 13, 2023, 07:06:17 PM »
Anbrat check facebook i think there maybe links there

« Reply #257 on: October 13, 2023, 07:09:41 PM »
Stadium empty

« Reply #258 on: October 13, 2023, 07:29:33 PM »
We down

« Reply #259 on: October 13, 2023, 07:30:02 PM »
links?

« Reply #260 on: October 13, 2023, 07:31:31 PM »
Horrible non call by the lines, man was clearly offside. Striker Charles is hurt and subbed off.

« Reply #261 on: October 13, 2023, 07:43:27 PM »
2 nil down

« Reply #262 on: October 13, 2023, 07:44:11 PM »
We eh even force save

« Reply #263 on: October 13, 2023, 07:55:36 PM »
Ref gave us a make-up call, that foul was outside the box. Reon just needed to keep that shot down

« Reply #264 on: October 13, 2023, 08:17:15 PM »
So what was d order of d day..d same janky ass park d bus football?
« Last Edit: October 13, 2023, 08:22:56 PM by lefty »

« Reply #265 on: October 13, 2023, 08:27:41 PM »
So 2-2 now why we didn't jus play before