March 28, 2024, 12:56:45 PM

Author Topic: Carifta Games 2022  (Read 2332 times)

Carifta Games 2022
« on: April 18, 2022, 09:19:06 PM »
Carifta Games 2022 Medal Standings After Day 2
1. Jamaica 26 golds, 19 silvers, 9 bronze – – 54 medals
2. British Virgin Islands 4 golds, 1 bronze – – 5 medals
3. Trinidad and Tobago 2 golds, 6 silvers, 8 bronze – – 16 medals
4. Guyana 2 golds, 3 silvers – – 5 medals
5. Bahamas 1 gold, 6 silvers, 3 bronze – – 10 medals
6. Barbados 1 gold, 2 silvers, 3 bronze – – 6 medals
7. Cayman Islands 1 gold, 1 silver, 2 bronze – – 4 medals
8. Dominica 1 gold, 1 silver – -2 medals
9. Antigua and Barbuda 1 gold, 2 silvers – – 3 medals
10. French Guiana 1 gold – – 1 medal

Re: Carifta Games 2022
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2022, 07:50:35 AM »
Final Carifta Games 2022 Medal Standings

Countries                             G   S   B   Total   

Jamaica               47   32   18   97                           
Bahamas               4   6   7   17                        
 Virgin Islands            4   2   1   7                           
Trinidad and Tobago         2   10   11   23                                 
Guyana               2   3   2   7                        
US Virgin Islands         2   1   0   3                                 
Barbados               1   4   6   11                           
French Guiana            1   2   0   3                           
Cayman Islands            1   1   2   4                           
Dominica               1   1   0   2                           
Grenada               1   0   6   7                           
Antigua and Barbuda         1   0   2   3                                 
Curacao               1   0   0   1                           
St. Vincent and the Grenadi   0   2   3   5                                       
Bermuda               0   1   2   3                     
St. Lucia               0   1   0   1                           
Belize               0   1   0   1                           
St. Kitts and Nevis         0   0   2   3                              
Turks and Caicos Islands      0   0   1   1                                       
Guadeloupe               0   0      1   1                              
Martinique               0    0   1   1                        
Suriname               0   0   1   1               

« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2022, 11:16:47 AM »
In 2010 TT won 40 medals at Carifta. 10 Gold. Ever since then the medal tally has decreased.. while the medal tally for the other nations have increased.

Jamaica continues to get stronger and stronger. .

« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2022, 07:58:53 PM »
We were underwhelming. Sad, sad, sad.

« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2022, 09:06:37 PM »
Rank   Nation   Gold   Silver   Bronze   Total
1    Jamaica[a][c]   36   22   14   72
2    Trinidad and Tobago   12   16   12   40
3    Bahamas   6   10   13   29
4    Barbados   3   7   8   18
5    Grenada   2   0   2   4
6    Martinique[a]   1   4   1   6
7    Saint Kitts and Nevis   1   1   0   2
 U.S. Virgin Islands   1   1   0   2

It was actually 12 Gold in 2010. Compared to 2. To be fair to the athletes, they gave it their all.

The 6"11 High jumper has a promising future in athletics or basketball. His athletism for that height has scouts watching him. It's a pity he got injured as he would have gotten another gold for rhe long jump.

Also the 1500m u17 boys champion, was quite impressive. He missed out on the 800m gold by the Jamaican ot course.

Bascombe has the potential to be a real threat. You can tell she is talented but her execution of the race is nowhere near the 2 Jamaican twins. You can see that it's the TRAINING that is making Jamaica dominate. If Bascombe executed at least half of her race she would have challenged for a gold. She is big, her turnover will give her an advantage over the smaller girls. She is the future of TT women's sprinting.

Finally we got a good contender in the girls 400mh. The Jamaican girls that beat her won the event in Champs. Fox goes to school in Jamaica. She came 3rd in Champs.

There were about 4 or 5 chances we missed out on Gold. Let's see what happens next year.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2022, 09:29:10 PM by gawd on pitch »

« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2022, 12:51:40 PM »
3 Inconvenient truths -

1. "Gave it their all" is what ALL athletes from EVERY country did, so how on earth does that make ours "different"?

2. 12 golds to 2 would sound EVERY alarm in countries like Bahamas and Jamaica - BIG CHANGES ARE needed. In TNT - meh - we had covid (everyone did). The new NAAA has been handed an almost completely bare cupboard.

3. Winter is coming. Tokyo was just the start.

« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2022, 05:05:02 PM »
Indeed. I thought 2012 London (most medal count) was a sign that things were improving. . My analysis- the TTNAAA thought that they were doing things right (despite not doing anything..), hence they kept everything the same thinking that they made an accomplishment. Same thing with Carifta, one good year and the administration thinks their plans are working. Rum shop mentality. .

« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2022, 05:08:30 PM »
AB, what you think about Bascombe? You can tell she has potential, but no one with real expertise helping her. I heard she plans on skipping college and turning pro. She might be a good one for your camp? I hope she not planning on turning pro and staying in TT..

« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2022, 03:38:57 PM »
Rank   Nation   Gold   Silver   Bronze   Total
1    Jamaica[a][c]   36   22   14   72
2    Trinidad and Tobago   12   16   12   40
3    Bahamas   6   10   13   29
4    Barbados   3   7   8   18
5    Grenada   2   0   2   4
6    Martinique[a]   1   4   1   6
7    Saint Kitts and Nevis   1   1   0   2
 U.S. Virgin Islands   1   1   0   2

It was actually 12 Gold in 2010. Compared to 2. To be fair to the athletes, they gave it their all.

The 6"11 High jumper has a promising future in athletics or basketball. His athletism for that height has scouts watching him. It's a pity he got injured as he would have gotten another gold for rhe long jump.

Also the 1500m u17 boys champion, was quite impressive. He missed out on the 800m gold by the Jamaican ot course.

Bascombe has the potential to be a real threat. You can tell she is talented but her execution of the race is nowhere near the 2 Jamaican twins. You can see that it's the TRAINING that is making Jamaica dominate. If Bascombe executed at least half of her race she would have challenged for a gold. She is big, her turnover will give her an advantage over the smaller girls. She is the future of TT women's sprinting.

Finally we got a good contender in the girls 400mh. The Jamaican girls that beat her won the event in Champs. Fox goes to school in Jamaica. She came 3rd in Champs.

There were about 4 or 5 chances we missed out on Gold. Let's see what happens next year.

In 2019 she beat lyston in 2019 She has not improved since i guess ...i wonder what went wrong
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/QUyhnL5iOpc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/QUyhnL5iOpc</a>

« Last Edit: April 24, 2022, 03:40:56 PM by Trini _2026 »

« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2022, 03:41:38 PM »
AB, what you think about Bascombe? You can tell she has potential, but no one with real expertise helping her. I heard she plans on skipping college and turning pro. She might be a good one for your camp? I hope she not planning on turning pro and staying in TT..

A year or two of college will be good for her

« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2022, 01:38:50 PM »
None of our juniors are showing "go pro" caliber yet. 11.5 and 23.3 (dating back to 2019) so far in the year she turns 19 means she hasn't shown PRO ability yet. It might be there, but that is way overreaching.
Any high school female sprinter thinking pros has to be 11 low and 22 mid to high I'd say at least to even get looked at twice and that was before the industry changed post-covid. The last 2 female high school sprinters to go pro had PRs of 11.13/10.94/22.48/22.50 credentials
« Last Edit: April 25, 2022, 01:54:21 PM by A.B. »

« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2022, 05:26:17 PM »
None of our juniors are showing "go pro" caliber yet. 11.5 and 23.3 (dating back to 2019) so far in the year she turns 19 means she hasn't shown PRO ability yet. It might be there, but that is way overreaching.
Any high school female sprinter thinking pros has to be 11 low and 22 mid to high I'd say at least to even get looked at twice and that was before the industry changed post-covid. The last 2 female high school sprinters to go pro had PRs of 11.13/10.94/22.48/22.50 credentials

I agree. I know she ain't ready to turn pro. But it was mentioned that she might not be pursuing NCAA and will focus on getting into the "senior program"... which is .. Not sure what that really means. Because the senior program does not look promising.

@Trini she did beat the Lyston in 2019. The thing is Lyston was in the right environment where Bascombe wasn't. This reminds me of something that occurred in 2005.. AB know where I going with this one. Kelly Ann Baptiste beat Shelly Ann Fraser Price at Carifta in the 100m. Then looked what happen. Not to take anything away from KAB.

So the proof is in the pudding. The talent is there. But how the talent is groomed and developed is where the divide is.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2022, 07:08:55 PM »
I forgot about this forum. What can be said really lol. I feel Bascombe has potential but local training isn't sufficient to take her where she needs to be. That swinging, college in the US would do her good.

Any news on KAB, haven't seen or heard from her in the longest. I see Khalifa is with Brauman now or at least training in Orlando.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2022, 07:12:17 PM »

I agree. I know she ain't ready to turn pro. But it was mentioned that she might not be pursuing NCAA and will focus on getting into the "senior program"... which is .. Not sure what that really means. Because the senior program does not look promising.

@Trini she did beat the Lyston in 2019. The thing is Lyston was in the right environment where Bascombe wasn't. This reminds me of something that occurred in 2005.. AB know where I going with this one. Kelly Ann Baptiste beat Shelly Ann Fraser Price at Carifta in the 100m. Then looked what happen. Not to take anything away from KAB.

So the proof is in the pudding. The talent is there. But how the talent is groomed and developed is where the divide is.

What?! She really should focus on the NCAA because what is this senior program going to do.