March 29, 2024, 05:00:30 AM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs Nicaragua Game (27-March-2023)  (Read 4551 times)

Re: Thread for T&T vs Nicaragua Game (27-March-2023)
« Reply #30 on: March 27, 2023, 08:08:19 PM »
Asylumseeker it is time to move on from angus 
« Last Edit: March 27, 2023, 08:10:03 PM by Trini _2026 »

« Reply #31 on: March 27, 2023, 08:23:30 PM »
We should have had that match wrapped up in the first half,we had nuff chances.

« Reply #32 on: March 27, 2023, 09:23:36 PM »
Hurtful that we didn't capitalize earlier, I thought Joevin shoulda hit the free kick instead of the youth. I guess he does it better in training.  It seem like a nice angle for a lefty.
That game was like kfc, real foul.  :rotfl:
There's nothing good about remaining in the lower tier of the competition. And we still have to play to get into the GC. Hard wuk to get in

« Reply #33 on: March 27, 2023, 10:16:23 PM »
Well Peong, sometimes that's the journey we need to take. The long way.

« Reply #35 on: March 28, 2023, 01:30:29 AM »
So we are out of the copa America

« Reply #36 on: March 28, 2023, 03:00:11 AM »
As it says in the old trini vernacular, it good for allyu!!

Time and time again you people go through the same heartache and still won’t learn. it happened in guyana in 2011, then with the gold cup back to back to grenada, then the copa america to panama, then haiti and this same nicaragua with Tom saintfiet,

Then you all got booted out the world cup by peurto rico, the bahamas and st kitts, so when will you all understand that TT football gone through?

I knew once you struggled to beat monseratt in 2021 it was time to run from this country and their 1960s out dated bullshit brand of football. this what we are witnessing now is jack warner and Ollie camps vision for TT football and their field baring the fruits of their labor, this is what happens when you play games and sabotage a society for personal gain, both jack and DJW, this is their legacy.

When you people elect a good federation executive and start building youth development programs for football in the island and start doing right by football like El Salvador, peurto rico and panama, then maybe in 20 years your football would take shape in the right direction,

but if you continue to recycle rookie coaches like dereck king, angus eve and Brian Williams just to name a few who bounce around from the U15 - the mens senior team, these former footballers who have no experience outside the pro league, then it’s licks galore.

trinidad football lack vision, technicality and professionalism, and until you get rid of those dinosaurs who have the votes to choose who manage TT football, then the beatings will continue until you learn, and pretty soon you will fear facing teams like st lucia and dominica, just you watch.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2023, 03:39:57 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #37 on: March 28, 2023, 08:53:17 AM »
Pull stones this is what happens when you play games and sabotage a society for personal gain, both jack and DJW, this is their legacy.
See how the forum is now dead as our fotball

« Reply #38 on: March 28, 2023, 09:36:25 AM »
pull stonesYou have made some very valid points and one thing for sure,we won't get anywhere with a local coach,you mentioned the fact that "we haven't learned from our constant failures",that is 100% fact,all we ever do is hope in vain.I wish things would change as you have pointed out,I definitely won't live to see that change.I feel sad for the football loving people of Trinidad and Tobago,we can only sit and watch other teams climb over us,some we would have beaten 9 out of 10 times.I agree with all that you said.

« Reply #39 on: March 28, 2023, 10:58:22 AM »
Heartbreak for Warriors: Nicaragua take Gold Cup spot after 1-1 draw
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday)

TRINIDAD and Tobago failed to capitalise on a positive first-half performance as they drew 1-1 with Nicaragua in the Concacaf Nations League at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago on Monday night.

T&T needed a win to finish top of Group C in League B and advance directly to the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup in USA in June. A victory also would have earned T&T a place in Group A of the Nations League. As a result of finishing second in Group C, T&T will have to compete in the Gold Cup qualification tournament which will take place days before the Gold Cup kicks off.

T&T made a quick start as Shannon Gomez crossed the ball from the right side, but could not find anyone.

T&T started with more possession but did not create any clear-cut chances in the opening five minutes. Most of T&T’s attacks came up the right side early on as right-back Gomez was at the heart of most forward plays for the home team. Gomez showed pace and energy.

Nicaragua got a corner kick in the 11th minute, but it was cleared by the T&T defence.

In the 13th minute, T&T created the first great chance on goal. Andre Rampersad played the ball to Kaile Auvray who played a perfectly timed through ball to Keston Julien. Julien squared the ball to Tobago boy Rundell Winchester but his effort from a few yards out just missed the target.

T&T dominated Nicaragua physically as well with Rampersad, Kareem Moses and Aubrey David all using their six-foot frames to their advantage.

In the 26th minute, Auvray showed his skill just outside the box evading two defenders. After earning a foul, Joevin Jones wasted the free kick as the effort failed to find a T&T attacker.

Against the run of play, Nicaragua went in front in the 27th minute when Ariagner Smith headed home a cross from the right side.

A free kick in the 33rd minute from Jones 25 yards from goal was struck into the wall.

T&T striker Ryan Telfer was then fouled and Jones slotted home the penalty to the right of goal-keeper Miguel Rodriguez in the 40th minute.

Telfer again proved a handful as he was fouled at the edge of the box in first-half stoppage time, but Auvray’s free kick went over the crossbar as the teams were locked 1-1 at half-time.

In the 50th minute, Auvray showed speed and skill yet again to get past two defenders but his effort from a tight angle was saved by Rodriguez.

Seconds later, substitute Reon Moore dribbled into the box, but he was pushed into a tight angle and was forced to cross the ball. The ball eventually fell to Jones, who was outnumbered by defenders and lost the ball.

In the 57th minute, Smith made a run up the right side but his shot from inside the box went wide. In the 59th minute, Jamie Moreno had a chance to give Nicaragua the lead but T&T goal-keeper Nicklas Frenderup came out to narrow the angle and made the save.

Nicaragua enjoyed more possession in the first 15 minutes of the second half.

In the 69th minute, T&T head coach Angus Eve made two substitutions bringing on John Paul Rochford and Noah Powder for Auvray and Michel Poon-Angeron. The crowd was not pleased that Auvray was taken off the field. Triston Hodge was also introduced for Julien and Jones came off for Marcus Joseph.

T&T lacked the speed they demonstrated in the first half as they seemed to suffer from some fatigue.

T&T did not create chances as they did in the first half, but in the dying stages, substitute Marcus Joseph ran around the Nicaragua goalkeeper and slotted home.

However, he handled the ball and the goal was disallowed and the match ended 1-1.

TEAMS

Trinidad and Tobago (4-2-3-1): 21.Nicklas Frenderup (GK); 14.Shannon Gomez, 12.Kareem Moses, 2.Aubrey David, 19.Keston Julien (18.Triston Hodge 73); 5.Andre Rampersad, 9.Michel Poon-Angeron (6.Noah Powder 68); 7.Ryan Telfer, 3.Joevin Jones (captain) (10.Marcus Joseph 78), 15.Kaile Auvray (11.John-Paul Rochford 68); 17.Rundell Winchester (13.Reon Moore 46).

Unused substitutes: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK), 22.Denzil Smith (GK), 4.Leland Archer, 8.Daniel Phillips, 16.Alvin Jones, 20.Molik Khan, 23.Jomal Williams.

Coach: Angus Eve

Nicaragua (3-1-4-2): 12.Miguel Rodriguez (GK); 5.Marvin Fletes, 6.Luis Fernando Copete (14.Jason Coronel 46), 4.Erick Tellez; 20.Kevin Serapio (15.Melvin Hernandez 72); 2.Josue Quijano, 17.Matias Moldskred, 11.Juan Barrera (captain) (10.Byron Bonilla 46), 3.Oscar Acevedo (21.Francisco Flores 67); 7.Ariagner Smith, 9.Jaime Moreno,

Unused substitutes: 1.Alyer Lopez (GK), 8.Jonathan Moncada, 13.Henry Garcia, 16.Harold Medina, 18.Luis Coronel, 19.Abner Acuńa, 22.Brayan Lopez.

Coach: Marco Figueroa

Referee: Armando Villareal (USA)

« Reply #40 on: March 28, 2023, 11:48:40 AM »
There was no need for Aubrey David to handle the bal inl a second or 2 the ball could have been put into the net with his body apart from his hand.

« Reply #41 on: March 28, 2023, 01:49:36 PM »
Eve defends tactics vs Nicaragua in costly draw
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday)

SOCA Warriors head coach Angus Eve has defended his tactics, including the decision to start Tobagonian forward Rundell Winchester, in Monday's 1-1 draw with Nicaragua in the Concacaf Nations League, at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet.

Eve said Winchester, who has yet to score a national goal in ten years, looked lively in training and was the best option.

The draw ended T&T's hopes of being promoted to League A as Nicaragua topped Group C of League B with 14 points, one ahead of T&T. The result also saw Nicaragua qualify for the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup in June.

T&T will now have to compete in the Gold Cup qualifying tournament which will be held days before the Gold Cup kicks off.

Winchester, who had just four caps in a decade, was surprisingly called up by Eve and given the nod to start against Bahamas on Friday, and again on Monday. Despite Bahamas' defensive deficiencies, Winchester failed to really trouble the goal and was hooked in the second half as T&T were comfortable 3-0 winners.

Against Nicaragua Winchester was substituted at half-time after another unimpressive showing.

Winchester got a golden opportunity to score in the first half after some impressive build-up play, but he missed the target from a few yards out.

Speaking to the media after the Nicaragua match, Eve explained why he chose Winchester. "He started the last game. He did not do badly, although he did not score. We felt that out of the strikers we had, he was the most in-form when we saw him in training so he got another opportunity today."

T&T forward Reon Moore has been a consistent threat for T&T under Eve with pace and trickery. He has also been finding the back of the net and was the only player to score in two friendlies vs the Reggae Boyz in Jamaica earlier this month.

Striker Marcus Joseph also looked more dangerous in his brief minutes off the bench and almost had the winner against Nicaragua, which was ruled a hand-ball. He should have had an assist against Bahamas but captain Joevin Jones missed a glaring one-on-one opportunity.

Despite T&T dominating possession in the first half, Nicaragua went ahead through a header from Ariagner Smith, in the 27th minute. Jones levelled the match with a penalty in the 42nd, after Ryan Telfer drew a foul.

Kaile Auvray, 18, was the standout player for the hosts in the first half with his passing and dribbling ability leaving the crowd in awe.

Wing backs Keston Julien and Shannon Gomez also provided attacking outlets to the team

Holding midfielders Andre Rampersad and Michel Poon-Angeron were also solid in the first half.

Eve said, "I thought both of them were good. Poon came on the last match and I thought he brought energy and he started to pass (the ball)."

Eve said playing Rampersad and Poon-Angeron allowed the wing backs to attack more. "Their (Rampersad/Poon-Angeron) primary roles is not that (attacking). We played two wing backs so they could go forward because they are more attack-minded than the other two wing backs."

As the T&T legs started to tire in the second half, substitutions were made that failed to address the breakdown in the midfield. The Soca Warriors settled for long, hopeful passes as the team lacked the cohesion demonstrated in the first half. Auvray, Poon-Angeron and an injured Julien were among those taken off.

Eve said the second-half effort was below par. "I think some of the players got a little bit tired because of all the travelling in a short space fo time, but at the end of the day I am very proud of the guys."

Eve was forced to leave out central midfielder Daniel Phillips from the starting XI as the English-based midfielder has an ankle injury. Midfielder Jomal Williams remained on the bench.

A player who might have been able to address some of Eve's midfield troubles was also unused – Duane Muckette. The central midfielder is playing for AC Port of Spain in the T&T Premier Football League but was not part of Eve's squad. Muckette's ability to retain possession with quick, short passing might have helped T&T who struggled against the midfield press of Nicaragua.

T&T enjoyed 61 per cent of the ball first half but their final count was just 51 per cent at the final whistle, after a disjointed second half.

Eve said it is unfortunate the team did not seal an automatic Gold Cup spot.

"Disappointed. We worked really hard to be in this position...I thought for the most part, the boys gave a fair effort, you can't fault any of them for trying and what they did tonight. It is just unfortunate.

"We did not lose the match, but we still lost the objective that we were trying to achieve."

The T&T players were constantly fouled in the first half as Nicaragua played aggressively and tried to trick the referee by diving. The Nicaraguan subs were also constantly off their bench complaining to the referee.

Eve was not pleased by the sportsmanship shown by Nicaragua.

"I think it was a match of nasty, dirty tactics. I thought the referee was very lenient on them...a lot of diving all over the pitch which was not good for the game at all today. We tried to pass, we tried to play. They definitely came here to play for a draw. They were playing five at the back in the first half."

« Reply #42 on: March 28, 2023, 03:18:55 PM »
Pull stones this is what happens when you play games and sabotage a society for personal gain, both jack and DJW, this is their legacy.
See how the forum is now dead as our fotball
the forum is dead because the people wise up and accepted the fact that supporting TT football is a wasted endeavor, at least this is my opinion.

People can’t continue on that roller coaster ride to nowhere, we experience a world cup then after that was chaos for the next ten years, then when we finally got rid of jack warner and things started looking up for TT football, then football fraternity went and replace mr timkee with another crook who wanted to own football (DJW)

And even when the man lose the election he turned around and sabotage football by having his replacement ousted by his friends in fifa, and now we football in a hot mess. you think people have the fortitude to deal with all that disappointment and mayhem?

The people fedup and they had it with this rubbish, from the stupid idiotic league where these local coaches continue to perpetuate this old 1950s style of football where players lack the basic skills like running with a ball properly glued to their feet, yet we celebrate these losers as good coaches, please.

when we get serious with football then the people will come back, but don’t hold your breath, because these people still don’t get it and I doubt they would anytime soon since is pure jokers who have a say as to how TT football move forward.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2023, 03:30:53 PM by pull stones »

« Reply #43 on: March 28, 2023, 05:13:38 PM »
When he actually pick strikers

Eve said Winchester, who has yet to score a national goal in ten years, looked lively in training and was the best option.

Speaking to the media after the Nicaragua match, Eve explained why he chose Winchester. "He started the last game. He did not do badly, although he did not score. We felt that out of the strikers we had, he was the most in-form when we saw him in training so he got another opportunity today."

:bs: :bs: :bs:

« Reply #44 on: March 28, 2023, 05:54:58 PM »
My concern is will we get the players we need for the qualifiers. Real bs we dealing with

Offline ffisback

« Reply #45 on: March 28, 2023, 07:02:23 PM »
That was a professional display by Nicaragua they controlled the game from the 1st whistle the only way TT was going to score was with a set play A Eve had no answer for them and when he started taking off his best players it was game over that game needed players like J Williams and M W Ling.

« Reply #46 on: March 29, 2023, 12:22:20 AM »
Eve seems to do some scouting and prepare for the opening tactics of the opposing team. But why is he surprised at the dirty tactics of these Central Americans? That is who they are and how they play.

And he is quickly lost when having to adapt to changing conditions on the field. The difference between a coach and a tactician might not be apparent in practice but its huge in the clutch. Trinidad and Tobago has some great coaches. And zero great tacticians.

« Reply #47 on: March 29, 2023, 01:01:18 AM »
Eve rejects nasty, dirty Nicaragua tactics.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

Monday’s 1-1 tie with Nicaragua at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago was a “game of nasty, dirty tactics” as described by national coach Angus Eve, that ensured the visitors go through to League ‘A’ of the CONCACAF Nations League as Group ‘C’ winner, as well as automatic qualification to the CONCACAF Gold Cup, next year.

However, it is not the end for the Soca Warriors qualifying for the Gold Cup. They will now have to go through the preliminary qualifying process.

Eve was in a bitter mood following the match, saying the referee was a bit lenient on the Nicaraguans.

“It was a match of nasty, dirty tactics. I thought the referee was very lenient on them, throwing a lot of football on the park, a lot of diving all over the pitch, which wasn’t good for the game today.

“I thought that we tried to play, but they definitely came here for a draw, they played with five in the back in the first half, and then they put on a defensive midfielder in the second half, and then we started to get some control of the game.

“I think, in the game for the most part, there were very limited opportunities for both teams, but we still had the better of the opportunities but we just didn’t take them.

“Now we have to qualify from the preliminary stages of the Gold Cup and we will not move up to the ‘A’ stage, instead we will stay in the ‘B’ grouping of the Nations League.”

CONCACAF released recently that 12 teams will participate in the 2023 CONCACAF Gold Cup Qualifiers based on the results of the 2022-2023 CONCACAF Nations League. These teams are the four group third-place teams of 2022-2023 CONCACAF Nations League ‘A’, the four second-place finishers from League ‘B’ and the four group winners from League ‘C’, which will be involved in a draw on April 14.

The Soca Warriors lost to Nicaragua in their opening game in Managua 2-0 in June last year, and have now held them off 1-1 in the final match of Group C. Arianger Smith gave the Nicaraguans the advantage with a 27th-minute header before captain Joevin Jones equalised in the 40th minute from the penalty spot.

Eve said it was still a good performance by his charges, having put themselves in a position to seal the win in the group.

“It is a feeling of disappointment, we worked really hard to be in this position, I thought we had put ourselves in a really good position, we had the last game at home. We felt like we had a number of players who could have taken us over that line but.

“For the most part, the boys gave a fair effort, you can’t fault any of them for trying but it was just unfortunate, we did not lose the match, but we just lose the objective that we were trying to achieve.”

“There were a lot of positives, we scored and we created chances up until the end of the match. I think it augers well for football going football, we actually didn’t lose. I thought the fighting spirit of the team, we passed the ball well, I thought we moved the ball around well.

“I think some of the players were a little bit tired because of all the travelling in a short space of time but at the end of the day I am very proud of the guys and we still have an opportunity to qualify for the Gold cup.”

Eve noted that he will continue their plans as they move forward, saying he still wants to continue to develop the local players and get matches for them outside the window, as well as still trying to qualify for tournaments that they want to qualify for.

WATCH T&T fail to secure automatic Gold Cup Cup spot, T&T drew 1-1 with Nicaragua, Zone react

WATCH CNL 2023 Trinidad & Tobago v Nicaragua | Highlights

« Last Edit: March 29, 2023, 01:19:29 AM by Flex »

« Reply #48 on: March 29, 2023, 08:20:00 AM »
The ttfa instagram real outta timing with the post with a big "QUALIFIED" in bold and a small "Gold cup" and smaller  "prelims". Have ppl celebrating

« Reply #49 on: March 29, 2023, 09:04:32 AM »
The ttfa instagram real outta timing with the post with a big "QUALIFIED" in bold and a small "Gold cup" and smaller  "prelims". Have ppl celebrating

Has there been a change in who is handling social media? Several of the posts seem uncharacteristic.

« Reply #50 on: March 29, 2023, 09:32:50 AM »
Here we go again- Heartache. Good First Half

and then we bun in the second.Stupid Politics again he played Winchester because he from Tobago. We were passing the ball around nicely but too slow in transition.I am amazed that Eve was surprised at Nicaragua tactics having played Central America, Latin  America and South America teams in his playing days, Same S___another day.

« Reply #51 on: March 29, 2023, 10:33:50 AM »
We were passing the ball around nicely but too slow in transition.

Injun, that is what Mike Grayson related to me. He said that tactic was not apt for the moment. If we had a two or three goals leading we can play that way. We needed to win the game. All them need is a tie. We needed constant precision attacking, not that slow build up. Wrong plan.

« Reply #52 on: March 29, 2023, 05:50:01 PM »
We had a size advantage in Winchester and Telfer, I woulda like to see some penetrating passes for them to knock down or shield and play to onrushing teammates. Also wanted to see Jomal out there, he is tricky and hard to keep up with

« Reply #53 on: March 30, 2023, 05:49:36 AM »
Deeks, very simply, that is what Duane Muckette brings to the table...and sometime in future when he's called back to the team, you'll see exactly what I mean.

« Reply #54 on: March 30, 2023, 12:02:23 PM »
To me the brand is refreshing and in my opinion gives an extra option that allowed the type of penetration that led to the goal. My frustration with Eve was with the substitutions. The style depends on an Auvray, Jones or Poon (1st JA game but too deep deep since) who can receive the ball under pressure. hold it for a bit if necessary and spread it.  [The other attackers then feed off of that energy, so you would see more dribbles by a Telfer or a Moore]. Eve subbed all of them with players none of whom could replace that role but still (very unsuccessfully) the team tried to play in that style.  Still hopeful b/c despite his favorites [can somebody tell me why Roachford getting so many runs?, or what Kareem Moses doing on this team?], Molino sometimes and Levi would only add to that dimension.... and hopefully Eve is serious and all of the rumors of trini roots will bring in a handful more players.

« Reply #55 on: March 30, 2023, 12:13:47 PM »
TTFA took that post from the esteemed sports minister FB page and shared it, they might have left out her/their accompanying comments:

'Happy to bring the games to you once again! ⚽️ ❤️🙌🏾💯🇹🇹
Thanks to the TTFA and my SporTT team! 🙏🏾
Big Salute to my fellow Tobagonians for bringing so much life to our Dwight Yorke Stadium! 💃🏽 A good time was had by all! 🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉
Final Score at Dwight Yorke Stadium: 1-1.
The Soca Warriors has qualified to the 2023 Gold Cup Prelims! However, we remain in League B.
Let’s continue to support our boys⚽️🙌🏾❤️💯🇹🇹'

Offline lucky4life

« Reply #56 on: March 30, 2023, 03:37:57 PM »
I thought the match that Trinidad draw with Nicaragua didn't make them qualify for the goal cup, them have to play a qualifying match with a team to get qualify to the GOAL CUP

« Reply #57 on: March 30, 2023, 06:08:01 PM »
To me the brand is refreshing and in my opinion gives an extra option that allowed the type of penetration that led to the goal. My frustration with Eve was with the substitutions. The style depends on an Auvray, Jones or ....

Again Kounty, No issue with the brand. We had to win to qualify for GC and move out of Group B. We should have attack them constantly for first 20/25 mins. If the football eh pretty during that period, so be it. When we up 2 or 3, then switch to "nice football".

« Reply #58 on: April 01, 2023, 10:20:58 AM »
Eve too pragmatic shows no balls when d situation calls for it.....attack score  then luck up man

Offline madness

« Reply #59 on: April 03, 2023, 03:17:51 AM »
TT needs to be quicker in transitioning in the game. JJ is not a good attacking midfielder (I saw him play for the Seattle Sounders). He needs to be a left-back and Kaile Auvray left-wing. I think the CBs should be Keston Julien and Kareem Moses. I will put AJ (right-back) and Ryan Telfer (right-wing) on the right side of the pitch. In the middle of the field is very tough; I am not seeing any playmakers on the team. I guess Kevin Minlino can be the one. In his absence, I think Michel Poon-Angeron (needs to be more aggressive on the field regarding moving the ball forward) and Andre Rampersad (holding midfielder) take too long to make passes. We need Levi to be the center-forward (striker) on top, but I'll put Reon Moore upfront as center-forward if Levis is not around. I am not sure if Marcus Joseph needs to be the attacking midfielder. GK is [/b]Nicklas Frenderup

Players need to love their country and play their best on the field.