March 28, 2024, 09:48:45 AM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs Bahamas Game (24-March-2023)  (Read 2413 times)

Thread for T&T vs Bahamas Game (24-March-2023)
« on: January 12, 2023, 01:06:44 PM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the Concacaf Nations League and Gold Cup qualifier between T&T and Bahamas in the Bahamas, on the 24th of March 2023 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.
To be updated.

Possible TV Station.
To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

To Be Updated.

Defenders:

To Be Updated.

Midfielders:

To Be Updated.

Forwards:

To Be Updated.

Coach - Angus Eve (TRI).

Bahamas Squad

Goalkeepers:

To Be Updated.

Defenders:

To Be Updated.

Midfielders:

To Be Updated.

Forwards:

To Be Updated.

Coach - Nesley Jean (BAH).

« Last Edit: January 12, 2023, 01:08:37 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for T&T vs Bahamas Game (24-March-2023)
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2023, 01:34:30 PM »
Players in training.

MARVIN PHILLIP
DENZIL  SMITH​
JABARI  ST. HILLAIRE​
ADRIAN  FONCETTE​
ISAIAH  WILLIAMS​
TRISTAN  EDWRADS​
ALVIN  JONES​
LELAND  ARCHER​
WESLIE  JOHN​
ANTHONY  HERBERT​
ISAIAH  GARCIA​
JUSTIN  GARCIA​
ROSS  RUSSELL JR​
KESTON  JULIEN​
JESSE  WILLIAMS​
JAMEEL  NEPTUNE​
SHANNON  GOMEZ​
JELANI PETERS ​
JOSHUA  ALEXANDER​
KEVIN  MOLINO​
NEVEAL  HACKSHAW​
JOHN-PAUL  ROCHFORD​
KEVON  GODDARD​
JUSTIN  SADOO​
NATHANIEL  GARCIA​
REAL  GILL​
NATHANIEL  JAMES​
DUANE  MUCKETTE​
JABARI  MITCHELL​
JOEVIN  JONES​
KAIHIM THOMAS ​
JELANI FELIX ​
MICHEL POON-ANGERON​
CHE BENNY​
GARY GRIFFITH ​
KHALEEM HYLAND​
WILLIS  PLAZA​
KADEEM  CORBIN​
TYRESE SPICER​
NICHOLAS DILLON ​
REON MOORE ​
DARNELL HOSPEDALES
KESTON JULIEN ​

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2023, 05:14:21 PM »
 I eh see Messi name on this list- all ah seeing is ' has beens' ' wanta bees' and recycle
 How long we go keep going with Marvin Phillips?
 Fack we eh have no young talented goalie to start grooming for 26?

« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2023, 09:09:22 PM »
Hfx airport snowed in ? Note, 17-19 would be 20-22 in 2026 and 24-26 in 2030.

« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2023, 02:34:37 PM »
Soca Warriors squad named for Nations League matches
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday)

SOCA Warriors head coach Angus Eve has named his 24-man squad for two Concacaf Nations League matches against Bahamas and Nicaragua.

T&T will first play Bahamas in Nassau on Friday, before returning home to play Nicaragua on March 27 at Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago. T&T are in Ft Lauderdale, Florida for a training camp before the match in Bahamas.

The team is a mixture of players who recently featured in two international friendlies against Jamaica and foreign-based players.

Goalkeeper Denzil Smith and midfielder Kaile Auvray, who made their debuts against Jamaica, have been chosen by Eve. Smith looked solid in the first match against Jamaica as he kept a clean sheet in a 1-0 win for T&T.

Over the two matches, Auvray, 18, impressed with his ability.

Tobagonian Rundell Winchester, who has four caps in a decade, received a surprise recall.

El Salvador-based Jomal Williams, who was recalled for the Jamaica friendlies, has been selected. Joevin Jones, John Paul Rochford, Michel Poon Angeron and Noah Powder have all remained in the team.

A few of the foreign-based players back in the team are Keston Julien, Daniel Phillips and Aubrey David.

T&T SQUAD

Goalkeepers: Marvin Phillip, Nicklas Frenderup, Denzil Smith.

Defenders: Alvin Jones, Aubrey David, Leland Archer, Justin Garcia, Kareem Moses, Keston Julien, Shannon Gomez, Triston Hodge.

Midfielders: Jomal Williams, Andre Rampersad, Daniel Phillips, Joevin Jones, John Paul Rochford, Kaile Auvray, Molik Khan, Noah Powder, Michel Poon Angeron.

Forwards: Rundell Winchester, Marcus Joseph, Ryan Telfer, Reon Moore.

« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2023, 03:03:43 PM »
I like this squad. Hope the guys all have good showings and a in tune and successful final eleven come to the fro. Eve continues to surprise.

« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2023, 04:14:26 PM »
Yup eve  suprises  Rundell winchester our striker pool is so shallow ?  Wha going on with malcom shaw ?? trini grandparents also ? .No TLH players eh something is up.......
« Last Edit: March 20, 2023, 04:27:25 PM by Trini _2026 »

« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2023, 12:33:28 AM »
Eve, Warriors will treat both matches as finals.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

The climb of T&T’s football back to the top of the Caribbean region has begun in earnest.

Coach Angus Eve is hoping to build on the team’s recent defeat of regional giant, Jamaica, who is ranked 64th on the FIFA ranking compared to T&T’s 104th, when they take on the Bahamas on Friday in Nassau and then Nicaragua on Monday at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago, as the CONCACAF Nations League nears its end.

The end result will be a promotion for the team that wins Group C, as well as automatic qualification for the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the United States next year.

At a virtual press briefing Tuesday, Eve admitted that it has been a difficult road for him and his players who have been challenged by injuries and other personal issues, but he noted at the team’s live-in camp in Boca Raton, Fort Lauderdale that his players are focused on the task ahead.

“It is well documented now that there have been a lot of late pull-outs due to injuries, no fault of the players. Some players also have personal issues, but the camp has been going really well and the players here are firmly focused on the goal and objective, which is to take T&T football back to the Gold Cup proper and hopefully, to put us in a better place in the ‘A’ section of the Nations League, so we can have better opposition and better competition to play against in the future and be able to expose our players to that high level of football,” Eve said.

On Friday, the Bahamians will include five players that didn’t play in the first match against T&T which they lost 1-0 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo, Port-of-Spain.

Eve said: “They basically took us out of the World Cup and then we beat them 1-0 at home. They are a very plucky group, they have a lot of pride in their country, so they fight a lot. They brought in five new players that we can see from the roster they didn’t have before, so we are doing our due diligence on them just as they are doing on us.”

He believes the key to a successful result against them will be to be consistent in their play, professional in their play, not to take anybody lightly, and treat the games as two finals.

“That’s what we’re going to put into the minds of the players,” Eve said.

The Soca Warriors were without midfielder Kevin Molino and speedy striker Levi Garcia for the Jamaica encounters, which the Warriors won 1-0 in the first match before playing to a goalless tie in the second. In their absence, Eve has called up Marsaskala FC striker Rundell Winchester, who is said to have the ability to operate as a flanker and a number nine as well as Halifax Wanderer’s midfielder Andre Rampersad, who Eve described as a modern-day midfielder, possessing the ability of a number eight, who could play box-to-box, has a good engine and is very decent on the ball.

Eve admitted that both players were constantly monitored while they were with their respective teams.

Eve said with players possessing different abilities, his team will be built based on the strengths of the players.

“We played in Jamaica without these guys and as I said, we have full faith in all of the players we have on the roster. Molino is a different type of player than the ones we have and Levi is a different type of player than we have, so the player that we have will determine how the team plays.

“I can’t have a philosophy without having the type of players that I would want to have in a particular team so we would play to the strength of the players that we have.”

Eve, a former national midfielder himself, said from the Jamaican matches, he was pleased with the performances of the all-local players which have now raised the level his team will need to play at now.

T&T is second in Group C, having lost to the Nicaraguans in their first game of the League 2-0 in Managua in June, however, Eve said his team will be different to the one that represented us then.

Bahamas eager to face T&T.

Bahamas’ 22-man roster was set to be named yesterday, and was expected to include five overseas-based players in it, as they prepare to take on T&T on Friday in a key CONCACAF Nations League Group C clash at the Thomas A Robinson National Stadium in Nassau, Bahamas from 4 pm.

With just three points to date in third position in the group, the Bahamians can only reach nine points if they can win their next two matches, which will ensure that they stay in League B in the region.

Veteran ‘Swiss Knife’ Lesly St Fleur has returned to the team along with midfielder Christopher Rahming and will be hoping to guide the young squad into this next window.

Speaking after a training session Tuesday, St Fleur said: “Playing with the young guys is a pleasure – to do so with my experience and to give my knowledge to them about the game is something that I welcome. They are the future. It’s going to be an exciting game, knowing that we drew 0-0 with them the last time we played here. They have something to prove so they are coming to play hard, and we will be ready for the task ahead.”

Rahming on the other hand is anticipating a good game.

He said: “We have to win these games to stay in League B. I am hoping we get control of the game early on Friday, ensure that everyone gets a touch on the ball early and build up confidence. That is one thing that we didn’t do during the Trinidad game the last time, where it seems we were afraid to pass the ball. That is the main focus for me.”

Bahamas coach Nesly Jean said he and his coaching staff, which includes Kevin Davies and Avery Kemp, have been looking at the new players over the past few weeks, integrating them into the team’s sessions.

“We had some friendly games against Turks and Caicos, so it was good to look at them. We were able to look at the team and see how far we are, and how far we are with the new guys. I am looking forward to seeing these players come in and perform well. I want to see them step up to the level that they have been playing overseas and bring up the local guys to the same level. Once everyone is on the same page, I think we will do well,” Jean said.

He further explained: “Some of these guys felt the Gold Cup for the first time, a few years back. They are excited about the games coming up. I think we have a chance as well looking at the points in our group. I feel like if we make that step and work hard and give everything on the field these two games, we will have a chance to go through to the Gold Cup.”

The Bahamas sits in third place in the group with a 1-3 win/loss record and three points. T&T is in second place with a 3-1 record and nine points. In its second game in this window, the Bahamas will head to St Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG) to play that nation.

SVG sports a 0-1-3 win/draw/loss record and has one point. They sit in fourth place in the group. Bahamas’ only win in the group came against SVG, a 1-0 victory.

« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2023, 01:26:48 AM »
David: Let us focus on Bahamas first

Defender Aubrey David is suggesting the T&T team, throw all its focus on the Bahamas team first, ahead of what can be a qualification to the CONCACAF Gold Cup next year and promotion to Group A in the CONCACAF Nations League.

They will have to beat the Bahamians on Friday at the Thomas A Robinson National Stadium in Nassau to set up a showdown with Nicaragua on Monday at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago.

The Nicaraguans lead Group C with ten points with T&T in second on nine, but with the Bahamas in third position on three, the battle comes down to a battle between first and second.

David, who now plays for Ecuadorian top-tier team Sociedad Deportiva Aucas, touched down at the team camp in Boca Raton, Fort Lauderdale in Florida, USA, and had some advice for his teammates.

“Firstly, let them know that it doesn’t matter the rank of the team because obviously, we are ranked higher than the Bahamas but at the end of the day, it’s 11 versus 11 and they’re not going to come to lay down.

“They’re not going to come and say let us give T&T the points, so we need to be focused, we need to concentrate from the first whistle and I think we need to take our chances. I think early goals will be key for us to get the confidence and make us more relaxed in terms of playing more football because the longer the game goes on at nil-nil, you tend to get a little bit anxious and a little bit impatient.

“So I think an early goal for us will be key. It is a very important game for us, we need to leave there with three points and set up a grand finale in Tobago against Nicaragua,” David said.

David reminded his teammates that the Bahamians threw T&T out of the World Cup qualifiers in 2021. On Tuesday, the Bahamians announced their team for the encounter. Their roster comprises five foreign-based players, inclusive of veteran “Swiss Knife” Lesly St Fleur and Christopher Rahming who told the media on Tuesday that the T&T team will have something to prove in the encounter.

St Fleur said, “It’s going to be an exciting game (against Trinidad and Tobago), knowing that we drew 0-0 with them the last time we played here. They have something to prove so they are coming to play hard, and we will be ready for the task ahead.”

David and his teammates have been set a standard to follow after the 104th-ranking Soca Warriors exceeded expectations by beating 64th-ranked regional rivals Jamaica 1-0 in a two-game series on March 11 and 14 in Jamaica.

David said: “The lads did a very good job in the three games they played, which shows the work they did with the coach and the excellent job they’ve been doing. So it’s very good to continue that momentum they had. Even the players who are not here, they did an excellent job, so I think the responsibility is on us to continue to carry out the great job that they’ve been doing which will only augur well for the whole national pool.”

« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2023, 01:44:02 PM »
Look like the games are on paramount plus

« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2023, 01:15:17 AM »
Keston Julien does not have the appropriate visa to enter the Bahamas and will miss the game.

« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2023, 08:24:50 AM »
Trinidad and Tobago without Keston Julien for Bahamas match
T&T Express

DEFENDER Keston Julien is out due to a lack of a USA visa, while striker Marcus Joseph is now destined to come off the bench after experiencing travel issues from India, as the Trinidad and Tobago senior men’s football team is scheduled to tackle the Bahamas in their CONCACAF Nations League match today.

Head coach Angus Eve made the disclosure shortly after the team settled down in the Bahamas yesterday, following the completion of a three-day training camp in Boca Raton, Ft Lauderdale, USA.

“We feel good. The guys have been training good for the last three days we had the group together. Two players did not make it. Keston Julien, he doesn’t have a visa, so he is only available for the Trinidad leg (versus Nicaragua),” Eve told TTFA Media yesterday. “Marcus Joseph had some issues in India, so he wouldn’t make it to the camp until training this afternoon (yesterday). So obviously he may not start because of the long travel. But he is fit and available if need be, off the bench.”

Victory away to Bahamas today and Nicaragua in Tobago, Monday, will see T&T (nine points) overhaul Nicaragua (ten points) in Group C of the Nations League Group B, and qualify directly for the 2023 CONCACAF Gold Cup—the Caribbean, North and Central America (CONCACAF) region’s show-piece tournament for national teams.

The live-in camp was about gelling the team into one unit, Eve said, following the positive display in Jamaica where he observed the improvement and sharpness of his charges.

“And (we saw) a bit of match fitness coming into them. And the players who were abroad, they came into the side and they would have the added experience and the know-how. A lot of them, the majority of them would have been playing consistently. So they would also bring back that sort of match fitness to the group,” said the former national midfielder.

Because of the unavailability of some players and injuries to others, Eve opted for a team with more versatile and creative players who could play in multiple positions.

And the objective with this match, is to start the process of re-establishing the country as the top team in the region.

“Some people say we should be playing Argentina...playing Argentina now does not serve any purpose for us. We need to play these games. These are the games that are in front of us. We are ranked 104 in the world . I think people are also misstating that...We are in a rebuilding stage and I think the rebuilding stage is going fine. And that is to tell you how far we have dropped off, that Bahamas now believe that we and them have a rivalry,” Eve explained about today’s opposition that helped to derail T&T’s 2022 World Cup campaign, back in 2021.

“So it is important that we come back here and we establish ourselves. We won the (first) game 1-0 in Port of Spain in a very dogged style. They played ten players behind the ball ..and they tried to play on the counter-attack. We don’t know if they will change anything but we will prepare for if they play high-press and be prepared for if they want to drop off and do similar things in that last game,” Eve concluded.

Today’s match will be played at the New Thomas A. Robinson National Stadium in Nassau, from 4 p.m.

« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2023, 12:56:31 PM »
Keston Julien does not have the appropriate visa to enter the Bahamas and will miss the game.

>:(

« Reply #13 on: March 24, 2023, 01:27:46 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago's lineup

Offline Thomo

« Reply #14 on: March 24, 2023, 01:33:18 PM »
Links anyone?

« Reply #15 on: March 24, 2023, 01:54:59 PM »

>:(

Maybe he isn't a CARICOM national.

Offline lil damo

« Reply #16 on: March 24, 2023, 01:58:32 PM »
Link?

« Reply #17 on: March 24, 2023, 02:06:33 PM »
Why list Jomal as a midfielder? I wonder if Eve sees him as something other than a finisher.
What is Auvray height? Aubrey David is a foot taller than him.
What a bullet! Well hit by Kareem Moses, lovely goal
« Last Edit: March 24, 2023, 09:28:37 PM by Peong »

Offline bingie man

« Reply #18 on: March 24, 2023, 02:08:47 PM »
links ?

« Reply #20 on: March 24, 2023, 02:27:44 PM »
Telfer eat the wing back food.  He take him on down the outside and lay it on a platter for Joevin to sidefoot in.  Pardon the food analogies, ah hungry.

Offline bingie man

« Reply #21 on: March 24, 2023, 02:28:08 PM »
respect my brother

« Reply #22 on: March 24, 2023, 02:49:29 PM »
not a bad half. throw away some but scored some. positive.

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #23 on: March 24, 2023, 02:53:32 PM »
Nice. This is what we need to start back doing to these teams

« Reply #24 on: March 24, 2023, 03:35:46 PM »
Someone text that it is 3-0 ?

« Reply #25 on: March 24, 2023, 03:49:35 PM »
Yuh know in cricket how they say 'hasn't troubled the scorer'? Well, we on dat!

« Reply #26 on: March 24, 2023, 03:49:53 PM »
Should have been about 8 by now.  Joevin missing sitters today.

« Reply #27 on: March 24, 2023, 03:54:30 PM »
End of the deluded talk about rivalry with Bahamas.

« Reply #28 on: March 24, 2023, 04:01:51 PM »
We created enough chances. Somebody have talk to de captain about his finishing.

« Reply #29 on: March 24, 2023, 04:05:57 PM »
We created enough chances. Somebody have talk to de captain about his finishing.

Ah doh think he will be skipper vs Nicaragua.