March 28, 2024, 03:50:56 AM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs Saint Martin Game (29-Jan-2023)  (Read 1981 times)

Thread for T&T vs Saint Martin Game (29-Jan-2023)
« on: January 25, 2023, 01:41:45 PM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the friendly game between T&T and Saint Martin at the Hasely Crawford Stadium (6pm), on the 29th of January 2023 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.
To be updated.

Possible TV Station.
To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Marvin Phillip, Adrian Foncette, Isaiah Williams;

Defenders:

Alvin Jones, Isaiah Garcia, Jesse Williams, Ross Russell Jr., Leland Archer, Weslie John, Justin Garcia, Darnell Hospedales, Jameel Neptune;

Midfielders:

Neveal Hackshaw, Justin Sadoo, Michel Poon-Angeron, Nathaniel Garcia, Duane Muckette, Joevin Jones, Kaihim Thomas, John-Paul Rochford, Kevon Goddard.

Forwards:

Real Gill, Reon Moore, Kadeem Corbin, Jabari Mitchell.

Coach - Angus Eve (TRI).

Saint Martin Squad

Goalkeepers:

To Be Updated.

Defenders:

To Be Updated.

Midfielders:

To Be Updated.

Forwards:

To Be Updated.

Coach - Stéphane Auvray (GLP).

« Last Edit: January 28, 2023, 01:24:24 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for T&T vs Saint Martin Game (29-Jan-2023)
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2023, 01:43:35 PM »
T&T Senior Men to play Saint Martin in practice match on Sunday.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men’s Team will face Saint Martin’s National Senior Team in a practice match at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on January 29th from 6:00pm.

This match will serve as a part of preparations for our Men’s team, under head coach Angus Eve as the build up continues towards the Concacaf Nations League fixtures away to Bahamas on March 24th and at home to Nicaragua at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet on March 27th. Over the past few weeks, Eve has been conducting training sessions involving a squad of home-based and US-based players.

In 2022, St Martin played six international matches including three in the Concacaf Nations League,drawing 1-1 with St Kitts/Nevis, drawing 0-0 and losing 3-0 to Aruba. Their biggest result was a 2-0 victory over Bahamas in a friendly in March 2022. They are preparing for their next Nations League encounter against St Kitts on March 23. St Martin is coached by former Guadeloupe international Stephane Auvray. 

Fans will be able to attend Sunday’s match with admission being $40 at the gate for the covered section only.

« Last Edit: January 29, 2023, 04:00:52 PM by Flex »

« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2023, 12:38:10 AM »
The year's most eagerly awaited encounter.

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2023, 01:13:15 PM »
Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Marvin Phillip, Adrian Foncette, Isaiah Williams;

Defenders:

Alvin Jones, Isaiah Garcia, Jesse Williams, Ross Russell Jr., Leland Archer, Weslie John, Justin Garcia, Darnell Hospedales, Jameel Neptune;

Midfielders:

Neveal Hackshaw, Justin Sadoo, Michel Poon-Angeron, Nathaniel Garcia, Duane Muckette, Joevin Jones, Kaihim Thomas, John-Paul Rochford, Kevon Goddard.

Forwards:

Real Gill, Reon Moore, Kadeem Corbin, Jabari Mitchell.

« Last Edit: January 28, 2023, 01:24:11 PM by Flex »

« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2023, 01:45:34 AM »
Watch Real Gill fellas. Boss player.

Time to phase off on Marvin Phillip, Joevin and Adrian Foncette, them fellas to old. And Hackshaw to slow for today's game, not a bad player thou.

We have Gold Cup, Caribbean Cup, WC and Copa America to play for. Doh blow it Eve.

Believe in de youths.

« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2023, 12:07:33 PM »

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2023, 12:16:57 PM »
prediction:
 TNT  doh make we cry again
TNT why yuh  down so low
TnT yuh have no goals
TNT we want ah  coach

Offline Thomo

« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2023, 04:19:48 PM »

Time to phase off on Marvin Phillip, Joevin and Adrian Foncette, them fellas to old. And Hackshaw to slow for today's game, not a bad player thou.

We have Gold Cup, Caribbean Cup, WC and Copa America to play for. Doh blow it Eve.

Believe in de youths.
Nobody could convince me that's how Hackshaw is built. He's definitely overweight!

« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2023, 04:54:38 PM »
The man eat calalloo and roti before the game…thinking he will roll through St Martin

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2023, 07:07:08 PM »
 Wait nah- Is this ah friendly or ah fete match?  You play as you practice- if this was a practice match then it  is foreboding of what is to come.    I watching this game and geez ah ages- Never have I seen a more lazy lackluster, disinterested, passionless bunch of individuals with no pace on or off the ball   trying to pass as national team players. man 'chipping and trotting' like dey in form for  ole mas band- J'ouvert morning

This is shameful ball to watch at this stage. Is this the future of TnT football? come nah we could do better. So they get two fluky goals-  I eh see nothing in this that  indicate we ready to  take on any of the power houses in the Caribbean. As a matter of fact  a good pee wee team may pose some problems fuh this team. Next up leh we try a match  against India- maybe  we could fill the stands with supporters.

« Last Edit: January 29, 2023, 08:17:08 PM by ABTrini »

« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2023, 09:20:31 PM »
Plus St M. rock up we post. Not convincing but I eh know what to expect from the group at the moment.

« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2023, 01:01:56 AM »
Corbin, Gill help Trinidad and Tobago beat St Martin 2-0.
T&T Newsday Reports.

TWO second-half goals were enough for Trinidad and Tobago to beat St Martin 2-0 on Sunday in an international football friendly at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.

Goals by Kadeem Corbin, in the 65th, and substitute Real Gill, in the 86th, subdued a plucky St Martin team.

It was T&T coach Angus Eve's first chance to see his players on the field competing in over six months.

And with no local professional league in T&T for the past three years, it was no surprise that the TT players struggled for cohesion and sharpness on the field.

For most of the first half, T&T's attacking intent was generated by solo runs from forward Reon Moore down the left flank.

A nice give-and-go at the half line set Moore free in the fifth minute, but with just the goalie to beat, his low shot was saved.

St Martin were no pushovers and showed good link-up play but failed to make it count in the attacking third.

Another Moore attack drew a foul at the edge of the box on the left but Nathaniel Garcia's free kick was hit straight into the wall.

Another set play, this time from Joevin Jones, at the top of the box, was blazed over bar as the half ended goalless.

Corbin, who had threatened earlier in the box, showed good persistence to beat a defender to a loose ball in the second half, before checking on his right foot and drilling a low shot into the net.

St Martin almost levelled the score with a daring strike from distance that T&T goalie Marvin Phillip was relieved to see crash off the crossbar and out of play.

Gill should have scored in the 83rd, when substitute Duane Muckette's shot rebounded to him, but he somehow skewed his shot wide with the goalkeeper on the ground and the goal gaping.

Gill made up for that miss three minutes later, darting into the box to latch on to a squared pass from the right and burying his shot into the net.

(Teams)

Trinidad and Tobago (4-3-3): 1.Marvin Phillip (GK) (captain); 16.Alvin Jones (2.Isaiah Garcia 67), 6.Leland Archer, 17.Justin Garcia, 4.Jameel Neptune (19.Ross Russell Jr 55); 8.Kevon Goddard (24.Michel Poon-Angeron 75), 15.Neveal Hackshaw (23.Jesse Williams 75), 7.Nathaniel Garcia (10.Duane Muckette 55); 3.Joevin Jones (14.John-Paul Rochford 55), 9.Kadeem Corbin (18.Real Gill 67), 13.Reon Moore (11.Jabari Mitchell 83).

Unused substitutes: 21.Isaiah Williams (GK), 22.Adrian Foncette (GK), 5.Weslie John, 12.Darnell Hospedales, 20.Justin Sadoo, 25.Kaihim Thomas.

Coach: Angus Eve

Saint Martin (4-1-4-1): 16.Sabastien Raphose (GK) (captain) (1.Jordan Etienne (GK) 46); 2.Jeremy Dutoya (12.Alain Cordero 72), 4.Donovan Fils-Aime, 5.Mickael Clio, 3.Stephan Varsovie (18.Stephen La Guerre 72); 8.Randy Gentes (15.Christopher Despeine 75); 7.Darren Pompe (13.Sebastien Venthou-Dumaine 46), 6.Yoann Vardin, 10.Wilfried Dalmat (14.Kearney Chance 72), 11.Kaile Auvray; 9.Danilo Cocks (19.Yannick Bellechasse 46).

Coach: Stéphane Auvray

Referee: Kwinsi Williams

Watch Game Highlights.

« Last Edit: January 30, 2023, 10:22:42 PM by Flex »

« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2023, 02:25:22 PM »
Wow.. Carnival time, like ppl couldn’t be bothered ( even to comment). Also they should setup a camera booth on the opposite side of the field so our National team games don’t look so closed door in this amazing football loving country .  ::)

« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2023, 04:54:58 PM »
MATCH HIGHLIGHTS

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/P44haQhzTwE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/P44haQhzTwE</a>

« Reply #14 on: January 30, 2023, 05:39:05 PM »

Believe in de youths.
Nobody could convince me that's how Hackshaw is built. He's definitely overweight!
Hahahaha...I'm not in the business of fighting down men eh, but I can't think of any professional player as big as he is?
Now he is super skillful etc. but I always wonder how much better he could be if he wasn't as heavy as he is, or if anyone has EVER mentioned that to him? Or do coaches just accept his size and keep it pushing?

« Reply #15 on: January 30, 2023, 06:42:51 PM »

Saint Martin (4-1-4-1): 16.Sabastien Raphose (GK) (captain) (1.Jordan Etienne (GK) 46); 2.Jeremy Dutoya (12.Alain Cordero 72), 4.Donovan Fils-Aime, 5.Mickael Clio, 3.Stephan Varsovie (18.Stephen La Guerre 72); 8.Randy Gentes (15.Christopher Despeine 75); 7.Darren Pompe (13.Sebastien Venthou-Dumaine 46), 6.Yoann Vardin, 10.Wilfried Dalmat (14.Kearney Chance 72), 11.Kaile Auvray; 9.Danilo Cocks (19.Yannick Bellechasse 46).

wha Kaile Auvray  doing in that squad

« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2023, 10:34:59 PM »
We coulda win 20-0,,, Ah still feel Angue Eve shouldn't be T&T coach, de team playing very dead 80's style football. To slow and to much space leaving open.

I feel out of all de locals, Stephen Hart was de best.

Hackshaw should consider doing a commercial for dunkin donuts. He go make real bread. Eve is a fool coach.

« Last Edit: January 30, 2023, 10:36:48 PM by Flex »

« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2023, 10:57:45 PM »

wha Kaile Auvray  doing in that squad
probably fully aware it’s his only opportunity to get a run.

« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2023, 05:36:52 PM »
Good exercise: Eve satisfied with Saint Martin warm-up
By Garth Wattley (T&T Express)

“I thought it was a good exercise for the guys (against) a very organised St Martin team.”

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Angus Eve got much of what he wanted out of his team’s practice match against St Martin at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, on Sunday.

The “Soca Warriors” won 2-0 through second half goals by Kadeem Corbin and substitute Real Gill.

With two CONCACAF Nations League matches pending in March against the Bahamas away and Nicaragua at home, Eve tried to get as much from the St Martin workout as possible with a largely home-based squad.

Some 19 players got game time Sunday and Eve said afterwards: “We looked very positive in defence. We got a lot of chances (and) I thought we could have won by much more but we’ll take the win because we haven’t played for so long.”

St Martin, who have a crucial Nations League qualifier against St Kitts in March, held their own in a goalless first half without seriously testing goalkeeper Marvin Phillip. However, they lost ground in the second half following a series of changes by both teams.

For St Martin coach Stephane Auvray, there was a “big drop in terms of possession in the second half” when his locally-based players were introduced.

Eve though credited T&T’s greater threat in offence to a change in strategy. “The pressurising of the ball when we have it, it wasn’t as good first half; second half it was much better,” he noted, adding, “We put the higher pressure on them second half and raised the intensity and that is what enabled us to get the chances second half and try to take over the game a bit more.”

And while saying his side should have scored more goals, Eve was not concerned that his players were not more clinical. “Getting the chances is always good, creating the opportunities,” he said.

“I think we have a little bit more in the tank. We have some other players who can come and get goals for us but we still want this group to do well because we’ve been working with this group for a month-and-a-half. They would (not) be as (match) fit as they should be, but I thought we got them up to a very good standard tonight. They wouldn’t be as sharp to finish those chances.”

In assessing what he saw from T&T, coach Auvray noted: “I watched them train in December, so they stuck to what they worked on.

“You could tell that they…knew how to move and where to move. What they probably needed was a game like this against a good enough team to see if they could apply it and be successful with it and at the end of the day, they were successful even if it was not our best XI.”

One St Martin player who caught the eye of Eve was diminutive, fleet-footed left-winger Kaile Auvray, son of the St Martin coach. Currently playing Major League soccer in the United States, Auvray was born in France but his mother is Trinidadian and Eve made no secret of his desire to make this eligible teenager part of his squad in the future.

“He was training with us in December,” Eve said. “Very impressed with him… He goes past people, he goes at people. He’s 18, we would have loved to have had him in the Under-20s if we had known about him before...He’s definitely one of the players on our radar.”

« Reply #19 on: January 31, 2023, 06:42:44 PM »
I watched the game. Not nice. But I don't know what you all expected from a team that don't play at all. Plus, there is no club football in TT.