March 28, 2024, 04:07:39 PM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs Jamaica Game (11 & 14 of March-2023)  (Read 3733 times)

Thread for T&T vs Jamaica Game (11 & 14 of March-2023)
« on: February 23, 2023, 12:43:23 AM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the friendly games between T&T and Jamaica in Jamaica, on the 11th and 14th of March 2023 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.
To be updated.

Possible TV Station.
To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Marvin Phillip (AC Port of Spain), Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Denzil Smith (W Connection);

Defenders:

Alvin Jones (unattached), Kareem Riley, Josiah Trimmingham (both Club Sando), Justin Garcia, Jelani Felix (both Defence Force), Jameel Neptune (AC Port of Spain), Andre Raymond (Dumiense FC—Portugal);

Midfielders:

Matthew Woo Ling, Michel Poon-Angeron (both AC Port of Spain), Noah Powder, Jesse Williams (both unattached), Justin Sadoo (Defence Force);

Attackers:

Jomal Williams (Once Deportivo—El Salvador), Joevin Jones (unattached), Kailé Auvray (Sporting Kansas City—US), Kadeem Corbin (Central FC), Reon Moore (Defence Force), John-Paul Rochford, Jomoul Francois (both AC Port of Spain), Nathaniel James (W Connection), Quesi Weston (Louisiana Krewe FC—US).

Coach - Angus Eve (TRI).

Jamaica Squad

Goalkeepers:

Jahmali Waite (Pittsburgh Riverhounds—USA), Kemar Foster (Waterhouse), Asher Hutchinson (Arnett Gardens);

Defenders:

Dexter Lembikisa (Wolves—England), Oshana Staple (Harbour View), Adrian Mariappa (unattached), Ricardo Thomas (Dunbeholden), Richard King (Cavalier), Jamoi Topey, Alwayne Harvey (both Mount Pleasant), Fitzroy Cummings (Vere United);

Midfielders:

Dane Cassanova (Tottenham—England), Delajo McCoy-Splatt (Fulham—England), Ravel Morrison (DC United—USA), Lamar Walker (Portmore United), Demario Phillips (Mount Pleasant), Jahshaun Anglin (Harbour View);

Attackers:

Dujuan Richards (unattached), Omari Hutchinson (Chelsea—England), Jourdaine Fletcher (Neroca—India), Tyler Roberts (Wolves—England), Collin Anderson, Dwayne Atkinson (both Cavalier), Trivante Stewart, Sue Lae McCalla (both Mount Pleasant).

Coach - Heimir Hallgrímsson (ISL).

« Last Edit: March 08, 2023, 01:50:23 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for T&T vs Jamaica Game (11 & 14 of March-2023)
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2023, 12:43:53 AM »
T&T men to face Jamaica in back-2-back friendlies.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men will face off with Jamaica in two away international friendlies on March 11th and 14th.

The matches were agreed upon last week and was officially announced at a Press Conference hosted by the Jamaican Football Federation on Tuesday.

The first match takes place at the Montego Bay Sports Complex in Catherine Hall and the second will be played at the National Stadium in Kingston. Both matches will fall outside of the FIFA International window.

T&T will be using the matches as preparation for upcoming Concacaf Nations League and Gold Cup qualifiers versus Bahamas in Nassau on March 24th and against Nicaragua on March 27th at the Dwight Yorke Stadium.

Good opportunity for the Home-based players

“I see it as a good opportunity where we were contacted by the Jamaican FA to play in Jamaica and I think it’s a good opportunity to give our home-based players some much needed match practice leading into the Nations League matches later in March,” Eve told TTFA Media.

“The rivalry between us and Jamaica has always been intense. I have been a part of a number of those matches and the magnitude of those games have been huge. I thought this would be ideal for our players who as you know haven’t had sufficient match practice, to get this opportunity against a team such as Jamaica which is ranked #54 in the world at the moment.

“We are 104 and we are just trying to come back and bring Trinidad and Tobago football to a position where we believe it should be. This is a good step for us because we don’t have competitions such as the Shell Caribbean Cup where we can give our players this level of exposure on consistent basis. These games are invaluable. We’ll have a young team similar to what we had against Saint Martin. We’ll use this opportunity to select the final group for the Nations League matches against Bahamas and Nicaragua.”

RELATED NEWS

Eve urges players to use Jamaica matches to launch into senior team.
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday).

ANGUS Eve, head coach of Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men football team, called on his T&T-based crop of players to seize the opportunity to impress at the upcoming two away international friendlies against Jamaica on March 11 and 14.

Eve is urging his domestic group to use this short tour as their chance to break into the senior team ahead of T&T’s Concacaf Nations League and Gold Cup qualifiers versus Bahamas in Nassau on March 24 and against Nicaragua on March 27 at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Tobago.

This comes after the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), on Tuesday, confirmed they would play host to the Soca Warriors at the Montego Bay Sports Complex in Catherine Hall and then at the National Stadium in Kingston. The matches were agreed upon last week.

Both matches fall outside of the FIFA international window.

“It’s an opportunity for me to look at the locally-based players again, an opportunity for them to get some much-needed experience against higher ranked opposition. We are at a rebuilding stage,” Eve said.

Three weeks ago, the domestic group beat Saint Martin 2-0 in a friendly – their first test for 2023. Eve credited their spirited performance against the Dutch island but anticipates a tougher contest against Jamaica.

During the pandemic, the JFF were swift to resume their local premier league, in 2021. However, in T&T, since domestic football stopped in early 2020, owing to the pandemic, it finally resumes with the new TT Premier Football League (TTPFL) on March 10.

“They (Jamaica) are in the A zone of the Nations League and we’re in B, so having this opportunity, when our guys haven’t played football for the past year and a half, is good.

“Now they’re going to get another chance against the Jamaicans, to try to make the senior T&T team. That’s why we’ve organised these matches leading into the Gold Cup qualifications.

“Against St Martin, I thought they did credibly well seeing that the St Martin team had 12 players playing in the French League, lower leagues, but they were playing, and our guys weren’t playing any football at all. I thought they showed a good account of themselves.”

Since the TTPFL was announced two weeks ago, Eve released his local group of players back to their clubs to continue preparations.

The 23-man national team that will be selected for the Jamaica clash will not feature for their respective clubs in the opening TTPFL matches. They will head into a five-day national training and pre-tournament camp before they travel up the Caribbean.

“The league is starting on March 10. What we try to do is liaise with the clubs and train on Mondays and Tuesdays, and the clubs have the other five days, because we don’t want to interfere with their preparation too much.

“Now that all the teams locally are training, playing practice matches and so on, so they should be a little bit more match fit. But competitive football has not started yet so we’re using these opportunities to see how they come up against a Jamaican outfit, who it’s also said is a local group (of players).

“But the difference is their domestic leagues have been running for a long time now and they would be a little bit more match fit than our guys.”

On FIFA’s men rankings, Jamaica are 64th while T&T are 104th.

“The rivalry between us and Jamaica has always been intense. I have been a part of a number of those matches and the magnitude of those games have been huge. I thought this would be ideal for our players who as you know haven’t had sufficient match practice.

“We are just trying to come back and bring T&T football to a position where we believe it should be. This is a good step for us because we don’t have competitions such as the Shell Caribbean Cup where we can give our players this level of exposure on consistent basis.

“These games are invaluable. We’ll have a young team similar to what we had against Saint Martin. We’ll use this opportunity to select the final group for the Nations League matches against Bahamas and Nicaragua.”

« Last Edit: February 23, 2023, 12:48:24 AM by Flex »

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2023, 06:00:05 PM »
A  flash back to 2001 tt vs jamaica

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/7zlF4KWtetE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/7zlF4KWtetE</a>

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/wERhgRqVvn0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/wERhgRqVvn0</a>
« Last Edit: February 27, 2023, 06:02:02 PM by Trini _2026 »

« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2023, 07:00:32 PM »
We have never beaten JA and (I think)Costa Rica in WCQ.

« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2023, 09:52:21 AM »
We have never beaten JA and (I think)Costa Rica in WCQ.

Correct

« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2023, 09:52:42 AM »
Eve upbeat despite clubs not releasing players for Jamaica friendlies
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday)

DESPITE some domestic football clubs refusing to release players for national team training ahead of Trinidad and Tobago’s two international friendlies against Jamaica on March 11 and 14, head coach Angus Eve remains upbeat on his team’s chances against their regional rivals.

Eve said some clubs chose to keep their players in training in preparation for the new T&T Premier Football League since the Jamaica clash does not fall within the official FIFA international window.

However, he said, both matches serve as a crucial gauge for locally-based players attempting to break into the senior team ahead of the Concacaf Nations League and Gold Cup qualifiers versus the Bahamas in Nassau on March 24 and against Nicaragua on March 27 at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Tobago.

Before the new domestic league was announced three weeks ago, Eve’s local crop of players trained together twice per week.

But with the league carded to begin on March 10, outside FIFA’s international break, some clubs have downplayed the Jamaica clash and have opted to keep their player assets in-house.

Despite this drawback, Eve is quietly confident.

“We started (back training) in November where we had the guys for two days a week just doing some maintenance work initially. When we started in January we got a game against Saint Martin, a very decent outfit, to get the guys a bit of match practice.

“From that, we went on Carnival break and we’ve now brought them back in every week for two days. Some of the clubs didn’t let their players off because it’s not an international window.

“We don’t have all the players that we want here but all the players we have we are going to put our best foot forward for our country,” he said.

The last time both nations met was at Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, in 2017. There, the visitors defeated the hosts 2-1.

Eve is hell-bent on returning the favour when TT play their opener at the Montego Bay Sports Complex in Catherine Hall and then at the National Stadium in Kingston.

“We want to go over there (Jamaica) and try to overturn that (previous result). I think the Jamaican team are on a different high than us right now. They’ve been getting sponsorship, getting international players from all over while we’re building from the ground up.

“So we’re in two different places. But we’re going to go out there and give ourselves the best chance. We don’t have a league going on, they have a league going on so it’s kind of stacked in their favour but we’re definitely going to put our best foot forward.”

After the friendlies, the team returns to T&T on March 15. The Nations Cup squad will then be selected from the local bunch alongside T&T’s internationally-based players.

« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2023, 05:39:20 PM »
Goalkeepers: Marvin Phillip (AC Port of Spain), Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Denzil Smith (W Connection),

Defenders: Alvin Jones (unattached), Kareem Riley, Josiah Trimmingham (both Club Sando), Justin Garcia, Jelani Felix (both Defence Force), Jameel Neptune (AC Port of Spain), Andre Raymond (Dumiense FC—Portugal),

Midfielders: Matthew Woo Ling, Michel Poon-Angeron (both AC Port of Spain), Noah Powder, Jesse Williams (both unattached), Justin Sadoo (Defence Force),

Attackers: Jomal Williams (Once Deportivo—El Salvador), Joevin Jones (unattached), Kailé Auvray (Sporting Kansas City—US), Kadeem Corbin (Central FC), Reon Moore (Defence Force), John-Paul Rochford, Jomoul Francois (both AC Port of Spain), Nathaniel James (W Connection), Quesi Weston (Louisiana Krewe FC—US).

« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2023, 07:28:57 PM »
Teens Auvray, James earn Soca Warriors call-ups for Jamaica matches.
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday).

TEENAGERS Kaile Auvray and Nathaniel James have earned T&T men’s senior call ups for two friendlies against Jamaica on Saturday and March 14.

Auvray, born in France, played for St Martin in a friendly against T&T in January at Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo. Auvray, 18, has a Trinidadian mother and has decided to represent T&T.

Head coach Angus Eve and his T&T technical staff were impressed by the midfielder during the match.

W Connection’s James, 18, demonstrated his ability last year at the Concacaf Under-20 Championships finding the net regularly and the striker has been rewarded by Eve and wil be flying to Jamaica on the 24-man squad.

La Horquetta Rangers (on pre-season tour) and Point Fortin Civic have refused to release their players for international duty as both Clubs prepare for the opening of TT Premier Football League which kicks off this Friday. The two friendly games away to Jamaica falls outside the FIFA match window therefore, Clubs are not obligated the release their players.

The first match against Jamaica takes place at the Montego Bay Sports Complex in Catherine Hall and the second will be played at the National Stadium in Kingston.

T&T will use the matches as preparation for upcoming Concacaf Nations League and Gold Cup qualifiers versus Bahamas in Nassau on March 24 and against Nicaragua on March 27 at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago.

T&T Squad

Goalkeepers:

Marvin Phillip (AC Port of Spain), Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Denzil Smith (W Connection);

Defenders:

Alvin Jones (unattached), Kareem Riley, Josiah Trimmingham (both Club Sando), Justin Garcia, Jelani Felix (both Defence Force), Jameel Neptune (AC Port of Spain), Andre Raymond (Dumiense FC—Portugal);

Midfielders:

Matthew Woo Ling, Michel Poon-Angeron (both AC Port of Spain), Noah Powder, Jesse Williams (both unattached), Justin Sadoo (Defence Force);

Attackers:

Jomal Williams (Once Deportivo—El Salvador), Joevin Jones (unattached), Kailé Auvray (Sporting Kansas City—US), Kadeem Corbin (Central FC), Reon Moore (Defence Force), John-Paul Rochford, Jomoul Francois (both AC Port of Spain), Nathaniel James (W Connection), Quesi Weston (Louisiana Krewe FC—US).

« Last Edit: March 07, 2023, 06:39:44 AM by Flex »

« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2023, 07:52:09 PM »
La Horquetta Rangers (on pre-season tour) and Point Fortin Civic have refused to release their players for international duty as both Clubs prepare for the opening of TT Premier Football League which kicks off this Friday. The two friendly games away to Jamaica falls outside the FIFA match window therefore, Clubs are not obligated the release their players.

« Last Edit: March 07, 2023, 06:29:43 AM by Flex »

« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2023, 10:38:25 PM »
La Horquetta Rangers and Point Fortin Civic have refused to release their players for international duty as both Clubs prepare for the opening of TT Premier Football League which kicks off this Friday. The two friendly games away to Jamaica falls outside the FIFA match window therefore, Clubs are not obligated the release their players.

Very well. Nobody eh have time fuh dat. Hear dem and move on.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2023, 10:44:46 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2023, 04:56:27 AM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Ma0J4n9lzwo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Ma0J4n9lzwo</a>
« Last Edit: March 07, 2023, 04:58:55 AM by Trini _2026 »

« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2023, 06:26:27 AM »
Eve: Jamaica friendlies a good gauge for Trinidad and Tobago football.

HEAD coach of the T&T men’s senior football team Angus Eve said the two upcoming friendlies against Jamaica will be a “good yardstick” for his players as the Soca Warriors aim to re-establish themselves as a powerhouse in the Caribbean.

The first match against Jamaica takes place at the Montego Bay Sports Complex in Catherine Hall on Saturday and the second will be played at the National Stadium in Kingston on March 14.

T&T will use the matches as preparation for upcoming Concacaf Nations League and Gold Cup qualifiers versus Bahamas in Nassau on March 24 and against Nicaragua on March 27 at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago.

T&T were once feared in the region, but the results in recent years have seen the gap between the Soca Warriors and other teams decrease.

“I said from the beginning we need to establish ourselves in the Caribbean, so this would go some ways in assessing their local-based group against our local-based group,” Eve said during a training session at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella on Monday.

Eve, who expects one or two foreign-based players in the Jamaica team, said the matches would be a gauge for T&T.

“It still would be a good yardstick for us to see where we are because people think Jamaica has left us from a standpoint of development. I think they are developing a national senior team because they tend to bring in a lot of players.”

Eve said Jamaica have the luxury of fielding players whose parents or grandparents are Jamaican. Footballers can only play for the T&T senior team if at least one parent has T&T roots. If a footballer interested in representing the Soca Warriors has T&T grandparents only, he is ineligible.

Eve knows Jamaica will be a tough opponent for T&T. “Jamaica is ranked more than a half-century higher than us. I think they have league football going on, we don’t. It is going to start (this week). These guys are at a disadvantage from a playing standpoint, but if we could be competitive and put in good results and I am seeing the players doing the things we asked them to do…those things would be success for me.”

Teenagers Kaile Auvray and Nathaniel James have earned T&T senior call-ups.

Auvray, born in France, played for St Martin in a friendly against T&T in January at Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo. Auvray, 18, has a Trinidadian mother and has decided to represent T&T. Auvray’s father Stephane is the head coach of St Martin.

Eve and his T&T technical staff were impressed by the midfielder during the match.

W Connection’s James, 18, demonstrated his ability last year at the Concacaf Under-20 Championships finding the net regularly and the striker has been rewarded by Eve.

Eve is elated to welcome Auvray and James to the team. “Auvray has been on the radar for us since the Under-20s when we went to Honduras. Unfortunately for him at that time he did not have a passport…so what we did is we brought him in over the Christmas period.

“We have Nathaniel James who is just 18 years old also is in the squad. Nathaniel scored the most for us in the Under-20 tournament so this is a step up for him.”

Eve is satisfied with the effort his players have been showing in training.

“Pretty much the guys have been working really well, really enthusiastic and we really looking forward to the two matches that we have in Jamaica to see how they would deal with the pressures playing in a climate like that.”

Levi Garcia, based in Greece, is not in the squad as he is trying to recover from a leg injury. Eve said he is aiming to give more of the local-based players an opportunity, but said Garcia will obviously be in his plans moving forward.

Eve described the friendlies against Jamaica as “invaluable.”

T&T Squad

Goalkeepers:

Defenders:

Midfielders:

Attackers:

WATCH Eve talks on T&T Selection for Jamaica Friendlies in March.

« Last Edit: March 07, 2023, 06:28:17 AM by Flex »

« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2023, 01:29:48 PM »
7 International Players Named Among Reggae Boyz Squad For Trinidad Friendlies
https://nationwideradiojm.com/7-international-players-named-among-reggae-boyz-squad-for-trinidad-friendlies/

Seven international-based players were named to the senior Reggae Boyz 25-member squad for the two friendly matches against Caribbean rivals Trinidad and Tobago later this month.

The Reggae Boyz will meet the Soca Warriors on March 11 in Montego Bay and then on the 14th in Kingston.

The overseas-based players are Leeds United’s forward Tyler Roberts, Jourdain Fletcher who plays for Indian club NEROCA, Fulham’s Delano McCoy-Splatt, and goalkeeper Jahmali Waite who plays for Pittsburgh Riverhounds in the USA.

DC United’s Ravel Morrison, Dante Cassanova of Tottenham, and Omari Hutchinson are also in the squad.

Meanwhile, four players from Jamaica Premier League leaders Mount Pleasant received called up to the squad.

Only JahShaun Anglin and Oshane Staple from the premier league defending champions Harbour View made the cut.

Both countries are using the games to fine-tune preparations for Concacaf Nations Cup action…..Jamaica will play away to Mexico on March 26 while Trinidad and Tobago will face Bermuda and Nicaragua on March 24 and 27 in Nations Cup qualifiers at home

« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2023, 05:25:29 PM »
Eve: Jamaica friendlies a good gauge for Trinidad and Tobago football.

“It still would be a good yardstick for us to see where we are because people think Jamaica has left us from a standpoint of development. I think they are developing a national senior team because they tend to bring in a lot of players.”

Eve said Jamaica have the luxury of fielding players whose parents or grandparents are Jamaican. Footballers can only play for the T&T senior team if at least one parent has T&T roots. If a footballer interested in representing the Soca Warriors has T&T grandparents only, he is ineligible.

has angus  reach out exhausted etc etc all our options of  quality eligible players with trinidadian parents ? for  two years he has been coach  he  never really scouted for the senior players it seems ?well he called up kedman  ::)Also he is  contradiciting himself in regards to Auvray based on an earlier interview

« Reply #14 on: March 08, 2023, 01:49:13 PM »
Jamaica Team

Goalkeepers:

Jahmali Waite (Pittsburgh Riverhounds—USA), Kemar Foster (Waterhouse), Asher Hutchinson (Arnett Gardens),

Defenders:

Dexter Lembikisa (Wolves—England), Oshana Staple (Harbour View), Adrian Mariappa (unattached), Ricardo Thomas (Dunbeholden), Richard King (Cavalier), Jamoi Topey, Alwayne Harvey (both Mount Pleasant), Fitzroy Cummings (Vere United),

Midfielders:

Dane Cassanova (Tottenham—England), Delajo McCoy-Splatt (Fulham—England), Ravel Morrison (DC United—USA), Lamar Walker (Portmore United), Demario Phillips (Mount Pleasant), Jahshaun Anglin (Harbour View),

Attackers:

Dujuan Richards (unattached), Omari Hutchinson (Chelsea—England), Jourdaine Fletcher (Neroca—India), Tyler Roberts (Wolves—England), Collin Anderson, Dwayne Atkinson (both Cavalier), Trivante Stewart, Sue Lae McCalla (both Mount Pleasant)

« Reply #15 on: March 09, 2023, 09:57:27 AM »
T&T senior men touch down in Kingston.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Head coach Angus Eve and the majority of T&T senior men’s team arrived in Kingston, Jamaica, yesterday morning for the two upcoming international friendlies against the host country on Saturday and Tuesday.

The coach and the home-based players selected travelled together while Noah Powder and Jessie Williams arrived around midday from the United States. The remaining players including Jomal Williams and Kaile Auvray, are scheduled over the next 24 hours.

Eve was scheduled to lead his squad through a light session at the Jamaica Football Federation technical centre at the University of the West Indies Mona Campus. The squad will be based at the JFF/UWI/Captain Horace Burrell Centre of Excellence until it travels to Montego Bay tomorrow morning ahead of Saturday’s international friendly, which takes place at the Montego Bay Sports Complex from 7 pm (T&T time).

Upon arrival said: “These two games are important for us, from the standpoint of giving our local-based players primarily the opportunity for much-needed international match practice so that we can see them in action against high opposition like Jamaica, heading into our Nations League matches later in the month.

« Reply #16 on: March 09, 2023, 10:06:27 AM »
Jamaica Team

Attackers:

Dujuan Richards (unattached),

Schoolboy football sensation and national invitee Dujuan "Whisper" Richards is on the move to a top English Premier League outfit and is expected to sign a deal in the coming days.

« Reply #17 on: March 09, 2023, 04:50:21 PM »
Jamaica Team

Attackers:

Dujuan Richards (unattached),

Schoolboy football sensation and national invitee Dujuan "Whisper" Richards is on the move to a top English Premier League outfit and is expected to sign a deal in the coming days.

from hight school to the epl club that will be good

« Reply #18 on: March 10, 2023, 02:00:42 PM »
I hope we are not outclassed by miles.

« Reply #19 on: March 11, 2023, 01:43:33 AM »
Eve wants to see where Warriors at now.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

Auvray calls for confidence against Reggae Boyz

The opportunity for French-born midfielder Kaile Auvray to wear the red, white and black of his mother's country, T&T, has finally come.

The 18-year-old, who has been on coach Angus Eve's radar for some time now, is expected to be in the line-up at 7 pm (T&T time) on Saturday at the Montego Bay Sports Complex when the teams clash in an international friendly match, designed to be used as preparation for the coming CONCACAF Nations League's final two rounds of matches.

Eve told the media the matches will be critical because the Jamaicans will be coming with a strong team.

"These two games will tell a lot because the Jamaicans have brought a very good team with a lot of foreign-based players in it. We have primarily a locally-based team with a sprinkling of about two senior guys who we haven't seen in a while, so we want to see them in the games to see if they can get in the squad for the Nations League matches later this month. So it will tell us a good bit about where our football is and if they can play against these players," Eve said.

From the matches, Eve, a former national midfielder, also said it will be an opportunity to return to the culture of football they played before.

"So we want to make the team very strong defensively because that's an area I think we lacked in a lot in the past. We always had flair, we always had attacking players but making the team a bit more resolute defensively and a bit more organised and allow the front players to be themselves," Eve explained.

Following a training session at the Jamaican Football Federation's Technical Centre at the University of the West Indies Mona Campus, Auvray said the key to a successful show will be exhibiting confidence in their game.

"The key for the Trinidad team will be confidence, going up against the big Jamaican team. We need to have confidence in what we do and how we play our football if we go out there and do what we can do, we will pose lots of problems," Auvray said.

It will be Auvray's first taste of the rivalry between the teams, which has existed for many years. Only recently, coach Eve indicated that most people, may think that the Jamaicans have already left us far behind, noting that they (the Jamaicans) will have the advantage in the two encounters because they have a functional local football league going and they will possibly be using a few foreign-based players.

Ironically for Eve's men, it is designed specifically for the locally-based players to get some much-needed match practice against international competition. The teams will square off in another friendly clash on Tuesday.

Auvray said: "It's a very, big opportunity for me. I am very happy to be here with the squad and to be able to live this experience and keep on growing as a player. And to represent Trinidad it's a lot of pride for me and my family.

"I describe myself as a player who likes to take risks, who brings the ball forward and always looking to make a difference, and first and foremost, help the team to victory. I am hoping to help the team to victory, to perform well for myself and to be able to show that Trinidad can play football."

The Soca Warriors are second in Group C of the CONCACAF Nations League on nine points while Nicaragua, who defeated T&T 2-0 in Managua back in June last year, is on top.

The two teams will clash on March 27 at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago, but before that, the Warriors will square off with the Bahamas on March 24 away.

RELATED NEWS

Auvray, Williams eager for Reggae Boyz test
T&T Newsday Reports.

NEWCOMER Kaile Auvray and returning player Jomal Williams are excited to be with the T&T senior football team for two international friendly matches against Jamaica on Saturday and Tuesday.

The first match against Jamaica takes place at the Montego Bay Sports Complex in Catherine Hall from 7 pm TT time and the second will be played at the National Stadium in Kingston.

Auvray, speaking to TT Football Association media on Thursday, said, “It is a very big opportunity for me. I am just happy to be here with the squad and to be able to live this experience and keep on growing as a player and obviously, to represent T&T is a lot of pride for me and my family.”

Auvray, 18, was born in France, but spent most of his life in the US. He has a Trinidadian mother and his father is from Guadeloupe.

Auvray said he was ready when he received the call from T&T head coach Angus Eve. “What I do, I stay ready for anything, so when opportunities arise I could seize it and take my chance. I don’t know if I thought this would have come so fast, but I was ready for it.”

Auvray played for St Martin in a friendly against T&T earlier this year. Despite a 2-0 defeat to TT, Auvray was a bright spark for St Martin, showing good individual skill, passing and a thunderous shot which rocked the T&T bar from distance in the second half.

Williams, who has been playing professionally in El Salvador for years, said, “It is a very special feeling to be back with the guys. I have been waiting for this opportunity for a long time. As you say, it is almost three years I have not been here, so in this moment I am very thankful and very happy to join the group.”

Williams wants to inspire the inexperienced players. “Now that I am here I see that it is a very young group and I am willing to bring my experience that I have from El Salvador into this group. I want to be an example for some of the younger guys and hopefully I can play my best, do my best and help the team to win these two friendly games.”

« Last Edit: March 11, 2023, 01:46:21 AM by Flex »

« Reply #20 on: March 11, 2023, 05:20:27 PM »
anybody care to share a pm on how to view this thing?

« Reply #22 on: March 11, 2023, 06:25:22 PM »
we seem clueless in the final third

« Reply #23 on: March 11, 2023, 06:45:49 PM »
up 1 nil

« Reply #24 on: March 11, 2023, 06:48:11 PM »
Decision making poor. Players not making themselves available to receive passes. Very Static. They not fit also. But I can't expect much

« Reply #25 on: March 11, 2023, 09:06:36 PM »

Thanks for the link!
I enjoyed the game [haven't said that about a T&T game for a good while]. Michel Poon-Angeron finally grow into the potential Terry Fenwick saw. God keep him healthy I think he will be the Latapy of the future. I like our distinctive possession brand in the 1st half, largely thanks to Poon and Auvray...and Jones. I like the freedom Eve gave Jones, and hopefully their long family ties will really get the best out of Joevin [didn't like his slightly lazier play in the 2nd half - not sure what part fitness and what part attitude, but this has often been this player's problem].
I think Reon Moore and Jomal could make a nice tandem on top (they both came on late)...even switching sides I thought was nice. Jesse Williams wasn't bad. The defenders were each good at times and then a crucial mistake (that thankfully weren't punished) -- Josiah Trimmingham in particular. Didn't feel too comfortable with Justin Garcia. Alvin was ok. My 2 cents.

« Reply #26 on: March 11, 2023, 09:10:52 PM »
  ^
  |

« Reply #27 on: March 11, 2023, 09:36:07 PM »
Buss dem up! Good finish by Moore, I will watch the rest later

« Reply #28 on: March 12, 2023, 01:26:29 AM »
Moore gives Soca Warriors 1-0 edge vs Jamaica.
By Sherdon Pierre (T&T Newsday).

REON Moore`s second-half goal in the 62nd minute sealed the 1-0 victory for Trinidad and Tobago senior men`s team against Jamaica in an international football friendly played at the Montego Bay Sports Complex on Saturday evening.

Substitute Moore was only on the field for five mines before he collected a pass from skipper Joevin Jones to slot home his left-footed shot which was eventually the lone goal of the match.

It is now 22 years since Trinidad and Tobago defeated Jamaica in a competitive match. That happened in a Caribbean Cup group fixture at Port of Spain on 17 March 2001.

T&T are using these matches as preparation for upcoming Concacaf Nations League and Gold Cup qualifiers versus Bahamas in Nassau on March 24 and against Nicaragua on March 27 at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago.

T&T will face Jamaica once again on Tuesday at the National Stadium Kingston Jamaica 7pm TT time.

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago (4-2-3-1): 21.Denzil Smith (GK) (22.Adrian Foncette (GK) 44); 16.Alvin Jones, 4.Josiah Trimmingham, 17.Justin Garcia, 5.Andre Raymond (12.Jameel Neptune); 8.Michel Poon-Angeron, 23.Jesse Williams (6.Kareem Riley 87); 14.John-Paul Rochford (20.Jomal Williams), 3.Joevin Jones (captain) (18.Matthew Woo Ling 87), 15.Kailé Auvray (13.Reon Moore); 11.Jomoul Francois.

Unused substitutes: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK), 2.Jelani Felix, 7.Noah Powder, 9.Nathaniel James, 10.Kadeem Corbin, 19.Quesi Weston, 24.Justin Sadoo.

Coach: Angus Eve

Jamaica (4-4-1-1): 1.Kemar Foster (GK); 2.Alwayne Harvey (15.Oshana Staple 46), 6.Richard King, 19.Adrian Mariappa (captain), 20.Dexter Lembikisa; 18.Omari Hutchinson, 10.Ravel Morrison, 14.Sue-Lae McCalla (21.Delano McCoy-Splatt 46), 3.Dwayne Atkinson (7.Lamar Walker); 11.Jourdaine Fletcher (12.Dujuan Richards 46); 9.Trivante Stewart (25.Collin Anderson)

Unused substitutes: 13.Akeem Benjamin (GK), 23.Asher Hutchinson (GK), 4.Tyler Roberts, 5.Ricardo Thomas, 8.Demario Phillips, 17.Jahshaun Anglin, 22.Fitzroy Cummings, 24.Jamoi Topey.

Coach: Heimir Hallgrimsson

WATCH - Eve's Post-Match Reactions after T&T's 1-0 Win over Jamaica

RELATED NEWS

Hallgrimsson loses 1-0 to Trinidad in first home match as Reggae Boyz head coach.
By Kavarly Arnold (Jamaica Gleaner).

A Reggae Boyz 1-0 defeat to Trinidad and Tobago marked national senior men's head coach Heimir Hallgrimsson's home debut in their international friendly at the Montego Bay Sports Complex in Catherin Hall tonight.

The lone goal came against the run of play in the 67th minute when Reon Moore pulled wide of his marker to the left on a counterattack, cut inside and shoot, beating goalkeeper Kemar Foster at his near post. After the goal, Trinidad and Tobago managed the game well to hold on to the victory.

Before the goal, the hosts seemed to have found their groove and created several chances but failed to capitalise.

Their best chance came 28 minutes into the first half when a flick-on from a cross fell to Omari Hutchinson at the back post, but he hesitated to shoot before opting to put the ball across the goal, looking for a teammate but was only met by red shirts.

Coach Hallgrimsson believes they played well for the most part but lack penetration.

"We didn't deserve to lose it (first home game) if you look at the chances. We have to improve a lot of things," said Hallgrimsson.

"There are positives to take from the game. We created a lot of chances. We also got into positions but overplayed instead of delivering it in the box or shoot. It was the first international match for a lot of them, so it's a good experience for them," he added.

Hallgrimsson believes that, unlike their opponents, they did not capitalise on their key moments in the game.

"It was their first attack in the second half. We had created a lot of chances both at the end of the first half and early in the second before they scored. It was just one moment, and they were up. From there, it was more panic than quality," said Hallgrimsson.

"They have been training together, so you could see that they have a plan and stuck to it. They were more synchronised. In the end, they got cramps and fatigue because they don't have playing rhythm of games," he added.

Trinidad and Tobago’s coach Angus Eve was over the moon and applauded his players for “grinding out” a brilliant result, which he said means a lot to their football that's in rebuilding.

"For us to come here and grind out a victory is tremendous. Trinidad and Tobago football has been in the doldrums, and Jamaica is like 50 spots ahead of us. To get this victory against a good outfit with some experienced players, some in Europe and a world-class coach we are really happy to be able to compete with these types of guys," Eve said.

« Last Edit: March 12, 2023, 11:30:13 AM by Flex »

« Reply #29 on: March 12, 2023, 04:21:46 AM »
we cauught them off  they were having a good spell. On another note this Angus yaps to much . I bet this victory gone to his head.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2023, 11:08:40 AM by Trini _2026 »