December 02, 2024, 02:45:33 PM

Author Topic: Fire Angus Eve Thread  (Read 28430 times)

Re: Fire Angus Eve Thread
« Reply #90 on: July 03, 2024, 09:06:15 AM »
I'm keeping my eye on 19-year old Costa Rican defender Jeyland Mitchell...he still playing for Alajuelense in CR, we shall see for how much longer?

Somehow I can't remember Vini Jr. ever blowing past him when they played Brasil.
While Angus draws his big money, I think of all our players who were denied this COPA exposure by his shenanigans...smfh.

Arguably, Angus is a national hero. He saved us (and himself?) from over-exposure.

Discuss.

« Reply #91 on: July 03, 2024, 10:16:23 AM »
Hahaha!

Seeker, leave me alone this morning please ;D

The man say 'discuss' yes!!!

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #92 on: July 07, 2024, 09:23:43 AM »
Watching Copa America- one slight observation is that the teams at this level play  a ' Mature'  game of football comapred to our  ' village  pick up ball''

« Reply #93 on: July 07, 2024, 02:55:28 PM »
just wishing out loud, but i like canada coach for our team. watch how they play for the counter attack, but press high when necessary..you could see directions change fluidly during the match to good effect. Eve - park the bus no matter if you on the verge of crashing out the tournament, is the 90th minute, don't matter.

« Reply #94 on: July 08, 2024, 07:38:30 AM »
Watching Copa America- one slight observation is that the teams at this level play  a ' Mature'  game of football comapred to our  ' village  pick up ball''

While the "village pick up ball" may not be to your liking, some of the Copa games were downright scrappy .That is if you like a high standard of scrappy football. Diving like submarines for the slightest bump. lot's of "professional" fouls. Top class forwards missing easy goals. A high % of PKs to decide games. As much as I liked that Canada advanced, I have to give Ven. for playing an open game. Had they scored some of the chances they would have won. Ven is no longer the socalled door mat of South Amer. football. I want them to qualify for the WC. They have a great chance to do so. I am glad for Jesse Marsch and the Canucks. They punch their way into the next game with dose of pragmatic football.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2024, 02:29:56 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #95 on: July 11, 2024, 06:57:31 PM »
I hear usa have a managerial vacancy. Eve should put his hat in

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #96 on: July 12, 2024, 06:33:52 PM »
I hear usa have a managerial vacancy. Eve should put his hat in
He too qualified fuh dat-  It takes real guts tuh manage a team on low budegt and expect ah miracle.

« Reply #97 on: July 14, 2024, 12:29:34 PM »
My assessment is formed based on my observation of his delivery at the height of the challenge presented him (the Copa América) not any lesser platform. It also happens that this challenge coincides with him not having arrived merely yesterday. Better could have been done with the personnel available to him.

Also, I can't ignore the distinctions related to his joint head coaching appointment with Lagerbäck and his solo stints. I think you should examine the tactical disposition of his prior stint at NT level with Iceland and ask whether in this environment (with Jamaica) he was seeking to place a square peg in a round hole based on his limitations.

Being with Jamaica hasn't hurt his career but it sure hasn't enhanced his reputation.

Going for Hallgrimsson would be like clutching at straw.

He has been named Ireland manager and in his first comments he has spoken about Ireland having underperformed under the previous boss. Things ppl say with a straight face. 

« Reply #98 on: July 15, 2024, 12:14:21 PM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Lop6LoCoH8

Maybe if there was no drama with Leon Bailey and his dad/agent Jamaica might have done better at the COPA, and Hallgrimsson might have stayed on? But with other countries interested, he -- rightly? -- decided to go elsewhere and leave that Jamaica bacchanal -- and Bailey father -- to somebody else!

Hallgrimsson might have spoken -- in some context -- about Ireland underperforming before, but in this interview from the 2:08 minute he addressed the past coaches in kinda complimentary terms...again, not saying he wasn't uncomplimentary elsewhere eh :)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now our attention turns to Angus and the four Nations League games in September and October?

If he loses against Honduras and Cuba, and beats French Guiana, he WON"T be fired...with the strength of the roster we now have tho, we can compete with anybody in CONCACAF...in spite of our coach's shortcomings ;)
« Last Edit: July 15, 2024, 02:11:22 PM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #99 on: July 15, 2024, 04:00:12 PM »
Thanks for sharing that, Fyzo. Here is the other link.

“I think Ireland has underperformed a little for the recent years, a young and talented squad, but still with a lot of experience, international experience. They have games under their belt and I feel the future is here,” he said, having studied recent Ireland matches even when he was in his last job, with Jamaica.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/new-ireland-manager-heimir-hallgrimsson-gets-650000-a-year-deal-but-only-17-months-to-turn-things-around/a1906739454.html

Ah see he on Angus money  :flamethrower: :devil:

« Reply #100 on: July 16, 2024, 12:00:35 PM »
See boy Seeker that's why I worded my comment the way I did, cause I know yuh is not one ah them jokey-man (no disrespect to the jokey-men them) who does be spouting unsubstantiated and inane foolishness in the people forum ;D

So give thanks for your source pardna.

Apparently Angus making waaay more than the $15,000.00 a month I thought he was making?!?!?!

« Reply #101 on: July 16, 2024, 12:04:22 PM »
It is an aspirational amount for our NT coach.

« Reply #102 on: July 17, 2024, 05:07:07 PM »
Southgate stepped down .... after making a WC semi and  quarterfinals  then back to back euro finals. But our coach going strong 💪  to pressure to go
« Last Edit: July 17, 2024, 05:10:13 PM by Trini _2026 »

Offline ffisback

« Reply #103 on: July 17, 2024, 11:25:41 PM »
You mean to tell me they are paying this guy $15.000 US dollars a month for just taking a couple of local coaching courses and have no type of coaching experience abroad you've got to be kidding me these people need to be taking to the back of the wood shack and given a good old fashion whacking what a pathetic bunch of fools.

« Reply #104 on: July 18, 2024, 06:48:58 AM »
You mean to tell me they are paying this guy $15.000 US dollars a month for just taking a couple of local coaching courses and have no type of coaching experience abroad you've got to be kidding me these people need to be taking to the back of the wood shack and given a good old fashion whacking what a pathetic bunch of fools.

So you think de bread Angus buying ... cheaper than de bread everybody else eating?  :devil:

And by "these people" you mean Hadad, R.?
« Last Edit: July 18, 2024, 06:56:20 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #105 on: July 18, 2024, 12:02:07 PM »
They're paying Angus a lot of money to sabotage our football...

No wonder he is doing a great job  :D

« Reply #106 on: July 18, 2024, 12:20:04 PM »
So, Ecuador has $2.4 million (US) on the table as salary and they can't get anyone to accept the gig. Apparently, our capitalization model sucks. 😂

« Reply #107 on: July 31, 2024, 11:39:48 AM »
Jus announced, Eve has been terminated

God is Great !

And there will be jubilation throughout the land

« Reply #108 on: July 31, 2024, 01:11:30 PM »
Let we be fair to Eve. Remember where the team was when he took over. He restored some faith into the program.

Losing a job out of the blue isn't fun at all. I wish that for no one. I hope Eve gets picked up by a local club or do a Stern John and coach one of the smaller islands national team.

Again, let we give Eve the credit he deserves. It's a tough time for him. He got us to the Gold cup on two occasions. Took the job when the administration was in shambles. But was still able to give us something to look forward to.

This is the furthest that Eve can take the team. I'm happy that the TTFA seen his shortcomings. Something telling me the Mr Hart will be coming. He's available and was mentioned before.

« Reply #109 on: July 31, 2024, 02:14:04 PM »
Yorke may get the job

« Reply #110 on: July 31, 2024, 02:38:58 PM »
Thaz not a bad name get called there. Risk taken on both sides.

« Reply #111 on: July 31, 2024, 04:26:00 PM »
Yorke is not the right man for the job, maybe an asst coach but not the head coach by any means

« Reply #112 on: July 31, 2024, 05:53:59 PM »
Yes Contro. I with Yorke if he's an assistant to Hart.

I think Derek King is still the assistant coach. He was also assistant coach for Hart. My guess is that he going soon. Unless Hart come in and ask for him to stay. But that combination of Hart and Yorke may be what is needed to get the smiling assassin some experience on the national scene.

« Reply #113 on: July 31, 2024, 06:25:06 PM »
Yorke will bring valuable experience and the players respect him, but tactically Hart is the don... Both of them would make a good combo, we need a strong unit to make this final push...

« Reply #114 on: August 01, 2024, 07:13:41 AM »
As soon as he drop Hackshaw he get fired. Whoever takes the reigns better know what they doin!
All kicks aside Eve did a good job at times. Some poor performances stand out, we got thrashed at the last gc by jamaica and usa, the playoff vs Canada. We toiled against curacao. Those just had me believing we have to be capable of much more. We played ultra defensive tactics and still collec a setta goals.
Limitations we had there can be overcome with better coaching.

« Reply #115 on: August 01, 2024, 12:05:55 PM »
We need to develop better players. The new coach coming in will face the same issues as Eve.

« Reply #116 on: August 01, 2024, 12:13:36 PM »
the only issue we have is selecting the best players and letting someone like Hart run everything to win

FIFA doesn't want a small twin island republic putting licks on Canada and the US

« Reply #117 on: August 01, 2024, 01:32:03 PM »
When you turn on the TV and Neveal starting for your national team, that simply makes no sense!

Friends asking me if we don't have anyone fitter and if he's a magician like Valderrama or Messi...my answer was always no!

I know some peeps have an issue with me picking out one player, but my point has always been that his selection, apart from making no sense,  WOULD NOT have been accepted by any other top football country. And apparently Kieron and Anton them decided the same damn thing.

No foreign coach that we hire will ever call Neveal in the physical condition he's in...Hart or Dwight might call him...but why though?

« Reply #118 on: August 01, 2024, 11:54:04 PM »
@fyzo

only a mad man would call him up, I doubt Hart would ever call him, we have an abundance of players to try out

Offline Marcus868

« Reply #119 on: August 02, 2024, 06:01:33 AM »
When you turn on the TV and Neveal starting for your national team, that simply makes no sense!

Friends asking me if we don't have anyone fitter and if he's a magician like Valderrama or Messi...my answer was always no!

I know some peeps have an issue with me picking out one player, but my point has always been that his selection, apart from making no sense,  WOULD NOT have been accepted by any other top football country. And apparently Kieron and Anton them decided the same damn thing.

No foreign coach that we hire will ever call Neveal in the physical condition he's in...Hart or Dwight might call him...but why though?

I almost threw up my breakfast just by the thought of a comparison between HACKSLOW and the magicians you called. he should be on a program just running until he drops about 30lbs before he is even considered for national duty again. (cause tbf we have seen him in some good football situations before, he is an ok defensive mid when fit). But yeah a new coach has to shake up this team and get them hungry for it again, Angus started that and he would get the credit he deserves but foreign coach with bringing our best foreign players, not being entangled in the football politics too much and we should be well on our way.