April 27, 2024, 01:22:41 PM

Author Topic: 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup Thread  (Read 12369 times)

Re: 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup Thread
« Reply #180 on: July 02, 2023, 05:33:01 PM »
Hodge cyah drive into the space ahead of him? Absolute nonsense.

« Reply #181 on: July 02, 2023, 06:00:29 PM »
Basic stuff like running into space. like only the US know how to play off the shoulder. Schuuups
« Last Edit: July 02, 2023, 06:06:33 PM by Preacher »

« Reply #182 on: July 02, 2023, 06:03:45 PM »
On to the Copa America qualifiers . we need  coaching shake up ...

« Reply #183 on: July 02, 2023, 06:04:53 PM »
Defensively we're in shambles...

« Reply #184 on: July 02, 2023, 06:06:06 PM »
Shaw had the perfect opportunity to square one back for an advancing teammate. He decided to try and beat his man. Steupes.
Are these guys for real?

Levi trying his best out there.

Alvin Jones is more of a forward or Defensive mid at best.

« Reply #185 on: July 02, 2023, 06:06:50 PM »
Eve is a Big Coward. Wrong man at the helm. And I was one who was glad he got a chance in the interim.

Offline lil damo

« Reply #186 on: July 02, 2023, 06:12:38 PM »
This team is slow and unathletic. An ageing J Jones and even slower than before Molino not helping.

« Reply #187 on: July 02, 2023, 06:15:48 PM »
Target practice

Offline lil damo

« Reply #188 on: July 02, 2023, 06:24:01 PM »
Shaw as a central striker doesn’t offer enough. We still need a proper striker as Shaw is not the answer. On a positive note, Alvin Jones was excellent except for the penalty.

« Reply #189 on: July 02, 2023, 06:32:34 PM »
Shaw had the perfect opportunity to square one back for an advancing teammate. He decided to try and beat his man. Steupes.
Are these guys for real?

Levi trying his best out there.

Alvin Jones is more of a forward or Defensive mid at best.

He still has things to learn.

« Reply #190 on: July 02, 2023, 06:35:13 PM »
Yeah this is Shaw's  first time at this level .. However i expected more

Let us be fair doh. It shouldn't be his first time at this level.

« Reply #191 on: July 02, 2023, 06:41:23 PM »
Let us be fair doh. It shouldn't be his first time at this level.

Yup you are right

Offline lil damo

« Reply #192 on: July 02, 2023, 06:47:40 PM »
Real-Gill is an absolute keeper. We’ve seen a couple new players show themselves as key pieces going forward. He is one and Auvray, Rampersad and Fortune need to be selected automatically going forward. 

« Reply #193 on: July 02, 2023, 06:57:39 PM »
Gomez is good also lil damo . Real gill , James, kahim Thomas  need to leave the country . Justin Araujo-Wilson need a look also.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #194 on: July 02, 2023, 07:01:14 PM »
Time for Eve to ride out.. thanks for your service
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

Offline lil damo

« Reply #195 on: July 02, 2023, 07:13:17 PM »
Yes Gomez stood out as well.

Some of our youngsters need to go out to leagues in Denmark, Switzerland, Sweden, Ukraine, Norway, Austria, Serbia, Finland etc. Some of those leagues are noted for developing young players and the level of football is better than what we have. Our young players will benefit from moving early. Why don’t we see more movement into those types of leagues is my question.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #196 on: July 02, 2023, 07:30:23 PM »
F#ck football and cricket.. time for me to start following pickleball  :cursing:
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #197 on: July 02, 2023, 08:12:50 PM »
As much as I have respect for the coach, I don't feel he's the right man for the job. His tactics are missing something.

Seems like his approach is of the era of choosing the best players vs choosing the right players. Choosing the right players means choosing the ones whos strengths and attributes can be exploited by the coach in order to build a solid unit. This is where coaching is now. He should've figured this out now.

Should the TTFA take the chance to go into the next set of games with him?

My ranking of the last 4 coaches:

1. Hart
2. Lawrence
3. Eve
4. Fenwick

Finally, the defense is in shambles. They are 2nd to the ball too often. Too many easy giveaways. They need that defensive midfield player that they can trust and do hard work. This is where Khaleem Hyland was an asset. I do believe if Daniel Phillips was there, he would have plugged that hole and the results would have been different.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2023, 08:14:33 PM by gawd on pitch »

« Reply #198 on: July 02, 2023, 09:07:11 PM »
As much as I have respect for the coach, I don't feel he's the right man for the job. His tactics are missing something.

Seems like his approach is of the era of choosing the best players vs choosing the right players. Choosing the right players means choosing the ones whos strengths and attributes can be exploited by the coach in order to build a solid unit. This is where coaching is now. He should've figured this out now.

Should the TTFA take the chance to go into the next set of games with him?

My ranking of the last 4 coaches:

1. Hart
2. Lawrence
3. Eve
4. Fenwick

Finally, the defense is in shambles. They are 2nd to the ball too often. Too many easy giveaways. They need that defensive midfield player that they can trust and do hard work. This is where Khaleem Hyland was an asset. I do believe if Daniel Phillips was there, he would have plugged that hole and the results would have been different.

The last 4 coaches without Saintfiet? Call a 5 ranking nah. Yuh slaughtering AE despite his superior results to Lawrence. Yuh wicked! ;D

Daniel Phillips was not single-handedly righting this ship.

« Reply #199 on: July 03, 2023, 03:24:29 AM »
Shaw as a central striker doesn’t offer enough. We still need a proper striker as Shaw is not the answer. On a positive note, Alvin Jones was excellent except for the penalty.
what game did you watch mate? 4 of the 6 goals came from alvin jones' side of the field, the man is a nightmare. in every game that man gets caught out of position resulting in a goal, in fact that whole back line need changing with the exception of hodges, which reminds me, he did not have a good game but out played alvin jones by leaps and bound, i think you meant to say hodges and types jones instead.

« Reply #200 on: July 03, 2023, 04:42:53 AM »
Yes Gomez stood out as well.

Some of our youngsters need to go out to leagues in Denmark, Switzerland, Sweden, Ukraine, Norway, Austria, Serbia, Finland etc. Some of those leagues are noted for developing young players and the level of football is better than what we have. Our young players will benefit from moving early. Why don’t we see more movement into those types of leagues is my question.
why not fix our own league so we don't have to depend on these europeans to develop our players? it don't make sense having a ministry of sport while our sports men and women hardly gets to reap the benefits of the hundreds of millions in sport allocations annually, it's better if they scrap the sport ministry altogether and use the money to fix roads and ageing infrastructure if we are to be doing so.

these donkeys that they have in trinidad who crave publicity and positions of power, they are the people who are responsible for football's demise, because they keep voting their tired brainless friends into the seat of administrative power, and they have to shoulder the most blame for football's deplorable condition.

all these zonal bosses who can't see beyond their own selfish needs enabling people like jack warner and DJW to get rich off football and has done absolutely nothing to advance the sport, you are the reason why these lads go on TV and look bad, making them a laughing stock for people all over the world to see. hope you're proud of your legacy. take a bow.

« Reply #201 on: July 03, 2023, 05:50:26 AM »
Pullstone you ranting crazy . how could players moving abroad early  be a bad thing ?
« Last Edit: July 03, 2023, 06:26:42 AM by Trini _2026 »

« Reply #202 on: July 03, 2023, 06:49:59 AM »
They Had two weeks in Florida , so no excuse. They looked Bad against Jamaica, offered some hope in the second half. They they could not get it right against a USA B team. Remember the Peter Principle .We are still talking about Local / Foreign Coaches. My Friends it is not where the money coming from , it is Where the Money going to? I am amazed at the lack of Basics from our Defenders.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #203 on: July 03, 2023, 07:09:59 AM »
None of the Caribbean nations have the fan base and infrastructure to adequately develop players through its domestic leagues.
We simply cannot compete with Liga MX, MLS etc.  Any international coach you hire will tell you that the infrastructure and culture just does not exist in the Caribbean to consistently compete with clubs in Europe especially.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2023, 11:34:03 AM by reggae-fan »

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #204 on: July 03, 2023, 09:37:19 AM »
Let me take a look at  how our coach instills confidence by what  is quoted from his statement:

Likewise, Eve felt that the match would be very competitive, but possibly also winnable. He dispelled any notion that the USA are very much weakened, having not played all of their best players in the tournament.

“This is going to be a difficult game,” Eve said.  So it is winnable but difficult what does this mean? would it be difficult to win?

“I don’t think the USA put out a team to lose. Sop did we put out a team to win or to lose? This team is very competitive. All of the players are playing in good teams in the MLS. The goalkeeper is playing in Europe. So, it not an easy team as some people may make it sound like.  What does this mean? by comparison our players are not on par?

“There is a reason America is probably one (or) two in CONCACAF, because they have depth. They can lose some players and still perform at this level,” the T&T coach concluded.
  So while we may not have depth, we are not able to perform at this level? This coach always seem to  be making excues prior to a challenge.

Why not approach this game as a challenge where we could ris to another level " The tide rises all ships' Find some inspiration for the team to consider possibilities if we bring a game like no other? find a way to put it all out on the filed? consider the greatest upset in your life and what that may look like? look at possibilities rather than all the credit to the opposition. Respect each opposition but look within your self  to find  the  possible.

There is no time like now to consider  TnT teams  of the past who took down giants among minnows. If you keep thinking small, you will get small results. Think beyond and let your dream scare you.

Who doh hear does feel- and some people head harden- dey doh listen dey doh take advice and they does bluff dey way.

Post 2006 I stop getting hopes up fuh this team until I see  a bonafide coach- players with the right mindset, physical prowess and a level of fitness suited for a  player.

I tune into that game last night and with the exception of Levi Garcia up front  man eh tacking or running after ball- hands on hip and playing with no sense of urgency. Imagine at this level a man making a back pass to a goalie and kicking it  like a 5 year old!!!!!!!

Eve running around like a wild man shouting at players- when he collect 4 he run on the bench hiding now look at big time coach on display!!!
 Real tata
 We have raw talent-  but why some have the philosophy that ta the national level we simply have to roll that out and get results. As a coach you have to distinguish between coaching and training. Doh fuh get yuh teaching- tactics - the game- skill development- Players always growing as players. If yuh cyar do dat den get out the heat!!!

at the end of the day , my primary teacher would say mangoes is mangoes-  yuh take a bunch from an estate full of mango trees line dem up against some from a solitary tree-  is still mangoes. Yuh take 11 players put dem on the field is  man on man - fur get all the old talk about  depth and all that excuse-  play the dam game right- bring yuh best level of fitness chase the ball defend attack basic

To imagine I was going to travel to take in this game-  I glad I simply went to the latrine and see enough ...........

If yuh cyar handle JAMACIA well-- papa go take ah flying  ......
I done

« Reply #205 on: July 03, 2023, 11:07:53 AM »
“at the end of the day , my primary teacher would say mangoes is mangoes-  yuh take a bunch from an estate full of mango trees line dem up against some from a solitary tree-  is still mangoes”

:D  ;D :devil:
Your primary school teacher will have been wrong today. Go get the current curriculum.

Modern day: Estates and Farms are businesses and utilizes science in the development of produce. Producers develop,nuture,graft, invest in nutrients- natural and chemical , pesticides, soils etc..

The most resilient solitary mango tree can rarely produce enough mangoes to build income for a community, although to the individual who can freeload off this solitary tree, would find those mangoes just as sweet and sustainable to his/her family. Unless that individual invest in some measures of science and land acquisition to a certain scale, he better have another means of sustaining their families, otherwise it ain’t worth reaching the Grocery or market. A lil unmanned roadside stall might work in a proper well behaved community, but it will take many years to reap any substantial benefit. In the wrong community, yuh might just get your little produce stolen, and best not to lose yuh life over it.
Best just feed yours and giveaway the rest, your livelihood can’t depend solely on that.
 :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #206 on: July 03, 2023, 12:30:57 PM »
Some words of Wisdom from Maxg

« Reply #207 on: July 03, 2023, 12:41:53 PM »
I have nothing to say. I did not see the game. I just know we eh ready yet.  I was celebrating my Grandson's 5th birthday. That was significant for me. I came to TT as 5 yr old with my Mom from St. Lucia. We were seeking a better life in the land of milk and honey, rum and coca cola. It turned out good for us. Blessings To all.

If allyuh want to figure out why this gov't don't care about football, read today's Guardian.

Football coach(Nevick Denoon) take issue with HDC development in Morvant

« Reply #208 on: July 03, 2023, 02:17:26 PM »
I didn't watch the game a 2nd time although they showed lt over late last night but I couldn't stomach going through that again. My honest opinion is the talent is there. I had US friends even texting me during the game saying how good Levi is, first time they really took note of him. Out of possession is where we have the most work to do and not surprising because that's the most challenging part of coaching and it's not an area you can spend two weeks on. In fact it should really be continuously taught from the grassroots level up. Seems like concentration in this department is lacking as we're giving up space too easily, can't be conceding 4 and 6 back to back. We looked like school boys at times.
I truly hope we can assess this area and adjust accordingly. If Eve stays on I hope he can bring an expert in off the ball organization and tactics, the head coach doesn't have to be a specialist in every area.
I like the talent pool and I believe with some structure we can be formidable.

« Reply #209 on: July 03, 2023, 03:03:59 PM »
Eve was never ready, he's a puppet
Hart was the only coach outside of beenhakker who had our team playing well recently. Maturana had a nice style but didn't get the results
Collecting 4 from yard is an instant firing, we should never get to that. Eve should not be a national coach on any level..
Pull stones had one of the best comments, why are we still depending on Europeans to develop our players

Dependency syndrome with TT.
With Hart coaching in the gold cup we were on par or better Than the US and Mexico.
Now we are getting 4 from yard

NC still sabotaging tt football
😂