December 02, 2024, 01:51:12 PM

Author Topic: 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League Thread  (Read 32261 times)

Re: 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League Thread
« Reply #60 on: September 13, 2024, 09:21:11 AM »
Are you guys paying attention the whole non-payment of match fees and all the bacchanal with some players not wanting to play because they ent get paid for the Grenada and Bahamas games?
No wonder Reon and Noah missing sitters the way they did the other night :)

You never want to be disrespectful eh, but come on man, Angus???
For him to bring Rundell Winchester from Cyprus again, and play Neveal...this time he woulda be telling them 'doh bleed the TTFA' instead of The Normalization Committee' like he did at the Gold Cup...while he effing pocket FAT every month??

That Angus we should bring back????

« Reply #61 on: September 13, 2024, 10:35:22 AM »
I told you Eve is a sell out, players not getting paid and treating them like slaves...

Why didn't the TTFA pay the players yet? This nonsense again?

« Reply #62 on: September 13, 2024, 12:32:14 PM »
If that is true, it says a lot. Maybe that explains Alvin Jones comments. I knew something was off with Noah Powder and Reon Moore. We'll see what kind of team shows up and if this is resolved.

« Reply #63 on: September 13, 2024, 12:42:20 PM »
I just read the story. Sounds like the new president is . . Hopefully not a 2.0 version of. .

It might not be all Eve @contro. They saying this new president went back on his words and even went to change the terms of the agreement. These things don't show up out of nowhere. I hope this is not true. Because if it is, we have another FIFA bootlicker. But most of all, we ain't going to the world cup.

« Reply #64 on: September 13, 2024, 01:50:40 PM »
For a country that boast about the high GDP in the Caribbean, why can some of that money go to assist in sports development. We cyah even pay we players???

Developing youths is the most important thing. We have been failing badly for a longtime now.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2024, 01:52:52 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #65 on: September 14, 2024, 05:12:24 AM »
Kounty boi, apparently several of our fellow posters are so traumatized by AE that they missed de kix and sarcasm of the "Bring back Angus" call.

While it may have a certain pragmatic appeal in the context/retrospective of the way the Honduran result panned out, I doh think any objectively critical eye would regard his return as a forward-thinking progressive solution ... so have not fear fellas, reason is intact.

That stated, the experience of having led the NT should now serve AE well in moving forward. He should go abroad, steep himself in his craft, enhance his education in the game and return a bit more humbled. It's not improbable that he renews ties with a NT.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2024, 10:05:52 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #66 on: September 14, 2024, 05:17:19 AM »
Relax and be comforted by the fact that Grenada also conceded 4 goals without response at the same stadium, versus the same opponent, during this same competition. Ent we recently had a celebrated showing of parity versus Grenada (2-2 at home?) ::)
« Last Edit: September 14, 2024, 05:26:27 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #67 on: September 15, 2024, 10:18:19 AM »
Alvin threw the team under the bus in the post game interview. As much as I like his honesty, you can't do that bro. Save that for in the locker room.

I didn't find them to be on a slippery slope - although ah hear yuh. Maybe it's because I've heard Alvin express the same sentiment almost word for word in another post-match context.

If anything, the anonymous player's comments regarding the various reactions to striking or playing struck me as on the slippery slope. Did you read them? Sort of some men will say 'yeah, lehwe strike and then will go silent and compliant' at the appointed hour. I thought THAT was a potential detonator.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2024, 10:23:42 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #68 on: September 16, 2024, 06:06:00 PM »
I didn't read those comments from the other players. If that's the case I find it strange that we're back in that position already, wasn't the normaiization committee supposed to bring everything to a stable state before we elect a new board?

« Last Edit: September 16, 2024, 06:13:24 PM by soccerman »

« Reply #69 on: October 01, 2024, 01:26:22 AM »
Has Molino been playing football somewhere since he left The Crew.
Can someone -- who watches him? -- say if Joevin is up to playing international football again?

Like Deryck decide that if he ent getting the wuk, he going out in ah blaze of failure😩

« Reply #70 on: October 01, 2024, 03:43:54 AM »
I think some reading between the lines is required here with respect to the inclusion of the former MLS players. However, perhaps more concerning is the seeming lack of alignment between the use of King as interim coach and the federation's very gradual steps/tiptoeing towards announcing a "permanent" coach.

Ideally, this period regarding the October match dates should be heavily influenced by weigh-in from an incoming coach. In light of the way in which events have played out thus far, the one coach who presumptively would have been able to achieve a smooth transition, with King in the picture ... is S. Hart, like it or lump it.

If the goal is to stop the bleeding, how much time should be invested in figuring out which dressing is best applied? If you're stalled on a hill, apply blocks to the wheels!

@Fyzo, is Blaze of Failure a sequel like Back to the Future III?

« Last Edit: October 01, 2024, 03:53:50 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #71 on: October 01, 2024, 05:29:57 AM »
Kevin Molino and Joevin Jones in provisional squad for Nations League Matches against Cuba
TTFA Media

Caretaker Head Coach Derek King has assembled a group of home-based players as preparations commenced for the two upcoming Concacaf Nations League matches against Cuba in Santiago on October 10th and at the Dwight Yorke Stadium on October 14th.

King, who led the team in last months matches versus Honduras and French Guiana, has focused on strength and conditioning before switching to outfield work at the Larry Gomes and Hasely Crawford Stadum training field this week.

Among the players in the provisional mix are regulars Duane Muckette, Ross Russell jr, Alvin Jones, Kevon Woodley, Denzil Smith, Christopher Biggette, Michel Poon-Angeron and Justin Garcia. Recalled is Miscellaneous Police's Joevin Jones while Kevin Molino has also been invited and has participated in the sessions.

"We have maintained a strong focus on fitness, strength and conditioning, along with mental fitness training," King told TTFA Media.

"Our primary goal remains ensuring that each player is both physically and mentally prepared to compete at the highest level. The commitment and energy from the team thus far have been exemplary, and we are confident in our progress as we build toward these crucial fixtures. I want to thank the local clubs, the TTPFL and the TTFA for all the cooperation so far.

"We will continue to refine our strategies, improve individual and collective performances, and ensure the team is in peak condition to achieve the results we need," King added. Among other players King has invited to be part of the provisional squad include John-Paul Rochford, Jelani Peters, Ezekiel Kesar and Jamal Jack.

The Final squad will be announced on the weekend with the contingent departing for Santiago on October 6th.

The 12 matches that will be played in October will determine the four teams (group winners and runners-up) that will join Concacaf's four top-ranked teams - Canada, Mexico, Panama, and the United States (listed alphabetically) - in the Quarterfinals, as well as the third and fourth-place finishers and fifth and sixth-place finishers that will progress to the 2025 Gold Cup Prelims and CNL Play-In, respectively.

The CNL Quarterfinals will be played in a home-and-away format in November 2024, with the aggregate score winner in each matchup advancing to the 2025 Concacaf Nations League Finals and qualifying for the 2025 Gold Cup. The Quarterfinal losers will advance to the 2025 Gold Cup Prelims.

CNL Quarterfinal pairings will be determined based on the Concacaf Rankings as of October 2024 (after the FIFA Window) and the Group Stage results, as follows:

QF1: Fourth-ranked seeded team vs Best first place (1A/1B)
QF2: Third-ranked seeded team vs Next first place (1A/1B)
QF3: Second-ranked seeded team vs Best second place (2A/2B)
QF4: Best-ranked seeded team vs Next second place (2A/2B)

The CNL Play-In will take place in November 2024, and the Gold Cup Prelims will be in March 2025.

« Reply #72 on: October 01, 2024, 09:10:17 AM »
So we need to place 1st or 2nd in our group to secure a quarterfinal spot to qualify for the GC, is that what I'm reading here?

The 12 matches that will be played in October will determine the four teams (group winners and runners-up) that will join Concacaf's four top-ranked teams - Canada, Mexico, Panama, and the United States (listed alphabetically) - in the Quarterfinals, as well as the third and fourth-place finishers and fifth and sixth-place finishers that will progress to the 2025 Gold Cup Prelims and CNL Play-In, respectively.

« Reply #73 on: October 01, 2024, 12:38:24 PM »
I never believe the soca warriors  would come to this. We have a 38 year old striker  We calling back  molino who eh play football for the year and We calling up joevin jones who has dropped off.

Offline Thomo

« Reply #74 on: October 01, 2024, 12:54:07 PM »
I never believe the soca warriors  would come to this. We have a 38 year old striker  We calling back  molino who eh play football for the year and We calling up joevin jones who has dropped off.

Worse yet there are people praising King for his selections of these has beens and granddad.
🤦🏾‍♂️🤦🏾‍♂️

« Reply #75 on: October 01, 2024, 01:16:15 PM »
File it in the category "repudiation of Angus". Certain men down tools under AE or were deemed to be surplus to requirements, so now iz redemption time. Ah suppose dahis de logic.

We know how it goes: each new sheriff tends to like to declare his own amnesty before cracking down on the next set of possible dissenters.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2024, 01:27:21 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #76 on: October 01, 2024, 02:00:55 PM »
Did they pay the players yet? That is my question

« Reply #78 on: October 04, 2024, 01:38:25 PM »
Longing for Levi: Warriors to assemble in Miami Sunday en route to Cuba
By Ian Prescott (T&T Newsday)

CARETAKER national coach Derek King is still hopeful of having AEK Athens striker Levi Garcia in his squad for two key upcoming Concacaf Nations League A matches against Cuba, away on October 10 and in Tobago on October 14.

While the probability of having Garcia in the squad seems low, given past scenarios, King remains optimistic.

"Levi has an injury at this point. I think they are supposed to clear him to play this weekend. We're still in talks with him to see if he will be available to travel to Cuba."

The Soca Warriors assemble in Miami on Sunday, before flying to Cuba for the first of two monumental clashes, with both teams fighting for semi-final spots in National League A, as well as avoiding relegation to League B. The Soca Warriors have a single point from a 0-0 home draw with French Guiana, and also lost 4-0 away to Honduras. Cuba have two points, drawing 0-0 with Jamaica and 1-1 with Nicaragua.

At press time, King was still working on finalising his squad.

"We have a few injuries; we are now finalising. By today (Thursday) we will know, with the overseas-based (footballers), who will be available."

King said players and staff are very confident of winning in Cuba next Thursday. And given the importance of the upcoming two matches, he believed it important to give all eligible players the chance to vie for final selection.

"We need six points," King declared. "We are trying to get our best players on the park on the day."

King expects both matches will be hard fought.

"Cuba played slightly different in two matches. Away from home against Jamaica they play with a back five. At home, they play with a back four," King explained, "I think, they will be coming as well for three points. So, we have to defend well, and, once we create our chances, we have to score our chances."

King also explained his rationale in inviting two veterans, Joevin Jones, 33, and previously retired 34-year-old Kevin Molino to join a provisional local team in training. He gave no assurance that either will be in his final squad.

"I picked a local team to train, and he (Molino) is in Trinidad, and with his experience, a guy who played over 50 games for the country, played MLS (Major League Soccer) and stuff, I think sometimes there needs (to be) experience around the team."

Acknowledging that midfielder Molino had not played active football since December 2023, three months after retiring from international football, King said the player has been giving a strong effort.

"He's there working hard. We are playing 90-minute games as well, and so far he's looking good, " King said. "I had a conversation with Molino. We have him here training. We'll see how the final squad goes."

Jones' situation is slightly different. He has been playing with Police FC locally since his time in the United States with Inter Miami ended in 2022.

"He's one of the active local players," King said. "He played for Police in the Concacaf Club Championship. He was not a hundred per cent, but I think he did well. He knows he has to work on his fitness, and I think Joevin could bring a level of experience (along) with the younger guys that we have as well."

In the absence of an active local professional league- which is in the off-season - King thought it proactive to have his local prospects active. His camp gives locally-based footballers a chance to build fitness and also vie for spots in King's final squad.

"For the past two weeks I've had a local team in training," King said. "I think the guys are doing well. We're working on fitness and strength and mental (fortitude).

"When we analyse the last two games, fitness was one of the two key elements," King explained.

« Reply #79 on: October 04, 2024, 11:06:26 PM »
Thanks Seeker :beermug: We holding up the table and need to win these 2 games.

« Reply #80 on: October 05, 2024, 12:49:31 PM »
Rel mad man ting yes!
How delusional you have to be to expect AEK to allow INJURED Levi to go and play ah effin Nations League game?!?! Something wrong with Deryck or what???

So Joevin wasn't fit for Police last game, AND, he knows he has to work on his fitness...WHEN?!?!

I was Joevin biggest follower in MLS and saw when he started slowing down at Inter Miami...he will come on play slow-motion football like Molino, if selected.

I seriously thought we would have won ALL these four Nations League games with the player-pool...we cut-ass from Cuba booked...and I am the BIGGEST flag-waver and the eternal optimist for we football team eh.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2024, 12:53:25 PM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #81 on: October 05, 2024, 01:56:56 PM »
Wow. Notable absences from the team for CNL:

No Moore
No Yeates
No Raymond
No Phillips

J Jones added
Molino added

I prefer the Normalization Committee with Eve instead of Edwards and King.

League B, here we come. .

World cup? No way in hell.

« Reply #82 on: October 05, 2024, 03:03:45 PM »
https://wired868.com/2024/10/05/king-makes-seven-changes-molino-joevin-and-bateau-in-reon-auvray-and-muckette-out/

When peeps find out info that might be important to fellow forumites, just come wid it nah man :)

Anyway, Reon Moore not that surprising, it's hilarious that old man Woodley get selected before him though.

Russell Jr. is an interesting selection.

Slow motion football from Molino and Joevin, hopefully they don't start -- or even play!!!

They sure Spicer fit, he coming like Levi with he always-injured-self...fingers crossed?

We beating Cuba in them two games for sure...LFG Warriors!!!!!

« Reply #83 on: October 05, 2024, 04:32:06 PM »
Would like to hear Kings reasoning.N James get no playing time .Those local players are not match fit  evident  Molino eh play a game for 10 months and Joevin's level has dropped.

« Reply #84 on: October 05, 2024, 11:25:05 PM »
Also, clearly Deryck didn't agree with Eve dropping Bateau :)

Apart from his defensive frailties, we'll see if he's finally learned how to make a simple FIVE-YARD pass...I am dead serious with that comment!!!

« Reply #85 on: October 06, 2024, 01:44:10 AM »
Fyzo, to your comment, to the untrained eye, Bateau is 33 and captain for a team in the 2nd Tier of Belgian football. Maybe King feels our pool not deep enough to cast aside players solely b/c they publicly lost confidence in Eve.
I also like Russel Jr but admit I have no idea on his current form. We need a defense bad, especially since King doesn't appear to want to play with 8 'defenders'. What going on with Luke Singh by the way?
« Last Edit: October 06, 2024, 01:45:57 AM by kounty »

« Reply #86 on: October 06, 2024, 12:24:11 PM »
@Kounty, fair point with your Bateau observation, I just hope he makes me choke on my assessment of him this time around :)

I feel Russell Jr. will only play if Triston hurt...don't understand why Andre couldn't make this squad, unless he got hurt in St Johnstone game last week...let Deryck like heself for these last two games yes ;D

« Reply #87 on: October 07, 2024, 06:55:05 PM »
We are looking at the last hurrah without an actual 'hurrah' to be delivered. Some men got sacrificed to fatten other cows. Temporary scenes.

« Reply #88 on: October 09, 2024, 01:57:34 AM »
So I basically 'goat-mouth' poor Tyrese Spicer, with my 'he coming just like Levi' comment!

Maybe he'll be fit for the June qualifiers...him and Levi? What are the chances😀

« Reply #89 on: October 10, 2024, 01:15:51 PM »
No excitement for the game? Kickoff in less than an hr....