December 02, 2024, 03:17:23 PM

Author Topic: 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League Thread  (Read 32366 times)

Re: 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League Thread
« Reply #90 on: October 10, 2024, 02:57:58 PM »
1-0 lead at the half.

« Reply #91 on: October 10, 2024, 03:35:12 PM »
well all d people cry about d old men ???

« Reply #92 on: October 10, 2024, 03:42:35 PM »
how d f**k do you get outnumbered like that in your box :cursing:

« Reply #93 on: October 10, 2024, 03:43:07 PM »
2-2

« Reply #94 on: October 10, 2024, 03:53:21 PM »
BATEAU & JONES both not yutes. ;D

« Reply #95 on: October 10, 2024, 04:04:18 PM »
Yup frico we in  doo doo cause we still depending on  these guys

« Reply #96 on: October 10, 2024, 04:13:28 PM »
 :frustrated:

« Reply #97 on: October 10, 2024, 04:22:46 PM »
We earned our goals. Cuba got goals from our mistakes.

Jones .. yes
Molino. . Hmm
Bateau . . Yes

All in all, that team would have beat French Guiana.

« Reply #98 on: October 10, 2024, 04:25:16 PM »
Trini_2026That is a big worry but for tonite I am not unhappy,I live in hope.

« Reply #99 on: October 10, 2024, 04:35:44 PM »
AND Molino has no legs left

« Reply #100 on: October 10, 2024, 05:00:38 PM »
That 2nd goal for Cuba was a purger, either some good skill by that wide player or the ball bounced perfectly for them, it was hard to tell.

« Reply #101 on: October 11, 2024, 05:21:58 PM »
Tonight GRENADA- 0 CURACAO- 0  FT
SURINAM 1 COSTA RICA 1 after 56 minutes also CR goal scorer sent off after 51 mins.

« Reply #102 on: October 12, 2024, 02:46:59 PM »
Testimonial match on Monday for Joevin, Molino and Woodley...and of course last game for Deryck until he gets a TTPFL coaching gig!!

Deryck King cah tie me up with he damn foolishness!!!
Natty and Real them sit down and watching Molino running on the field in front of them, they will be happy to see Deryck ride out, Reon too

I cannot go back and watch the game to see which one of our players got the assist on the Cuba bullet, the man watch all them white jersey and pass it directly to the man in the red jersey yes.

Watch how we beating Cuba Monday, to no avail eh :)
« Last Edit: October 12, 2024, 02:54:45 PM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #103 on: October 13, 2024, 04:10:38 PM »
Cubans getting hit on Monday TT 3 Cuba 1.

« Reply #104 on: October 14, 2024, 03:51:28 AM »
Natty should  be no where near this team. He cannot even start for mount pleasant. He hardly gets game time

« Reply #105 on: October 14, 2024, 11:44:55 AM »
what time is the match today?

« Reply #106 on: October 14, 2024, 12:58:22 PM »
At 21:00 apparently.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #107 on: October 14, 2024, 01:33:17 PM »
K Molino and J Jones brings something to the team that the other players don't have personality K Molino needs to join a team and start back playing again he looks out of shape he can definitely play a part in the 2026 campaign.

« Reply #108 on: October 14, 2024, 09:29:44 PM »
Frico on fire with his 3-1 Prediction. In the First have T&T looked good. We should have been up by 5 goals' Credit to the Cuban Keeper who kept them in the game. Still too many open spaces in the middle of the park but a good win and we are in League One. I don't Think Deryck is the Coach for the future. Sacking Eve for Deryck Is not an upgrade

« Reply #109 on: October 14, 2024, 09:32:08 PM »
Natty looked good.

« Reply #110 on: October 14, 2024, 09:47:39 PM »
Grateful for the win, we were much more positive in this game. Dantaye was offside but superb finish, JJ shoulda pass that ball after the spanner, selfish when we needed a couple goals to be safe, Natty James did well, needs to sharpen up those finishes. Real Gill kept his composure well for that goal.
Rampersad was excellent, Powder as well. Shannon Gome ran non stop.
Oh God why we give the ball away so much? In our defensive third especially. Justin Garcia a couple times. That not cuttting it against a better team.
The Cuba goal could have been prevented if Alvin Jones tracked his man. That was silly
Well done, the result speaks for itself.  Good to see the team respond after the last game

« Reply #111 on: October 14, 2024, 10:06:45 PM »
I can't see Real Gill staying longer with Hailstorm. A top team will pick him up soon. He won many balls and made good decisions when he had no options.

Something tells me that Dantaye is about to have a breakout season with his club soon.

Good win. It could have been 5.

« Reply #112 on: October 14, 2024, 10:23:22 PM »
Frico you're a prophet. It should've been 5 in the first half, Cuba could not get out their half. Their first shot on target was their goal. Joevin looked good and stood out above the rest. The win put us in contention for GC prelims and not relegated to group B.

« Reply #113 on: October 15, 2024, 01:10:45 AM »
looked comfortable in attack with that 3-4-1-2 still leaky and still defenders being lazy when beaten and just stopping that defender that get beat with the pass the no.17 could have gotten across to cut down the angle maybe make a block.........it does be shocking the lack of effort that does occur even inside the box when we defend........still we win and actually look competent and dear I say brave going forward........thank god we got rid of the d selfish coward, but Jesus Christ we can't coach defense.....or get our defenders to truly put in the max effort and operate like a team within the team, too often 1 man is left doing all d work while everybody else just watching when all yuh coulda do was try to go across and cover the space looking you no.17

« Reply #114 on: October 15, 2024, 03:25:56 AM »
Mission accomplished: Soca Warriors beat Cuba 3-1 at home.
By Stephon Nicholas (T&T Newsday).

Trinidad and Tobago will remain in League A of the Concacaf Nations League after beating Cuba 3-1 in a must-win encounter at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet, Tobago, on October 14.

Defeat would have seen the Soca Warriors relegated to League B, and they came out like a team fighting for survival.

Police midfielder Joevin Jones, 33, repaid caretaker coach Derek King for his surprise call-up with an inspired first-half performance that helped put TT in control 2-0 at the half.

Conservatively, the game could have been at least 5-0 by then with midfielder Andre Rampersad and forward Nathaniel James guilty of squandering golden opportunities.

It was a particularly sloppy display by the Cubans who showed none of the poise and incisive passing they displayed four days ago in a 2-2 draw in Santiago.

PSV midfielder Dantaye Gilbert put the hosts ahead, latching onto a through pass before chipping the onrushing goalie in the 13th minute.

Joevin made it 2-0 in the 28th, collecting the ball on top the box before quickly shifting to his weaker right foot and striking low past the Cuban custodian who seemed surprised by the shot as the ball squirmed under his dive.

James and Rampersad both had chances to get their names on the scoresheet but were errant in front goal.

Joevin brought the crowd to its feet just before the half with a fine run after the play was switched from left to right. The nippy left footer froze the Cuban left back with a "spanner" before blazing overbar from a tight angle as he went for glory.

The second half started disastrously for TT as Joevin looked to have picked up a muscle injury in the 48th and was substituted for Real Gill.

The change seemed to have ruined TT's rhythm as Cuba gradually began asserting themselves.

It was no surprise when they halved the deficit in the 62nd courtesy of Yasnier Matos who had it laid on a platter for him after TT were dispossessed in the defensive third.

However, Gill restored TT's advantage three minutes later, racing on to a defence-splitting pass and rounding the keeper before slotting it into the net.

The task for Cuba got harder as they lost defender Karel Perez Mendoza to a second yellow.

They did not give up, though and had other quality chances to score against a porous TT backline which would have been grateful for the final whistle.

The result saw the visitors demoted to League B while King got his first and possibly last win of the tournament.

All eyes will be on the TTFA now as they continue their search for a permanent head coach.

Team

Trinidad and Tobago (3-4-2-1): 21.Adrian Foncette (GK); 16.Alvin Jones, 2.Aubrey David (captain), 17.Justin Garcia (4.Sheldon Bateau 88); 14.Shannon Gomez, 6.Andre Rampersad, 19.Noah Powder, 5.Ross Russell Jr (18.Triston Hodge 70); 3.Joevin Jones (11.Real Gill 50), 15.Dantaye Gilbert (8.Isaiah Lee 70); 9.Nathaniel James (13.Michel Poon-Angeron 70).

Unused substitutes: 1.Christopher Biggette (GK), 22.Denzil Smith (GK), 7.Ryan Telfer, 10.Kevin Molino, 12.Adriel George, 20.John-Paul Rochford, 23.Kevon Woodley.

Coach: Derek King.

Trinidad and Tobago's Dantaye Gilbert (15) tries to maintain control of the ball against Cuba during their Concacaf Nations League match, at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet, Tobago, on October 14, 2024. - Daniel Prentice

« Reply #115 on: October 15, 2024, 03:46:35 AM »
soccerman & injunchile I badly wanted to go for a 4-1 licking but somehow I couldn't see that,the lads done well as they say. ;D ;D ;D

Offline Marcus868

« Reply #116 on: October 16, 2024, 12:57:38 PM »
Ill keep saying it till someone else sees it, Alvin Jones has a lot of good traits and could contribute sometimes, but many times he leaves the defense open and always looking to argue with players and does look suspect  ::) ::)...... we have to inject some youth into the back line and build a stronger chemistry....

what this last game has shown is that we can play football and compete, I mean Derek King is not the man to take us forward sorry, but he has ideas and it looked good in this last game (opposition being Cuba who aren't the powerhouses in Concacaf) but we have work to do and we did enough this time to stay up in League A and to play in Gold Cup. But we have plenty plenty work to do to qualify for WC.

« Reply #117 on: October 16, 2024, 03:17:32 PM »
Marcus868 I thought i was the only person who noticed. Which youth talent we going to inject? TTFL Clubs hardly have youth players

« Reply #118 on: October 16, 2024, 04:40:31 PM »
It's obvious we need youth VERRRRY OBVIOUS but if 33yr old Joevin adding quality that otherwise seems lacking then we in big trouble

« Reply #119 on: October 17, 2024, 05:26:43 AM »
@Marcus, clear as day we don't have a serious defense. Alvin and Russel Jr good for one or two serious mistakes per game, but I also think they are usually good for about 1 positive attacking play and 1 good defensive clearance, so they might even out. lol. Bateau and Captain good for about a mistake every other or third game. Not too shabby, but they old. Justin Garcia -- I just get the feeling he might be at the center of a lot of the missed coverages in defense. Not really a fan. Then we get down into the Andre Raymonds of the world -- I need at least a year ripening on this guy -- or just bring him for super easy games. So what we left with? No coverage in defense. I could work with Alvin. He really need more consistent playing time at a high level and I think he could be good [but how long we singing that tune?]