December 02, 2024, 02:10:03 PM

Author Topic: 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League Thread  (Read 32278 times)

Offline Thomo

Re: 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League Thread
« Reply #120 on: October 17, 2024, 06:16:54 AM »
Sorry but at no point JJ, Molino, Bateau, Foncette and definitely NOT Woodley should be anywhere the national team. There is Luke Singh, Leland Archer, Molik Khan, Ajani Fortune, Justine Obikwu who are all worthy replacements and are on average 10 years younger.
Joevin may have scored but that was against sub par opposition. Plus he is clearly overweight, not to mention Molino.

We need young, fast, hard tackling, dynamic midfielders and wingers not those above mentioned has-beens. Plus I'll be honest, I'm not fond of that Carenage crew - be gone the lot of them. Time to move on. JJ is 33, playing in TnT Pro League, plus Molino doesn't even have a club and talking about World Cup. Big long watery STEUPS!!

Hopefully the new manager comes in and gets rid of this deadwood because King isn't it. The performance and personnel for that draw and that win was nothing to cheer. Imagine that lot coming up against Jamaica, Costa Rica, USA, Canada and Honduras - is more than 4 goals in we behind everytime!!

Offline Marcus868

« Reply #121 on: October 17, 2024, 08:52:32 AM »
Exactly and we have some potential defenders that could come and start working with our system....
The biggest of which is Deron Payne (22) and playing top flight in Holland (he needs to replace Alvin). Josiah Trimmingham is a big strong player if we looking for that (27), Antony Herbert (26)... there are others but I don't have the names in front of me now. but I know we spoke about them at least in the scouting group.

Natty and Dantaye had an interview and they spoke about how they know each other's style of play and what they thinking, that only happens with time, we need to get a solid back line and give them time to play and work together. That has to happen now if we are to have a good back line for WC.

Online Tallman

« Reply #122 on: October 17, 2024, 09:50:51 AM »
'Hungry' Soca Warriors secure Nations League A survival
By Roneil Walcott (T&T Newsday)

Soca Warriors caretaker coach Derek King said the hunger and his team's desire to stay in Concacaf Nations League A inspired them to their crucial 3-1 victory over Cuba at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago on October 14.

In fifth spot on the six-team table before kickoff in the group B matchup, the Soca Warriors needed a win to avoid relegation to League B. The Soca Warriors got exactly that, as goals by Dantaye Gilbert, Joevin Jones and substitute Real Gill propelled them to victory over Cuba - relegating their opponents and French Guiana to League B in the process.

Trinidad and Tobago finished the group in fourth on five points, with Jamaica (eight points) and Honduras (seven points) advancing to the Nations League quarterfinals after finishing first and second respectively. The Soca Warriors were unable to replicate their quarterfinal finish from the last Nations League cycle, but the consolation is Nations League survival and qualification for the 2025 Gold Cup preliminary phase.

"It's a great feeling for us to maintain (our spot at the Nations League) A level. What we saw, especially in the first half, we saw a team that was hungry and a team that really wanted these three points," King said, at the post-match briefing.

"We went out there and we played some good football. In the first half alone, we could have at least been 5-0 up."

The visitors had a bright start to the contest, but T&T quickly took control of the game with their incisive attacking play, with Gilbert, forward Nathaniel James and Jones, who had been recalled for this window after a 15-month hiatus, running Cuba ragged.

T&T took the lead in the 13th minute as the 19-year-old Gilbert, who's attached to Jong PSV in Holland, scored with a cheeky dink over goalkeeper Raiko Arozarena after receiving a through pass from the electric James.

The lanky Gilbert turned provider in the 28th minute, as he slipped in Jones, who fired a low right-footed shot past Arozarena's reach to give TT a 2-0 advantage.

For Jones, it was his second goal in as many games after his wonder strike against the Cubans in a 2-2 draw in Santiago on October 10. Both Gilbert and James were unused substitutes in the first meeting with Cuba, but the young attackers were showing their worth in Bacolet as they took T&T towards Nations League safety.

"(Dantaye) was pretty good...I spoke to him and he was always eager to play as well," King said. "I told him 'once you go on the pitch, just do what you have to do.'

"And I think he was outstanding."

A former Secondary Schools Football League national intercol winner with Presentation College (San Fernando), Gilbert made his senior T&T debut in June when the Warriors hammered Bahamas 7-1 in a World Cup qualifier.

He was thrilled to score his first goal for the national team.

"It was an honour to score my first goal. All thanks to the boys - Nathaniel James for the assist. And yeah, we're staying in Concacaf Nations League A," Gilbert said.

"We had a draw in the last game and we needed to get a result in this game. The boys just came out and put our best foot forward and we got the result.

"I don't think the emotions of scoring my first goal have really hit me yet...going into the World Cup qualifiers, we need to try and make the World Cup and it's all up from now."

T&T wasted a number of goal scoring opportunities in the 2-2 draw with Cuba, and King was momentarily haunted by his team's wastefulness in the return fixture as Cuba got on the scoresheet in the 62nd minute when Yasniel Matos scored from close range after a cheap giveaway by a Soca Warriors player.

"As I told the players, 'once they keep the opposition in the game they'll always feel they have a chance.'

"What we saw today (Monday) is progress with the team."

Anxiety crept into the Soca Warriors' play, as the Cubans created more chances. T&T also lost some of their fluidity when the injured Jones hobbled off the field in the 51st minute.

However, Jones' replacement, Gill, effectively sealed the game and calmed the Soca Warriors' nerves when he rounded Arozarena to slot into an empty net just three minutes after Cuba's goal.

With little to do for most of the game, custodian Adrian Foncette preserved T&T's two-goal lead with a fine save in the 68th minute, before Karel Perez was sent off two minutes later for a second bookable offence - reducing Cuba to ten players as they desperately chased the game.

The writing was on the wall for Cuba by then. For T&T, their mission of securing Nations League A survival was complete.

"The key factor is that we're creating goal scoring opportunities," King said.

"I think we were sloppy, especially defensively...we have to continue working (on this) if we want to compete with the top guns in Concacaf."

« Reply #123 on: October 17, 2024, 02:56:23 PM »
Thomo,Just when I started to think that those players are the ones to sort our recent problems, i now wonder if Thomo is talking some sense,I really don't know where to lean.I have a slight leaning to Thomo but I hope the new coach sees it somewhere between King and his own choice.

« Reply #124 on: October 17, 2024, 05:14:45 PM »
I think JJ can still positively contribute to this team as a veteran player. He gets into dangerous positions and is capable of scoring goals, something the team lacks. We had 2 players selected #1 and #2 in the last MLS draft, I haven't seen them selected since, unless I missed their inclusion. Are they injured?

« Reply #125 on: October 17, 2024, 05:41:43 PM »
I think JJ can still positively contribute to this team as a veteran player. He gets into dangerous positions and is capable of scoring goals, something the team lacks. We had 2 players selected #1 and #2 in the last MLS draft, I haven't seen them selected since, unless I missed their inclusion. Are they injured?

This!!! as old and unfit as he is.....he adds "something" as much as I would champion a changing of the guard "I believe the average age of a team should be 27 at worst" but still think Joevin has value for now, I would keep Bateau again for now, I have this crazy idea that Bateau and Luke Singh could be a workable pivot........take a really close look at the non set-piece goals Bateau have scored and there is common thread box to box running and we could use Singh for the passing......until better and importantly younger can be done

« Reply #126 on: October 17, 2024, 06:33:43 PM »
Well said Lefty. Joevin as an attacking mid can be very valuable. . We seen that in the last two games. He comes with impetus. . We were lacking a "shit starter" in the final 3rd of the pitch. I think he is that. Joevin with Dantaye gives us that attacking bite that we were missing.

Bateau is still valuable. I think he is fitter than Aubrey (Aubrey actually played well that game). Bring Luke Singh into the team. He might be the one to seal that back line.

We also need another consistent keeper. Smith has proven himself. I don't know about Frenderup. He hasn't really shown up big for us in a long time. Whatever happened to Ranjitsingh? ?

I must say, the last two games injected a bit of belief in the team. June is a big month. I hope the kinks are worked out by then.

« Reply #127 on: October 17, 2024, 09:47:58 PM »
gawd, I does want to know what people does be watching sometimes.......I mean spend literal decades in data analysis eh so I kinda attuned to little data points that would fly under most people radar, but for all Bateau faults, he comes with some intelligence and attacking instincts ........that man see ah whole big bag ah space to attack in the box behind everybody back and score, but according to some above we should still discard even with nooobody else showing that kinda instincts in d moment.........dese is d same kinda people who wanted KJ gone because "Strikers hadda score goal" but doh ever see d knock down or flick 2-3 pass up d road, dat open space for others to score.........d problem with plenty trini is dat we not conditioned or doh condition weself to see d whole picture..........d data however, will always speak for itself
« Last Edit: October 17, 2024, 10:01:43 PM by lefty »

Offline Thomo

« Reply #128 on: October 18, 2024, 05:27:08 AM »
I reiterate we should not be relying or ecstatic about a currently 33 year old, clearly overweight, playing in the TT pro league who'll will be 35 by the 2026 world cup and scored against Cuba.
We have a near 0 chance of getting a result Vs Panama, Honduras, Costa Rica, USA, Jamaica or Canada home or way, wth players of that age bracket, playing in an at best described feeder league. All those teams mentioned above have an average age of about 25, ours is 30.
It's simple math, data analytics, biology and physiology.

« Reply #129 on: October 18, 2024, 05:59:21 AM »
Thomo I understand all of that...we shouldn't have to but we getting something useful out of it......again as emphasized "for now" if we find something better going forward, hell yeah, be ruthless and say thanks for  yuh service.......but they got us where we wanted to be in this moment and there is no doubt in my mind that we would not have done it otherwise..."under d current circumstances".....take dat for what it is worth......we doh have to owe Joevin or Bateau nutten in '26.....but dey doing d business NOW.....so lehwe be glad we get where we want to be NOW hope we find a new coach and replacements  for them fellas......but while dey useful...dey useful......ruthless is d name of d game here, yuh want to go WC, use what in front ah yuh, dat doing d business and try to fix it in d shadows......but den I lil cold blooded....so maybe I too different
« Last Edit: October 18, 2024, 06:16:27 AM by lefty »

« Reply #130 on: October 18, 2024, 06:23:59 AM »
Add: How much minutes Latas get in WC06 after he provided d "the magic" ......until better can be done use what d f**k yuh have.... jus make sure yuh actually looking for better

« Reply #131 on: October 18, 2024, 07:00:06 AM »
The youths don't have the experience on the big stage to calm everybody down to play the football. Stupid as it sounds, when joevin hit a man a deadly spanner on the line and the crowd bawl, and Dantaye realize they home and is just like old days sweatin' with Natty, 'lemme try some things and show what I have'. Sometimes that important on a team -- remember a diverse team where everybody adds something different is better. So I wouldn't say no room for Molino ever. Have some times when his experience on the biggest stage might be necessary. I don't think our pool big enough to be retiring players at 33 en masse. Ent Pepe still running and Messi still scoring hattricks?

« Reply #132 on: October 18, 2024, 09:02:41 AM »
The fact the out of shape "old men" pull we ass out a hole says something bad about where we are, but it allows us to live and fight another day.........for now ah will take dat over dying on principle. Thomo I understand where you coming from but d immediate objective was more important in that moment ....the old men buy we some time, a doubt d FA will do anything useful.....like a vigorous lobby to relax the Citizenship restrictions but we can dream
« Last Edit: October 18, 2024, 09:07:42 AM by lefty »

« Reply #133 on: October 18, 2024, 05:43:04 PM »
In the what have you done for me lately, world of sports, JJ added value to the team. Based on my eye-test in the last 2 games, albeit against Cuba, JJ stood out above the rest. I think his experience on the intl stage is needed on this team to provide leadership and guidance. I also think it's okay to have 3-4 players over 30 on the 23 man roster. It's not like we have a proper and consistent natl youth team program where there's a pipeline with youngsters playing games and getting developed for the senior level and overseas contracts.

« Reply #134 on: October 19, 2024, 03:33:39 AM »
@soccerman...valid observation about JJ. Ah like how yuh caveat it with, "albeit against Cuba, cause they was.coming for yuh 😀

If JJ could .maintain some match-fitness, the new coach will surely keep him around...no midfielder/defender on ANY team want to deal with JJ and that cultured left foot. .

And yes we could get away with over thirty midfielders,  not so much defenders...so JJ and Molino could stay in the mix, we shall see what the new coach decides to do.
« Last Edit: October 20, 2024, 02:09:58 AM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #135 on: October 19, 2024, 05:32:19 AM »
A quote from lefty,"ah will take that over dying on principle"you have to like that.

« Reply #136 on: October 19, 2024, 06:21:49 PM »
Good observation there soccerman. JJ brought the right leadership that was needed. The midfielders we've become accustomed to never stepped up to the plate to take up that role. Rightfully so, they weren't experienced to do so. JJ has what it takes to playing the attacking mid position. I think he would have been a better center midfielder with the national team instead of playing on the flank.

By the way all them teams from Panama to Costa Rica to Jamaica have men in their 30s. So JJ, Bateau and anyone else, won't be a problem.

Another thing, Rampersad is probably the best box to box player we've had in a long time. He's getting better each game. MLS quality for sure.

Finally, Molino hasn't proven himself yet. He needs to get playing time. If I was him I'd be looking at the CPL or USL for something. Based on what he needs, the TTPL might not be enough to mold him close to the player he was.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2024, 06:27:25 PM by gawd on pitch »

« Reply #137 on: October 19, 2024, 07:43:42 PM »
I would keep Bateau as well even as ah "DM" option......he good for clutch goals especially on set pieces whether it was planned or his own thinking, the fact that he recognized and took advantage of the vacant parking lot behind d Cuban defense when nobody else picked up on it says something about him and attacking instincts and still seem to have d legs to get up d pitch when decides to do dem box-2-box ghosting runs he does like to make every now and then......all d coach have to do is plan for it so that there is cover when they don't work out.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2024, 07:55:54 PM by lefty »

« Reply #138 on: November 20, 2024, 02:38:33 PM »
We have Cuba in home and away legs for a spot in the Gold cup.

« Reply #139 on: November 20, 2024, 07:30:22 PM »
If we don't win that then forget about WC 26

« Reply #140 on: November 22, 2024, 05:43:30 PM »
We beat Cuba with no Levi, Andre Raymond, Spicer, Ajani Fortune et al!

Gold Cup qualification is a mere formality, unless Dwight listen to Deryck King and friggin pick Woodley...to make them Cubans happy😀