December 02, 2024, 01:37:15 PM

Author Topic: Paris 2024  (Read 16457 times)

Online Deeks

Re: Paris 2024
« Reply #30 on: July 25, 2024, 04:16:33 PM »
ffisback, I share your "pain". But it is not only black living on these two islands. We have 4 TF stadium, Olympic pool, Olympic velodrome. What are the other people doing. Why are they not encouraging their children to participate. This thing has to start from elementary schools. Many elementary school only do recess and that is it. No primary schools sports day. We can't wait until they reach High School to develop. That too late. Then there is funding. Black people has NO money. F**king Zilch.  They depend totally on govt and the goodwill of the private sector. That don't work out. That is why we so inconsistent. We need money to develop the young ones. Money talks all the way to the finish for the Gold.

« Reply #31 on: July 25, 2024, 05:47:47 PM »
There needs to be an identity shift in society. This "carnival" identity that many Trinis are happy to adopt, is not a recipe for making athletes. I watch friendly banter between a Trini and yawdy a few years ago.The trini tell the yawdy " yuh could keep yuh Bolt and reggae. . We have the best Carnival" . I was like seriously. Trinidad society which revolves around them 2 days in February, is not necessarily to blame. But if that value and interest was tranformed into the sporting side, I think we'd have much more young athletes sticking with sports, instead of turning to the party scene quickly after a bad race or a few bad games.

There's men that would prioritize carnival, lime and party over sport, their health and their careers. This is what the sons and daughters of Trinidad are seeing. And we want gold medals?

When my son was 15, 16 and 17 he chose to go to sports camps during Caribana time in Toronto. That was music to meh ears. Many of his cousins and friends were playing sports too. However, they chose the "Jump up" route while my son was in sports camp on Caribana weekends. Fast forward to now, my son is an NCAA athlete, while his cousins and friends are still on the jump up route. . And we want medals?
« Last Edit: July 25, 2024, 06:00:47 PM by gawd on pitch »

Offline Trini1

« Reply #32 on: July 25, 2024, 09:14:09 PM »
I will say that our cycling team seem to be performing well for the few of them that there are and they seem to be developing the future talent also but I'm sure it can be improved.

I disagree with the notion of black people running things and no money etc- causes things to fail because case in point our fellow island fam Jamaica. Jamaica is 90% black, has fewer resources than we do and the average population is poorer than the average Trini population but this works in their favour because track is seen as a way out of poverty so it is do or die for them. Even though the JAAA and their Olympic committee were clashing with the coaches and athletes they still produce. Based on the strength of their coaches, eye for talent, talented athletes, their ethic, and talent pool scouting potential via high school champs. Not true for us.

Carnival culture is going no where and I think the best way to gain interest in Track is to integrate Carnival into the National Champs or meets. Have the Soca Monarch, hot artistes, throw back artistes,  to come and perform during intervals and have a Panorama repeat or taster for the following year come to the National Champs. Have the winners go up and revel with them it call for innovation. It draws a crowd, which draws interest.

Add to that I believe we should also pay a knowledgeable Jamaican coaching contingent (Franno/Mills/Walcott/Osbourne) to train our coaches whether it be a one off, multiple times in one year or once every year until we start seeing results. Paying the Kelly Anns and Semoy Hacketts to mentor the ahletes. Igniting the flame from a young âge is also important like you said Deeks. And it helps with identifying talent.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2024, 11:54:16 PM by Trini1 »

« Reply #33 on: July 27, 2024, 09:56:14 AM »
Do we typically average 17 athletes at these games? I thought we had like in the 30's in the past.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #34 on: July 27, 2024, 12:59:25 PM »
Last time was 1996- 12 athletes
2000- 19 athletes
2004- 19
2008- 28
2012- 30
2016- 32
2020- 24

« Reply #35 on: July 27, 2024, 06:57:58 PM »
Thanks Trini1 :beermug:

« Reply #36 on: July 27, 2024, 09:00:57 PM »
we might get two medals in this olympics, dillion carter and nicholas paul. those guys were in top form last yea doing some incredible things, so lets see. i'm routing for them.

« Reply #37 on: July 29, 2024, 08:28:59 AM »
I see the 100m Backstroke swimmer - Furgerson come 3rd in her heat. I think that good enough for the semi finals this afternoon at 3pm. Anybody know how to follow them kinda micro-details, like who the competitors in a semi-final will be? Found the answer myself here: https://olympics.com/en/paris-2024/results/swimming/women-s-100m-backstroke/heat-------- and I guess that wasn't good enough. Didn't know there exist "slow heats", where they dump "unlikelies".
« Last Edit: July 29, 2024, 08:39:51 AM by kounty »

Offline Trini1

« Reply #38 on: July 30, 2024, 11:35:24 AM »

« Reply #39 on: July 30, 2024, 01:17:31 PM »
Yeah Trini. Carnival ain't going anywhere like what you said.

I just watch AB interview. I want to say thank you AB. You described the situation well. Similar to what we discussed on here.

This comment you made really resonated with our points about Carnival/fete mentality. I paraphrasing here .. "If fete or Carnival was going wrong, you'd see how they step in to fix it". Man that is so true. Look at how Trini does put together things to make sure Carnival runs smooth. Why can't that same interest be leveraged for sport.

Meh uncle (Ironically the same uncle met AB father in Montreal) used to tell meh that Carnival and fete is the black man biggest distraction in Trinidad. People will argue that all them other islands have a Carnival. BUT in them countries, Carnival has a start date and an end date. In Trinidad?

This is where things need to change. The govt needs to put less dollars towards promoting Carnival and fete to the youth. Carnival is just a part of Trinbagonian culture. It shouldnt be treated as the "center" of the culture.

Sports has a better chance of keeping youth off of the streets than Carnival culture. Like what Trini1 say, maybe we need to integrate Carnival and fete into sport. But it shouldn't come to that.

« Reply #40 on: July 30, 2024, 01:28:49 PM »
I know I'll ruffle some feathers with my previous post. Let me clarify, Carnival isnt the problem. But the high interest and prioritization of Carnival in Trinidad society, is the problem.

I'm in Canada, and I'll throw in this in too.. the pride that I see many Trinis have about Carnival, is laughable to the countries winning medals.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #41 on: July 30, 2024, 10:04:07 PM »
Agreed GoP that statement had so much truth. If Carnival was going wrong something would be done immediately. The level of professionalism and perfectionism we put into Carnival, if we were to put that into sports or the nation as a whole we would be far. But alas, here we are. Something must be done...

We've been agreeing on the matter- saying that the club system is outdated or it simply doesn't work for us. How then can the powers that be rest on their collective laurels and do nothing. I'm just an avid fan but I feel if I was in their shoes I would put a long term plan in place, try different strategies and see what works for us. Set realistic targets for Olympic years, use world champs as testing grounds, seek improvement each year. Start from young to professional.

I do agree also that Carnival shouldn't be the centre but a tool to develop other ventures in the country.

Caribana is this weekend and you know every Trini is proud because of our influence in that. I wish we had the same pride and support for our athletes.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2024, 10:06:20 PM by Trini1 »

« Reply #42 on: July 31, 2024, 04:33:49 AM »
Yeah Trini1. It's a complete new identity and mindset that we need.

Trinis need to be honest with themselves. Less pride and support for Carnival and fete culture. More pride and support for sports. As I said, sports does a way better job at keeping the youth out of the street and focused than Carnival fete culture.

Success in track and field has the potential to divide the the people. There's also a "racial element" too where funding sports has the potential to "put" one racial group in front of the other when success is achieved on the world stage. This has more to do with who is "participating more" in the sport as opposed to one group being better than the other. There's no fingers to point here. This is something that can be fixed and we all can benefit from. Regardless of demographic.

« Reply #43 on: August 02, 2024, 07:24:25 AM »
MLA did not progress into the semi. It seems like every race she ran this year she kept on getting slower.

Bertrand into the semis. But she will have to run sub 11 to progress. I don't know if she has that in her.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #44 on: August 02, 2024, 01:32:17 PM »
Yeah I didn't expect much. She actually ran faster than what she ran in Guyana which was 11.55. I suspect she may have been injured this season. Just hoping she works her magic on that backstretch in the 4x100.

LB has had a long season and I dont see her getting past the semis. After such a long season it's burnout.
Hard to imagine she can pull off a sub 11. Chances are slim. We should have just focused on the 4x100 where our chances may have been better provided clean exchanges.

« Reply #45 on: August 03, 2024, 12:38:42 PM »
Trinidad got a medal from Josh Liendo (CAN) swimming. He is Trinidadian heritage. Not born. Lived in Trinidad as a child. Closest to a medal for TT.

Bertrand 9th. No final.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2024, 01:22:01 PM by gawd on pitch »

Offline Trini1

« Reply #46 on: August 03, 2024, 01:15:17 PM »
As expected.

Biggest story is no Shelly Ann

« Reply #47 on: August 03, 2024, 01:23:45 PM »
I don't think Shericka will be ready. She's not 100%. She scratched from the 100m so she can get time to rest for the 200m. Out of the two events, the 200m is harder on the body.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2024, 01:41:50 PM by gawd on pitch »

Offline Trini1

« Reply #48 on: August 03, 2024, 01:54:41 PM »
GoP Shericka may still pull it off. Precautionary mesures, she hasn't done her best this season.

I don't know why Shelly-Ann didn't run in the Semi finals of the 100m.

« Reply #49 on: August 04, 2024, 03:28:34 AM »
Like I said Trini1. Shericka just officially pulled out of the 200m. I seen it coming.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #50 on: August 04, 2024, 07:46:51 AM »
You were spot on GoP. Really put a damper on my Olympics.

Congrats to Julien Alfred and St Lucia and also Thea Lafond and Dominica on their respective gold medals. Representing their nations and the Caribbean at large.

We have become so expectant of the Jamaican women sprinters to show up and out that this has really put a damper on my Games. Kishane must redeem.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2024, 10:29:59 AM by Trini1 »

« Reply #51 on: August 04, 2024, 09:14:56 AM »
Right now it's the field events that are getting the medals for Jamaica. Looks like the women may only win a medal in the 400m.

This may be a disappointing olympics for Jamaica. I can't see them winning a medal in the women's 4x100 considering that Shelly, and Shericka looks to be out. They might get a 4x400 medal. Maybe a Gold with Kishane. And a gold  in the 400m (Nikisha Pryce)

Offline Trini1

« Reply #52 on: August 04, 2024, 10:37:18 AM »
Yeah this is shocking turn of events. Miss Pryce will hopefully get that gold and she has shown tremendous resilience  running that 48.57 after such a long collegiate season.

Yup no Shelly, no Shericka, no Elaine. Chances of 4x100m gold are slim because what they lack in practice they make up for with pure footspeed. What a turn of events...

Hoping Kishane will come good on his form

« Reply #53 on: August 04, 2024, 11:19:19 AM »
Jereem is looking sharp. Ran 44.31 from lane 8, with a lot left. He was looking around. Cedenio's record is going. Jereem is set to run sub 44.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #54 on: August 04, 2024, 11:27:11 AM »
I don't think it's a good idea to run 44.31 in the 1st round's.

« Reply #55 on: August 04, 2024, 12:27:20 PM »
@ff did you see the race? he needed to run that. But he still has a lot left in the tank.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #56 on: August 04, 2024, 02:37:15 PM »
Yeah GoP he has more in the tank. unfortunately that they had to run so hard so early. He knows he has to run sub 44 to medal. I think he is ready for that.

Kishane.... such a shame

Online Deeks

« Reply #57 on: August 04, 2024, 02:40:24 PM »
What a race. Fastest 100 meters final ? Everybody except one ran 9.90. That lean at the finish line is so important. Congrats to Lyles and Thompson. And Everyone who ran that race. Historical!!!!!!
« Last Edit: August 04, 2024, 02:46:05 PM by Deeks »

Offline ffisback

« Reply #58 on: August 04, 2024, 03:43:18 PM »
He ran 44.31 and placed 2nd in the 1st round that is crazy why is there 6 heats instead of 8 I don't know why they did that this is crazy.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #59 on: August 04, 2024, 03:45:43 PM »
I hope J Richards is not running the 200 anymore.