December 02, 2024, 02:36:25 PM

Author Topic: So who will be our new Head Coach? There will be jubilation throughout the land!  (Read 25545 times)

I'd like to know where this secret base of players are? We'd be able to name at least 4 by now. The teenagers in the scouting for thread ain't really much to change the constitution for.

@Contro Yorke will be vocal. Tobagonian blood different. Yorke actually has a stake in it and I don't think he'll take the job to appease the . .

@gawd

I hope so brother because the die hard fans are fed up

It's Yorke. Announcement coming this week.

He has better coaching experience than Eve and Lawrence. I hope this inspires the players to push themselves more. If I was a player, I would want to impress my coach . . who happens to be the most decorated footballer in the Caribbean. I think this will work in our favor. TTFA would need to give Yorke a lot of autonomy and whatever he needs.

@gawd

Did they pay the players? And will Yorke get the support staff needed to compete with the coaches in the US and other nations?

Story gone dead ...no more Yorke ?

well definitely look like No Hart either  ;D

FFS man!!

Any other Germany 2006 team members lining up for the wuk, how bout Bleeder :)

So I take it that it will not be Yorke, with he different Tobago blood to lead us into WC 2026 ;D
« Last Edit: October 05, 2024, 12:57:56 PM by Fyzoman »

I pray we can get an international coach who has the confidence to come in and do the job without no local influence. He can come in assess everything and select his players gradually. Try to get guys who he thinks can suit/play his system best. I know it's a long shot but a coach like Patrick Vierra, he has a Trini wife, and he's a credible coach who won't take no shit. I'm dreaming big!

How the hell could Deryck King still be considered in the five coaches left  in the running for the job?!?!?

Dwight I could kinda understand, but Deryck!?!?
Just who were the 400 (?) coaches who applied for this job?

On the bright side nepo-baby Russell Jr selection booked if Deryck is selected...I was confused as to why our best left-back, Raymond (who is fit!) wasn't called , until I saw Ross Russell Snr on the bench😀
« Last Edit: October 19, 2024, 01:56:38 AM by Fyzoman »

Also, if Edwards could name Dwight and Deryck, why the France he can't name the other three who are still in the running!?!

I will go back and pull up the Honduras game to verify that we played with a player down - per Edwards, I cannot remember anyone getting a red card?

Yorke, King in shortlist for Soca Warriors head coaching job
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

Former T&T international footballer now turn coach Dwight Yorke and Derek King, the current interim coach of the senior men's Soca Warriors team, have been confirmed in a shortlist of five coaches for the head coach job of the country's senior national men's team. 

The coach will be chosen at the end of the month, said Kieron Edwards, president of the T&T Football Association.

However, the selection of the two T&T coaches has signalled the end of a process that included more than 400 coaches from T&T, North, Central, and South America, and Europe the TTFA president said. 

The focus on the selection of the top coaching job comes following the sacking of Angus Eve in July. Still, it has since become a point of dire need after the Soca Warriors defeated Cuba 3-1 at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago, to stay in League-A of the CONCACAF Nations League.

Edwards told Guardian Media Sports that he was impressed with the energy shown in that game, but with the football association set to implement a new strategy in 2025 ahead of the FIFA World Cup Qualifiers, the new coach will be critical, he noted. 

"I want to assure you that both Dwight Yorke and Derek King are two of the five that we're looking at. I think with the work that Derek has done for the last two FIFA windows, especially this last window. We know that the first window was tough for him to instil his idea in the guys, but we saw a glimpse of it in the Honduras game, during the first 30 minutes or even the first half." 

Edwards said, "But the goals took the wind out of their sail a bit, which was unfortunate because we had a player down. We were playing with 10 men, and they capitalised on that, and it was difficult in the second half. I think Derek has proven himself worthy for the position, and of course, Dwight is there and thereabout, and there are a few others who I would not name at this time."  

He noted further, "I think those two are names that the country is expecting to be there, so I am allowing that to happen, plus we're working with agents and managers of other coaches right now to have some discussions, and hopefully by the end of the weekend we can conclude those discussions."

Yorke represented Aston Villa, Manchester United, Blackburn Rovers, Birmingham City, and Sunderland in the top-flight English Premier Division, and as a coach, he shook off a series of snubs in Europe to claim success at Macarthur FC in the Australian A-League in 2022. 

He is now being considered the overwhelming choice among the local football fraternity. 

Yorke completed his Level B coaching badge and in 2010 was quoted as being interested in pursuing a career in coaching, ideally with Aston Villa. Due to Yorke's glamorous playing career, it is rumoured that arrangements are already being made for his salary. 

Edwards said salaries would be crucial to the selection of the coach as well as his staff. The new coach will also have the option to decide on international friendly teams that the Soca Warriors can play against during the coming FIFA window.

According to Edwards, "We have about five people we're looking at in terms of options who fit the bill of the campaign that we're looking at for the style of football that we want to play.

"And not just the campaign, but also it would lend to the association in terms of our development. So it's important because we have a new strategic plan that we're rolling out early in 2025, and the coach would have to be part of that in terms of keeping our national teams engaged and so on."

So any word on who the other 3 coaches are?

And in this pappyshow land, nearly everything is a pappyshow

@MEP The others on the shortlist are:

- Pepe
- Sir Alex Ferguson
- K Rowley

They gonna hire king . See King was at the fete match last week

Did they ever list the criteria for head coach? Then again, why would they...

Rewatched the game.

Dantaye, one goal one assist.

Natty, two assists.

Real, one goal.

Not ONE of them saw the field in the first game!
So, hire him as the coach?!?!?

There simply must be four other coaches who would have been more discerning about his players, it's as simple as that...King will get a  TTPFL gig.

Offline Marcus868

There is a rumor going around that as Man U position opened up, Yorkie gonna try again for that and again country is 2nd priority for him..... really not sure how valid that but if there is any validity to it, then he should not even be considered for us at all, that shows where his allegiance is.... but then again, we wait. and slowly easing King into the role with giving him all this coverage time, so he builds his resume.  :worried: :worried:

Yorke allegiance was never with TT football...

When did we ever get Yorke and Latas and etc in their prime going for the WC?

Sir Jim them have to be stark, raving mad to give Dwight that wuk!

I am a United man and peeps apparently don't realize how serious our situation is...Dwight is a roll-of-the-dice, Jimmy will never do that.

Deryck NOT getting the national team job either...Natty, Real and Dantaye didn't get as good as they are in the few days between the Cuba games...a competent coach would not have left them on the bench in the first game, unless they were friggin hurt!!

Offline Thomo

There is a rumor going around that as Man U position opened up, Yorkie gonna try again for that and again country is 2nd priority for him..... really not sure how valid that but if there is any validity to it, then he should not even be considered for us at all, that shows where his allegiance is.... but then again, we wait. and slowly easing King into the role with giving him all this coverage time, so he builds his resume.  :worried: :worried:

Yorke never applied for the Man Utd role EVER!! The Aston Villa role, yes.

Just Got Word That Yorke Got the Job.

Welcome dwight

Welcome DY. Please bring that 99 Treble magic into this team.

Offline Thomo

Right down to business. I would hope that he and the TTFA would have finalised his support staff already. He also has the business of picking a side for the November 11-19 international window.
We also have another window in 2025, March 17-25. Then the first competitive game is WCQ in June 2025 vs St Kitts.

Time to hit the ground running.

He's been at the top professionally (club wise) and experienced the highs and lows of international football with TnT, so he should know what to expect and how to operate and navigate it all.
He will have the respect of administrators, players and fans alike too. Hopefully his presence can entice more foreign born players to jump onboard so we can make a good push for glory.

All the best and good luck. He'll need it like any other coach but at this minute he's the best choice.

@ Thomo, there are no games for the November window. Ideally we need to get a friendly so Yorke can see what the inventory looks like. The four preliminary Gold cup teams are also looking for a friendly during the window as none of them are playing. I say get a friendly with Guatemala, Nicaragua or Martinique.

Offline Thomo

@ Thomo, there are no games for the November window. Ideally we need to get a friendly so Yorke can see what the inventory looks like. The four preliminary Gold cup teams are also looking for a friendly during the window as none of them are playing. I say get a friendly with Guatemala, Nicaragua or Martinique.

Do you mean we have no games booked (yet) or there's not a FIFA international window in November?

I am a little excited!

The Latas and Deryck assistant coaching thing have me a little skeptical though.

Deryck will basically tell Dwight who to select, unless Dwight has been following the team and our players-pool like a forumite😀

« Last Edit: November 01, 2024, 10:37:30 AM by Fyzoman »

@Thomo, it's an international FIFA window. However, we don't have any games scheduled. Yorke should have been hired about a week earlier. It will be difficult to get a game with short notice.

Congrats Dwight. I wish you all the best!