February 12, 2025, 08:34:47 AM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs Saudi Arabia - 17 December 2024  (Read 2860 times)

« Last Edit: December 14, 2024, 11:43:30 AM by asylumseeker »

Re: Thread for T&T vs Saudi Arabia - 17 December 2024
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2024, 05:22:12 PM »
we will be lucky to draw this match given the team selection.

« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2024, 06:01:06 PM »
They seem to rank only slightly higher than Jamaica. The full squad seem to be about full strength [notwithstanding the 2nd 11 may hit the field]. Team value about 13 times ours. I wouldn't be surprised 4-0 to SA, so if Dwight pull a draw or better with this squad that would wear nice on him.

« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2024, 08:40:13 AM »
I didn't realize that we had the No.1 and No. 2 selections from the most recent MLS super draft...Tyrese and Wayne II!!

Niceness man, excited to see how Wayne II looks, wherever DY plays him?

I know I'm a 'soft head' when it comes to we football eh...but we absolutely qualifying for WC '26🙂

« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2024, 12:42:44 PM »
SA 3 vs TT 1... I think the TT team will be doing their best to impress DY, many would like to get a contract outside TT,we may put on a very good show,I hope.

« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2024, 01:42:55 PM »
Not too many moons ago Hyland and at least one other [Abu Bakr?] were playing in this league from which their whole squad is based? A good test and we shouldn't get blown out. Good showcase for the boys as well.

« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2024, 07:34:16 AM »
what time today is the match? checked ESPN and saw 11:45am. Any chance it showing on regular networks? or I going to have to google crackstreams?
« Last Edit: December 17, 2024, 07:37:27 AM by kounty »

« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2024, 08:09:55 AM »
Don't waste your time looking for a stream. Saudi Arabia requested that the game not be televised. So all we got is live score.

« Reply #8 on: December 17, 2024, 09:47:47 AM »
3 - 1 is about right.

Offline hg495

« Reply #9 on: December 17, 2024, 10:29:47 AM »
Vipbox.lc has it listed let's see if it shows
if yuh never get ah buss toe playing small goal den yuh never play football in trini when yuh was small hehehehe

« Reply #10 on: December 17, 2024, 10:33:16 AM »
The president, Edwards, calling for fan support but fans always have to look for some other country to provide the matches for viewing. Can't be serious

« Reply #11 on: December 17, 2024, 10:48:27 AM »
gawd on pitch,I would like it to be a draw or even a 1-0 loss,but i don't see a 3-1 loss as a bad result.All the very best on our boys.I hope this is a "new dawn",as they say.

« Reply #13 on: December 17, 2024, 11:40:33 AM »
I see the result as Saudi A 3 TT 1.We fell behind in the 13th min,and at half time it was 1-0 that was not bad.Second half Saudi scored in the 53 min,and then 88 min made it 3 -0,Jamal Jack pulled one back in the 94 min.Seems like guessed right again.

Offline lil damo

« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2024, 02:08:49 PM »
Who are the assistant coaches?

« Reply #15 on: December 17, 2024, 03:33:16 PM »
Why can't we get a game with Venezuela or Colombia ?

« Reply #16 on: December 17, 2024, 03:34:14 PM »
Or Panama?

« Reply #17 on: December 17, 2024, 06:45:10 PM »
We hit the post 2x. It wasn't a bad result considering:

- Saudi Arabia been playing together for a long time
- Only 48hrs to acclimatize
- We are missing 7 players who probably would have started
- First time this team has played together

Yorke's professionalism gives us hope. You can see this man does still put in the work at the gym. Talk about leading by example

« Reply #18 on: December 17, 2024, 08:03:21 PM »
Happy for the friendly against this opposition. The scoreline doesn't bother me at this point in time, I like the fact that Yorke had the opportunity to assess the players to see who can fit the way he wants to play. All the players (except one) got at least 30 mins so that's a good thing.

« Reply #19 on: December 18, 2024, 03:15:23 PM »
The president, Edwards, calling for fan support but fans always have to look for some other country to provide the matches for viewing. Can't be serious

This time around, beggars couldn't be choosers.

But there seems to have been avenues to beg more creatively. All in all, despite there having been no Match 2, against any kind of opponent, this outing seems to have yielded some kind of benefit.

What I would like to have is detail regarding the MOU.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2024, 03:20:30 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #20 on: December 18, 2024, 03:18:56 PM »
Agreed Seeker. Seems to be a closed session too. We need to put lil pressure on the FA about this. It's embarrassing
« Last Edit: December 18, 2024, 03:21:20 PM by Cocorite »

« Reply #21 on: December 18, 2024, 03:22:20 PM »
Why can't we get a game with Venezuela or Colombia ?

Hopefully one day we reach the point where our selection of opponents is strategic rather than merely opportunistic or convenient vooping.

I would like us to play Moldova. 

« Reply #22 on: December 19, 2024, 12:33:11 PM »
In typical TTFA fashion they are hiding the details of this MOU...

« Reply #23 on: December 23, 2024, 07:29:11 PM »
Soca Warriors' captain: Saudi Arabia game was a learning experience
By Roneil Walcott (T&T Newsday)

SOCA Warriors captain Aubrey David said his team can learn many lessons from their 3-1 friendly loss to Saudi Arabia at the Al Shabab Club Stadium, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia on December 17.

The game was the first game in coach Dwight Yorke's tenure after he assumed coaching duties of Trinidad and Tobago's men's football team on November 1.

Despite the loss, the 34-year-old David, who has over 80 senior caps for the Soca Warriors, saw the exercise as a fruitful one as many of the team's untested players were able to get a taste of international football against a worthy opponent.

"It was good to see the hunger and the passion the players showed. Obviously, it was basically a local squad so it's good to see the players getting that experience and to showcase their talent on this level," David said, in a video shared by T&T Football Association (TTFA) media on December 20.

"It was good for them to see and experience these games so they could see what international football is all about and what it takes to stay at the international...we always know they have talent, but they have shown it now on the international stage and can give them more confidence."

The veteran centre-back said there were things the team needed "to learn from and improve on," but he was pleased with the grit and fight shown by the group despite the many challenges they faced in the game.

The Soca Warriors conceded a first-half penalty and went into the halftime break trailing 1-0 after Reon Moore had a goal disallowed for offside. The hosts took a 3-0 lead by the 88th minute. And after the Soca Warriors hit the post a couple of times, they grabbed a consolation in stoppage time through defender Jamal Jack.

David said debutants Jariel Arthur and Wayne Frederick II were among the players who stood out, alongside versatile defender Jesse Williams.

"This experience is one we need to learn from because there are games we're going to be playing away from home and we're going to be getting that type of treatment. It's just for the players to learn from it and know that when we're playing away from home, we're not going to get any favours," David said.

"It was good to see the fight...it's just to continue to learn from these experiences and these lessons."

The 20-year-old Frederick II, who was drafted as the second overall pick by Colorado Rapids in the 2024 Major League Soccer SuperDraft, was delighted for the call-up. Frederick II thanked Yorke and his coaching staff for the guidance they gave him along the way.

"It was a great experience, coming out here to a place I've never been to. It's amazing," Frederick II said. "It's a blessing to get that opportunity and playing against players of that quality and getting minutes is an experience I'll never forget. I'll cherish it forever."

As he looks ahead to pre-season in roughly a month's time, Frederick II is keen to make himself a part of Yorke's plans for the continuation of the Fifa 2026 World Cup qualifying campaign.

"I'm going to take what I've learned here into the season and hopefully establish myself more there so I can get more opportunities to come back here and play for the country and help us qualify for the (2026) World Cup."