February 12, 2025, 08:09:28 AM

Author Topic: Hanza Choudhury  (Read 926 times)

Hanza Choudhury
« on: December 24, 2024, 01:14:57 PM »
Leicester City midfielder Hamza Choudhury's switch of international allegiance to Bangladesh has been approved by Fifa.

The Foxes academy graduate, who was born in Loughborough and made seven appearances for England Under-21s, qualifies for Bangladesh through his ancestry.

The 27-year-old will become the first Premier League player to represent the Bengal Tigers, who are ranked 185th in Fifa's world rankings.

"We are pleased to inform that Hamza Dewan Choudhury has been cleared to play for Bangladesh," said the Bangladesh Football Federation.

"This decision was made by the Player's Status Chamber of the Football Tribunal of Fifa."

Choudhury has made 89 league appearances since his senior Foxes debut in 2017 and was part of the side which won the club's maiden FA Cup in 2021.

He is the only British Asian currently playing in the Premier League - midfielder Arjan Raikhy is also contracted to the Foxes but yet to make his top-flight debut.

Choudhury added: "I'm so happy everything is over the line and I can't wait to be playing for Bangladesh."

By the way, his father is Grenadian.

Re: Hanza Choudhury
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2024, 02:34:46 AM »
He considers himself asian.

« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2024, 06:55:23 AM »
He not the only Asian to do it,the last England Under 20 captain of Pakistani heritage choose to play for Pakistan,that is how it should be for the Asians.I recall back in the 70s a brilliant Under  England Under 20 playing for England.He was highly rated to play 1st Div football,nothing was heard about him again.That's the way tings go fuh dem.

« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2024, 01:29:43 PM »
Apparently, his dad was not around. But I think that is a good move on his part. He grew up in a Bangladeshi environment thru his mother and stepfather.

« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2024, 05:14:01 PM »
I'll bet if his father was Bangladeshi he (the young Chaudary) wouldn't have reached this far in football.

« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2024, 02:15:25 PM »
what can we say. We don't know the dynamics of the mother-biological father-son relationship. Reminded me a bit of Deleon and son  issue. If his dad was Bangladeshi, he probably be playing cricket. We really would not know. Good luck to him. I hope he win a couple of games for the Bengal Tigers.