April 28, 2024, 06:47:41 PM

Should we start with two up front on the 16th, choose a pairing.

Yorke and Stern
4 (13.3%)
Jones and Stern
11 (36.7%)
Glen and Stern
6 (20%)
Scotland and Stern
6 (20%)
No change Stern on top Yorke in middle
2 (6.7%)
Two men off the bench, bench Stern
1 (3.3%)

Total Members Voted: 30

Author Topic: Two Strikers on Wednesday ?  (Read 2233 times)

Two Strikers on Wednesday ?
« on: November 13, 2005, 01:54:26 PM »
Also state the one player who would get dropped if you choose a forward who didn't start yesterday

Re: Two Strikers on Wednesday ?
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2005, 02:08:55 PM »
I believe Beenie will start more or less the same line up except PERHAPS Cyd Gray for Spann

Yorke will probably move up a bit if Latas is ineffective

I would not have started anyone different yesterday.  As the Texan's say....you dance with who brung yuh.

However...in hindsight....and I stress HINDSIGHT..I may have brought on Cornell Geln for Latapy instead of Scotty.  Not that Scotty did anything wrong....but their right back had already recieved a yellow card and I believe Glen would have put him under more pressure than Scotty with his pace.

« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2005, 02:32:57 PM »
I find Scotland and Stern should be good. Scotland plays well in T&T away games (e.g. South Korea) and when he comes on he is focussed on attack. He will move up, teasing defenders, could draw fouls easily, good with both feet.  :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2005, 02:40:18 PM »
Decent points Palos.

I feel Beenie sees Scotland as a striker with some midfield-like skills who can create assists that's why Scotty is always the first choice substitute and Beenie wants possession. I don't think he sees Glen helping as much with assists. Glen seems better when the the defense plays high and he can be sent through on a breakaway without too much traffic. I believe he will bring on Glen with 10 mins to go if we haven't gone ahead, having already had Scotland and Jones on with Stern. Remember if it goes into extra time we will need fresh legs for that grueling time with players cramping and collapsing all over the place. Beenie will not want the game to go extra time really. Pros and cons of this: Extra time suits younger Bahrain team but also extra time could lead to penalties which favours us.

He will keep Theobald ready on the bench as Latas legs will give out after 90 mins and maybe substituteYorke too although he (Yorke) has a lot of economy of motion and saves energy and thus he might be allowed to drop back. Lucky we got no yellow cards. He might play hatchet man Gray on right back and let him get 1 yellow if he has to and free up Spann for a substitute option for Yorke in midfield.

Ah feeling a good vibes. T&T!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2005, 02:53:50 PM »
the second half had about 4 good chances wit stern and yorke attacking i like d cyd gray spann in d middle later idea it is worth givin a try

but go wit 4 4 2 i see stern an yorke doin the business up front no doubt or even 4 3 3

carlos latas whitely

jones john yorke

might be a lil too attackin an no place for birchy but i trust beenie so is up to him

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2005, 03:24:34 PM »
honestly, I say we start the SAME squad we start - unless anyone injured or just too tired after the flight.
Since I expect everyone to be 100% still ..... we going with the same squad.

Real men chastising Dwight and Latas this morning - fire fuh allyuh.

It was clear Latas was having a bad game from the start .... and who wouldve recognised that first, but Dwight .... so he did the same thing he did against USA in CT and he drop back and hold down the Midfield ... very rarely coming forward.
The two times he came forward, he almost scored ... from the melee in the 6 yd ... to the turn and shoot that just went by the keeper upright.

I don't count on Latas having two off games in a row .... and since the defense was swarming Latas, Dwight and Stern .... they now have to look at the danger posed by Whitley, Birchall, Edwards and Spann .... all of whom had them scrambling back.

I expect much more long distance shots to be put on goal .... and we all clearly saw that Bahrain Keeper cannot hold!!!
Stern will slide in and score all the Ian Rush type goals that he became famous for in the MLS.

GO TT!!!

« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2005, 04:35:15 PM »
Not to go with ah knee jerk reaction...

but Birchall sent in a beauty of ah cross one time that nearly resulted in ah goal...
Carlos crosses wasnt too accurate and Spann had an off day
How about this line up just for discussion sake

-----------------------------------Jack----------------------------------

Edwards--------------Andrews----Lawrence------------A.John

---------------------Whitley----------------Yorke--------------------
Birchall-----------------------------------------------Latapy-----------

---------------------------Jones------------Stern---------------------

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2005, 04:41:31 PM »
form what Beenie say about the "other look" that Jones gave him ... you might be correct with that.
However, I think that we may start with the same 11 .... but that substitution might be a little earlier, especially if things panning out the same way as Saturday.

« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2005, 04:47:51 PM »

but Birchall sent in a beauty of ah cross one time that nearly resulted in ah goal...

It is interesting. I may me wrong but i think edwards play a right back role for his club team. I just wish we had somebody to swap with Avery John. He is the week link in defense and bahrain did their homework and came down the left.

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2005, 04:51:46 PM »

It is interesting. I may me wrong but i think edwards play a right back role for his club team. I just wish we had somebody to swap with Avery John. He is the week link in defense and bahrain did their homework and came down the left.

I hearing real men talking sh!t about Avery .... BUT - how many goals score from Avery side?
how many times them men get shots on goal when they came down Avery side?
How many times Avery fall back and made timely tackles?

steups ... allyuh men doing the usual Trini thing and looking for man to single out and blame.

If allyuh want somebody to blame ... start from the top and blame Latas for not having a good game - doh look for the quiet man on the side to make a scapegoat.

« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2005, 05:00:46 PM »

I hearing real men talking sh!t about Avery .... BUT - how many goals score from Avery side?
how many times them men get shots on goal when they came down Avery side?
How many times Avery fall back and made timely tackles?

steups ... allyuh men doing the usual Trini thing and looking for man to single out and blame.

If allyuh want somebody to blame ... start from the top and blame Latas for not having a good game - doh look for the quiet man on the side to make a scapegoat.

I was just discussing the line up the man post. I know no goals score from the left side. I just wish we had somebody to swap with Avery. Avery is the best left back we have and i support him. The team played poorly on a whole and i hope we give a better collective effort come wednesday.

« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2005, 05:06:32 PM »
FF your side is exactly what I was thinking.

Edwards plays RB for his club and Birchall plays RM. If they work it well Carlos will overlap, take on men and make opportunities for Birchall to cross.

Problem is it still doesn't solve the issues we have with Latas out on the left.

« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2005, 05:40:42 PM »
aye true thing rotato poti avery may not b d best in the world but i car c wat they picking on d man 4. if any1 saw d guatemala game the man make 2 last ditch recovering tackle when we stoppers get beat and at those times we were 1 goal down. i en c no glaring error d man make on saturday

« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2005, 05:56:31 PM »

Ah like dat line up FF, d only change ah will make is Glen(speed and skill) instead of Jones.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2005, 05:59:56 PM by SUPER »

« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2005, 06:16:09 PM »
Avery's problem is unlike Spann he does not assist us at all in attack.  His touch is not good but defensively, he will bite you.  Outside of that, Avery is not a very good option.  Unfortunately, we are really lacking in this area.

With all that said, all we need to do is score and take a lead.  If we could do that, trouble in Bahrain camp.

« Reply #15 on: November 13, 2005, 06:17:36 PM »
we could either go 3-5-2
Shaka in goal.
Sancho, Tallest, Dog right to left cente backs.
Edwards,Yorke,Latapy,Otis, Birchall with Latapy roaming and Birchall cutting inside from the left.
Stern and Jones up front..with Glen hopefully coming on.

or we could go 4-3-3
Shaka
Edwards,Tallest, Dog,Avery with Edwards overlapping and Avery staying put.
Otis, Latapy, Birchall in a narrow midfield
Jones, Stern and with Yorke roaming just behind.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2005, 06:26:05 PM by Feliziano »