April 18, 2024, 04:55:05 AM

Author Topic: match report TT 1 BAHRAIN 1  (Read 5029 times)

match report TT 1 BAHRAIN 1
« on: November 13, 2005, 09:12:52 AM »
Really bad timing!  That is what I would want to call it, really bad timing.  We chose the worst time to put in a bad performance.  Should we have won this game? Yes.  Did we deserve to win? No.  Did Bahrain deserve this result? Yes.  Are they a good team?  No.

The Bahrain team was easily the weakest opposition that we have played in a competitive match under coach Benhakker; even Panama looked a better team than them.  But as I said earlier, we chose the wrong time to play our worst competitive match!

Fellaz (and de ladies too), yesterday was real pressure, the most pressure I ever see to get in anywhere in my life!  Cowen, Gary and I reach up shakers around 12:30pm and met up with Touches, Swima and Truetrini.  After listening to some advice from Truetrini and his entourage about some of life’s more sensitive topics and batting down a few beers, we decided to head toward to Hasley Crawford.

We reached outside the stadium around 1:50 pm and to our ‘surprise’, we met about 5,000 people who also wanted to get in early, since gates opened at 2pm.  It was now dat de madness start!  Put some pushing, shoving, screaming, mash foot, crying, scalping, quarrelling, cursing, pick-pocketing, jamming, fainting, and wining in one large blender.  Add about 30 police with machine guns, some jokey barriers, a big police bus, four horse-men with whips, four different ticket scanning points, some sexy women, and a dash of rain.  Blend all of those ingredients for one and a half hours, pour into a glass and drink it.  If you do the above, only then you would get a taste of what it was like to enter the stadium.  (Although ‘swima’ couldn’t drink it down and had to go home)

After such a wonderful ‘beverage’, it was now time to look for seats.  Cowen found Tallman, I found Touches, Touches found Truetrini, Tallman found Davjenny and the socawarriors.net crew started to assemble!  We squeezed into some seats and watched how things started to unfold.  Disgruntled Trini was also in the area with his straw hat.

The pre-match hype was great and the vibes in the stadium was overwhelming.  Destra Maximus and Shurwayne Winchester had the crowd going :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:.  They made laps around the stadium cycle track, hyping up the crowd who were loving every minute of it.  Iwer George tried to join in but was breathless after to first 200 meters and could not be found after that! Lol.  The stadium was filled by 4:30pm and everyone was waiting for this historic game to begin. 

The teams came on to the pitch to rapturous applause, and when our anthem played, every Trinidad and Tobago national sang lustfully except the woman who sat in front of Touches and couldn’t keep ah hot dog out of her mouth. 

We started with Jack in goal, Avery, Lawrence, Andrews, and Spann at the back.  The five in the middle consisted of Latapy, Yorke, Edwards, Birchall and Whitley.  Stern was the man alone up front. 

TTTWWWWWWWEEEEEEEEEEEETTTTTTT!! Game start and the warriors were on the go. 
“TnT, we want ah goal…......…TnT, we want ah goal” The chanting start and we waited patiently for the early goal that never came.  The warriors took a while to settle down, and had the first real chance when Whitley made some room for “me mum” to unleash a low right-footed drive that the keeper did well to parry wide.  “things looking nice man” said one man in de crowd, “yuh see, yuh see, de pressure now start” said another.  I whispered to Touches and Cowen that if we ent beat this side bad we, in a mess. 

Bahrain is a “bake” side.  They cannot trap, they cannot pass, and they have no composure on the ball.  All they can do is pack their defence and midfield and we very quick on the counter attack.

Bahrain, however, did their homework, since neither Yorke, Stern, nor Latapy were given any room on the ball at all, but as the saying goes, one man’s loss is another man’s gain.  The man who ended up with all the gain was Mr. Aurthis ‘Otis Seaton’ Whitley, who looked head and shoulders over everyone else on the field.  It was a pity that no one else raised their game.   Whitley was a beauty to watch.  Everything went his way and the Bahraini players had no answer for is twists, his turns and his pin point accurate passing.

He couldn’t do it by himself though, and little by little, Bahrain came into their own and simply started to take the game to the Warriors.  They simply took over the game after 25 minutes and we were looking a shadow of ourselves. 

Yorke was having a bad game; there was hardly any link play from our ‘highly rated’ right wing players (Spann and Edwards); Latapy was man marked; Stern hardly got in a touch; Birchall was running down the ball all over the place and Avery had no confidence in his touch and his passing.  Our Twin towers stood firm, and Lawrence even had a sharp header saved by a very alert Bahrain keeper.

HALF TIME: TNT – 0   BAHRAIN – 0

You coulda tell who the waggonists were and who die hards were at half time.  The waggonists were wining and dancing, while the die hards had worried looks on their faces :nailbiting:  :nailbiting:

We started the second half really nice with Whitley again pulling some serious strings in midfield.  Yorke had a wonderfull chance right after the break, but his left foot shot went very wide, from just inside the box.  The game was draining out into nothing affair when ‘Beenie man’ decided to wake everyone in the crowd up with a tactical change that would silence the crowd.

Coming on was St. Johnstone striker Jason Scotland and coming off was Russell Latapy :thinking:  :thinking:.  Yes, you read right…….but if you cannot believe your eyes then I will type it again… coming off was Russell Latapy.  My jaw drop, Tallman dredlocks started to grow and Touches tried to tell me something but all I saw were his moving lips. 

“Oh lard” shouted one man, “we go lorse” he continued.  I was too amazed to answer so I just relaxed and waited to see how this would unfold.  Not too long after that, Spann (with his ‘tear up’ adidas jersey from all the pull he get) lost the ball and Bahrain countered.  They won a corner and within a flash, a cross came in, three defenders missed the ball and an open Bahraini player headed the ball into the net. The 50 Baraini supporters went crazy, and the 24,000 Trinidadians were stunned silent. 

Stern centered the ball at the half time quickly and we knew that we had 17 minutes to do something that we couldn’t do for the first 73.  The warriors began to press and up stepped Christopher ‘me mum’ Birchall to blast the ball into the back of the net in similar fashion to the one he scored against Honduras in the Gold Cup.

Once again, you could see the difference between the die-hards and the waggonists.  The die-hards celebrated, but with some measure of caution since we knew that we need another goal.  The waggonists, on the other hand, celebrated as if we had just won the world cup!

We pressed for the remaining 10 minutes or so but we came up with nought.  As it stands now, we are a bit behind the eight ball.  The “away goal specialists” got their away goal so we must go to Bahrain and score, simple as that.

There were two major positives coming out of this game.  The first was the fact that we received no yellow cards, and the other was the inspiring play of Aurthis Whitley.

We are better than this team and I very sure that once we put our act together, we will come away with the desired result against Bahrain in their homeland and make our first appearance in a senior World Cup

Ah love it!!

« Last Edit: November 13, 2005, 09:22:23 AM by andre samuel »

Re: match report TT 1 BAHRAIN 1
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2005, 09:21:20 AM »
nice report
ah hope we cud vibes it up on wednesday
LEWE GO T&T!!!

« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2005, 09:25:32 AM »
Really bad timing!  That is what I would want to call it, really bad timing.  We chose the worst time to put in a bad performance.  Should we have won this game? Yes.  Did we deserve to win? No.  Did Bahrain deserve this result? Yes.  Are they a good team?  No.

The Bahrain team was easily the weakest opposition that we have played in a competitive match under coach Benhakker; even Panama looked a better team than them.  But as I said earlier, we chose the wrong time to play our worst competitive match!

Fellaz (and de ladies too), yesterday was real pressure, the most pressure I ever see to get in anywhere in my life!  Cowen, Gary and I reach up shakers around 12:30pm and met up with Touches, Swima and Truetrini.  After listening to some advice from Truetrini and his entourage about some of life’s more sensitive topics and batting down a few beers, we decided to head toward to Hasley Crawford.

We reached outside the stadium around 1:50 pm and to our ‘surprise’, we met about 5,000 people who also wanted to get in early, since gates opened at 2pm.  It was now dat de madness start!  Put some pushing, shoving, screaming, mash foot, crying, scalping, quarrelling, cursing, pick-pocketing, jamming, fainting, and wining in one large blender.  Add about 30 police with machine guns, some jokey barriers, a big police bus, four horse-men with whips, four different ticket scanning points, some sexy women, and a dash of rain.  Blend all of those ingredients for one and a half hours, pour into a glass and drink it.  If you do the above, only then you would get a taste of what it was like to enter the stadium.  (Although ‘swima’ couldn’t drink it down and had to go home)

After such a wonderful ‘beverage’, it was now time to look for seats.  Cowen found Tallman, I found Touches, Touches found Truetrini, Tallman found Davjenny and the socawarriors.net crew started to assemble!  We squeezed into some seats and watched how things started to unfold.  Disgruntled Trini was also in the area with his straw hat.

The pre-match hype was great and the vibes in the stadium was overwhelming.  Destra Maximus and Shurwayne Winchester had the crowd going :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:.  They made laps around the stadium cycle track, hyping up the crowd who were loving every minute of it.  Iwer George tried to join in but was breathless after to first 200 meters and could not be found after that! Lol.  The stadium was filled by 4:30pm and everyone was waiting for this historic game to begin. 

The teams came on to the pitch to rapturous applause, and when our anthem played, every Trinidad and Tobago national sang lustfully except the woman who sat in front of Touches and couldn’t keep ah hot dog out of her mouth. 

We started with Jack in goal, Avery, Lawrence, Andrews, and Spann at the back.  The five in the middle consisted of Latapy, Yorke, Edwards, Birchall and Whitley.  Stern was the man alone up front. 

TTTWWWWWWWEEEEEEEEEEEETTTTTTT!! Game start and the warriors were on the go. 
“TnT, we want ah goal…......…TnT, we want ah goal” The chanting start and we waited patiently for the early goal that never came.  The warriors took a while to settle down, and had the first real chance when Whitley made some room for “me mum” to unleash a low right-footed drive that the keeper did well to parry wide.  “things looking nice man” said one man in de crowd, “yuh see, yuh see, de pressure now start” said another.  I whispered to Touches and Cowen that if we ent beat this side bad we, in a mess. 

Bahrain is a “bake” side.  They cannot trap, they cannot pass, and they have no composure on the ball.  All they can do is pack their defence and midfield and we very quick on the counter attack.

Bahrain, however, did their homework, since neither Yorke, Stern, nor Latapy were given any room on the ball at all, but as the saying goes, one man’s loss is another man’s gain.  The man who ended up with all the gain was Mr. Aurthis ‘Otis Seaton’ Whitley, who looked head and shoulders over everyone else on the field.  It was a pity that no one else raised their game.   Whitley was a beauty to watch.  Everything went his way and the Bahraini players had no answer for is twists, his turns and his pin point accurate passing.

He couldn’t do it by himself though, and little by little, Bahrain came into their own and simply started to take the game to the Warriors.  They simply took over the game after 25 minutes and we were looking a shadow of ourselves. 

Yorke was having a bad game; there was hardly any link play from our ‘highly rated’ right wing players (Spann and Edwards); Latapy was man marked; Stern hardly got in a touch; Birchall was running down the ball all over the place and Avery had no confidence in his touch and his passing.  Our Twin towers stood firm, and Lawrence even had a sharp header saved by a very alert Bahrain keeper.

HALF TIME: TNT – 0   BAHRAIN – 0

You coulda tell who the waggonists were and who die hards were at half time.  The waggonists were wining and dancing, while the die hards had worried looks on their faces :nailbiting:  :nailbiting:

We started the second half really nice with Whitley again pulling some serious strings in midfield.  Yorke had a wonderfull chance right after the break, but his left foot shot went very wide, from just inside the box.  The game was draining out into nothing affair when ‘Beenie man’ decided to wake everyone in the crowd up with a tactical change that would silence the crowd.

Coming on was St. Johnstone striker Jason Scotland and coming off was Russell Latapy :thinking:  :thinking:.  Yes, you read right…….but if you cannot believe your eyes then I will type it again… coming off was Russell Latapy.  My jaw drop, Tallman dredlocks started to grow and Touches tried to tell me something but all I saw were his moving lips. 

“Oh lard” shouted one man, “we go lorse” he continued.  I was too amazed to answer so I just relaxed and waited to see how this would unfold.  Not too long after that, Spann (with his ‘tear up’ adidas jersey from all the pull he get) lost the ball and Bahrain countered.  They won a corner and within a flash, a cross came in, three defenders missed the ball and an open Bahraini player headed the ball into the net. The 50 Baraini supporters went crazy, and the 24,000 Trinidadians were stunned silent. 

Stern centered the ball at the half time quickly and we knew that we had 17 minutes to do something that we couldn’t do for the first 73.  The warriors began to press and up stepped Christopher ‘me mum’ Birchall to blast the ball into the back of the net in similar fashion to the one he scored against Honduras in the Gold Cup.

Once again, you could see the difference between the die-hards and the waggonists.  The die-hards celebrated, but with some measure of caution since we knew that we need another goal.  The waggonists, on the other hand, celebrated as if we had just won the world cup!

We pressed for the remaining 10 minutes or so but we came up with nought.  As it stands now, we are a bit behind the eight ball.  The “away goal specialists” got their away goal so we must go to Bahrain and score, simple as that.

There were two major positives coming out of this game.  The first was the fact that we received no yellow cards, and the other was the inspiring play of Aurthis Whitley.

We are better than this team and I very sure that once we put our act together, we will come away with the desired result against Bahrain in their homeland and make our first appearance in a senior World Cup

Ah love it!!

Heard it was chaos getting into teh stadium, and before that, chaos also getting tickets. The officials should have opened the gates from 11:00 am or so, for teh people who want to come in early. Also, how many outlets did they have selling tickets in T&T, and how long before the game did they start selling tickets? Wehn Ja qualified for Mexico, I got into teh stadium round about 10:00 am, for the 5:00 PM game, and I bought my ticket about a week before the actual game.

« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2005, 09:26:21 AM »
GOOD STUFF DRE.....great......keep the faith lads.....ah predicted the latas and stern subs......they were correct....god bless tnt.....tnt tnt tnt

Offline FATZ

• I SELL FOOTBALL JERSEYS
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2005, 09:31:45 AM »
You couldn't help but put in the waggonist them in your report. :rotfl: But we must mention them because they were true spokes in T&Ts wheel. If they wanted to see T&T vs Bahrain, they should have gone to Bahrain. Big up to Whitley for a good game but what did you think of Edwards and his shit play on the flank?
WELCOME TO DINSLEY OUT IN THE STREETZ THEY CALL ME FATZ

Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I can do all things. Phil 4:13

« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2005, 09:44:46 AM »
andre report have a positive spin 2 it, touches report has de ugly side of wat happened, andre yuh miss de part about lack of passion and yorke, latas and stern walkin out seperate. dat was an important note, ah cant lie, hearin ur report make meh feel good but de reality of it is, we play wit no urgency and should have put dis away at home, end of story, but good report likewise, however i choose 2 b a critic like touches

Offline birchall_pvfc

• x~miss port vale~x
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2005, 09:57:05 AM »
I watched the game last night on the internet  :D Well done chrissy B  ;D

What a goal!

I will be watching wednesdays game on TV, looking forward to it!
~~~~~p.v.f.c~~~~~~
****trinidad n tobago****

« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2005, 10:17:48 AM »
Good Report Andre. I saw the game on FCS. I appreciate the fact that you saw us play unsatisfactorily but now it's our turn to score an away goal.

I noticed a contrasting lack of movement in this game compared to the Mexico game.  I bellieve  Beenie was right to play a 4-5-1-Stern-stand-alone system in your home game but that can only produce goals with lots of busy movement off the ball like in the Mexico.

We were scared to move FORWARD which is part of the movement in total as Bahrain is particularly worrisome for us the way they play the long ball counterattack very efficiently. The keeper would also find the winger with 1 accurate missile to the left wing. Not being at the stadium it was hard for me to understand how that was happening so easily. Was Spann doing his job there at right wing back?

Personally, I would rather see a keeper who is faster off his line, handles crossses more  aggressively and relies less impulsively on kicking out the ball and in turn causing us to lose possession. I am not a Jack hater but I would rather Shaka in goal on Wed. Latas was not himself. Don't quite understand it as he was marked heavily by Mexico too and still looked good. Yorke I find played very well but a bit deep but took alot of balls on his chest the way Stern is progammed to do it.

Birchall's shot was something else and much more powerful than the Honduras shot. It is not an easy type of shot to do with the ball already off the ground. Geting that kinda accuracy with the mechanics of his shot taking is................boy................very impressive. A rocket if yuh ever see one . His confidence will be sky high after that and he probably puts to rest any contenders in midfield fighting for his spot.

Once again, I go back to my left-wing back preoccupation. Avery worries me even though he is seriously committed and tries his best. He cannot do much with the ball if pushes forward and he also frightens me when he does push forward. One thing he can do is put in the final tacckle just at the edge of the box so I will live with that and hope he keeps the attackers out. Guess what? And Beenie knows this. WE HAVE NOBODY ELSE TO PUT THERE.  We need Rougier there at least as back up.. I am convinced. Rouge will not panick and just run backwards when he see a player coming at him at the wing. we also need double teaming on the left wing defense to help Avery put in an early tackle further from the box danger area.

AS much as I like Sancho, he cannot play unless he is given a stopper role as he is not QUITE fast enough to handle VERY SPEEDY wingers. Great confident defender with neater ball skillls than Tallman but as I said above....

Carlos doing a very good energetic givet it yuh all job. Doh pong him. I personally am glad to see the dribbling as long as it is not in defense.

Latas will be a diffrent man in Bahrain and Beenie is ging to tactically move him around  more left, right, up and back till he gets in the game. Mark my words.

Scotland will always feature and Jones will come on too.

Spann will continue.

Shaka

Dog                      Tallman

Spanner                                                                  Avery :-\

Birch                            Whitley >:( (Mr no-nonsense)

Latas
                    Carlos                                                                      Yorke

Stern                                  

4-5-1. Will convert to 4-4-2 early, then 4-3-3 as pressure starts to come on the T&T team to score more. To put more strikers on I don't think it will be Whitley who will be substituted though. Not sure who we can afford to take off. Maybe Birchall if he gets tired and can't chase well.

Yuh know the whole thinking behind the strategy is different for this game in Bahrain. IT IS NOT ABOUT WINNING OR LOSING THE GAME. If we "lose" 3-2 then we win since those 2 goals count to four!  It's all about attacking in Bahrain which we were not mentally free to do. Yorke will STOP running around in defense trying to help out as captain and will now keep his backside in attack near Stern.  Dog and Tallman will have to handle dey stories by deyself. If yuh doh trust Tallman by hhimself so, put Sancho instead. We cannot keep on smothering our style because we are paranoid about our defense, (something which the Trinidad game acutely worsened because of the away goals rule). Beenie I understand yuh tactics buh is time to just friggin' explode in attack in Bahrain now.    

Go warriors. I am not worried. Bahrain is. Trust me as they know what's coming. We score 2 in an all out blitz and we cool!!!!  We are very lucky that Bahrain did not score 2 as that would be deadly for us. Again Beenie was right on tactics. Players were just too scared.            

Offline FATZ

• I SELL FOOTBALL JERSEYS
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2005, 10:27:41 AM »
Good Report Andre. I saw the game on FCS. I appreciate the fact that you saw us play unsatisfactorily but now it's our turn to score an away goal.

I noticed a contrasting lack of movement in this game compared to the Mexico game.  I bellieve  Beenie was right to play a 4-5-1-Stern-stand-alone system in your home game but that can only produce goals with lots of busy movement off the ball like in the Mexico.

We were scared to move FORWARD which is part of the movement in total as Bahrain is particularly worrisome for us the way they play the long ball counterattack very efficiently. The keeper would also find the winger with 1 accurate missile to the left wing. Not being at the stadium it was hard for me to understand how that was happening so easily. Was Spann doing his job there at right wing back?

Personally, I would rather see a keeper who is faster off his line, handles crossses more  aggressively and relies less impulsively on kicking out the ball and in turn causing us to lose possession. I am not a Jack hater but I would rather Shaka in goal on Wed. Latas was not himself. Don't quite understand it as he was marked heavily by Mexico too and still looked good. Yorke I find played very well but a bit deep but took alot of balls on his chest the way Stern is progammed to do it.

Birchall's shot was something else and much more powerful than the Honduras shot. It is not an easy type of shot to do with the ball already off the ground. Geting that kinda accuracy with the mechanics of his shot taking is................boy................very impressive. A rocket if yuh ever see one . His confidence will be sky high after that and he probably puts to rest any contenders in midfield fighting for his spot.

Once again, I go back to my left-wing back preoccupation. Avery worries me even though he is seriously committed and tries his best. He cannot do much with the ball if pushes forward and he also frightens me when he does push forward. One thing he can do is put in the final tacckle just at the edge of the box so I will live with that and hope he keeps the attackers out. Guess what? And Beenie knows this. WE HAVE NOBODY ELSE TO PUT THERE.  We need Rougier there at least as back up.. I am convinced. Rouge will not panick and just run backwards when he see a player coming at him at the wing. we also need double teaming on the left wing defense to help Avery put in an early tackle further from the box danger area.

AS much as I like Sancho, he cannot play unless he is given a stopper role as he is not QUITE fast enough to handle VERY SPEEDY wingers. Great confident defender with neater ball skillls than Tallman but as I said above....

Carlos doing a very good energetic givet it yuh all job. Doh pong him. I personally am glad to see the dribbling as long as it is not in defense.

Latas will be a diffrent man in Bahrain and Beenie is ging to tactically move him around  more left, right, up and back till he gets in the game. Mark my words.

Scotland will always feature and Jones will come on too.

Spann will continue.

Shaka

Dog                      Tallman

Spanner                                                                  Avery :-\

Birch                            Whitley >:( (Mr no-nonsense)

Latas
                    Carlos                                                                      Yorke

Stern                                  

4-5-1. Will convert to 4-4-2 early, then 4-3-3 as pressure starts to come on the T&T team to score more. To put more strikers on I don't think it will be Whitley who will be substituted though. Not sure who we can afford to take off. Maybe Birchall if he gets tired and can't chase well.

Yuh know the whole thinking behind the strategy is different for this game in Bahrain. IT IS NOT ABOUT WINNING OR LOSING THE GAME. If we "lose" 3-2 then we win since those 2 goals count to four!  It's all about attacking in Bahrain which we were not mentally free to do. Yorke will STOP running around in defense trying to help out as captain and will now keep his backside in attack near Stern.  Dog and Tallman will have to handle dey stories by deyself. If yuh doh trust Tallman by hhimself so, put Sancho instead. We cannot keep on smothering our style because we are paranoid about our defense, (something which the Trinidad game acutely worsened because of the away goals rule). Beenie I understand yuh tactics buh is time to just friggin' explode in attack in Bahrain now.    

Go warriors. I am not worried. Bahrain is. Trust me as they know what's coming. We score 2 in an all out blitz and we cool!!!!  We are very lucky that Bahrain did not score 2 as that would be deadly for us. Again Beenie was right on tactics. Players were just too scared.            

AWay goals only count when you win the first leg say 2-1 or draw nil nil and not draw 1 all and if we draw the 2nd leg by more than 1 goal, in this case if we lose the 2nd leg we are gone. If we had won the first leg 1-0 then your 3-2 result would work for us because of the away goals rule, it would also have worked if we won 2-1.
WELCOME TO DINSLEY OUT IN THE STREETZ THEY CALL ME FATZ

Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I can do all things. Phil 4:13

« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2005, 10:39:23 AM »
I and so pissed right now i dunno what to say.. But I want to set ah record straite.. Ah jess call Andre dere and he say he did taught me and Troy Piloy went to coverd stands.. I was to emphatically state that No susch thing happen.. we would not go against jess so.. We end up in some SHITY seats under the clock.... I really missed out regular seat by the 18 yrd box on the southern end.  >:( >:( >:(

Stupes.. I going and watch more cartoons oui.. Cannot face any sports channel right now.!

« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2005, 10:53:45 AM »
Andre,

As usual the home crew reports bring a sense of immediacy and creates an aura  for the readers. I see that once more there is an overwhelming collective  similarity in sentiments whhich were felt  after  our team's performance.

Wednesday we have to expect better. Is like after yuh have diaherra- let all the crap come out then leh we settle down and move on.

« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2005, 10:57:08 AM »
Thanks Fatz for helping to clarify that away goal rule in terms of WHEN it applies and WHEN NOT. I don't fully understand it and maybe some of the other posters need instruction. Without fully grasping this it will be difficult to understand tactics of attack vs defense priorities and how all-out we could afford to go. Would appreciate a detailed explanation of the home-away rules from Fatz or anybody. ???

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2005, 11:01:21 AM »
i  think that we pay real shitttttttt.... we ahve who da man name DENNIS LAWRANCE in the back like a f**kin stick annot even un and Carlos playin like a asshole same way.them fellas have to wake up and start playin. My little brother can ply on that team i will try to get him down their for a tryout cause he better than carlos edwards by far.
All American

« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2005, 11:04:38 AM »
i  think that we pay real shitttttttt.... we ahve who da man name DENNIS LAWRANCE in the back like a f**kin stick annot even un and Carlos playin like a asshole same way.them fellas have to wake up and start playin. My little brother can ply on that team i will try to get him down their for a tryout cause he better than carlos edwards by far.

Boss man, when Last you watch a game before that T&T vs Bahrain match.. Kinda Curious.!

« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2005, 11:16:42 AM »
Where these fellas does come from?  Garcia yuh could tell that you don't know shit bout this game.  Another wagonist on board.  Yuh don't even know the damn players.

trinidhal

« Reply #15 on: November 13, 2005, 11:28:27 AM »
i  think that we pay real shitttttttt.... we ahve who da man name DENNIS LAWRANCE in the back like a f**kin stick annot even un and Carlos playin like a asshole same way.them fellas have to wake up and start playin. My little brother can ply on that team i will try to get him down their for a tryout cause he better than carlos edwards by far.

is yuh first match or wha?

trinidhal

« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2005, 11:29:19 AM »
silly waggonists....

« Reply #17 on: November 13, 2005, 11:32:20 AM »
Yuh know the whole thinking behind the strategy is different for this game in Bahrain. IT IS NOT ABOUT WINNING OR LOSING THE GAME. If we "lose" 3-2 then we win since those 2 goals count to four!           

This is not how the "away goals rule" works. If we lose 3-2 we will lose the tie on aggregate. The away goals rule only applies if the scores are tied on aggregate and in this case it will only favour Bahrain if we draw 0-0 over there.

A 1-1 draw and we play extra time.

Any other score draw and we win.

Whoever wins Wednesday's game goes through, no matter what the score.

« Reply #18 on: November 13, 2005, 11:35:34 AM »
Thanks JDB. I think I get it now.

« Reply #19 on: November 13, 2005, 11:38:50 AM »
Where these fellas does come from?  Garcia yuh could tell that you don't know shit bout this game.  Another wagonist on board.  Yuh don't even know the damn players.

silly waggonists....

Fellas I believe that if this is the Shawn Garcia (who was a stopper) who captained QRC and played in the national set-up at youth level, U-23 and maybe even the senior side then it might not be accurate to say that the man doesn't know football or to label him a waggonist just because you disagree with his opinion.

Shawn, if it is you, welcome man. Respect.

« Reply #20 on: November 13, 2005, 11:42:27 AM »
Thanks JDB. I think I get it now.

No problem plenty people make that mistake because they used to describe it as "away goals counting double".

By that maths you could win 1-0 at home and lose 2-4 away and go through on aggregate 5-4 (as well as several other permutations). Which doesn't make sense.

« Reply #21 on: November 13, 2005, 11:48:06 AM »

AWay goals only count when you win the first leg say 2-1 or draw nil nil and not draw 1 all

Away goals rule counts when you are even on head to head aggregate at the end of both games.......any first game result is succeptible to the away goals rule depending on what happens in the second game........

If for example we tie 0-0 in the second game we would lose by the away goals rule...because Bahrain got a scoring tie...

Offline Strip

« Reply #22 on: November 13, 2005, 11:52:00 AM »
fellas, barring the shit we play yesterday (except whitley), we going bahrain with something to play for now and allyuh will see good football over there, the side will step up now... WE GOING GERMANY

« Reply #23 on: November 13, 2005, 12:01:23 PM »
nice report..Bahrain gonna come out and do de same ting they do against Uzbek...hold out for de nil nil...I cant see dem doin it..we all kno that is de hardest draw to try and hold out for! We go get by them keep the faith

« Reply #24 on: November 13, 2005, 12:46:47 PM »
fellas, barring the shit we play yesterday (except whitley), we going bahrain with something to play for now and allyuh will see good football over there, the side will step up now... WE GOING GERMANY

I agree with u strip, we play well with our backs against the wall and i am sure that we are going to rise to the occasion on wednesday and qualify for the world cup@!!

Offline revelation

« Reply #25 on: November 13, 2005, 01:15:04 PM »
AWAY GOALS RULE[/size]

The Intercontinental Playoff shall be decided as follows:

1. Where the two teams are invloved, the winner shall be decided by the team which has scored more goals that its opponent over the two legs of the playoff

2. Where the score is even after the two legs of the playoff, the team which has scored more goals in the opponent's home stadium shall be declared the winner.

3. Where the score is even and both teams have scored an equal number of goals in thier opponent's home stadium, the referee shall authorise the playing of 30 minutes of extra time, divided into two 15 minute halves immediately following the conclusion of the 90 minutes of the 2nd leg of the playoff. The winner shall be the team which has scored more goals in the period of extra time.

4. Where the score is even after (3) the referee shall authorise the taking of 5 penalty kicks, per team, to be taken non-consecutively. The winner shall be the team who has scored more penalties.

5. Where the score is even after (4) the referee shall authorise the taking of 'sudden death' penalty kicks. The winner shall be the team which immediately scores a penalty in a set where the opponent has not.

« Reply #26 on: November 13, 2005, 01:26:28 PM »
Thank you revelation. Very important for EVERYBODY to understand. We must be in a scoring mood tomorrow and push and let big men, if they are grown up, defend without Yorke's and Carlos's help. >:(

« Reply #27 on: November 13, 2005, 01:36:08 PM »
Thank you revelation. Very important for EVERYBODY to understand. We must be in a scoring mood tomorrow and push and let big men, if they are grown up, defend without Yorke's and Carlos's help. >:(

tomorrow who playing tomorrow :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #28 on: November 13, 2005, 01:40:29 PM »
Ah mean wednesday ;D  Yeah Moevah, geh yuh kixks. Ah glad yuh having a good time. What is the temperature. If you don't know exactly, then what temp does it feel like?

« Reply #29 on: November 13, 2005, 02:14:18 PM »
Ah mean wednesday ;D  Yeah Moevah, geh yuh kixks. Ah glad yuh having a good time. What is the temperature. If you don't know exactly, then what temp does it feel like?

it not so hot it feeling normal but i will get an acrate temp and tell allyuh. right now i in work and i wearing camoflage uniform so i feeling ah little warm but the team go feel it cause them gettin used to this europe cold weather and now this whereas i stationed in florida so i used to the heat