April 20, 2024, 12:36:43 AM

Author Topic: Don’t expect miracles - coach Beenhakker.  (Read 4438 times)

Don’t expect miracles - coach Beenhakker.
« on: April 07, 2005, 03:03:24 AM »
Don’t expect miracles - coach Beenhakker.
By: Nigel Simon - T&T Guardian.
[/color]

Newly-appointed national football coach Leo Beenhakker says the job of getting T&T’s Warriors to the World Cup in Germany 2006 is a big one.
Beenhakker, who will officially pick up his position on May 1, gave his views at a media conference at the Hasely Crawford Stadium,in Mucurapo yesterday.
The 62 year-old Dutchman, a former national coach of Holland and Saudi Arabia and club teams Ajax, Real Madrid and Real Zaragoza, said he has seen tapes of the matches against Guatemala and Costa Rica and drew his conclusions based on that.
“I will not discuss what mistakes need to be corrected individually with you (the media) right now, before I speak with the players in the team but I must say that I’m surprised at what happened in the matches, yet we can do it.”
Beenhakker said that one point from three matches is not a good sign but explained that he did not see a big difference in the way T&T played than the way Guatemala and Costa Rica played.
With respect to his next two matches in charge against Panama (June 4th) and Mexico (June 8th), Beenhakker stated: “We need a very tough and good preparation where the players will be worked on in small groups, concentrating on each aspect of the game, defence, midfield and attack.”
With respect to his assistants, T&T’s David Nakhid and Russell Latapy, the Dutchman said his main problem was on the pitch where he would rather see Nakhid play.
“Latapy on the other hand is still playing in Scotland and will not be here until the middle of May, but we have to start preparing now. So there is a possibility that I may add one or two persons to the staff.”
Beenhakker made it clear that he was up for the test of getting the Warriors to the World Cup in Germany.
“More than ever, I’m prepared for a new challenge, and this time it’s the position of coach of the T&T national team. So far he has held meetings with key persons in T&T football and said he was impressed with their professionalism and passion.
“From those meetings, I feel confident that I made a very good choice to accept the job.”
Looking ahead to the crucial World Cup matches, Beenhakker aid there were no guarantees. “There are no guarantees in sports and in life. The job is not going to be easy. There are no miracles, but it’s all right for you to dream, you can remain hopeful and work hard towards your goal.”
Beenhakker also said that he was surprised with the revelations of his meetings with the local coaches.
“The meeting with the clubs coaches was a special experience in that they explained to me that it was the closest they had come to knowing what happens with the national team.
“I promised that on my return in April, I will be viewing some of the local league matches to see what changes need to be made to help with the development of the league.
“However my most urgent task is getting the team ready for the World Cup qualifying campaign.”
Admitting his little knowledge of the T&T players, Beenhakker noted that by viewing some of the local club matches, little by little he will be able to recognise the top players.
“In football you work with your eyes wide open, so I will be able to pick a squad of about 24 players prior to the start of May.” But before selecting his squad, Beenhakker said he will also be seeking some first hand knowledge of T&T’s overseas players.
“Amsterdam is not that far from England and Scotland, so I will be able to see the T&T players and chat with their clubs so I will have more knowledge to work with.
“One thing is certain, we will not be waiting for them, because they have obligations, and our preparations for the two World Cup matches in June will start during the first week of May.”
Plans are also on course for the players to have a live-in camp for two to three days per-week for the four weeks of preparations while some training matches will be included.
Beenhakker flexes his muscles...Nakhid now a player.
By: Ian Prescott - T&T Express.

Dutchman Leo Beenhakker does not officially begin his contract as Trinidad and Tobago national football coach until May 1 but he has already began to make a significant impact. First, Beenhakker has offered former national captain David Nakhid a role as a player rather that as an assistant-coach and is also due to begin his programme without the services of Scotland-based Russell Latapy, his other assistant. He says that the seriousness of T&T's situation means they cannot wait until the middle of June when Latapy is due to finish his seasoning Scotland as player/coach with First Division Falkirk.
Beenhakker has insisted that he will be the sole selector of the national team and also hinted that he may bring in some of his own people to work with him on the national team. Beenhakker has met with coaches of local clubs and hinted that he will be watching a lot of local clubs game and using as many locally-based players as he could in his team.
The Dutchman has also been looking at tapes of T&T's World Cup qualifiers, especially the 5-1 loss to Guatemala which he has reviewed. In his analysis of that game, Beenhakker said he especially surprised at one aspect of that match and frankly admitted that a lot of work had to be done with the 'Warriors'.
The Dutchman returns to Holland for the next two weeks, during which time he will organise his personal affairs before heading to England and Scotland to have a look at some of Trinidad and Tobago Footballers playing professionally there. He then returns on April 27 for an intense one month preparation programme aimed at getting the team ready for a home match against Panama on June 4 and Mexico on June 8. During that time they will have a weekly camp for two or three days during which they will undergo intense specialised training.
Beenhakker is adamant that there are no miracles in football. He was realistic enough to realise that T&T's present position in the World Cup qualifying six-team competition is precarious, but based on what he had seen, Beenhakker felt that Trinidad and Tobago's level of football is not inferior to that of Guatemala and Costa Rica.
The former Holland and Saudi Arabia coach said that he will do his best to realise Trinidad and Tobago's dream of reaching the World Cup for the first time. He said he brings 39 years of experience to the job, his professionalism, ambition and a passion for football which Beenhakker says is still one hundred per cent.
"The problem with football, is that there are no guarantees. That's a pity, but that's a reality," Beenhakker said. Nakhid spoke about the shift in his role and hinted that he was undecided about his new status with the national team.
"Well he approached me about it when he saw the games and he felt that he could use me more on the pitch seeing that we were pressed for time. It's an approach he made. It's very difficult tell Leo Beenhakker, no. I've spoken with him, and we'll have to see because I have a lot of things to arrange then with my club in Lebanon. So hopefully, hopefully if I do decide to do it, more as a player that an assistant coach/player kind of thing like under Bertille (St Clair). Then, I'll have to decide quickly, and I guess Russell will have to decide too. But as he said, he needs players on the pitch who can implement what he wants. We'll have to see what happens in the coming weeks." Nakhid said. New manager Bruce Aanensen bring with him a management background having spent 39 years in the financial sector with RBTT Bank Limited.

Re: Don’t expect miracles - coach Beenhakker.
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2005, 05:38:09 AM »
Why is Latapy joining the team so late ? This is serious business Latapy, you need to be here. Falkirk is already promoted, they dont need you anymore. Come on, stop the BS.

I hope Nakhid considers, we need him around the team.

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2005, 05:51:36 AM »
Latas is not done middle of June, it's middle of May.  Last match is May 7th which isn't too long after Leo gets down here.  Actually all the UK players will be available then so they can probably come down and attend 2 or 3 of the weekly camps.
Not sure what will happen with Spann or the MLS and A-league fellas though, the are in mid-season so it's doubtful they can come for any camps.  So no Glen, Sealy, Spann, Rojas, Avery, Smith, Henry, etc.

« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2005, 07:23:05 AM »
I seem to remember a report that said Latas would wait until Falkirk secured promotion to the SPL before coming to T&T.  Apparently, Falkirk is now 3 points away from achieving that goal.  If they win their match on the weekend, it should pave the way for an early return home for Latas providing my recollection is accurate..

« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2005, 07:56:26 AM »

What is the point of bringing Latapy back.
He already signal his intention to jump ship if it look like we not qualifying and he not coming till when?

Nuttin against him but if he doh want to come and be as committed as Yorke and Nahkid have been then maybe now is not the time for his return.  Anyone get the sense that he wants it as bad as those two mentioned?  Falkirk is a good situation for him so I could understand if he wants to stick with them especially now that they are moving up.

« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2005, 08:25:35 AM »
doesn't sound like Leo really wants Latas on his coaching staff either.  Perhaps he wants to work with people with more coaching experience than he and Nakhid.  I see him making the same offer to Latas as he did to Nakhid especially since Latas has more to offer on the field than Nakhid does at this stage.

Check the TV6 link
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_tv6?id=70989236

« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2005, 09:02:20 AM »
It appears as though Leo don't want Latas and Nakhid on his coaching staff.  He is probably more comfortable working with his own people or thinks Latas and Nakhid may not be very effective as assistant coaches.  Whether that is true or not, I can't say.  One can argue that Latas and Nakhid being former national players, will be able to make a significant contribution to the technical staff based on their experiences.  Also the opposite can be said, their lack of coaching experience may be hindrance.  Only time will tell. 

« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2005, 07:50:30 AM »
Give Leo room, while I think Latas and Nakhid are good players let experience prevail. It's funny that Bertille did not take the same approach, by isolating the players in the areas where we are weak and work them seperately and then reintegrating as a team.

It's a simple strategy. I was at one time a member of my school choir and this is how we did our preparations. Breaking up the choir into tenors, altos, basses and working each part out tediously until we got it down pat and then melding it all together as a group, and always had good results.