March 28, 2024, 08:05:01 AM

Has Beenhakker made a significant difference to  the Warriors' chances of qualification for WC 06?

Yes
38 (92.7%)
No
3 (7.3%)

Total Members Voted: 41

Author Topic: Beenhakker is ah boss  (Read 10311 times)

Re: Has Beenhakker made a significant difference ?
« Reply #60 on: September 13, 2005, 09:26:31 AM »
I just keep reading basically the same thing over and over.It obvious the man improve the team ..... who can't see that obviously don't know a thing about football.

« Reply #61 on: September 13, 2005, 09:36:23 AM »
I think we beat this one to death......

In sum, my original point was that there are different ways to look at it.....if it's just a Beenie vs Bertille argument, then it's a no brainer in my opinion. Bertille was a waste of time. Beenie knows what he's doing.

If it's a question of how well has Beenie done.....I (and nearly all of us) think he's done well to restore hope in this team...

If, as per the actual question, it's about how significantly he's improved our chances (which is more relative to our WCQ situation)......I think he has 1 or 2 more games to go before we can fairly assess him....until then our chances have only improved marginally since he came on board........
« Last Edit: September 13, 2005, 09:38:42 AM by kicker »

« Reply #62 on: September 13, 2005, 09:38:02 AM »
What a waste of a thread.

the majority of posts on this topic state the obvious- Beenie has improved our level of play.....

However, not many have talked to the actual question posed by the poll......

It's difficult to argue against an opinion that our play has improved.....I think it has improved quite a bit.

But have our chances of qualification significantly improved ?- that still remains up in the air in my opinion.

Under BSC our we were dead last, there was little to no sign of hope or improvement, but it was still early, so you could argue that there was still a chance that we would qualify. Mathematically we were in it. Mathematically we even still had a chance at automatic qualification. We were not knocked out yet.

Right now under Beenie, we have no chance of automatic qualification, and we're still one spot outside of making a play-off. I believe we can do it, but our chances are still relatively slim.

Beenie has done a good job- no doubt but :

this is a direct quote of the question posed by the poll "Has Beenhakker made a significant difference to  the Warriors' chances of qualification for WC 06?"................not whether or not he's improved our standard or play........can we see the difference ?

If we beat Panama next game, we'll have one foot in the door for the play off, and then I could say yes our chances of qualification have significantly improved

To answer your question directly.
Yes He improved our chances. They went from 0 under BSC to a figure alot greater than that. ( I am not sure of the exact number)
If you want to look at a percentage growth rate 

((any positive number)/0 -1)% = INFINITY
« Last Edit: September 13, 2005, 09:41:32 AM by Marcos »

« Reply #63 on: September 13, 2005, 10:19:56 AM »
chances of qualifying before Beenie=unknown and difficult to quantify since we only played 3 games. however if those 3 results were anything to go by, our chances = 0

chances since Beenie....greater than zero, since we are still in it. A little more quantifiable with 2 games to go, with a possible 2 more after....but I don't know exactly what the probability of qualifying is now.

agree or disagree, that is my logic and i believe there is some merit to it  :D

There are 2 end results 1) qualify 2) not qualify.
I believe that before Beenie the end result would be #2. Since Beenie, we still have a chance at #1. We may argue over how to quantify 'significant' but for me that is a significant difference.

This requires a combo of quantitative analysis and qualitative. Kicker, Arrow, etc are right...some of us leaning too much on the qualitative side, when the question requires us to be more quantitative, but not entirely so since you still need assumptions to come to a conclusion. NOW...we beat this one to death ;D

Kicker....how was de sweat Sunday?

« Reply #64 on: September 13, 2005, 10:48:20 AM »
Sweat was good.........That league will be competitive...... we lost 2-1......a draw woulda been fair.....

Talk to Greg about some issues with the subsitution rule....

« Reply #65 on: September 13, 2005, 12:02:25 PM »
Check it Fihlo.
Look at the Math.
We are infinitely better since Leo came on
haha

« Reply #66 on: September 13, 2005, 12:34:23 PM »
Man make a post hopin to stir debate.  Mission accomplished

Furthermore....man make post provocative knowin full well the responses most have posted.

Now man tryin to be technical talkin bout only gettin points he was expected to get and we eh get no points away from home wit CONCACAF big 3.

Classic case of retreatin when yuh original point get blow up.

Basically man makin dis a exercise in semantics when to me the question is clear.  Is our chances of makin de WC better WITH Beenie or not?

Retreat all yuh want but dat is de real issue here and it done get answer.

Anyting else...yuh jes lookin fuh chat.

« Reply #67 on: September 13, 2005, 12:58:59 PM »
Man make a post hopin to stir debate.  Mission accomplished

Furthermore....man make post provocative knowin full well the responses most have posted.

Now man tryin to be technical talkin bout only gettin points he was expected to get and we eh get no points away from home wit CONCACAF big 3.

Classic case of retreatin when yuh original point get blow up.

Basically man makin dis a exercise in semantics when to me the question is clear.  Is our chances of makin de WC better WITH Beenie or not?

Retreat all yuh want but dat is de real issue here and it done get answer.

Anyting else...yuh jes lookin fuh chat.

Palos, You say the question is clear, but you totally changed the question.....and if you can't see how, then it's not worth explaining.

Classic case of not paying attention to what people have said, being oblivious to the fact that the question can be interpreted in more than one way, ignoring the vailidity of a different point of view and typing absolute diarrhea after the point has already been beaten to death...........dis forum is truly the best.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2005, 01:04:37 PM by kicker »

Offline Jay10

Beenie is ah boss
« Reply #68 on: October 12, 2005, 09:51:03 PM »
No disrespect to past tt coaches, but u all see how Cyd gray lookin now?.......ah mean , he still hav ah lil bit to go but he lookin like ah very good wing back. I never thought i would say this but wen he thinks he looks very good. He had all the qualities of a good wingback  EXCEPT the brain.......but it seems that Beenie fix dat 4 d while.

dont know wha appen 2 Spann(he wasnt even on the bench) but I think this was a tactical change. He was sweeping wen the bigmen went up, and he  basically nullified the quick mexican counters.

good job guys

Re: Beenie is ah boss
« Reply #69 on: October 12, 2005, 09:54:49 PM »
Spann had two cards

« Reply #70 on: October 12, 2005, 09:55:21 PM »
Spann was serving an auto suspension for 2 yellows....

« Reply #71 on: October 12, 2005, 09:57:36 PM »
jay wey u was sah ? Spann on ah suspension dred.

« Reply #72 on: October 12, 2005, 10:33:25 PM »
If he is ah borse, he get ah bad hand when he came on board and now we nearly in de World Cup. He stuck by Stern all de way becz he see something from de man at practice and from his committment.

Bennie Man for Prime Minister Composure is a hell of a thing
« Reply #73 on: October 13, 2005, 07:42:22 AM »
First I go have to say Bennie man make me eat me words because I for one was backing Bertile to keep the work.
But Bennie Man show the way how it have to be done.

I for one was panicking when they start to show the Guatemala Scores on TV I was expecting him to make us press the game even more.

When Stern miss the penalty and Jack get string up I start to cuss why these men not pressing the game,
I was expecting Bennie man to throw on 2 forwards one time.

The man stay cool calm and collected.

Stick to the game plan and most of all remain composed.

This composure was refected in the players as none of them really panicked
We played the game at a walking pace which allowed us to not make too many mistakes.

The main reason we here is because of Bennie Man
His composure and clear game plan and decision making is the difference.

Each player on our team knows what they have to do
Each player on our team is capable of doing what Bennie man has asked them to do.

Clear communication
Clear vision.

Even mad man Cyd Grey play good  ;D

Re: Bennie Man for Prime Minister Composure is a hell of a thing
« Reply #74 on: October 13, 2005, 07:44:56 AM »
i remember when i was in de stadium watching trini play its first match against north east. me and shotta rell cuss beenie and say he aint go last but de man come out of de woodworks dan. congrats :beermug:

« Reply #75 on: October 13, 2005, 07:49:24 AM »
Beenie for Prime Minister.
Dwight for President.

« Reply #76 on: October 13, 2005, 07:50:38 AM »
i thought he was th eman for the job but not a miracle worker. i felt that in the long run we would have to get a result in panama and beat mexico at home. neither was a small feat. given the improvement we have made, i think we will be in germany. this is probably the best i see a t & t team ever play - even in the losses at the US and mexico. imagine if the team played together more often? we would be up there with the US and mexico in concacaf.

I hope men don't doubt Beenhakkerr again
« Reply #77 on: November 16, 2005, 03:10:59 PM »
 What do you think about Beenhakker's tactics now?

MickeyRat

Re: I hope men don't doubt Beenhakkerr again
« Reply #78 on: November 16, 2005, 03:13:09 PM »
Brilliant, just Brilliant.   :applause:

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #79 on: November 16, 2005, 03:13:51 PM »
bait

« Reply #80 on: November 16, 2005, 03:15:00 PM »
 I wonder what will be our group....when will we know?

« Reply #81 on: November 16, 2005, 03:19:34 PM »
I honestly always supported them, or atleast i tried, despite thinking that edwards should do well in strike, i will never ever even think about questioning him again, despite being one of the people that shied away from doing it atol, he has taken a team that had their amazing potential and skill running full blown in the wrong direction. With nearly no real organization, he tought a team in the matter of a few months to play with an organized rythem, he didnt try to dim their attack prone way of playing which was leaving there backline deathly vulnarable, he also supported each and every player on and off the pitch to his fullist as a father figure and instilled the right moral values in a team that was a lost force to be reckons with. That team is now Trinidad and Tobago.

Offline Tinus

« Reply #82 on: November 16, 2005, 03:22:44 PM »
I wonder what will be our group....when will we know?

Finals draw will be on December 9th.

Offline Behbehman

« Reply #83 on: November 16, 2005, 03:45:39 PM »
What do you think about Beenhakker's tactics now?

Wuh is dat I hearing? People doubting Beenieman? Buh wuh the hell is dis breds...nah...ah cyar believe dat! Allyuh eh see wey dat dutchman tek we from? From one point to the World Cup. I eh bashing Bertille...buh he was good for he time...leh he rest off.

We need Beenie more than ever now. 8)

« Reply #84 on: November 16, 2005, 04:00:10 PM »
In Beenieman I trust!!

The man is a brilliant tactician.

Offline rastafari

« Reply #85 on: November 22, 2005, 10:14:05 AM »
By the way....look to the comments of the players if you want an answer to the question posted as the title of the thread.  They all make comments such as:

- The coach knows what he is doing

- We understand what we are being asked to do

- You can see a PLAN with respect to the drills & exercises we do in practice.

All dat knowledge, understanding and planning and we still giving up sorf early goals and coming 5th in the Hex?

YUH DOH FEDUP TALKING SHIT

Offline greenpea

« Reply #86 on: November 22, 2005, 10:53:41 AM »
By the way....look to the comments of the players if you want an answer to the question posted as the title of the thread.  They all make comments such as:

- The coach knows what he is doing

- We understand what we are being asked to do

- You can see a PLAN with respect to the drills & exercises we do in practice.

All dat knowledge, understanding and planning and we still giving up sorf early goals and coming 5th in the Hex?

YUH DOH FEDUP TALKING SHIT

Beenie gave the team,
1) Structure (effective dynamic structure) around the top of the 18 yd box.
2) Definite attacking structure w/i a game plan

What the players do (and are still struggling with) is to play an open game and get goals within the confines of this plan. This is not an easy task given the time constraints especially and the fact that we were pressed to perform well enough to get to the WC.

Make no mistake the reason we have not made the WC before is primarily through coaching and planning weaknesses.....  :chilling:

Re: Beenhakker is ah boss
« Reply #87 on: November 22, 2005, 11:29:30 AM »

yessss...

he bring back new life into the squad and change up the team alot to make the best mix work.

and also instill discipline into our team

he is one of the best things done by the TTFA