April 28, 2024, 05:22:29 AM

Author Topic: From Germany to Germany  (Read 4914 times)

From Germany to Germany
« on: October 23, 2005, 11:10:11 AM »
We all in uproar over the last few days with Jamaica,Nahkid,Samuel,Zamora etc.Fellow posters these things doh matter when destiny is in your hands.It doh matter how much obstacles are thrown our way once we doh loose focus victory is ours.it has taken us three decades...ah whole generation to reclaim our rightful place in Germany.When we beat Bahrain,the Gov't should give dat '74 squad a free ride to Germany.Everyone including the media local and foreign talk about '89 because that's as far as their memory goes.But not getting to Italy was our fault,mistakes we made administratively and tactically.Not getting to Germany'74 was the fault of some corrupt officials who were later ban for life.I laugh as I see what's happen now to distract us,it(they) will not prevail for victory is ours some thirty years in the making.
God Bless T&T.

How many from this squad allyuh men see play ?These men deserve to be in Germany.

1973 World Cup Squad.

Head Coach:
Kevin Verity - England.

Goalkeepers:
Gerald Figeroux.
Kelvin Barclay.

Defenders:
Anthony Douglas.
Dennis Morgan.
Lawrence Rondon.
Raymond Roberts.
Raymond Moraldo.
Selwyn Murren - capt.
Selris Figaro.

Midfielders:
Leon Carpette.
Steve Khan.
Russell Tesheira.
Sydney Augustine.
Winston Phillips.
Leo Brewster.
Leroy Spann.

Forwards:
Everald Cummings.
Noel Llewellyn.
Steve David.
Wilfred Cave.
Warren Archibald.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2005, 02:25:54 PM by Tallman »

Re: From Germany to Germany
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2005, 12:28:16 PM »
that's a big post Royal, some people have forgotten the injustice that the 73 team had metted out to them.

« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2005, 12:29:55 PM »
Injustice is ah understatement!

Dem fellas gt robbed bad bad borse.

Offline trinimuse

« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2005, 12:42:39 PM »
I agree .... HUGE post,

I wasnt there but the pain still echoes today from all the old tests yuh does meet...

« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2005, 12:45:24 PM »
who yuh calling old fella?

Or haw is Palos and tongue yuh referring too! :devil:

« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2005, 12:53:55 PM »
this is de most sensible post in a while bredda....
warmonga..

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2005, 01:12:41 PM »
wow...the only man i ever see play on that list is Leroy Spann... nice post  Royal

« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2005, 04:17:49 PM »
With the exception of Tesheira everyone is still alive on the 73 squad
Flex / Tallman have a pic of that squad
Saw everyone of them play and even played with some.
One or two names are missing as well.
Spann was not on the final trip to Haiti because of suspension.
DeLeon had a falling out with Verity and did not go to Haiti
It would be nice to gather and honor both the 73 & 89 squad before the game

« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2005, 11:07:37 AM »
Massive it have ah man who does be on this site who play for that team in 73. he doh post much at all but he always reading. So! For you I say thanks for the memories that was a sweet side I will always be proud of allyuh

« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2005, 11:44:13 AM »
I was thinking of the irony just the other day.

After getting robbedin 1973, how ironic that when we finally qualify it would be for Germany again.

Peace,

Offline greenpea

« Reply #10 on: October 25, 2005, 11:54:05 AM »
Saw Steve Khan play a couple times... he use' to coach a side down south... every now an' den he'd take a run.... bullet like greased mercury an a realllllly sweet shot... dey shoulda make me pay money to be on the same field wid that footballer...  :chilling: when ah say some real footballers pass through this country.... amazing...

Offline Ball Ho fuh life

« Reply #11 on: October 25, 2005, 12:03:44 PM »
greenpea yuh eh easy.  how yuh mean a side dong sout'?   :-\  anyway, he use tuh coach me in de under 14 an' under 16 days.  And is Pres he use tuh coach.  he use tuh run a clinic an' ting too.  he an' Jan Steadman who coach Benedicts.  he had a bullet, but he touch was immaculate.  dah man could juggle a ball boy!  GLUE!  trust me.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #12 on: October 25, 2005, 12:07:21 PM »
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #13 on: October 25, 2005, 12:35:26 PM »
Saw Steve Khan play a couple times... he use' to coach a side down south... every now an' den he'd take a run.... bullet like greased mercury an a realllllly sweet shot... dey shoulda make me pay money to be on the same field wid that footballer...  :chilling: when ah say some real footballers pass through this country.... amazing...

yes sweet baller, he could pass a ball anywhere. Royal would remember him with Milan. Some big match up wid Milan and Valiants and Hurricanes in the SFA. Peter Mitchell was also on that 73 squad that played in Haiti. When dem two bounce up on a field is like who could out do who . good times that yes

Offline slates

• Big-up L'Anse Mitan Carenage
« Reply #14 on: October 25, 2005, 12:50:08 PM »
Warren "Archie" Archibald used to school ah bunch ah we youths down Carenage (back when I was ah youth). He had ah side in ah small goal competition in L'Anse Mitan and used to ORCHESTRATE. I remember him holdin ball with nuff man tackling him,and he pointing and tellin youth-men, "run dey so," and as yuh run in de space, is BAM, ball on yuh foot, then he movin and sayin to yuh, "hit mih here." And dat lil side used to beat people.

Archie was ah good brother. I suppose still is. Last time I saw him was about 5 years ago, went to his house in Carenage with my lil brother.
Toujour Pret!

« Reply #15 on: October 25, 2005, 01:43:13 PM »
Well Royal, as a native of Point Fortin(hense the tag) I can tell you that several of the players on the 1973 WC qualifying team I knew personally as they too are from my beloved home town. The following are native Point men:

Wilfred"Bound to score"Cave
Steve David
Warren"Laga"Archibald
Leo "Twinkle toes" Brewster

« Reply #16 on: October 25, 2005, 01:44:08 PM »

TONY DOUGLAS is also a Point man!! my bad.

« Reply #17 on: October 25, 2005, 01:45:44 PM »
With the exception of Tesheira everyone is still alive on the 73 squad
Flex / Tallman have a pic of that squad
Saw everyone of them play and even played with some.
One or two names are missing as well.
Spann was not on the final trip to Haiti because of suspension.
DeLeon had a falling out with Verity and did not go to Haiti
It would be nice to gather and honor both the 73 & 89 squad before the game

What happen to Russell Tesheira

« Reply #18 on: October 25, 2005, 01:51:12 PM »
Warren "Archie" Archibald used to school ah bunch ah we youths down Carenage (back when I was ah youth). He had ah side in ah small goal competition in L'Anse Mitan and used to ORCHESTRATE. I remember him holdin ball with nuff man tackling him,and he pointing and tellin youth-men, "run dey so," and as yuh run in de space, is BAM, ball on yuh foot, then he movin and sayin to yuh, "hit mih here." And dat lil side used to beat people.

Archie was ah good brother. I suppose still is. Last time I saw him was about 5 years ago, went to his house in Carenage with my lil brother.

Ah sure was some youth men from Point nah?

Offline slates

• Big-up L'Anse Mitan Carenage
« Reply #19 on: October 25, 2005, 02:26:55 PM »
Point, I not sayin de man was not from Point. But de man lived in Carenage at one time. And while there, he schooled Carenage youth men, including myself.

Cool boss?
Toujour Pret!

« Reply #20 on: October 25, 2005, 02:36:14 PM »
Are you sure it was Warren, or Abdul, or Bede? Ah think Warren has been in the States since his NASL days in the late '60's. ???

« Reply #21 on: October 25, 2005, 02:57:15 PM »
Yeah Warren lives in NYC now. Slates ah was being defensive breds, I cool.

« Reply #22 on: October 25, 2005, 03:57:56 PM »
I think Milton aka Abdul had a place in Caranege. By the way both he and Bede was deadly as well.

Tesh died last year. RIP big man

« Reply #23 on: October 25, 2005, 04:02:29 PM »
Thanks Observer, I didn't know that about Russell. He was a fantastic player. He will be missed.

Offline Oz

« Reply #24 on: October 25, 2005, 04:15:51 PM »
In de early stages of CONCACAF qualifying, I was in the Orange Bowl in Miami to look at the Haiti vs Jamaica first round tie.  The Haitians in the crowd were talking about the game being their first big step on their "return" to Germany.  I remember thinking "It should have been us in Germany.  This is OUR DESTINY".

Doh worry people, God doh like ugly.  If ever there were a time for poetic justice, this is it.

« Reply #25 on: October 25, 2005, 04:23:40 PM »

Hey Oz, dem older Haitian ha real respect for Archie, whenever I talk to dem bout 74. Dey does jes giggle but they real respect Archie. I was thinkin de other day about 73/74 when we came close. ah was a lil boy from Point and remembering how somber de mood was then when dey tief we and seeing dem men who we look up to being so dejected, well hear we go again and ah real feeling de positives dis time.  As dey say " de tird time is ah charm" dis is we time!!!!

VIBES IT UP TRINIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #26 on: October 25, 2005, 06:05:36 PM »
Well ah never see them men play in dey time but Leon Carpette was my coach in P/Ville and I also went out with he daughter (she was fine haven't seen her in some years though).  Carpette was a really good coach and man did fraid him too

« Reply #27 on: October 25, 2005, 06:51:38 PM »
Well ah never see them men play in dey time but Leon Carpette was my coach in P/Ville and I also went out with he daughter (she was fine haven't seen her in some years though).  Carpette was a really good coach and man did fraid him too

hhahah dat red man was not easy nah. hard like banga and I can't remember a fitter human being nah. If yuh get ketch wid he dauhter and decide to run, yuh ass dark hahahahahah ;D

« Reply #28 on: October 25, 2005, 07:08:48 PM »

hhahah dat red man was not easy nah. hard like banga and I can't remember a fitter human being nah. If yuh get ketch wid he dauhter and decide to run, yuh ass dark hahahahahah ;D

Nah because dat time I had real toes...nobody was ketchin me especially if is Carpette tryin to ketch me dey yuh mad.  I was outta site bredda  ;D

Offline broko

That was DESTINY fellas, we should be sending 2 teams to Germany....
« Reply #29 on: November 16, 2005, 02:41:46 PM »
This team  and the one dey tief in '74. Dem fellas beat Mexico, put 5 on Haiti and get tief. They deserve to go to Germany this time around to let the World know that this is the second time we qualify for the World Cup. I propose that we get sponsors for EVERY MEMBER of that team, to furnish them with airfare, tickets , accomadation etc and most importantly full TnT warriors kit, to be at all the games in Germany. It is time to right this wrong. They did us proud then and I think they deserve no less.