April 18, 2024, 01:20:44 PM

Author Topic: Who is the world's best free kick specialist???  (Read 11458 times)

Re: Who is the world's best free kick specialist???
« Reply #60 on: December 09, 2005, 06:18:52 AM »
1)JUNINHO
2)BECKHAM
3)CARLOS

Offline FATZ

• I SELL FOOTBALL JERSEYS
« Reply #61 on: December 09, 2005, 07:30:36 AM »
1)JUNINHO
2)BECKHAM
3)CARLOS

I have to rate Pirlo now, he is becoming a master of the art and forget Carlos and Beckham in the top 3, they miss more than hit.
WELCOME TO DINSLEY OUT IN THE STREETZ THEY CALL ME FATZ

Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I can do all things. Phil 4:13

« Reply #62 on: December 09, 2005, 07:38:21 AM »
I would say Beckham is the best corner kicker

« Reply #63 on: December 09, 2005, 08:20:19 AM »
Riise

Interesting to note that John Arne Riise has only scored 1 free kick for Liverpool, but because it was such a high-profile screamer against Manchester United, people consider him a free kick specialist.

Nobody mentioned Shevchenko...I know you don't really put him in the free kick category, but I saw him score a few from a dead ball for Milan...He will probably take free kicks for the Ukraine in the WC..

« Reply #64 on: December 09, 2005, 08:39:09 AM »
Someone just quoted one of my posts and said that Beckham is an amazing player and the best free kick taker in the world. I'm wondering if that person is slow, simple or stupid or an ass, a marble or a string or the ass that tried to balance the marble on the string. My choice for best free kick specialist is Pernambucano Juninho of Brazil and Lyon.
wah gwan boss like yu looking for stars or what??? how yu go ask a question like dat..Like yu neva see Beckham in action or yu trying to pull a quick one on we and see who go bawl out EVE???!!!!!!!!!!!!! yu asking answers dey boss.. But anywey since mi here.....beckham is de man!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
warmonga...

Offline Slacker

« Reply #65 on: December 09, 2005, 09:07:15 AM »
I think that at the moment, Juninho Pernambucano is probably the best. He is an integral part of the Lyon Side and his freekicks as far as i have seen very rarely ever miss their mark, they are either saved, scored or just missed.

Having said that I think that people are being a little harsh on Beckham, granted that he is not the player blessed with the greatest overall gifts but he is deadly with a dead ball at his feet. While he may not have scored for a while I think that this is down to confidence. Beckham in open play may be average but with a dead ball at his feet he is World Class.

I aslo think that Ronaldinho is very underrated when it comes to freekicks. His imagination and guile comes to the fore when he is taking freekicks, His freekick against Ollie Kahn in Germany was breathtaking. De man chip ah freekick into de vee and Khan eh even move, now that is class.

Others would be:
(In no particular Order)

Marcos Asuncao(Betis)
Thierry Henry
Recoba
Mihajlovic
Del Piero
Totti
Rui Costa
Pirlo

« Reply #66 on: December 09, 2005, 09:54:57 AM »
1) Juninho
2) Pirlo

Everybody else second.

Beckham is excellent but really a marketing prodigy.

Roberto Carlos is a fraud. He score 2 of the most beautiful ever but other than that, nothing to really talk about.

« Reply #67 on: December 09, 2005, 09:59:50 AM »
I like dat post there dumps

« Reply #68 on: December 09, 2005, 10:50:55 AM »
1) Juninho
2) Pirlo

Everybody else second.

Roberto Carlos is a fraud. He score 2 of the most beautiful ever but other than that, nothing to really talk about.

In all fairness to R.Carlos...he is not the traditional free-kick taker. He takes free kicks from distances that most players never shoot from. In any other team, when you get a free kick from 40 yards out, you're expecting a service into the box..............but with R.Carlos, there is a possibility of a shot.........and the chances of scoring a shot from such distance are very small....but with him, there is a chance.....

I wouldn't rate him as one the the world's best free-kick specialists, but I think he adds a dimension to free kicks that no other player does.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2005, 10:56:52 AM by kicker »

« Reply #69 on: December 09, 2005, 10:57:59 AM »
1) Juninho
2) Pirlo

Everybody else second.

by far the most accurate post in this thread...agree 100% 

World's best free kick takers
« Reply #70 on: October 28, 2013, 07:43:19 PM »
Thought you may all enjoy this look at the best free kick taking team ever assembled!

But I'm sure we'll have our views on those who were not included!

http://www.ftbpro.com/posts/peter.tarrant/350871/the-world-s-best-free-kick-takers-xi

« Reply #71 on: October 29, 2013, 12:19:03 AM »
... I say we compile a team of best-free kick takers from CURRENT players ... expected Tarrant to focus on that.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2013, 04:46:25 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #72 on: October 29, 2013, 03:34:18 AM »
Right now it is Ronaldinho.

« Reply #73 on: May 07, 2014, 01:04:14 PM »
The answer is ...these guys: ;D

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/yHNiamEhdjY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/yHNiamEhdjY</a>

Kyoto Sanga v Yokohama; J-League yesterday.

« Reply #74 on: May 07, 2014, 01:08:28 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/bodNmWa2TDo#t=101" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/bodNmWa2TDo#t=101</a>

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Watch fuh de man on de ground.

Ponte Preta v. Paraná ... goal by Lucio Flavio (not named by Scolari  :devil:).

Incredibly, this game went to PKs ... won 8-7 by Ponte Preta. Also played yesterday.

http://globoesporte.globo.com/futebol/copa-do-brasil/temporeal/06-05-2014/ponte-preta-parana/#topolances

« Last Edit: May 07, 2014, 01:17:57 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #75 on: May 07, 2014, 01:11:58 PM »
As a ref I'm surprised he allowed him to lay on teh floor behind a wall - seems like that's an accident waiting to happen and refs are supposed to be ensuring a safe game as well - how easy would it be for a player to come down from his jump onto that guy's face?

« Reply #76 on: May 07, 2014, 01:36:43 PM »
As a ref I'm surprised he allowed him to lay on teh floor behind a wall - seems like that's an accident waiting to happen and refs are supposed to be ensuring a safe game as well - how easy would it be for a player to come down from his jump onto that guy's face?

That should not be allowed. A yellow card actually, like lifting a player to score a header.

« Reply #77 on: May 10, 2014, 03:59:33 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5lPxzxSzq9c&amp;list=UUewT89kVdHrYnrzhgE72wdA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5lPxzxSzq9c&amp;list=UUewT89kVdHrYnrzhgE72wdA</a>