October 05, 2024, 03:14:16 PM

Author Topic: Stern and pros still basking in W/Cup glory.  (Read 3870 times)

Stern and pros still basking in W/Cup glory.
« on: November 21, 2005, 04:02:58 PM »
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Some of  Trinidad and Tobago’s overseas-based footballers have continued to revel in the success of qualifying for next year’s World Cup Finals and have fittingly been the toast among their fans back at their respective clubs over the past few days.
But there have been some concerns coming from some of the club bosses over the fitness and availability of a couple of the players like Kenwyne Jones and Kelvin Jack while striker Stern John has been left out of his team for the next two matches and has not been acknowledged by his club manager Phil Brown.
But for John, while he has come back down to earth since T&T’s qualification, nothing will have a negative effect on their feelings.
John, as he settled back in at his Birmingham home on the weekend, was able to carefully give his take on T&T’s World Cup booking.
“It’s definitely the most exciting time of our lives. It’s everyone’s dream to reach and play in a World Cup and for the fans too, it’s their biggest wish to see their players reach a   World Cup and I think we are experiencing all the love because of this,” John told TTFF Media.
“The fans are still congratulating us. Some are shocked that we made it and it’s not just about getting the rewards that comes with it, but just the fact that this is the biggest moment in my career and the other guys as well. All the persons who played a part in this has every reason to be on high clouds right now.”
He was not as cheerful sounding though when having to comment on the response coming from Brown.
“The manager didn’t  have much to say but that’s okay. For someone who had been chasing me down since I was back in Trinidad for a qualifying game, I thought he would have been somewhat happy but that’s life I guess. Now it’s like they don’t care. They have not even included me in the squad for the next two games but there’s nothing that can take away from this experience. I’ve been dropped before and I bounce back. Nothing is going to break me now,” John stressed.
The former MLS topscorer said too, that while he appreciated all the love shown to the team upon qualification, he wanted to say a special thanks to those who were there from the early days.
“We need to say a special thanks to those who have been with us from the early part of the campaign, from the days when only 5,000 fans would come to the Stadium. The fans who just came on need to be aware of what it takes to be a true supporter and to everyone else who will like to be involved now in whatever area must understand that there are others who have been here before them and respect that at the same time. All in all though nothing could beat back the love we got when we arrived home especially from the kids,” John added. “The other people like players too – Arnold (Dwarika), Gary (Glasgow), Angus (Eve), Mickey (Trotman) and others who have been there from before and they must be mentioned too”
The T&T topscorer with 64 goals with 91 matches, had special regards for Jack Warner, Russell Latapy and Dwight Yorke.
“There’s so much that can be said about Jack Warner and the entire team is really grateful for what he has done for us. I don’t think he would maybe understand how we feel about his assistance but a large part of it is responsible for what we have achieved. People could say what they want about him but the main thing is that he has delivered for us,”
“Dwight and Russell deserve all the praises too and even though I was playing in the early matches when they were not here, I must say that I am really happy that they can end up in a World Cup now and they both deserve it. Even Michael Maurice deserves credit because he has been there since 1989,” said John.

Re: Stern and pros still basking in W/Cup glory.
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2005, 04:13:27 PM »
Again, I salute Stern John. De man has been with the team from the beginning.  :salute:

Ah hope his club manager stop playin up in de ass and put Stern on the starting team again. Dey need a striker of his calibre.  :beermug:

I doh respect coaches who cant fully understand the importance and prestige of international duty.

« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2005, 04:24:31 PM »
Note how he label de just-come fans.  When de team was not winning, de stadium was empty.  I feel proud after I wenf Hartford and watch them fellas hold they own with 10 men.  Even though we lost, I still take ah chip after de game, and that is because I was seeing some resilience coming into the team.  After that night, I still had faith that we would do the business at home, and I predicted that we wold beat Panama in Panama.  Long live the Warriors!

Offline Girl Warrior

« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2005, 04:27:00 PM »
The man talk from he heart there. Respect.
Notice how he make special mention of the waggonists
Ah find too much of them coaches moving dread with we boys man. Oh gosh!
The revolution is not an apple that falls when it is ripe. You have to make it fall... Che Guevara

« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2005, 04:46:39 PM »
Stern gonna light up england in the 2nd half of the season
he dis all the waggonists too
i like dat haha

« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2005, 05:29:09 PM »
waggonist who want to talk bout waggonist yuh believe that shit boy as for stern i hope he find a club that could bring out his ability and one that can appreciate a very good striker big respect to stern.O IF YUH JUST JOIN THE FORUM DON'T POINT OUT WAGGONIST YOU ONLY POINTING OUT YOURSELF

« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2005, 05:45:52 PM »
waggonist who want to talk bout waggonist yuh believe that shit boy as for stern i hope he find a club that could bring out his ability and one that can appreciate a very good striker big respect to stern.O IF YUH JUST JOIN THE FORUM DON'T POINT OUT WAGGONIST YOU ONLY POINTING OUT YOURSELF

Jus joining the forum dont mean yuh a waggonist necessarily..My mums following the team since day one and she not on the forum so if she now come on de forum she a waggonist? stop throwing that around stupidly

Offline BigToe

• Laaaaard, ah cyan take it no more
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2005, 06:07:45 PM »
By: Shaun Fuentes.
The former MLS topscorer said too, that while he appreciated all the love shown to the team upon qualification, he wanted to say a special thanks to those who were there from the early days.

“We need to say a special thanks to those who have been with us from the early part of the campaign, from the days when only 5,000 fans would come to the Stadium. The fans who just came on need to be aware of what it takes to be a true supporter and to everyone else who will like to be involved now in whatever area must

Stern:

It's called a Waggonist. Check de Warriors website for the definition.

« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2005, 06:16:42 PM »
all i am sayin is if yuh now join the sight doh point nobody out as a waggonist cause if yuh was interested in the team yuh woulda come on the sight long time ago and join the lime now that we qualify yuh want to make yuh self known. some of them even like to say i"i been on the sight long time i just never post bull shit " hey like i always say i doh puh water in meh mouth to talk

« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2005, 06:57:04 PM »
Morvantman, ah taking ah boro from yuh line " All yuh like Waggonist take over de board"  :beermug:  :rotfl:

Any way, on a serious note, well said Stern, nothing needed tuh be added to dat statement. I do feel it fuh dem guys dat have club managers, who give dem ah hard time when dey return from playing fuh T&T, like dat F;'./[]/G Phil Brown. The man above doh sleep, all u guys will get yuh reward in time, be patient.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2005, 07:12:28 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2005, 07:02:50 PM »
go ahead supa ;D

« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2005, 07:12:43 PM »

if yuh was interested in the team yuh woulda come on the sight long time ago and join the lime now that we qualify yuh want to

wha allyuh does be really saying sah!?....didden realise in order tuh be ah long time supporter yuh had tuh join socawarriors.com.......

« Reply #12 on: November 21, 2005, 07:17:23 PM »
breds de term waggonist has been around for many years  it is not some new tern coined on dis board!

steups!

« Reply #13 on: November 21, 2005, 07:18:01 PM »
actually it is socawarriors.net father and i could see you not understanding conversation right now so i will excuse you

« Reply #14 on: November 21, 2005, 07:30:20 PM »
Just because someone have a low number of post means they are a waggonist, why because they did not take the time to sign up and log on...stueeeps!!!!
I only now joing the site a few months ago, was reading for some time before and, and what I know bout Trini football now is loads more than before I come to the site, but I still was not a waggonist when I had my 1st post, just a newbie.

As for Stern, when he was not scoring I for one was calling for him to be on the bench, but nobody could ever question his dedication to the team, not even me.

Offline Girl Warrior

« Reply #15 on: November 21, 2005, 07:33:39 PM »

This girl is very offended. Since I was 8 I've been watching strike squad men like Leonson and Michael Maurice run ball in Sando and clearly remember watching Jamerson and Hutson Charles and then coach Clayton Morris on TV and loving the sport since then. So who de hell is you to come up in here to make accusations on who you think is waggonists when we just making mention of what John said.
The revolution is not an apple that falls when it is ripe. You have to make it fall... Che Guevara

« Reply #16 on: November 21, 2005, 07:38:32 PM »
if i offended you then i am sorry but if yuh take time out and read carefully you might just understand what i was trying to say i done talk

« Reply #17 on: November 21, 2005, 07:48:58 PM »
They are many people who recently started posting that are waggonist, but there are also those that are not.... Amount of posts does not = long time soca warrior.. Many of us having been around since Marc Purcel days, and although I read everyday, I don't post everyday.. Sometimes I have no opinion, sometimes I just don't feel to get involed in some argument that will never end. Some people have plenty posts and just join, some maybe waggonist some are not. But as someone say You doh have to be a member of socawarriors to prove you are a fan, but I kind of find it hard to believe someone who say they reading for years, but never ever post...
Welcome Girl Warrior, you have nothing to prove to anyone....Some people count hi but they jus join, but 99% of their posts is sh!t.

Offline Girl Warrior

« Reply #18 on: November 21, 2005, 08:09:44 PM »
Thanks Samo... for the welcome and the reassurance.
Airman... i'm sorry for getting all riled up. I'm a female who quick to stand up for myself :challenge:

« Reply #19 on: November 21, 2005, 08:13:17 PM »
99% of my posts iz shyt talk but thats what i came to do ;D

but to say yuh reading fuh long time and never post i does take that as ah dis because i does be acking questions and allyuh know de answer and cyar even give meh ah reply and yuh just comming on de board to suck men dry fuh information >:(
« Last Edit: November 21, 2005, 08:14:54 PM by morvantman »

« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2005, 08:23:34 PM »
99% of my posts iz shyt talk but thats what i came to do ;D

but to say yuh reading fuh long time and never post i does take that as ah dis because i does be acking questions and allyuh know de answer and cyar even give meh ah reply and yuh just comming on de board to suck men dry fuh information >:(

breds dey have man here who stop posting because de board gorn wild, wild wild.

Ah telling yuh de trute

Plenty ah we does email each odde fuh years and does talk on msn too.

Too much wildness take over in some man mind

« Reply #21 on: November 21, 2005, 08:32:35 PM »
hmmmmmmmm yuh have meh wondering if i iz ah wildman

i feel i iz one oui

i go try to cool it down ah little :beermug:

Offline cm103

« Reply #22 on: November 21, 2005, 10:26:39 PM »
Ah wonder if dem players from d bigger countries that normally make d cup does run into dem manager problems? Seems nobody does take TnT on outside...dis rounds dem men go change dat.

« Reply #23 on: November 22, 2005, 09:40:46 AM »
Nuff men post on this site and don't know de game of soccer in general.  That just as bad as not being on the site.  Yuh can't judge ah man by how long he sign up for de board, but yuh could tell ah man that does follow de game anyday. ;)

« Reply #24 on: November 22, 2005, 10:13:15 AM »
morvantman.. There is a difference between sh!t and sh!t talk... We all sh!t talk here, but I would not say you post sh!t... I doh want to call socawarriors names, but de day we qualify a man post, we should not be celebrating yet, we ned to get our act together from now no time to celebrate....(That is a real sh!t post.. Historic occasion and we cyah celebrate..