April 28, 2024, 12:01:42 PM

Author Topic: Anyone from London planning on going Germany......  (Read 18354 times)

Offline rasajoy

Anyone from London planning on going Germany......
« on: November 19, 2005, 04:46:11 PM »
Hi Guys,
rasajoy here
If anyone is planningon going to Germany from the UK can you let me know, I will be here until August so I believe that I can manage to go to a few games but if there are folks thinking the same way I am thinking please let me know. I really at least want to the TNT play one game self, I would take a plane for one day just to go.
I am in Essex, my closest airport is Stansted.
Now please if you are considering please include flight, tickets, accomm, transport and food from one night, two nights, three night etc.

Oh by the way found this website http://www.opodo.co.uk concerning flights......

also wanted to find out about visa requirement from either trinidad and in my case I am not resident here but voluntary worker here, what do I do?

rasajoy
 :angel:
« Last Edit: November 21, 2005, 09:56:37 AM by Tallman »

Re: Anyone from London planning on going Germany......
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2005, 05:10:29 PM »
also wanted to find out about visa requirement from either trinidad and in my case I am not resident here but voluntary worker here, what do I do?

Ay rasajoy, what's up wid taking the channel tunnel and then the Eurorail into Germany? Is that more cost effective or more expensive than just flying over to Germany? Ah eh kno, I living in the US.

« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2005, 08:36:55 PM »

Ay rasajoy, what's up wid taking the channel tunnel and then the Eurorail into Germany? Is that more cost effective or more expensive than just flying over to Germany? Ah eh kno, I living in the US.

i think it'll be more cheap to travel by train.

Offline cm103

« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2005, 12:06:06 AM »
From d time d goal score we was planning to make d trip through England. It cheaper to fly dey from Miami. How much is d trip by train to say...Berlin or Frankfurt?

If allyuh men in d UK find that info post it. It might end up having a big side making that turn.

« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2005, 02:05:14 AM »
yeah boy forgot bout that English channel tunnel..that might be real cheaper with train to Germany.
it costing me $1200 US to fly from Minneapolis to Frankfurt from June 7th to June 26th..if i leave on May 31st..the ticket went down to $600 lol.
to me the biggest expense going to be hotel accomodations..whcih was almost $2000 for 3 weeks at Motel 1..i fraid to check out the price of a real hotel though lol.
allyuh have any other ideas bout making this trip cheaper?...i was thinking maybe renting a motor home or RV might be a good move too..what allyuh think?

« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2005, 02:18:05 AM »
I hear men talking that RV talk too...rent a rv? how much that go be?

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2005, 02:26:17 AM »
I live in London and God's willing I will be in Germany. I want to see T&T group games so I know I'll have to spend some rel dunzi's. I have a contact in Frankfurt, Germany, so once that person is still there next June, my accommodation book. I am researching the cheapest way to get there but remember, flights with EasyJet from Stanstead to Europe, cost as little as £10.00-£20.00. If you do not have a British passport, you will have to check to German Embassy, as I believe you will need a visa with  T&T passport.

Offline rasajoy

« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2005, 02:49:12 AM »
yes I know that I will have ot get the Sch... visa that would be easy because I have the TNT passport. But if i am coming it will be only after the opening for tnt matches once we know which group they are in we can better book from then that is 9th December
If your friend still there then I am up for that too. I am only a volunteer here so that means I making this trip by faith and not by sight  ;) ;D :angel:
rasajoy

« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2005, 03:28:44 AM »
Trini's need ah Schengen (not sure on the spelling) visa to go Germany if yuh not a naturalised citizen of an EC country. It cost my mother £75 when she went to France 2 years ago....not sure the cost now. Once you get it you can actually go to quite a few other countries as well. The easy one to get lasts from 1-3 months (more than enough time fuh the WC).....gets complicated if you want a longer one.

Travel by plane is the cheapest option if yuh don't or fraid  :devil: to drive. Fuh rasajoy, Ryanair is the chepest option from Stansted as I don't think easyjet goes to Germany from there. It will be under £100 if booked early. But car ferry to france - then driving to Germany (live the dream on the autobahn baby) is the cheapest (at least that is how many of us in the Army go to Germany). Channel Tunnel (Train) is gonna be over...well over £100 return, especially in what will be high season.

Hotel accomodation as in all countries varies....but if yuh  25 or under try to join the YHA(youth hostel association). That is the cheapest accomodation I know of that you could pretty much garuntee will be of a basic but satisfactory standard (especially in Germany!). Hotel accomodation in Germany is actually cheaper like for like than England (meaning one night in the Germany equivalent of a Travel Lodge is cheaper...in the UK is about £30 - £35 per night). Remember yuh go have tuh start booking quick! cause them prices go sky rocket once the draw done on the 9th.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2005, 03:36:02 AM by Rodney »

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2005, 04:54:17 AM »
im 100% goin, does any1 know when the tickets goin on sale in trini?

« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2005, 05:22:25 AM »
Trini's need ah Schengen (not sure on the spelling) visa to go Germany if yuh not a naturalised citizen of an EC country. It cost my mother £75 when she went to France 2 years ago....not sure the cost now. Once you get it you can actually go to quite a few other countries as well. The easy one to get lasts from 1-3 months (more than enough time fuh the WC).....gets complicated if you want a longer one.

Travel by plane is the cheapest option if yuh don't or fraid  :devil: to drive. Fuh rasajoy, Ryanair is the chepest option from Stansted as I don't think easyjet goes to Germany from there. It will be under £100 if booked early. But car ferry to france - then driving to Germany (live the dream on the autobahn baby) is the cheapest (at least that is how many of us in the Army go to Germany). Channel Tunnel (Train) is gonna be over...well over £100 return, especially in what will be high season.

Hotel accomodation as in all countries varies....but if yuh  25 or under try to join the YHA(youth hostel association). That is the cheapest accomodation I know of that you could pretty much garuntee will be of a basic but satisfactory standard (especially in Germany!). Hotel accomodation in Germany is actually cheaper like for like than England (meaning one night in the Germany equivalent of a Travel Lodge is cheaper...in the UK is about £30 - £35 per night). Remember yuh go have tuh start booking quick! cause them prices go sky rocket once the draw done on the 9th.

Rodney's given the best advice so far. The Schengen is not that expensive these days, unless you go through a specialist agency, in which case you get in faster. Everyone however is quoting ticket prices and accommodation fares based on normal travel to Germany. I can tell you it is going to be very difficult to find affordable accomodation come next year, this is the World Cup people, millions from around the world are going to converge on Germany who have been planning for this longer than any of us. Also the Schengen can take up to 6 weeks to get at peak times, because of the appointment process the Schengen signatory countries have decided to adopt. And yes the visitors one is either 1 or 3 months, depending on the discretion of the Embassy and the purpose of your visit.

Also, nothing realistically can be booked until we know who is in our group and in what City/Cities we're going to be playing.

Offline rasajoy

« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2005, 03:35:47 PM »
yeah but place to say I don't ahve much money help can we raise funds from UK have a BBQ or something ........... hahaahah :angel:

« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2005, 03:53:46 PM »
yeah boy forgot bout that English channel tunnel..that might be real cheaper with train to Germany.
it costing me $1200 US to fly from Minneapolis to Frankfurt from June 7th to June 26th..if i leave on May 31st..the ticket went down to $600 lol.
to me the biggest expense going to be hotel accomodations..whcih was almost $2000 for 3 weeks at Motel 1..i fraid to check out the price of a real hotel though lol.
allyuh have any other ideas bout making this trip cheaper?...i was thinking maybe renting a motor home or RV might be a good move too..what allyuh think?

there are some Germans who does be on the forum like Latso, maybe we should ask him to link up some accomadations for we. also if yuh talking bout taking the train, whey yuh taking it from. I was figuring flying to England and going over to mainland Europe thru the channel tunnel to France and THEN take de train to Germany...unless you fly directly to France and then take de train to Germany. Leh me kno wha allyuh think.

« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2005, 05:17:21 PM »
flying from Minnesota costing me roughly $1200 a person..if i was living on the east coast it woulda been so much cheaper..is bout $600 from NY to London..and i sure they have cheaper than that if u really look...on that Ryan air them boy talking bout..its $160 for 2 people to Franfurk from London...also Latso was telling me the price of a motel is bout $50US a night.
so Rodneyl what the cost of renting a car per day and how much gas it taking from london to germany?..whats the price of a motor caoch too?..how long is a typical journey lets say to berlin or hamburg?..also if u driving u still need that visa?

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2005, 05:20:32 PM »
Boy Feliz ... why yuh have to come and heavy the lime all the way here in London ... wayyyyy

buh whatever.
Here's my plan.

Fly to Copenhagen or Vienna ... Eurorail it to Frankfurt.
Then use whatever local transport to TT's area.
If you in dat ... lemme know.

If I have to walk back home .. small ting.
I go jess take the Titanic across the Atlantic.
I always wanted to stand on the tip of the boat and yell "Im the king of the world"

Offline Latso

anyone from germany going to the matches from T&T????
« Reply #15 on: November 20, 2005, 05:39:58 PM »
hi, is here someome how want to go to the trinidad & tobago matches 2006????

please check dis out

www.germanwarriors.de.tt

(Sorry, only 3 thinks are workin' yet. I will prepare the other's to bring dem up tommorrow or on wednesday)

Offline rasajoy

« Reply #16 on: November 21, 2005, 05:44:00 AM »
okay guys let us try and organise this thing good.
I am in the Uk, so I can take the train or the plane but it seems that the train is the least expensive of the two. Can someone supply us with links to train and flight websites please

rasajoy

« Reply #17 on: November 21, 2005, 05:49:37 AM »
Boy Feliz ... why yuh have to come and heavy the lime all the way here in London ... wayyyyy

buh whatever.
Here's my plan.

Fly to Copenhagen or Vienna ... Eurorail it to Frankfurt.
Then use whatever local transport to TT's area.
If you in dat ... lemme know.

If I have to walk back home .. small ting.
I go jess take the Titanic across the Atlantic.
I always wanted to stand on the tip of the boat and yell "Im the king of the world"

i had picked London first cause i thought they would be cheaper to fly too and had more air traffic..but i didnt get round to looking at other cities like Madrid and Paris etc..but thats a good idea with the Copenhagen or Vienna route..i go look into it some more tonight then..laters

« Reply #18 on: November 21, 2005, 06:53:08 AM »
okay guys let us try and organise this thing good.
I am in the Uk, so I can take the train or the plane but it seems that the train is the least expensive of the two. Can someone supply us with links to train and flight websites please

rasajoy

You are mistaken! No way is the Eurostar cheaper than flying....once yuh get to Europe ok, the connecting Rail links are (currently) quite cheap. You have way more variety than trains with the Ferry and Planes. It is currently over £120 for a return to Paris and then yuh still have to pay for the connecting train to Germany.... May/June is high season and the World cup is on...it will be more expensive! I've said it before a return flight to Germany can be purchased from the no-frills airlines for under £100 or take the Ferry to France/Holland/Belgium or Spain then get the Train from there.

so Rodneyl what the cost of renting a car per day and how much gas it taking from london to germany?..whats the price of a motor caoch too?..how long is a typical journey lets say to berlin or hamburg?..also if u driving u still need that visa?

Currently National Express (the main coach company in the UK) quoting £92 for a return to Frankfurt. Yuh leave from Victoria Station round the corner from the train station and get drop off at the main Rail Station in Frankfurt, the journey is about 14-15 hours. As for Car rental, man that does vary big time but if I getting quotes from Eurocars for around £100 - £120 to have a rental for 1 week picking up and dropping off at Heathrow. Journey by Car, if yuh know where yuh going and brave on the autobahn should take between 11 and 13 hours (both including the Ferry). I went to Belgium through France not to long ago and that took 8 hours.

As with everthing this is before the World Cup rush.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2005, 07:29:27 AM by Rodney »

Offline rasajoy

« Reply #19 on: November 21, 2005, 08:13:33 AM »
okay so you think I should take a flight instead, I am confused

http://www.ryanair.com

this is the site I found for the flights
« Last Edit: November 21, 2005, 09:55:26 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2005, 08:31:25 AM »
okay so you think I should take a flight instead, I am confused

in one word...Yes!

Offline rasajoy

« Reply #21 on: November 21, 2005, 08:37:11 AM »
okay second task not confused about that, I know I have to get my visa so I have the forms for that, accomm, can we share as TNT supporters? Then tickets to the game how can we goet those before it is sold out, I would imagine we need to wait on that draw... :angel:

Ticket Prices
                           Category 1            Category2                Category3            Category 4
Opening Match         300.00 €             180.00 €                 115.00 €              65.00 €

Group Games           100.00 €              60.00 €                  45.00 €                35.00 €

Final Sixteen            120.00 €              75.00 €                   60.00 €               45.00 €

Quarter finals           180.00 €              110.00 €                 85.00 €                55.00 €

Semi-finals               400.00 €              240.00 €                 150.00 €              90.00 €

3rd place play-off     120.00 €               75.00 €                   60.00 €               45.00 €

Final                       600.00 €               360.00 €                 220.00 €             120.00 €

Seats in Category 1 are generally located alongside the pitch.
Seats in Category 2 are generally located adjacent to Category 1.
Seats in Category 3 are generally located behind the goals or on the corners.
Seats in Category 4 are generally located behind the goals or on the corners.

depending on the draw

http://eur.i1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/i/eu/fifa/nsen.pdf

Draw Kick off time is 15:15 in trinidad which is 3:15pm while in the UK it is 19:15 which is 7:15pm on the 9th December
« Last Edit: November 21, 2005, 09:56:06 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #22 on: November 21, 2005, 12:00:19 PM »
AY!! allyuh real confusing man. It sound like once yuh in mainland Europe the rail/train is the most economical way to go(correct meh if ah wrong) and it's just ah matter of getting to Europe...either France and Spain or even England even though allyuh across the channel. Gehmeh some feedback, again, plenty ah we coming from the States.

« Reply #23 on: November 21, 2005, 12:44:27 PM »
AY!! allyuh real confusing man. It sound like once yuh in mainland Europe the rail/train is the most economical way to go(correct meh if ah wrong) and it's just ah matter of getting to Europe...either France and Spain or even England even though allyuh across the channel. Gehmeh some feedback, again, plenty ah we coming from the States.

It is fairly straightforward as to why rail travel from the UK to Europe is expensive compared to Travel within mainland Europe or the UK. There is only ONE direct route, this is through the Channel Tunnel which is soley operated by Eurostar. Yuh can't shop around, simple as that. All other advertised 'RAIL LINKS' are not truley direct links but usually involve a ferry crossing. Personnally, Driving from the UK or Flying direct to Germany are by far the Cheapest options but once there, as in most countries the Rail network is the simplest though not necessarily most comfortable option for commuting.

« Reply #24 on: November 21, 2005, 12:57:19 PM »

It is fairly straightforward as to why rail travel from the UK to Europe is expensive compared to Travel within mainland Europe or the UK. There is only ONE direct route, this is through the Channel Tunnel which is soley operated by Eurostar. Yuh can't shop around, simple as that. All other advertised 'RAIL LINKS' are not truley direct links but usually involve a ferry crossing. Personnally, Driving from the UK or Flying direct to Germany are by far the Cheapest options but once there, as in most countries the Rail network is the simplest though not necessarily most comfortable option for commuting.

so Rodney what kind of fare are we talking about going from Eng to France via the channel tunnel? round trip. Also, how much are the rail passes once in mainland Europe that allows you to travel to different countries?

« Reply #25 on: November 21, 2005, 02:30:20 PM »
so Rodney what kind of fare are we talking about going from Eng to France via the channel tunnel? round trip. Also, how much are the rail passes once in mainland Europe that allows you to travel to different countries?

I already quoted the current cost to Paris earlier in the thread, remember cheap Eurostar tickets (i.e. those under £100) are low season and late deals which aint of any use during the World Cup

Here is a link with all the info you need about passes, cost etc ....

http://www.raileurope.com/us/index.htm
« Last Edit: November 21, 2005, 02:33:41 PM by Rodney »

« Reply #26 on: November 21, 2005, 02:40:11 PM »

I already quoted the current cost to Paris earlier in the thread, remember cheap Eurostar tickets (i.e. those under £100) are low season and late deals which aint of any use during the World Cup

Here is a link with all the info you need about passes, cost etc ....

Thanks
http://www.raileurope.com/us/index.htm

Offline gony

• http://spaces.msn.com/members/lockigermany/
« Reply #27 on: November 21, 2005, 03:33:11 PM »
cheapest way from uk to germany is ryan air

Offline rasajoy

« Reply #28 on: November 21, 2005, 04:14:52 PM »
yes I checked it out too it is the cheapest way

« Reply #29 on: November 21, 2005, 04:18:29 PM »
yes I checked it out too it is the cheapest way

how much we talking  bout so.