April 28, 2024, 10:21:13 PM

Author Topic: Brent Rahim Thread  (Read 82500 times)

Offline dombasil

Re: Rahim goes back to the books.
« Reply #330 on: August 03, 2006, 12:48:22 PM »
Men who play for trinidad and play in de premeirship

Yorke - Aston Villa
Shaka - West Ham
Stern - Birmingham
Jones - Southampton
Marcelle - Barnsley
Shakes - Bolton......he make some league cup appearances
Warner - Fulham

NB:- Duscam, Rahim never made a first team appearance for West Ham and the club was relagated that year.  In fact, he never had a contract with them because they took him on a six month lean!!

ah love it

this is a straight case of de man realising that he is going nowhere with football so he has decided to go with plan B!

And nothing wrong with that.

« Reply #331 on: August 03, 2006, 01:06:57 PM »
A sad day man.
As much as he underperformed I always hoped that he would break out one day and make good on the potential that got Newcastle interested

« Reply #332 on: August 03, 2006, 02:07:53 PM »
De only Indian on we team f**king retiring we....  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Now I only hope Kaejay Ramdoo (u-16), Javed Mohammed (u-20) and Sookoo and dougla ranking Kendall Jagdeosingh could step it up.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2006, 02:22:11 PM by Sam »

« Reply #333 on: August 03, 2006, 02:15:53 PM »

Now I only hope Kaejay Ramdoo (u-16), Javed Mohammed (u-20) and Sookoo and dougla ranking Kendall Jagdeosingh could step it up.

kendall blacker than me

anyways big up rahim fuh goin back and hiting de youths nuff spaner

« Reply #334 on: August 03, 2006, 02:23:52 PM »
So indian not black ? you is ah real ass in true we.... is have some blue india.

« Reply #335 on: August 03, 2006, 02:26:11 PM »
So indian not black ? you is ah real ass in true we.... is have some blue india.

yuh aint understanding what i saying

what i was saying was he doh look it

if he iz ah indian i iz ah chinee

« Reply #336 on: August 03, 2006, 02:35:04 PM »
De man father is indian boy.... de creole blood stronger so he looks more creole.

« Reply #337 on: August 03, 2006, 03:23:45 PM »
Rahim can't play.

What stopping de man from PAYING for his own education and playing.

Former pros who go back to Uni can't play. I thought that was only for scholarship.

Didn't Alibey go to Univ. after playing pro for ASL?

Peace,

« Reply #338 on: August 03, 2006, 03:27:13 PM »
Rahim can't play.

What stopping de man from PAYING for his own education and playing.

Former pros who go back to Uni can't play. I thought that was only for scholarship.

Didn't Alibey go to Univ. after playing pro for ASL?

Peace,

Back in de day Alibey could get away with that...

NCAA don't play at all now.... trust me... dey send Agent Scully to interrogate me a couple years ago.... dey don't play at all with eligibility now.... schools getting ban!

« Reply #339 on: August 03, 2006, 04:26:41 PM »
I believe the problem with Rahim was his confidence he was rated as one of the top young player in the country when he played on the under 23 team with player like Anton Pierre Carlos Edwards Earl Mc farlne Hardest and a lot off players that was hail as the next generation of stars if you look at that team only Carlos made it at when he was on that team he was not considered as an up coming star. 

« Reply #340 on: August 03, 2006, 04:30:19 PM »
Goalkeepers:
Ryan Edwards.
Richard Goddard.

Defenders:
Anton Pierre (Defence Force).
Brent Sancho (Charleston Battery).
Derek King (Joe Public).
Justin Latapy (Joe Public).
Keyeno Thomas (Colorado Rapids).

Midfielders:
Adrian Narine (Joe Public).
Addae Rique (?).
Brent Rahim (Connecticut University).
Carlos Edwards (Defence Force).
Joseph Peters (Joe Public).
Stephan David (?).
Travis Mulraine (capt - San Jose Earthquakes).

Forwards:
Errol McFarlane (Defence Force).
Hector Sam (Jabloteh).
Jason Scotland (Defence Force).
Leslie Fitzpatrick (Rhoda JC - Holland).
Nigel Pierre (Joe Public).
Look at this squad this was a good group of player some it was the best under 23 team we had I a long time what happen was it TTFF OUR WAS IT THE PLAYERS NOT STEPPING UP

« Reply #341 on: August 03, 2006, 04:41:04 PM »
Commendable move. Is a risk going pro and neglecting education no matter how nice it might seem. A nex man i think do that was glentonn wolfe......hope he doh regret he decision. Hopefully Brent go take this time to consolidate and yuh never know what could happen.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #342 on: August 03, 2006, 04:52:55 PM »
An MLS team can pick him up easily when he's back in the US.....

« Reply #343 on: August 03, 2006, 05:13:41 PM »
Best of luck Rahim, although I did not find you to be any thing special when wearing the Red, White and Black uniform, I respect the fact that you are putting things in place to Live life.

The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn. - Alvin Toffler

Blessings

« Reply #344 on: August 03, 2006, 06:24:36 PM »
everybody fighting down the man...let me ask you this....name 10 trinidad players who played with a club in the EPL......
1. dwight- manu
2. shaka-west ham
3. rahim- west ham

so everybody say the man a shithound this and that...but the truth is he was one of the only player to be with such a club from trinidad...not carlos, birchall, dennis, sam none of them fellas was ever with a top flight club....

so what is alyuh basis for being a failure? the fact that he didnt stay with the club long? He was also the first man to play in bulgaria from trini.

jus asking..hw many games did he atcually play..he was on d e team but....
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #345 on: August 03, 2006, 06:28:23 PM »
He not eligible for College ball anymore.
1) i pretty sure he play his 4 years for UConn and
2) He played professionally, NCAA is amateur athletics.

He going to back to help them with the coaching side of things.

He can still play college ball provided he didn't finish his 4 year eligibility as yet. It doesn't matter if he played pro sports. There was a case a few years ago regarding american football quarterback Chris Weinke where he went to play pro baseball and then decided at 28 to return to college and play football, so brent could still play once he didnt use up his 4 years.

Madness.  His window of eligibility has expired.  You have five yers to play four years of collegiate athletics, and Brent has also negated his amateur status, since he has been compensated to play professionally. De man going to coach; that is all he can do now.  He cannot play.

not everyone who played will make a good coach eh. same way alot of ppl who like d egame shitty no ass but coudl real play......
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #346 on: August 04, 2006, 06:27:40 AM »
Goalkeepers:
Ryan Edwards.
Richard Goddard.

Defenders:
Anton Pierre (Defence Force).
Brent Sancho (Charleston Battery).
Derek King (Joe Public).
Justin Latapy (Joe Public).
Keyeno Thomas (Colorado Rapids).

Midfielders:
Adrian Narine (Joe Public).
Addae Rique (?).
Brent Rahim (Connecticut University).
Carlos Edwards (Defence Force).
Joseph Peters (Joe Public).
Stephan David (?).
Travis Mulraine (capt - San Jose Earthquakes).

Forwards:
Errol McFarlane (Defence Force).
Hector Sam (Jabloteh).
Jason Scotland (Defence Force).
Leslie Fitzpatrick (Rhoda JC - Holland).
Nigel Pierre (Joe Public).
Look at this squad this was a good group of player some it was the best under 23 team we had I a long time what happen was it TTFF OUR WAS IT THE PLAYERS NOT STEPPING UP

Well at least Narine and David back in the fold. Whatever happened to Addae? He, Rahim and Hardest was the biggest names in those days. Edwards break out after them left the scene.

« Reply #347 on: August 04, 2006, 07:05:30 AM »
Well at least Narine and David back in the fold. Whatever happened to Addae? He, Rahim and Hardest was the biggest names in those days. Edwards break out after them left the scene.
Narine back in de fold? Which part? Ent he did get hold wit cocaine at Heathrow airport 3 years ago?

Addae Rique currently plays with Tobago United.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2006, 07:39:54 AM by Tallman »

Offline dombasil

« Reply #348 on: August 04, 2006, 07:07:04 AM »

Ramdoo is a dougla too. A St. James Dougla at that.

« Reply #349 on: August 04, 2006, 07:10:16 AM »
Narine back in de fold? Which part? Ent he did get hold wit cocaine at Heathrow airport 3 years ago?
Hard luck there...was thinking Pacheco not Narine.

Offline Trinix

« Reply #350 on: August 04, 2006, 08:31:54 PM »
All Let me state some facts,

Brent went to NEWCASTLE at 16
Brent went to UCONN left with one semester to complete his degree in Psychology not sports psychology

At UCONN Brent was one of the top players in the  USA for 4 years Winning Three rings
2 regional titles and the big one the National Title the number 1 in diamonds.

The facts finders if I am not mistaken the only Trinis to hold the Division 1 rings are

Brent Sancho
Brent Rahim
Brents Team Mate
Nigel Grovesnor  not sure?

Brent Played in Copa Caribe or SHell CUp Trinidad won the Title
He then went to  Bulgaria won the league and Cup Titles with Levski Sofia
Then moved to West Ham on loan for six months then to Falkirk.
At Falkirk played first year then whatever happened the coach decided not to play him
in the second year. During all this he never got to hold a consistant place on the national team. Question If you are the next player with talent how come coaches are not giving you the opportunity to play the game in the best position for you?

Played himself out of the team with low confidence and fight down. There are people on this board like Jahyouth and Andre Samuel for some reason can pass judgement on people as if they know every thing, like is personal with Brent.

Not one of you ever tought you would back some of the players on that national team but you did but for some reason Brent is always seen in a negative light. Read the above he did accomplish alot more that most. Probably did not reach the top, some of it you can control alot you cant.

Thank God some people can see the glass half full and thank Brent for at least trying to make his country proud rather than robbing somebody in their homes.

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #351 on: August 04, 2006, 08:48:45 PM »

Brent went to UCONN left with one semester to complete his degree in Psychology not sports psychology

At UCONN Brent was one of the top players in the  USA for 4 years Winning Three rings

The facts finders if I am not mistaken the only Trinis to hold the Division 1 rings are

Brent Sancho
Brent Rahim
Brents Team Mate

At Falkirk played first year then whatever happened the coach decided not to play him
in the second year. During all this he never got to hold a consistant place on the national team. Question If you are the next player with talent how come coaches are not giving you the opportunity to play the game in the best position for you?

Played himself out of the team with low confidence and fight down. There are people on this board like Jahyouth and Andre Samuel for some reason can pass judgement on people as if they know every thing, like is personal with Brent.

Not one of you ever tought you would back some of the players on that national team but you did but for some reason Brent is always seen in a negative light. Read the above he did accomplish alot more that most. Probably did not reach the top, some of it you can control alot you cant.

Thank God some people can see the glass half full and thank Brent for at least trying to make his country proud rather than robbing somebody in their homes.

darin lewis won all those titles with him.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2006, 08:51:59 PM by Tallman »
All American

« Reply #352 on: August 04, 2006, 09:29:50 PM »

Brent Sancho
Brent Rahim
Brents Team Mate

Tallman check the IP I think this is duscam new identity....just joking!!

« Reply #353 on: August 05, 2006, 03:00:57 PM »

....he (Brent) did accomplish alot more that most. Probably did not reach the top, some of it you can control alot you cant.

Football is a team sport.  Winning the NCAA should be respected on some level but better Trini players pass thru the US College system and never win it because of the overall team they played on and the teams they came up against. Shaka at Howard University back in the days made it to the Final of the NCAAs and lost.

Nobody really fighting down what Brent accomplish in his career but yuh cah deny when Brent wore the National colours he never looked right on the field.  Being a standout at High School and College does not necessarily make one a good International player.

Blessings

« Reply #354 on: August 05, 2006, 03:50:20 PM »

Brent Sancho
Brent Rahim
Brents Team Mate

I think you misunderstood most of the sentiments on the board. I for one am/was a Rahim fan but I think because of all that Rahim accomplish and his undoubted skill, as well as the performances in the Shell Cup and the  Gold Cup, people expected him to be our next midfield general and that never materialised. I don't think it was a matter of people criticising him as a person but more being disappointed at the way at all turned out in the end primarily due to questionable career moves. We will just blame his agent for taking every offer that come along instead of trying to find a move that would benefit Brent.

« Reply #355 on: August 06, 2006, 07:11:57 PM »

Brent Sancho
Brent Rahim
Brents Team Mate

so what class yuh taking this semister brent?

Offline ladywarrior

« Reply #356 on: August 06, 2006, 08:40:16 PM »
Brent,

Good luck to you! A degree can ensure a lifetime of security.   
The only thing to fear is fear itself.

« Reply #357 on: August 06, 2006, 09:05:18 PM »
Good luck Brent and thanks for everything

« Reply #358 on: August 06, 2006, 11:19:24 PM »
Commendable move. Is a risk going pro and neglecting education no matter how nice it might seem. A nex man i think do that was glentonn wolfe......hope he doh regret he decision. Hopefully Brent go take this time to consolidate and yuh never know what could happen.

Breds yuh could be 60 and get ah degree...matter of fact yuh could be 60 and disabled and get ah degree.  You can't be 60 and think yuh playing professional football. Unless it have some geriatric league.

If dem fellas serious they need to give it all they got early on rather than wait until they get they degree to start ah professional career.  The US realize that.....now they doh even look at US college players.

Yuh never too old for an education..yuh could always go back :chilling:

« Reply #359 on: December 20, 2006, 07:38:57 AM »
Trinidad and Tobago’s midfielder Brent Rahim graduated from the University of Connecticut last Sunday with a Bachelor of Arts in Sports Psychology and a minor in Sociology. Brent was quoted as saying that he is “delighted to complete this chapter in his life; it is always important to have a second career, and he is eager to resume his football career and looking towards 2010 in South Africa.”