April 19, 2024, 08:05:17 PM

Author Topic: Which football team won a match by scoring a goal on themselves?  (Read 4523 times)

Which football team won a match by scoring a goal on themselves?
« on: November 23, 2005, 10:03:46 AM »
Barbados! During the CFU championships.

Shiteeee!

Dem bajans dread oui!

http://www.snopes.com/sports/soccer/barbados.htm
Barbados needed to win the game by two clear goals in order to progress to the next round. Now the trouble was caused by a daft rule in the competition which stated that in the event of a game going to penalty kicks, the winner of the penalty kicks would be awarded a 2-0 victory.

With 5 minutes to go, Barbados were leading 2-1, and going out of the tournament (because they needed to win by 2 clear goals). Then, when they realized they were probably not going to score against Grenada's massed defence, they turned round, and deliberately scored on their own goal to level the scores and take the game into penalties. Grenada, themselves not being stupid, realized what was going on, and then attempted to score an own goal themselves. However, the Barbados players started defending their opponents goal to prevent this.

In the last five minutes, spectators were treated to the incredible sight of both team's defending their opponents goal against attackers desperately trying to score an own goal and goalkeepers trying to throw the ball into their own net. The game went to penalties, which Barbados won and so were awarded a 2-0 victory and progressed to the next round.

The incident took place during a final group match between Barbados and Grenada for the Shell Caribbean Cup in  February 1994. The Barbados team had to win the match by at least two goals in order to face Trinidad and Tobago in the finals; anything less and Grenada advanced to the next round instead. The rules in effect at the time specified that if the score were tied at the end of regulation play, the match would continue into sudden-death overtime (not a penalty kicks round, as stated above), and the first team to score during the overtime period would be considered a two-goal winner.

As detailed above, Barbados was leading 2-0 well into the second half of play, when Grenada finally managed to score a goal in the 83rd minute to make the score 2-1. Barbados realized with three minutes to play that they were unlikely to score again in the time remaining and deliberately kicked the ball into their own goal to tie the match at 2-2 and force an overtime period. Grenada then attempted to score on their own goal to prevent the match from going into overtime, but Barbados had already started defending Grenada's goal to prevent them from succeeding. The two teams then spent the remaining few minutes with Barbados defending both ends of the field as Grenada tried to put the ball into either goal, but time expired with the score still tied. Four minutes into overtime play, Barbados scored and advanced to the finals.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2005, 08:59:02 AM by Tallman »

Re: Which football team won a match by scoring a goal on themselves? Answer:
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2005, 10:22:37 AM »
MADNESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
daz d craziest ting i ever heard of

« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2005, 10:23:01 AM »
The incident took place during a final group match between Barbados and Grenada for the Shell Caribbean Cup in  February 1994. The Barbados team had to win the match by at least two goals in order to face Trinidad and Tobago in the finals; anything less and Grenada advanced to the next round instead. The rules in effect at the time specified that if the score were tied at the end of regulation play, the match would continue into sudden-death overtime (not a penalty kicks round, as stated above), and the first team to score during the overtime period would be considered a two-goal winner.

As detailed above, Barbados was leading 2-0 well into the second half of play, when Grenada finally managed to score a goal in the 83rd minute to make the score 2-1. Barbados realized with three minutes to play that they were unlikely to score again in the time remaining and deliberately kicked the ball into their own goal to tie the match at 2-2 and force an overtime period. Grenada then attempted to score on their own goal to prevent the match from going into overtime, but Barbados had already started defending Grenada's goal to prevent them from succeeding. The two teams then spent the remaining few minutes with Barbados defending both ends of the field as Grenada tried to put the ball into either goal, but time expired with the score still tied. Four minutes into overtime play, Barbados scored and advanced to the finals.

I think they had advance to de semi-finals if I recall.... we played Martinique in de final

Offline trinibug

« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2005, 10:35:24 AM »
I buss a quick google and see that this appears to be true. Though it has a distinctive odour...

What I want to know is, how hard can it be to score an own goal?

Also, did anyone in this forum actually see this game or highlights?
Must rhyme with an O

« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2005, 10:36:02 AM »
Truetrini, yuh need to post your source, even though it is an old story that has been posted before.

Whoever came up with the match rules for that competition really deserved some licks.

« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2005, 10:36:53 AM »
I buss a quick google and see that this appears to be true. Though it has a distinctive odour...

What I want to know is, how hard can it be to score an own goal?

Also, did anyone in this forum actually see this game or highlights?

Yes it is a true story I remember reading about it in World Soccer and somebody told me that they saw it on TnT sports as well.

Offline Trini Simply Better

« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2005, 10:49:16 AM »
Do you have more info about this?  I would like to search for a source that would actually have this game on tape.  This would be a first for me :rotfl:

« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2005, 10:54:44 AM »

daz d craziest ting i ever heard of

or the most retarded

« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2005, 10:58:23 AM »
yuh signature real disturbing breds.

dat flabby arse white fella does insult meh breakfast, lunch and dinner and make dem want to go out.

« Reply #10 on: November 23, 2005, 11:05:13 AM »
dis is de funniest thing I have ever heard in football...or in all of sports :rotfl:

imagine defending your opponents goal. I would have loved to see dis match.

But dem teams self! dey kno dey hadda play we next...wha dey fighting to win for? dey ent kno is more cutass dey was going an get.

« Reply #11 on: November 23, 2005, 11:06:41 AM »
yuh signature real disturbing breds.

dat flabby arse white fella does insult meh breakfast, lunch and dinner and make dem want to go out.

dis board not easy at all yes :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: allyuh win fuh trute.

« Reply #12 on: November 23, 2005, 11:24:28 AM »
theres video of this, i had before, no clue as to where i got it. really stupid rules

« Reply #13 on: November 23, 2005, 12:43:29 PM »
i not understanding this part:

With 5 minutes to go, Barbados were leading 2-1, and going out of the tournament (because they needed to win by 2 clear goals). Then, when they realized they were probably not going to score against Grenada's massed defence, they turned round, and deliberately scored on their own goal to level the scores and take the game into penalties.

at this point the game is 2-2

In the last five minutes, spectators were treated to the incredible sight of both team's defending their opponents goal against attackers desperately trying to score an own goal and goalkeepers trying to throw the ball into their own net.

i could see grenada trying to score an own goal but if barbados score an own goal, grenada through to the next round right? it must be that barbados defending both goals and grenada attacking both goals. it can't be both teams trying to score goals, it's just grenada that benefitting from breaking the tie.

ah dizzy. my head hurt. ;D

« Reply #14 on: November 23, 2005, 01:04:32 PM »
that is the funniest shit i heard for the day, i never witness that in my life :rotfl:

« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2005, 01:26:01 PM »
I have the video..........

« Reply #16 on: November 23, 2005, 01:53:19 PM »
I have the video..........

uplaod nah ;D

« Reply #17 on: November 23, 2005, 03:26:38 PM »
so where was FIFA in all this madness?..sounds like unsportsmanship and bringing the game into disrepute to me.

« Reply #18 on: November 23, 2005, 08:03:34 PM »
Download the video at http://www.megaupload.com/?d=RZKTBU3Y

Not complete highlights, but you get the idea.

« Reply #19 on: November 23, 2005, 08:07:27 PM »
thanks breds

« Reply #20 on: November 23, 2005, 08:42:03 PM »
This make plenty news when it occured.

We good pong this topic on the old board.complete with pictures, we did use it as fuel for the fire in the fight against Bimblast.

« Reply #21 on: November 23, 2005, 09:59:37 PM »
thanks meh boy :beermug:

« Reply #22 on: November 24, 2005, 07:34:26 AM »
truetrini who is dat fallin down in yuh avatar?

Re: Which football team won a match by scoring a goal on themselves?
« Reply #23 on: November 24, 2005, 12:43:22 PM »
 That is rel bull...I could imagine :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline ß!aCkÒuT

• Time To Play The Game
« Reply #24 on: November 24, 2005, 12:46:21 PM »
dat real badd....dey smart ...haha
If love were a flame, it has ignited my soul...my one spark has created the magnificent fire of true passion

".The Poet."

« Reply #25 on: November 24, 2005, 07:31:36 PM »
ah getting sound..but no picture..

« Reply #26 on: November 24, 2005, 07:54:49 PM »

Offline ndookie

« Reply #27 on: November 24, 2005, 07:56:22 PM »
now we know why the bajan dollar have more value than hours..
Glory Glory Man Utd !

Offline naparima

• <Insert Interesting Comment Here>
    • Rishi Travelogue
« Reply #28 on: November 24, 2005, 08:51:35 PM »
hahaha this funny!!
<Blurb> Insert Text
</Blurb>