April 18, 2024, 04:45:12 PM

Author Topic: Fatima's trophy after 26 years.  (Read 22077 times)

Fatima's trophy after 26 years.
« on: November 26, 2005, 09:42:41 PM »
Fatima blanked on All Star team.
T&T Express Reports.

None of the players from 2005 national RBTT Intercol champions Fatima College have been selected to represent the Secondary Schools Football League "All Star" team, which will be travelling to Jamaica for a schools football tour from tomorrow.
A team of 18 players was chosen, and they will play two matches against their Jamaican counterparts. The team will be coached by Mucurapo Senior Comprehensive coach Selris Figaro on the tour.
Also on the technical staff are SSFL president Ewing Davis (chef de mission), Lawrence Seepersad (manager), Glenford Thomas (assistant coach), Howard Spencer (assistant coach), Anthony Creed (physiotherapist).

T&T SSFL All Star team.

Leston Shade, Kevin De Verteuil (Naparima College); Rondell Renwick, Gerron Mc Knight, (Princes Town Senior Comprehensive); Jamal Wiggins, Kerron Smith, (Carapichaima Senior Comprehensive); Corneal Thomas, Richard Roy, Khaleem Highland (Mucurapo Senior Comprehensive); Akiel Harley, Elijah Manners (San Juan Secondary Comprehensive); Travis Joseph, Kyle Blackman (Vessigny Government Secondary); Silas Spann (St Benedict's College), Elton John (St Augustine Senior); Shevon Frederick (Fyzabad Composite); Akil De Freitas, Lester Peltier (St Anthony's College); Ewing Davis (chef de mission), Lawrence Seepersad (manager), Selris Figaro (coach) Glenford Thomas (assistant coach), Howard Spencer (assistant coach), Anthony Creed (physiotherapist).
News from the 27th of November 2005.
Fatima's trophy after 26 years.
By Garth Wattley (Express).

The Fatima College old boys were out in their numbers yesterday afternoon. So too were those of the current generation. Together, they saw a new chapter written in their school's football history.
A goal in each half from Chad De Freitas and Makesi Lewis was enough to give Fatima the 2005 RBTT InterCol trophy, 2-1 over St Augustine Secondary Comprehensive.
Not even the goal of the game late in the afternoon at the Hasely Crawford Stadium from Daniel Joseph could change the result.
It was sweet victory after 24 years. Victory that reversed the result of the 1981 final when a Garth Pollonais goal gave the fresh, new "Green Machine" the win.
Yesterday, though, the colour of choice was yellow and blue. It was the perfect way to cap the school's 60th anniversary.
And to the roll of honour at Mucurapo Road, alongside 1965 InterCol heroes Everald "Gally" Cummings, Tony Weekes and Roger Duprey, and the '79 stars, Garnet Craig, Graeme Rodriguez, Anton Corneal and Kenwyn Nancoo, can now be added De Freitas, Lewis, skipper Machel James and the rest.
The cast of 2005 earned glory for themselves with a workmanlike, efficient display that once more proved difficult for their opponents to master.
Again, it was the aggression and purpose of coach Errol McFarlaine's charges which guaranteed Fatima's second win in three national InterCol final clashes with St Augustine. It was their third win overall.
In 1979, Craig and company had to get past Garth Pollonais in attack and Hyron Best (now Jamaal Shabazz) in goal.
Yesterday, the path to victory was perhaps smoother.
St Augustine, the East Zone champions, vying to add the national crown to last year's Big Five League triumph, struggled to break down the Fatima midfield and defence, especially in the first half.
And they went in at half-time 1-0 down after De Freitas had punished some lax defending.
Restored to the starting line-up for the final, he managed to somehow keep possession of the ball despite the attention of two defenders following Lewis' through ball, which he stroked past goalkeeper Johnathan Chance in the 14th minute.
Fatima were good for their half-time lead.
And twice inside the first 15 minutes of the second period, powerful, dangerous long-range strikes from midfielders Jevon Morris and Kevon Villaroel could have tripled their advantage.
Eventualy, though, Lewis did so, side-footing past Chance in the 53rd minute following the careless, fatal loss of possession by an adjacent St Augustine defender.
The game seemed up for the "Machine" but they kept trying and, as time wound down, began to penetrate more along the flanks against a now retreating Fatima.
Ten minutes from the end, Joseph gave them a real scare with a well taken one-time volley from just inside the 18-metre box, left side, which flew across keeper Adrian Foncette and into the far corner of the net.
It added more spice to the slight unrest brewing between the two sets of supporters in the main stand.
Order prevailed. But things might have been different had St Augustine substitute Mark Alibey not got it wrong. He was just outside the six-metre box, injury time ticking away, when from a left side cross, he curled his shot overbars. It was the last kick of the game.
Too late for another revving up of the "Machine".
Fatima were going home with the trophy.
« Last Edit: December 03, 2005, 07:05:35 AM by Flex »

Re: Fatima's trophy after 26 years
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2005, 09:46:10 PM »
 This is good for the SSFL....Go T&T

« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2005, 10:03:32 PM »
joy!!!

« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2005, 10:14:49 PM »
Help meh finish dis, man like Kicker, FF, VB and others

"Fatima boys come answer to your call...."

« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2005, 10:22:44 PM »
I can hear Anil in Spalk now heaven help us.

Offline supaselectuh

« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2005, 10:29:19 PM »
congrats to the blue and yelllow

and i think i tuning in to gayelle online JUS to see spalk and hear anil fuh all that happen this week

« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2005, 11:24:42 PM »
congrats

« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2005, 12:07:58 AM »

From far and wide

doh worry we sing it in the Stadium today

« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2005, 05:58:35 AM »
how big was the crowd?

« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2005, 06:11:28 AM »

« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2005, 08:51:53 AM »

From far and wide

Shoulder to shoulder ever marching on .............

Offline bada

« Reply #11 on: November 27, 2005, 09:08:42 AM »

From far and wide

God be our guide

Offline Milan!!!

• Naps man fuh life!!!
Re: Fatima's trophy after 26 years.
« Reply #12 on: November 27, 2005, 10:36:39 AM »
must say congrats to Fatima...as a Naps man...proud of the brother school..again u make the entire presbyterian family of schools happy.....well done Fatima.....on to next year Naparima!!!!

« Reply #13 on: November 27, 2005, 10:40:00 AM »
must say congrats to Fatima...as a Naps man...proud of the brother school..again u make the entire presbyterian family of schools happy.....well done Fatima.....on to next year Naparima!!!!

what de hell..ah never knew Fatima was a Presbyterian school..if so ah apologise "Brothers & Sisters"  ;D..but we still better than allyuh lol

Offline ndookie

« Reply #14 on: November 27, 2005, 11:08:33 AM »
wha time spalk is ?

Naps Forever
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #15 on: November 27, 2005, 11:22:33 AM »

hahahahahah Fatima is as Presbyterian as triniman is trini!

Offline cm103

« Reply #16 on: November 27, 2005, 11:30:43 AM »

From far and wide

God be our guide

Fearless and true...

« Reply #17 on: November 27, 2005, 11:38:27 AM »

hahahahahah Fatima is as Presbyterian as triniman is trini!

well ah had to ask also cause ah know Pantin is a Catholic lol

Offline Consultant

« Reply #18 on: November 27, 2005, 11:40:59 AM »
Glory onto you.....our almamata......

« Reply #19 on: November 27, 2005, 11:52:00 AM »
Well done fellas...
where can I buy a Fatima football jersey??

Nitendo Vinces!!!!

« Reply #20 on: November 27, 2005, 12:10:18 PM »

You hear our Lady of Fatima College and the only thing come to your mind is Presbyterian.

No friend

Fatima is ah RC school.

I never hear Naps to be we brother school

« Reply #21 on: November 27, 2005, 12:21:34 PM »

FIRMLY ONE........

« Reply #22 on: November 27, 2005, 12:32:02 PM »

FIRMLY ONE........

STRIVE ON FATIMA BOYS.........STRIVE ONNNNNNNNN

« Reply #23 on: November 27, 2005, 12:34:03 PM »

I thought it was "loyal to you"............Tell me I wasn't singing the wrong thing for 7 years......

« Reply #24 on: November 27, 2005, 12:35:13 PM »

I thought it was loyal to you............Tell me I wasn't singing the wrong thing for 7 years......

Yes you right.... I see it but I didnt want to jumbie de vibes

also is OH Alma Mata not our almamata

« Reply #25 on: November 27, 2005, 12:37:30 PM »

You hear our Lady of Fatima College and the only thing come to your mind is Presbyterian.

No friend

Fatima is ah RC school.

True dat........CIC is our sister school......St Anthony's is our step child.......Pres is our redneck cousins down south......and Belmont Intermediate is our outside horner child......

I eh know bout our relationship to Naps

« Reply #26 on: November 27, 2005, 12:39:33 PM »

True dat........CIC is our sister school......St Anthony's is our step child.......Pres is our redneck cousins down south......and Belmont Intermediate is our outside horner child......

and QRC is we bastard brother!

« Reply #27 on: November 27, 2005, 12:40:27 PM »
ALL TOGETHER NOW

Fatima boys !
Come answer to the call
From far and wide
Shoulder to shoulder ever marching on
God be our guide
Fearless and true
Loyal to you
O Alma Mater firmly one
Strive on, Fatima boys, Strive on !

written by Archbishop Anthony Pantin

« Reply #28 on: November 27, 2005, 12:41:06 PM »

No friend

Fatima is ah RC school.

and Trinity is yuh horner man

« Reply #29 on: November 27, 2005, 12:54:23 PM »

No friend

Fatima is ah RC school.

and Trinity is yuh horner man

and everybody who went trinity I is dey modda man