March 28, 2024, 09:57:30 AM

Author Topic: A set of Fatima men on this Forum  (Read 36103 times)

Re: A set of Fatima men on this Forum
« Reply #90 on: August 04, 2005, 10:10:48 AM »
All this Fatima had good players talk.  Like allyuh forget the 7 that QRC put on allyuh in QRC ground in 89?  Lemme (Lemuel Nelson) scored 4 that day.

It was lix in de police van!!!    ;D

« Reply #91 on: August 04, 2005, 11:41:35 AM »
Mr. mc...
What year you entered Fatima??? cause it sounding like we know alot of the same people.. I was there 80-85. with vb, raj, Anil Larry Barney, Sheldon Guerra etc:

« Reply #92 on: August 04, 2005, 11:50:13 AM »
I entered in 83, same year with Gavin Ottley,Shastri Roberts, Andres Assi, Embrak, Nigel Guerin. Left in 88 after 3 passes and Romero run meh!!
Anil and Sheldon Guerra was ahead of me, as were you.

I know i left in 88 but I refuse to belive we EVER get 7 from QRC ah REFUSE!!!!

« Reply #93 on: August 04, 2005, 12:42:01 PM »
I entered in 83, same year with Gavin Ottley,Shastri Roberts, Andres Assi, Embrak, Nigel Guerin. Left in 88 after 3 passes and Romero run meh!!
Anil and Sheldon Guerra was ahead of me, as were you.

I know i left in 88 but I refuse to belive we EVER get 7 from QRC ah REFUSE!!!!

QRC hit us (fatima) 8-1 on QRC grounds....I was there....woulda been the 89 season. I was in form 2......we had a real stale side.....real non-footballers on that side, but I'll call no names.

« Reply #94 on: August 04, 2005, 12:50:38 PM »

Andres Assi? Whatever happen to "Yellow man"? Ah remember seeing him make big men look real small in dat lunch time football league we had going. De 3 men ah remember from dat side was Assi, Branker, and Achille.

« Reply #95 on: August 04, 2005, 01:08:24 PM »
Assi back home with a big wok, still living in the Vale, still yellow. Achille still home too but I cant be sure cause I does see that man in fete all over the place, NY, MIA & DC.
Mid-Day League where lunch time legends are made!!

« Reply #96 on: August 04, 2005, 01:29:55 PM »
Achille still home. Dat much ah know fuh sure. But he like to travel. Have fete, will party!!

« Reply #97 on: August 04, 2005, 01:38:05 PM »
which branker is this not Brent????
Also I remember a fella around that time had plenty potential and I am sure he was transfered in> Marvin Raeburn. I think he was playing in some indoor leaue at one time...

Re: Marvin Raeburn
« Reply #98 on: August 04, 2005, 01:48:45 PM »
Also I remember a fella around that time had plenty potential and I am sure he was transfered in> Marvin Raeburn. I think he was playing in some indoor leaue at one time...

Is dis de same Marvin Raeburn dat played fuh T&T?

« Reply #99 on: August 04, 2005, 02:00:02 PM »
can't remember any 7 or eight but possible every team does get a cut ass at some point

worst one was when cic give we 5 when all we needed was a draw to win big 7 tha one hurt and them was in i believe 2nd to last place kona kill we but we beat everybody else even win in bago beat BSC boys can't remember the yr

« Reply #100 on: August 04, 2005, 02:01:41 PM »
Yeah, same Marvin Raeburn.  I played against him as I played for QRC between 90 and 92.  Nice left footer.  One of Fatima's most famous imports.  Curepe Junior Sec I believe.

« Reply #101 on: August 04, 2005, 02:08:21 PM »
Yeah, same Marvin Raeburn.  I played against him as I played for QRC between 90 and 92.  Nice left footer.  One of Fatima's most famous imports.  Curepe Junior Sec I believe.

Is this him?

« Reply #102 on: August 04, 2005, 02:11:04 PM »
yeah former national around age with mickey trotman stern dwayne demmin etc
play a league a lil bit then some league in canada and that is about as far as i remember
think alvin get him into fatima but left quick
real solid left foot

« Reply #103 on: August 04, 2005, 02:13:46 PM »
He was on the same National U-17 team with Avery John, Dwayne Demmin, Kevin Jeffrey, Micket Trotman etc. that was coached by Jimmy Blanc.  Real solid left footer as football king say. 

Re: Marvin Raeburn
« Reply #104 on: August 04, 2005, 02:25:23 PM »
yeah former national around age with mickey trotman stern dwayne demmin etc
play a league a lil bit then some league in canada and that is about as far as i remember
think alvin get him into fatima but left quick
real solid left foot

He actually scored a goal for T&T against Finland in de Oval in 1995. He played for Raleigh Flyers and Atlanta Silverbacks in de A-League and for Metro Lions in the Canadian Professional Soccer League. I think he also played for Caledonia AIA.

« Reply #105 on: August 04, 2005, 04:35:38 PM »
He was on the same National U-17 team with Avery John, Dwayne Demmin, Kevin Jeffrey, Micket Trotman etc. that was coached by Jimmy Blanc.  Real solid left footer as football king say. 

That was a good youth team..one of the best after the the youth team with Latas and the one with Yorke, Nixon, Eve and Sherwood.(in my time).

Offline UPRISING

• "Justice is what de youths dem need overall..."
« Reply #106 on: August 04, 2005, 05:12:51 PM »
Football King, when yuh mention dat 5 dat CIC give allyuh, yuh give mih chills because dat make me remember de HAND dat QRC give we (CIC) on QRC grounds...ah believe it was 89 .. 

de headline in de express de nex day was "CIC get a HAND" 5-0 ..dat QCR side had Shawn Garcia, Ezebe, Alibey and Jeremy Short (checkey)  ... personally my worst game ever in de blue and white stripes ... ah man enuff to say dat Ezebe mash mih up (all kinda beat) out dey on de left flank ... we en make ah note dat day!! 
we get de las laff dat year doh because we was fighting for de las north zone big 7 spot and we beat dem on we grounds 1-0 (Gabre Cummings ...Gally son) net up ...CIC in QRC out ..

memories ... now man jus ole and could only talk in de forum!!!!!!!

"...de way dem deal wit Mankind all mih gyal start bawl.."

« Reply #107 on: August 04, 2005, 05:19:02 PM »
It jes HAD TO BE a Fatima thread to get de record fuh de biggest thread on dis site eh?

Congrats on yuh century dey injunchile.  Raise yuh bat high!!!

Nitendo Vinces in dey tail!!!   ;D

Offline UPRISING

« Reply #108 on: August 04, 2005, 05:20:11 PM »
Allyuh men is real tears..

The only thing I say negative about Rocke is dat he wanted to play for Fatima and Mervyn Moore turn him down. For the record Colin Rocke was one of the greatest to ever come our of TT that never get his props. His touch was impeccable and if I rememder he ended up playing in Germany for Wolfsburg. I rate him highly having played with him for a youth team. He was a legend and even Pele was quoted as saying that he was one of the best players technically and skillwise he had seen.

No Fatima player was ever as good as Rocke so fuh dem to refuse him was ridiculous. Moore also refused Sheppy and Cipriani  and Larry Williams who all went on to light up Trinity College.
Rocke use to make  big men look silly when he was 14 years old- a man amongst boys

Having not seen Rocke in donkey years VB and Savannah you may be right about me saying he did not like Fatima. Apologies to anyone if my comments upset them.BTW VB What was the name of the two Indians that played for Saints during that time with Rocke , Roach and another fella?/ Dem men was wicked. Do yuh remember them?

VB ..

I en know if Damien Cooper yuh talking bout as de other Indian (Barry Roach was de other) ...because I en know if Cooper go want men callin him ah indian!!!!!  good player doh one ah CIC better midfielders ..

« Reply #109 on: August 05, 2005, 06:32:10 AM »
worst one was when cic give we 5 when all we needed was a draw to win big 7 tha one hurt

Not as much as the year when we lost the league on the final day because we draw with Fatima at Serpentine road.

I believe it was 88 (the team with Jason Rocke, Gatt, Henry, 3 Mozes, Bartholo)  and we beat QRC in midweek to take a 1 point lead and with the fags coming up on Saturday we thought the title was won. Only to come and draw on the final day while QRC win. That one hurt.

« Reply #110 on: August 05, 2005, 07:41:21 AM »
My worst memory is of an own goal scored by Mamba in the National Stadium vs CIC in 87 or 88.  I seem to be the only one that remembers this.  I distinctly remember walking from school to the stadium, my eyes getting big big when ah see all the convent gurl and dem.
Miguel as last stopper unmarked turn towards his own goal and pass the ball back to the keeper directly towards the goal and some how the ball goes past the keeper and into the net!!
SALT!!!
I apologies to all the Saints smallmen i beat up that day :)

somehow I am the only one to recall this game or goal, maybe it was a dream, maybe it was Simmons and not Miguel, Maybe it was QRC and not Saints.....

« Reply #111 on: August 05, 2005, 08:00:06 AM »
Football King, when yuh mention dat 5 dat CIC give allyuh, yuh give mih chills because dat make me remember de HAND dat QRC give we (CIC) on QRC grounds...ah believe it was 89 .. 

de headline in de express de nex day was "CIC get a HAND" 5-0 ..dat QCR side had Shawn Garcia, Ezebe, Alibey and Jeremy Short (checkey)  ... personally my worst game ever in de blue and white stripes ... ah man enuff to say dat Ezebe mash mih up (all kinda beat) out dey on de left flank ... we en make ah note dat day!! 
we get de las laff dat year doh because we was fighting for de las north zone big 7 spot and we beat dem on we grounds 1-0 (Gabre Cummings ...Gally son) net up ...CIC in QRC out ..

memories ... now man jus ole and could only talk in de forum!!!!!!!

UPRISING, I play in for QRC in that 5-0 game on QRC grounds.  Euzebe had allyuh busy.  Allyuh cry in the pavillion after!  hahahahahaha  them was some days boy.  look how old we sounding now! 

Offline UPRISING

« Reply #112 on: August 05, 2005, 08:34:46 AM »
Youth, anytime I go home and get in any kinda football talk (which is always) with any ah mih brethren, dem men does ask mih "if ah hear from mih fadder" , referring to Euzebe.. after dat 5.

Man ah tell yuh, dat day was de worse ... de 'lowlight' was when a ball switch from QRC left to right ...Zebe ches trap and as ah recovering to get in defensive position ...cap!  den he trap, wait fuh mih to settle ... spanna and he heading to goal ...de crowd went ma wit de spanna, becasue after de cap ah rush een .... ah run him down and tear down de man jersey in de box ...penalty ...ah just turn and walk off de field ...I en even see de red card ...ah just keep walkin...

Oh lawwwwwdddddd! ah swear mih career done after dat ..but is all ah we take beat!

Ah know it have saints men on dis forum dat know what ah talking bout but en go confess, dat we get mash up dat day..

Dat is how de game goes though ...everybody has their day..dat day was Euzebe's for sure..

« Reply #113 on: August 05, 2005, 09:25:07 AM »
Some sweet memories allyuh men brng back dey.

Anil Roberts did CXC in CIC?

Well he did CXC in Fatima wit me...so I am assuming he repeated.

He played for Fatima in Form VI ...so I guess dey let him back in.

But Anil back in those days always had a lil too much mouth for his own good....but then again so did I.. :)...The difference is dat mouth earning him some good money now... ;D

Back in the early 80s..1981 Fatima lost the national Intercol Final 1-0 to the Green Machine.

We could have won the league...but for some reason in the second round,the Coach kept playing with the sub..while the stars looked on...In playing Saints and QRC in the second round...we got 7 from one of them and 6 from the other...so we lost smthng like 7-3 and 6-2...bear in mind we beat both of them in Intercol prior to the second rounds.

Daslivla was a talented footballer and cricketer. He and Beckles should have gone out for the Fatima football team. Dasilva never tried. Beckles just didn't have the guts to take the jamming...but to his credit was a decent allrounder for Fatima in ciricket.

It doesn't surprise me that Dasilva played well for another school.

Farinha was an up and coming star when I was in Fatima. He was a form four on the first eleven side...coming off the bench in 84...Larry was his riding padnah on the bench...But you knew that Farinha would be a future star for Fatima...I wasn't around to see it...but it doesnt' surprise me to hear u guys talk about him that way.

A man who I think could have doen well for Fatima as a Defender...was Bernard abreu..very good and tough...but I dont think he ever made the effort.

Colin Bell had he stuck at it could have been a good keper for Fatima...but again no perseverance.

I'm surprised that Julien became such a good player. Is this the same Julien that was in class with Sheldon Guerra and Raj?? I think he did a Milo Ad in the  newspaper.

Peace,

Offline raj

« Reply #114 on: August 05, 2005, 11:02:17 AM »
VB,

You right it was the same skinny Julien who went on to star for the Green Machine. He earned a track to some US college. Both him and DeSilva went on to play for the Green Machine.

Dem men including mehself could never get a fair look for Fatima. All 3 of us suit up and play against Belmont for a 1st eleven match when Colin Murray players did not register in time. We win 2-1. It was basically a 2nd eleven. We was suprised when Murray ask us to do the wuk.

Julien, DeSilva, Guerra, Hordatt and Beckles played U14 for the Giants B team for a couple of games and  after we say f**k that.

Adrin Alleyne went on to play for the 1st eleven with Derek Gooding also.

Needless to say our class Group 2 used to dominate class league.

While in school I played with Newtown Sports, Alcons and Challengers( all in the east). Right before migrating to the states I began to train with Caledonia.

In the states I was on the Ft Laud strikers developmental squad for 3 months in 88. Got to meet Ardiles from Argentina.

Then football became history and spectator sport when I became a dad.

« Reply #115 on: August 05, 2005, 11:19:18 AM »
Anil did not attend CIC for his CXC exams, he just had to physically sit in their building to write the exams because of the incident with the other student.
I lived in Santa Rosa Heights with DaSilva (and also the Spanish teacher) and know first hand the skills he had, and we had many talented men around Sheldon Bennet and Mickey Trotman, he just needed a lil guidance.
Did not know Sheldon Guerra played ball, he was a track guy with me.

« Reply #116 on: August 06, 2005, 03:10:24 AM »
Sheldon Guerra was a boss athlete, but like many in his year, his football skills blossomed as the years went by, eg. Cipriani, Mamba and Julien.

I don't know why Dasilva never made a better effort, he could have certainly made the grade, like Mamba he may not have been a First  11 Player in Form V, but with a repeat or Form VI, he would have  been a major player...ala Ciprian and Aldrin Allaine.

Winston Chandler could have been a bigger star, but he got lazy and fat and simply didn't study. To his credit he slimmed down in later years, played for Trintoc and continued to be a major player in the St. James area as he later foucussed on his academics.

BTW raj, you forget the licks allyuh class used to get in the first two years in Fatima.

In form one I think we buss 18 GOALS on allyuh...and ur class had the distinction of losing to a girls team, I think it was a Holy Name class. But as the years ticked by allyuh fellas developed...Guerra, Julien....the really fat black fella.....a next one who also played good cricket (sorry..age, I cant rmmber some of dem names...the faces are in front of me..but the names have escaped me.

Peace,

Offline raj

« Reply #117 on: August 06, 2005, 01:15:24 PM »
On the girls issue, the Spanish teacher Harragin from Saints in his first year arranged a get together day bt Holy Name Convent class and our class. We let them girls win football bc it was the first time for many men to see live bodied females. Real men was touching them up during the game. Dem girls had big tot -tots for dey age. Harragin was a boss teacher bc of this. I doh care about who was winning it was just de tackling and contact that was fun.As for that 18 goals I doh remember that. Ah remember the Fatima Giants team beat St Anthonys 28 goals. Anil score 6 and Chandler score 5. Yuh right bc after Form 2 we will everything bc no men who was playing for de school could play class league. Most of us develop later than others.

De Silva and Julien was still in a class of their own. They could both kick hard and was skillful as hell. Dem men was real good in Form 1 but never fit in with the Fatima system. Both were better than Mamba, Farina etc. Mamba and Farina became  boss players as they got older.

My favorites were Lawson Bernard, Ramdoo and Dwight Findlay. Cipriani was good too but he was a ball hound... bawling for the ball all the time and getting vex like Stern.

« Last Edit: August 06, 2005, 02:26:20 PM by Tallman »

Raj
« Reply #118 on: August 06, 2005, 01:33:32 PM »
I'll understand if all dem blows in form one give allyuh amnesia :)

I belive dominic beaubren who harldy used to play ball scored a hat trick..

U are right becz the other class' best players who represented the school coudn't play interclass...ur class with decent players took advantage of this...but by the time allyuh hit form V, some men had seriously develped regardles...ah yess the fat fella...Gibbs...the othe fella was chubby and played A Giants cricket.

Ah believe u about the woman situation...I let enough woman keep de ball as I focussed on the "feel up," at that age...that was real ting yes. But yuh still lose to a girl's team.. ;D....tot tots or not tot tots.

Yes our A Giants rest 28-0 on S. Anthony's and the B team beat them 14-0.
In the A giants game Scotty Rodgrz stopped keeping and scored two or three goals.

Peace,

« Reply #119 on: August 08, 2005, 07:19:10 AM »
anybody remeber a man named joel squires he was skillfull but never get a fair chance 1st 11
had some skillfull men get overlooked by them coaches why ? is a mystery