June 16, 2024, 02:35:50 AM

Author Topic: Should Jack Warner get the Trinity Cross?  (Read 28772 times)

Offline FATZ

• I SELL FOOTBALL JERSEYS
Re: TV6 asked "Should Jack get the trinity cross" what do you all think??
« Reply #30 on: November 20, 2005, 10:01:28 AM »
see where the ball hoes does seperate from the men who in it for the lime.

fatz if you was as excited as me or any other football maniac like myself you would say let him get the blasted medal

i guess going to the world cup has a different meaning to everyone

everybody who reads the articles on this board religously could count all the bullshit that jack put up with during this campaign

GIVE HIM DE BLASTED MEDAL what difference will it make. iz ah medal  you acting like we changing the name of the promenade

Well then you and i should get medals too because i put up with plenty shit throughout the campaign too, can't go games because i have to work then when i get a chance to go, i can't because no ticket and i support them with money too, send nuff text to TSTT when TSTT had the promo about supporting the warrirors by texting and the dollar per text going or supposedly going in the team's pocket so give me a damn cross and let me become known so i could blow up on the world scene and make money like Jack too. He spend all the money that he said he spent for one thing, he know that it would pay off, it was a gamble he took or said he took that paid off, just like when he set it up for us to host the under 17 cup, that was big money for him and his family, nobody else really profit from that, his son ha 1 shit eatery in Arouca named coal pot then boom a set of others start to spring up before the small cup and then when yuh o the games, is only coal pot selling food and drinks. That was a fifa contract and now, all the coal pot them close down and the son driving big escalade on 24" spinners and shit, have a supra that he races up wallerfield that he crashed because he can't drive. A partner of mine is like man from morvant and this board, real tight and he say when he goes by JAck's house, everything is the best, Johnny blue by the litres and that sort of shit so that's why i say to hell with people who getting fooled by Jack giving money to T&T because if i had the paper and was in his position, i'd do the same because i know i'd get that back 10 fold. So no cross.
WELCOME TO DINSLEY OUT IN THE STREETZ THEY CALL ME FATZ

Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I can do all things. Phil 4:13

Offline FATZ

« Reply #31 on: November 20, 2005, 10:03:44 AM »
GIVE HIM DE BLASTED MEDAL what difference will it make. iz ah medal  you acting like we changing the name of the promenade

man tru dat....and because ah feeling happy through in de Chaconia too and whatever he want

FATZ yuh making it sound like we giving him part of Trincity  ;D

For all you know, Jack must already own piece of Trincity. :( As a man who born and grow here, i can't even own a piece... >:( :(

« Reply #32 on: November 20, 2005, 10:05:52 AM »
well think about all the rich men in trini and didnt give de team shyt

« Reply #33 on: November 20, 2005, 10:08:56 AM »
I say shit that, he should not get any cross cause in the end he's still looking out for his own interests.

I don't think he should get the Trinity Cross either.

Offline FATZ

« Reply #34 on: November 20, 2005, 10:10:31 AM »
well think about all the rich men in trini and didnt give de team shyt

True but being rich in trini today seems to be pressure for some since they kidnapping wind down here and yuh don't even need to be rich, they grabbing people for 5 and 10k, small money grab that the news don't hear about but the underworld man does talk bout in they lime.

« Reply #35 on: November 20, 2005, 10:11:40 AM »
well i doh business bout de trinity cross give de man some kinda medal. you feel all de athletes does do it fuh de country.

Offline firebun

« Reply #36 on: November 20, 2005, 10:16:45 AM »
All yuh really funny boy!  ;D Give the man a medal.  Whether he do it for himself or not, he still put he money where his mouth was.  If it was not his for his financial and other support, yuh think we all will be celebrating?  Is he who bring Beenhacker here bredder.

Trinity, chaconia whaterver, but he deserves a medal.

I want to go Germany!

« Reply #37 on: November 20, 2005, 10:22:22 AM »
Ain't Bertille get a Chaconia Medal or something like that. Jack Warner more than deserve a Trinity Medal. The man serve Trinidad well on an international level and because of his effort in the world cup campaign, the world is going to know about the culture and the people of trinidad and tobago when we play in the world cup. Look how football unite the country over the weekend and if it wasn't for the leadership of jack warner i don't think we would be in the world cup. People forget the major achievement he did. He started the PFL and he layed a structure for players locally to have a chance to play abroad. Trinidad is also the smallest country to ever play qualify for the world cup and if it wasn't for jack warner effort to get the playoff spot we would be home watching the world cup because we finish 4th in the Hex.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2005, 10:24:15 AM by skins »

« Reply #38 on: November 20, 2005, 10:22:58 AM »
All yuh really funny boy!  ;D Give the man a medal.  Whether he do it for himself or not, he still put he money where his mouth was.  If it was not his for his financial and other support, yuh think we all will be celebrating?  Is he who bring Beenhacker here bredder.

Trinity, chaconia whaterver, but he deserves a medal.

I want to go Germany!

I think u'll gettin carried away and fail to realise, the Trinity Cross is the HIGHEST honour u can bestow on anyone in TnT!! Give Jack his jacket, Hummingbird, Gold, Silver, I might even say Chaconia, but DEFINITELY NOT THE COUNTRY'S HIGHEST AWARD!! Hasely, Lara, remember these guys.......yea they have the Trinity Cross for some serious individual accomplishments.....

Offline Gibraldo

« Reply #39 on: November 20, 2005, 10:28:03 AM »
First I thought, the thread is about KELVIN Jack.

If so, i would have said, before he gets the trinity cross, he should first try to get some crosses in the world cup matches :)

« Reply #40 on: November 20, 2005, 10:30:15 AM »
ah read everybody comments on de topic....but ah hafta ask
what is de medal no matter which one he might get, gonna do for football or any other sport in trinidad and tobago
medal ain't money, and dat is what is needed in this case.

so instead ah giving de man a medal, (which ah know he ain't go care for) why not give more dan dey "6 million" towards dey betterment ah sports.
You know how much children after seeing de game on wednesday want to go learn about football and doh have the benefits to achieve such?
How many girls want to go play football now and dey don't know de forum to start.  
What happen to building ah school for dey kids and dem instead ah having dem play on de streets...
People need to be better educated about sports and dey history behind it.
I bet ya 85% of the school kids will say Wendell Mottley was ah minister, how much ah dem know he was also ah sprinter

datz my 2 cents  :-*

« Reply #41 on: November 20, 2005, 10:34:51 AM »
Wonder if President Richards travel to Tobago to give Bertille he Chaconia yet? 

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #42 on: November 20, 2005, 10:38:29 AM »
steuuuuuuupppppppssssssssssssssss ..... allyuh men don't want to admit it ... but allyuh men not giving Jack his jacket because of political affiliation. Allyuh men have ah serious bout of jealousy.

If yuh not "rich" or own part of trinicity or wherever who the hell cares? Get your own yuh damn self!!
Yuh think people jess pick up ting and give Jack it?
He make what he have on his own - and how he choose to manage it is his own damn business.
If you don't like that, go live in a damn socialist state so they will redistribute wealth and give you something that you didn't earn.

What Jack has done for footballing in this country .... it is unprecedented.
Lara didn't do it in Football ... Crawford didn't do it in Football.
JACK DO IT IN FOOTBALL.
an' when they do it - who puff they chest first before they raise a national flag? Who it is was in a grab-fest for everything they could get from it?

All of allyuh ungrateful B!tches who revelling in TT glory, only revelling because JACK take it upon himself to find a REAL Coach abd PAY FOR THE COACH and his staff .... pay for player travel, expenses, etc.

I have a partner who play on National Teams where EVERYTHING was paid for by Jack ... even spending money for the players.

Jack not getting a Trinity Cross will be a political decision more than one with reasoning for principle.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2005, 10:40:29 PM by Rotato Poti »

Offline ahlikeit

« Reply #43 on: November 20, 2005, 10:42:35 AM »
Over the years being very critical Jack's tactics to promote T&T football, I will say he deserves the Trinity Cross even if at times he went about it the wrong way.. The fourth spot, that play-off berth that we won to qualify for world cup...... Jack Warner lobby for that on concacaf behalf. To the international community, he is labled as one who uses his position as Vice Preident of FIFA to seek  Trinidads interest. Over the last 20 years he as an individual have stood up to his critics for T&T football. He may have never kick a lime to qualify for Germany, but, from an administrative prospective...... he deserve the Trinity Cross

« Reply #44 on: November 20, 2005, 10:54:17 AM »
allyuh honestly think ah trinity cross  go help warner achieve what he wants to do for the sports in dis nation ?
granted de man give he all.....and we have to appreciate that.
but allyuh ain't think de man go be much happier to see that the government or whoever else show much more interest in sports, not only when ah team win or bring home a trophy, but in de real bad times too?

right now money talks more dan a medal.

my 2 cents

« Reply #45 on: November 20, 2005, 11:02:04 AM »
Maybee not the HIGHEST award.. but something mor like Chaconia GOLD..  I think he is deserving of that.. But one thing is clear... HE SHOULD BE REWARDED.. HE is the First MAJOR singular sponsor of our team.. De man deserve it.!

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #46 on: November 20, 2005, 11:15:27 AM »
When Trinidad Football faltered over the past 16 years - who get thrown under the bus?
JACK

Now when TT is in it's hayday .... AND, Jack is the one responsible for putting in place all the pieces to make this happen - everybody trying to discount his contribution to the success.

Jack for Trinity Medal. Anything else will be a farce.

Offline Hardball King

« Reply #47 on: November 20, 2005, 11:24:47 AM »
This topic is debatable since if you look at the persons who have received this honor, there doesn't seem to be some sort of common criteria. It is awarded for "distinguished and outstanding service to Trinidad and Tobago. It is awarded for gallantry in the face of the enemy, or for gallant conduct." WTF? Past winners included Sir Ellis Clarke, Janelle 'Penny' Commissiong, Brian Lara, CARICOM Sec-General Edwin Carrington, Pan Trinbago, Dr. Eric Williams and V.S. Naipaul. Lord Kitchener was never awarded one (he got the hummingbird) and many can argue that his efforts (10 time road march winner, etc) merit this dinstinction. Jack Warner, using his influence and money has certainly helped T&T football for many years, especially in the face of insufficient support from the private sector and the government. Whether or not his motives are altruistic, does not matter here, really. He has done a lot for football and we are reaping the rewards of this effort.

However, though I do not think T.C. is apt....as yet. Right now, maybe he should get the Chaconia Gold...it is still the second highest honor. If jack gets the T.C. (and I won't be mad) what about men like Latas and Yorke? T.C. for them too? They can lay as much claim to it cuz they have been through the shit. The winners I have mentioned before have done something to put Trinidad at world best status at some point or the other. Has what Jack has done akin to a Miss Universe? (seeing him in a dress would not be pretty), a test record?, National Independence and drafting of a constitution and helping to spread knowledge of a national instrument? Nah, no T.C. yet for Jack. While he has done a lot, plenty others have done a lot too...

« Reply #48 on: November 20, 2005, 11:43:58 AM »
This topic is debatable since if you look at the persons who have received this honor, there doesn't seem to be some sort of common criteria. It is awarded for "distinguished and outstanding service to Trinidad and Tobago. It is awarded for gallantry in the face of the enemy, or for gallant conduct." WTF? Past winners included Sir Ellis Clarke, Janelle 'Penny' Commissiong, Brian Lara, CARICOM Sec-General Edwin Carrington, Pan Trinbago, Dr. Eric Williams and V.S. Naipaul. Lord Kitchener was never awarded one (he got the hummingbird) and many can argue that his efforts (10 time road march winner, etc) merit this dinstinction. Jack Warner, using his influence and money has certainly helped T&T football for many years, especially in the face of insufficient support from the private sector and the government. Whether or not his motives are altruistic, does not matter here, really. He has done a lot for football and we are reaping the rewards of this effort.

However, though I do not think T.C. is apt....as yet. Right now, maybe he should get the Chaconia Gold...it is still the second highest honor. If jack gets the T.C. (and I won't be mad) what about men like Latas and Yorke? T.C. for them too? They can lay as much claim to it cuz they have been through the shit. The winners I have mentioned before have done something to put Trinidad at world best status at some point or the other. Has what Jack has done akin to a Miss Universe? (seeing him in a dress would not be pretty), a test record?, National Independence and drafting of a constitution and helping to spread knowledge of a national instrument? Nah, no T.C. yet for Jack. While he has done a lot, plenty others have done a lot too...

Very well stated Hardball King....and rotato poti it has NOTHING to do with political affiliation, just pure common sense, i think men need to understand the significant of the country's HIGHEST AWARD!!

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #49 on: November 20, 2005, 11:52:30 AM »
common sense would be to stop pouring millions of personal earnings into a National Football Team.
common sense would tell you that the government of the day should be the ones responsible for footing the cost of a National Football Team.
common sense would also tell you that wasn't for Jack - Beenie would not be there, the collection of talent would not be there, AND, the team would have had to forfeit games because they would not have been able to afford them.

With all the common sense that all of a sudden such a surplus since the Mexico victory .. ah wondering where it was since this journey start?

maybe it was too busy trying to at least contain the surge in crime.

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #50 on: November 20, 2005, 12:01:22 PM »

very respectable post .. but, Dwight and Latas did "retire" from the team over personal conflicts in the past. forgiven? ... yes!! Their yoeman service to the TT football team before their transgressions cannot be forgotten.
Jack's support of this team has been unwavering.

Football, unlike any of the other sports is not an individual sport, therefore accolades are shared.
However, every team/ organisation requires a leader.
Jack was the first man to lead TT to world recognition on an International Footballing stage. He has helped spread the knowledge of Trinidad and Tobago's Football.
TTs football usually plays third fiddle ... it goes "Former Manchester United striker Dwight Yorke who plays for Trindad & Tobago" ..... from now on it will read, "Trinidad & Tobago Dwight Yorke, who once starred for Manchester United"

What Jack has done for Footballing in TT .... we will never ever see another man do!
« Last Edit: November 20, 2005, 12:16:04 PM by Rotato Poti »

Offline Latent

« Reply #51 on: November 20, 2005, 12:13:52 PM »
I do not think that you can give just one member of the team the Trinity Cross, everyone on the team, in some way, played a part in getting us to the World Cup in Germany. So in my humble opinion, you have to give each member of the team the same award.

Offline marcus

• BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS
« Reply #52 on: November 20, 2005, 12:42:46 PM »
I would give the de man Tobago if I could.....  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Offline FATZ

« Reply #53 on: November 20, 2005, 01:12:46 PM »

very respectable post .. but, Dwight and Latas did "retire" from the team over personal conflicts in the past. forgiven? ... yes!! Their yoeman service to the TT football team before their transgressions cannot be forgotten.
Jack's support of this team has been unwavering.

Football, unlike any of the other sports is not an individual sport, therefore accolades are shared.
However, every team/ organisation requires a leader.
Jack was the first man to lead TT to world recognition on an International Footballing stage. He has helped spread the knowledge of Trinidad and Tobago's Football.
TTs football usually plays third fiddle ... it goes "Former Manchester United striker Dwight Yorke who plays for Trindad & Tobago" ..... from now on it will read, "Trinidad & Tobago Dwight Yorke, who once starred for Manchester United"

What Jack has done for Footballing in TT .... we will never ever see another man do!

You are the first man who talk about politcs in this matter, be honest and say who you support in the political arena. A next thing is that Dwight and Latas left because of some beef with Jack and i remember Yorke saying that Warner could not intimidate him because he knew certain things about Warner and his dealings. What do you think those certain things were?? I agree to giving him a medal but not the cross, in the end, he is still self serving.

Offline FATZ

« Reply #54 on: November 20, 2005, 01:18:27 PM »
allyuh honestly think ah trinity cross  go help warner achieve what he wants to do for the sports in dis nation ?
granted de man give he all.....and we have to appreciate that.
but allyuh ain't think de man go be much happier to see that the government or whoever else show much more interest in sports, not only when ah team win or bring home a trophy, but in de real bad times too?

right now money talks more dan a medal.

my 2 cents

A trinity cross on your resumé is a big thing Cana, that speaks a lot for a person's character by getting your country's highest award, that can be compared to a nobel prize and other awards.

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #55 on: November 20, 2005, 01:19:36 PM »
I have no affiliations with TT political parties.
I can't vote in TT, so that's a null and void topic - however, when you have Jack Warner in the hierarchy of the opposition - who's always been at loggerheads with the current administration for their lack of support for Football in TT, and then you have to see where politics gets involved.

The only reason Jack not getting a Trinity Cross is because there are NO political points to be gained from that.

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #56 on: November 20, 2005, 01:26:08 PM »
I say shit that, he should not get any cross cause in the end he's still looking out for his own interests.
I actually agree with FATZ, he has been looking out for his interests and yes Jack had an important role to play financially, but so did a whole host of other more deserving people........the actually team comes to mind. :-\

So give we some insight as to what in your mind.
Who is this WHOLE HOST?
Give me a list of the players who paid their own travel expenses, paid for their own hotel rooms, paid for their own meals.
Show me how much of them pay Beenie and his staff (both foreign and local).
Show me who pay for scouts to go to Bahrain and check out their team while we were still battling Mexico and wasn't even sure if we were gonna get to this stage.

Allyuh men shouldn't talk just for talking sake.
When yuh come - bring it!!

Offline FATZ

« Reply #57 on: November 20, 2005, 01:28:20 PM »
I have no affiliations with TT political parties.
I can't vote in TT, so that's a null and void topic - however, when you have Jack Warner in the hierarchy of the opposition - who's always been at loggerheads with the current administration for their lack of support for Football in TT, and then you have to see where politics gets involved.

The only reason Jack not getting a Trinity Cross is because there are NO political points to be gained from that.

We need to find out exactly who makes the decision on award nominees and also yuh don't need to be able to vote to support a party because there are Guyanese people who support the UNC financially(there are those who even vote for them) and other islanders who support the PNM.

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #58 on: November 20, 2005, 01:29:58 PM »
... yuh forget to also add at the end of PNM ... who vote for them also.

Offline FATZ

« Reply #59 on: November 20, 2005, 01:33:42 PM »
... yuh forget to also add at the end of PNM ... who vote for them also.

I just going by what i know for sure through my immigration and EBC links but then as i say that you might say that those institutions are controlled by the ruling party and then i'd tell you about who they catch padding and that's the end of story. I don't wish to fight politics because that's like religion, never fight down another opinion on those subjects, a man nearly fight meh when i was in school because i was giving him peecong onhis religion so i've learnt my lesson.