April 29, 2024, 12:24:07 AM

Author Topic: Win, lose or draw Trinidad are all set to enliven finals  (Read 3501 times)

Win, lose or draw Trinidad are all set to enliven finals
« on: November 29, 2005, 09:23:01 PM »
Win, lose or draw Trinidad are all set to enliven finals

PORT OF SPAIN, Nov 30 (Reuters) - With three of the 10 qualifiers completed by the end of March, Trinidad & Tobago were bottom of their six-team CONCACAF group and as far away from the World Cup finals as they could be.

After six matches, matters had hardly improved with just four points taken from a possible 18 and the team lying one place off the foot of the standings.

Then a funny thing started to happen. Trinidad & Tobago chalked up three victories in their last four games and clinched a playoff match against Bahrain with the winners set to go to Germany.

Trinidad triumphed 2-1 on aggregate and the partying has hardly stopped since.

With a population of just 1.1 million, the two-island nation will be the smallest at the finals and are unlikely to survive the first round.  >:( :cursing:

Their fans, however, will probably be among the noisiest and most exuberant in Germany and those lucky enough to get tickets know who to thank.

Former Dutch national coach Leo Beenhakker, now 63, transformed the Soca Warriors when he took over from Bertile St Clair after the first three qualifiers.

Helped by the return of experienced striker Dwight Yorke who came out of international retirement, their fortunes began to improve as confidence grew.

Although their main achievement has been to actually get to the finals, the side are unlikely to be total pushovers.

Thirteen of them make their living in England with goalkeeper Shaka Hislop, striker Stern John and Kenwyne Jones all having Premier League experience and Hislop still in the elite division at West Ham United.

Yorke, the team's talisman, won the English title and Champions League with Manchester United and although now 34 he is still scoring for Sydney United in Australia and will be back on the world stage when his team play in next month's Club World Championship in Japan.

The side usually play in a 4-4-2 formation and there is no lack of talent. That, together with a smattering of experience and plenty of enthusiasm should make their World Cup debut a lively one, for the three first-round matches they are likely to be involved in.

Updated on Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005
« Last Edit: November 30, 2005, 06:45:03 AM by Tallman »

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
Re: Dey takin we lightly
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2005, 09:46:29 PM »
Jamaica left their mark on France '98 NOW ITS OUR TURN TO LEAVE A MARK IN GERMANY!!!!!!!!! :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2005, 09:53:52 PM »
Jamaica left their mark on France '98 NOW ITS OUR TURN TO LEAVE A MARK IN GERMANY!!!!!!!!! :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:

Jamaica had win any matches when they went?

« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2005, 09:56:59 PM »
2-1 vs Japan
1-3 vs Croatia
0-5 vs Argentina

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2005, 10:00:27 PM »
guess that answered your question eh Toppa?

« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2005, 12:04:00 AM »
I remember Batistuta laughing and saying how Jamaica not up to world cup standards when they beat them 5-0.

« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2005, 12:09:09 AM »
Imagine what 200 Trinis do in bahrain, trus me, the WC will never have seen anything like T&T, when 4000 Trinis converge in germany for carnival!
Imagine a Brazil - TT game, oh lord!

Offline raj

« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2005, 12:44:49 AM »
Dem germans go be amazed with the rhythm section. It does completely take over the stadium. Ah cyan wait to see it against the European and British holligans singing. Dem Spanish was dumbfounded for the Gold Cup!

« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2005, 02:31:35 AM »
2-1 vs Japan
1-3 vs Croatia
0-5 vs Argentina

I'm sorry I don't know. Was the only victory against Japan?

« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2005, 06:16:39 AM »
yes fella...they played 3 games...look at the scores...only one win.

Offline cm103

Re: Win, lose or draw Trinidad are all set to enliven finals
« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2005, 08:45:47 AM »
Dat man ent know Trinis if he saying this early we ent seeing a second rounds...

Entertainment factor have to come second to good ball play...if we really impress our style we go turn heads

« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2005, 08:59:42 AM »
I truely believe we will make secound rounds no matter which group we a placed in. That is when things will get really interesting :devil: :devil:

« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2005, 01:27:00 PM »
Imagine what 200 Trinis do in bahrain, trus me, the WC will never have seen anything like T&T, when 4000 Trinis converge in germany for carnival!
Imagine a Brazil - TT game, oh lord!

Yeah boy, Soca vs Samba....ah would love to see dat game.

« Reply #13 on: December 01, 2005, 04:14:53 AM »
Fuj Real

« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2005, 05:21:38 AM »
I was tellin a friend, we could wine up on some Brasilian ting in Germany.  If we really play them it will be real action on and off de field.
Plus Ronaldinho will be able to appreciate when Latas hit him a spanner and make him skin out on de pitch.

« Reply #15 on: December 01, 2005, 05:39:23 AM »
ha ha

I was tellin a friend, we could wine up on some Brasilian ting in Germany. If we really play them it will be real action on and off de field.
Plus Ronaldinho will be able to appreciate when Latas hit him a spanner and make him skin out on de pitch.

Offline Hyperhot J

« Reply #16 on: December 01, 2005, 07:55:00 AM »
   Boy once we in the group with Brasil or any other South American team I go gearsing up myself to put dong spanner and shaker when I pull meh special crotch to bam bam grine on the hot supporters!! Oh gorshsh we Trini women and South American women together, look look I eh go know who to wine up on I go go mad. Goosh meh mouth watering already. We need a South American team in we group to get their females supporter yeah yeah!! Even Paraguay and we jamming.   :wavetowel:

Yeah yeah,

Warrior for life, fan jamming supporter for life,

Impossible is nothing!

Vibesing it up forever!

J.  ;D
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power." 

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare

« Reply #17 on: December 01, 2005, 08:04:40 AM »
dont worry jason, we will sharing spanner on de field and sharing wine in de stands!!

ah love it!

« Reply #18 on: December 01, 2005, 03:49:50 PM »

exactly what mark was that? ???

Offline rastafari

« Reply #19 on: December 01, 2005, 05:07:32 PM »

De mark just buss is "dead man"  play

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

« Reply #20 on: December 01, 2005, 06:15:08 PM »

Jamaica actually won a game and scored some goals on their debut. That is commendable. Respect to that.

Right now, some of our optimism bordering on arrogance and delusion. I realize most men jes on kicks but we have not done anything yet. I doh know why we talking about TnT v. Brazil or TnT v. Argentina. Beenie get a chance to play Argentina and back dong one time. De man is an experienced, intelligent professional and know that if we face a side like dat now we will get humbled......come June 2006, we will be more prepared, but chances are a team like Brazil or Argentina will hit us for about 5 no matter how prepared we are. Men eh want to hear that, but it is very likely. Notice I eh say it bound to happen, but men who follow plenty international ball should know, we eh ready to be talking all dat trash...not a side that had to fight to beat Bahrain.

« Reply #21 on: December 02, 2005, 05:25:17 PM »
Fihlo
I eh feel we holding five from any side
we would at this point most probably lose to a ful strength brazil or argentina squad but we eh holding 5 from anybody
Worst is a 3

« Reply #22 on: December 02, 2005, 08:23:12 PM »
Fihlo
I eh feel we holding five from any side
we would at this point most probably lose to a ful strength brazil or argentina squad but we eh holding 5 from anybody
Worst is a 3

yeah breds...you might be right cause is only ah opinion I have...I eh no coach. I hoping by the time the WC comes around that is true. Plus football is all about matchups...even the best teams does have a bogey team...Brazil still has a losing record against Norway. But hear what I basing my opinion off of:

If Brazil could hit Argentina 4 in the Confederation's Cup final when they hit full steam...they could hit us five easy. If their B side hit a full strength Mexico 4 in the Copa America the year before, then I eh know why you think 5 out of the question. Right now, our team could be the one that beat Mexico 2-1 in de stadium, or the one that tie Bahrain 1-1 in the stadium. So until we start to look consistantly good...I pretty sure a big team could make us look bad. I know some men go accuse me of being pessimistic or unpatriotic, but I just feel we have real weaknesses to address still

« Reply #23 on: December 05, 2005, 10:17:47 AM »
Ah sayin that they wouldn't hit us 5 cuz if they play us in d stadium dey eh go try to embarrass us like dat  ;D
they only kill argentina cuz it was revenge for the wcq
by the way, they had real play in the said wcq that they lost
but it was a real hard luck. kinda like barca v chelsea in last yr's ecl

« Reply #24 on: December 05, 2005, 03:32:43 PM »
Ah sayin that they wouldn't hit us 5 cuz if they play us in d stadium dey eh go try to embarrass us like dat  ;D
they only kill argentina cuz it was revenge for the wcq
by the way, they had real play in the said wcq that they lost
but it was a real hard luck. kinda like barca v chelsea in last yr's ecl

yeah boss...correct is right. nobody eh hitting us 5 in TnT (w. beenie as coach)

« Reply #25 on: December 05, 2005, 03:54:47 PM »
what a bias ass f**kin article that was mostly bullshit to the end (total pushovers!?) whos d fellah da wrote dah so i could shove a pair a meh old cleets up he ass when we go tru to second round

Offline Milan!!!

• Naps man fuh life!!!
« Reply #26 on: December 05, 2005, 04:47:23 PM »
who the hell write that biased atriccle..u ent hear that "at least for the 3 first round matches"..feel Trinidad cyah do better!!!!...i never see more...breds listen up..However far trinidad make it..one thing for sure I will guarantee..when we rock GErmany padna..they will want to know who is Trinidad..out enthusiasm..liveliness and as Jack Warner said we definitely going to make an impact in Germany.

« Reply #27 on: December 06, 2005, 07:23:19 AM »
 Jamaica left their mark on the World Cup ??? I would think with those results....The World Cup leave marks on dem because they get rel licks :devil:

« Reply #28 on: December 06, 2005, 05:00:27 PM »
Jamaica left their mark on the World Cup ??? I would think with those results....The World Cup leave marks on dem because they get rel licks :devil:
yea true, but dey really made dey country proud when dey played Japan. Two really nice goals from theodore (I think) from