April 28, 2024, 04:05:01 PM

Author Topic: Footballer refused entry to Guyana  (Read 8360 times)

Footballer refused entry to Guyana
« on: December 30, 2005, 08:40:05 AM »
Footballer refused entry to Guyana.
By Opoku Ware (Tobago News).

Caribbean integration and Caricom unity meant nothing for two young Tobagonians Daryll James and Donald Wills when they went to Guyana on December 11.
James, a professional footballer with Tobago United was going to play in a soccer tournament in Guyana, while Wills went for a short holiday with his good friend James.
However, their planned visit to the South American Caricom nation turned into a nightmare when they arrived at the Timheri airport in Guyana.
When James spoke to the Tobago News this week he was still visibly disturbed by the incident. He told the Tobago News that "when we arrived at the Guyanese airport, we were pulled over by customs officials who wanted to know how much money we had. We told them we had US$400 each and were going to be staying at a friend of ours who regularly visits us in Tobago and who was at the airport to meet us."
According to the Tobago Pro footballer, "the Guyanese Customs officials told us we had to have over $US1,000 to enter the country because that is how the Barbados Customs officials treating Guyanese when they go to Barbados."
Continuing to explain the horrors they experienced in Guyana, James revealed, "we were kept in a room for 11 hours and we were not allowed to make a phone call. We explained to the Guyanese officials that we had already paid TT$1,215 each for our ticket, but they did not care about that and after 11 hours, we were put on a flight back to Trinidad."
James said he found it strange that "at a time when Guyanese nationals were flooding all over Tobago and Trinidad, this was the type of bad treatment we had to undergo in fellow Caricom nations."
The two plan to report the incident to Caricom Ambassador Jerry Narace after the Christmas holidays.
Meanwhile the Caricom Single Market and the Economy (CSME) which comes on stream on Sunday would allow for the free movement of people within the region, but the two are questioning whether this would ever come to fruition.

T&T relieves Guyana of US$123m.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2005, 01:45:05 PM by Flex »

Re: Footballer refused entry to Guyana
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2005, 08:48:53 AM »
Guyana feel that them fellas was Bajan's. Is Barbados does ruff up guyanese. We does let them sell on Charlotte Street and Chaguanas. Jerry Narace what will you do? I expect absolutely nothing.

Offline monty

« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2005, 08:58:58 AM »
That is why we keep forgiving dey damn debt? Waste of time yes.

« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2005, 09:47:40 AM »

dat is not an educated response.

Sorry.

I agree that the Customs officials were wrong and probably angry..but the debt forgiveness...come on man.

Offline cm103

« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2005, 10:02:04 AM »
Customs down there need some more accountability...it kinda strange in truth dat they talk about Barbados when dem men was most likely carrying TnT passports.

We Customs and Immigration eh no better...last time i was home it seem like everybody who had a hard luck with d hurricanes last year end up in TnT.

Where d checks and balances?

Offline monty

« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2005, 10:05:58 AM »

dat is not an educated response.

Sorry.

I agree that the Customs officials were wrong and probably angry..but the debt forgiveness...come on man.

I just keeping with the Customs officials train of thought:

"the Guyanese Customs officials told us we had to have over $US1,000 to enter the country because that is how the Barbados Customs officials treating Guyanese when they go to Barbados"

And I was probably angry...

« Reply #6 on: December 30, 2005, 11:35:06 AM »
refused entry into Guyana? dey should be glad

« Reply #7 on: December 30, 2005, 11:46:49 AM »
Footballer refused entry to Guyana
By Opoku Ware (Tobago News)

Caribbean integration and Caricom unity meant nothing for two young Tobagonians Daryll James and Donald Wills when they went to Guyana on December 11.

James, a professional footballer with Tobago United was going to play in a soccer tournament in Guyana, while Wills went for a short holiday with his good friend James.

However, their planned visit to the South American Caricom nation turned into a nightmare when they arrived at the Timheri airport in Guyana.

When James spoke to the Tobago News this week he was still visibly disturbed by the incident. He told the Tobago News that "when we arrived at the Guyanese airport, we were pulled over by customs officials who wanted to know how much money we had. We told them we had US$400 each and were going to be staying at a friend of ours who regularly visits us in Tobago and who was at the airport to meet us."

According to the Tobago Pro footballer, "the Guyanese Customs officials told us we had to have over $US1,000 to enter the country because that is how the Barbados Customs officials treating Guyanese when they go to Barbados."

Continuing to explain the horrors they experienced in Guyana, James revealed, "we were kept in a room for 11 hours and we were not allowed to make a phone call. We explained to the Guyanese officials that we had already paid TT$1,215 each for our ticket, but they did not care about that and after 11 hours, we were put on a flight back to Trinidad."

James said he found it strange that "at a time when Guyanese nationals were flooding all over Tobago and Trinidad, this was the type of bad treatment we had to undergo in fellow Caricom nations."

The two plan to report the incident to Caricom Ambassador Jerry Narace after the Christmas holidays.

Meanwhile the Caricom Single Market and the Economy (CSME) which comes on stream on Sunday would allow for the free movement of people within the region, but the two are questioning whether this would ever come to fruition.

>:( >:( >:(

Offline trinidre

« Reply #8 on: December 30, 2005, 11:51:07 AM »
yeah but why they treating the Trini boy and them like that if is barbados that does do them the same thing?

« Reply #9 on: December 30, 2005, 12:01:16 PM »
yeah but why they treating the Trini boy and them like that if is barbados that does do them the same thing?

all ah dem jealous we!!

Offline trinidre

« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2005, 12:06:03 PM »
it have to be a jealousy thing because ah cyar really see no other reason for that nah if especially if the only reason for that is because barbados do them the same thing. it eh we fault them is barbados bobolee  ;D

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2005, 12:28:31 PM »
dey should be happy they getting some visitors to deh country with some US anywas but forreal they envy we.
All American

« Reply #12 on: December 30, 2005, 01:42:23 PM »
Them Guyanese must be though Tobago United was a big club like Manchester United, so they though them players had nuff dollars.

Who in they right mind will go Guyana for holidays, then again it have some decent women dong they who will ride with you for nothing...

PS: VB, talk to your people nah....

Offline RGarcia

« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2005, 01:53:46 PM »
is best them bouy and them did keep deh money and lime on the Prominade or on de beach someway with some trini woman yes. nothin beta than we girls yuh know that. ent?
All American

« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2005, 02:00:30 PM »
is best them bouy and them did keep deh money and lime on the Prominade or on de beach someway with some trini woman yes. nothin beta than we girls yuh know that. ent? :beermug:

Yea, we have nice women too,,,, but did you notice I said them Guyanese will ride for nothing... is free f**k, yuh f**king day and night. When yuh reach back from they yuh toetie swell and yuh balls go be looking like 2 chennet seed.

Offline cm103

« Reply #15 on: December 30, 2005, 03:51:10 PM »
refused entry into Guyana? dey should be glad

« Reply #16 on: December 30, 2005, 04:09:44 PM »
Whatever problem they have with Barbados officials should not affect T&T citizens. That US $ 1000 requirement is real crap. I am all for Caribbean Unity but shit like this is really disappointing. Why do the Bajans have to do that and why do the Guyanese have to treat T&T citizens like that. Charlotte Street is practially Guyanese. How many debts have we written off. Steups

Offline RGarcia

« Reply #17 on: December 30, 2005, 05:40:19 PM »
sam yuh aint easy nah  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
All American

« Reply #18 on: December 30, 2005, 08:31:08 PM »
we forgive them money and lets them get chorlotte street and this is the thanks we get

« Reply #19 on: December 31, 2005, 10:54:29 AM »
Guyana feel that them fellas was Bajan's. Is Barbados does ruff up guyanese. We does let them sell on Charlotte Street and Chaguanas. Jerry Narace what will you do? I expect absolutely nothing.
narace is ah c**t.he and he f**king brother who was the police.ojaran.he is ah faget.

it all boil dong to the guyanese envy we.i does meet alot ah guyanese in new york pretending to b trini.they talkin but yuh still hearin they gt accent.talkin bout chicken curry,goat curry,bora,banna,buddy,yuh go eat oh yuh eat and come.they envy we pride as well.i never ever ever ever hear ah trini lie and say they from another part ah the world.we proud to b trini.fellas if all know how i dislike dem f**kin guyanese.according to dem:they does bill ah passion in meh:translation, i does get vex.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2005, 11:04:59 AM by Tallman »