March 29, 2024, 04:28:07 AM

Author Topic: Sepp Blatter Thread  (Read 14323 times)

Re: Blatter wants alternative to shootouts
« Reply #30 on: May 25, 2012, 08:40:44 AM »
Nah that was NASL. Different league, different time.

They had it in MLS too... from 1996 to 1999

« Reply #31 on: May 25, 2012, 08:45:40 AM »
Nah that was NASL. Different league, different time.

They had it in MLS too... from 1996 to 1999
Me eh know. Might just be me. But I used to find that more exciting than penalties.

« Reply #32 on: May 25, 2012, 08:47:17 AM »
If Blatter wants to keep de essence of Team don't get rid of penalty kicks.  Make all 11 players take part in the shootout.  De only downside is that the game will last longer.

« Reply #33 on: May 25, 2012, 08:51:52 AM »
An alternative could be a points system.

If after extra time scores are tied, the winner is determined by the team that was the most attacking team.

That is determined by a points system.

Say...2 points for shots on goal that are on target

1 point for shots on goal off target

1 point for a corner

1/2 point deducted for each foul

This has the following benefits for the final stages of tournament play:

You no longer have the lottery of penalty kicks
The result of the game is determined by passages of play that typically take place in any game
You reward positive football.  Teams that play counter attack football are still rewarded.
Teams that play not to lose, negative football hoping to steal a win in the end have a disincentive to do so
Matches still end within a particular time frame
Encourages a cleaner game (with the deduction of points for fouls)

It has the following drawbacks:

You lose the sheer drama of penalty kicks.  No one can turn away from the screen when penalty kicks are taken
Potential for an "underdog" result is lessened because they can't simply park the bus and hope to steal a result.
Administration of this system may be complex and confusing especially for fans to keep a tally of points.  However, the advent of massive digital scoreboards at most major stadia would help to alleviate this problem.
Implementation worldwide could be challenging

« Last Edit: May 25, 2012, 08:54:35 AM by palos »

« Reply #34 on: May 25, 2012, 09:02:41 AM »
The problem with that points system is that you will likely end up with a pre-determined result going into extra time.

A team could tally their points at the end of full time and realize they have enough shots on goals/corners during the course of the game to see them through, so put 11 players behind the ball in extra time and the game will just peter out into a farce.

Also i don't think a point system properly quantifies what is attacking football to reward it as such. What about teams like Barcelona who hoard possession and dominate games but wait for the right moments to shoot? Do you incentivize all that possession with a statistic or punish it for a lack of clear cut opportunities?

They could come up against a team that sits back and hits on the break and launches aimless shots on goal and end up with a better points tally. So they would have to change their game to suit.

Also, a team could shoot balls aimless on and off target to build up their 'points on goal' stats or run the ball down by the corner flag to earn corners.

Thats my main issue as well with a points system its almost like you telling teams how they should play the game.

Too many scenarios whereby teams can try to exploit the system to rack up points and allow the game to descend into folly. Just imagine the crowd cheering their team on in the last minute to earn one more jokey corner kick as if is Duckworth-Lewis they dealing with. Madness.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2012, 09:10:50 AM by dinho »

« Reply #35 on: May 25, 2012, 09:07:57 AM »

If after extra time scores are tied, the winner is determined by the team that was the most attacking team.

1 point for a corner

The result of the game is determined by passages of play that typically take place in any game
You reward positive football.  Teams that play counter attack football are still rewarded.
Teams that play not to lose, negative football hoping to steal a win in the end have a disincentive to do so

You lose the sheer drama of penalty kicks.  No one can turn away from the screen when penalty kicks are taken
Potential for an "underdog" result is lessened because they can't simply park the bus and hope to steal a result.
Administration of this system may be complex and confusing especially for fans to keep a tally of points.  However, the advent of massive digital scoreboards at most major stadia would help to alleviate this problem.

WTF you talking about mister expert on Football?move from here with that shyt eh.

« Reply #36 on: May 25, 2012, 09:31:09 AM »
Also i don't think a point system properly quantifies what is attacking football to reward it as such. What about teams like Barcelona who hoard possession
Barca hoards possession yes..but they also have more shots on goal than their opponents.  The system will reward it.  If the opposition wants to allow them to have possession and not foul them...that's their decision.

The intent is to encourage POSITIVE football.  Not anti football.

« Reply #37 on: May 25, 2012, 09:32:24 AM »

1 point for a corner

WTF you talking about mister expert on Football?move from here with that shyt eh.

:rotfl: :rotfl:  Wham Coop's?  Jack eh send yuh yuh monthly stipend yet?   ;D

« Reply #38 on: May 25, 2012, 09:34:02 AM »
Also i don't think a point system properly quantifies what is attacking football to reward it as such. What about teams like Barcelona who hoard possession
Barca hoards possession yes..but they also have more shots on goal than their opponents.  The system will reward it.  If the opposition wants to allow them to have possession and not foul them...that's their decision.

That is Baeca, but what about Arsenal? They also regularly hold alot of possession with little end product.

One could argue that as a brand of anti-football as well.

« Last Edit: May 25, 2012, 09:49:56 AM by dinho »

« Reply #39 on: May 25, 2012, 09:41:07 AM »

That is Arsenal, but what about Arsenal? They also regularly hold alot of possession with little end product.

One could argue that as a brand of anti-football as well.

One cocould arguie that if yuh want but you taking more shots at the opponent goal than they take at yours, who really playing anti-footbal?

« Reply #40 on: May 25, 2012, 11:26:41 AM »
Ehy Ehy Dinho...doh call arsenal name in anti-football.

No Chelsea man could come and talk no anti football talk...

« Reply #41 on: May 25, 2012, 11:53:24 AM »
That points scene sounding like potential for real controversy!

Teams that "play for penalities" usually do so because they have to - based on their quality or the matchups they usually have no choice but to play cautiously to get a result - and most times the "better" team still wins. This Chelsea run (or Greece's run in the Euros '04) was an anomaly.  On another day, Barca woulda taken their chances and Chelsea woulda lost soundly, and we wouldn't even be having the conversation.

In a purely neutral scenario, yeah it nice to see the more open positive side get rewarded with victory, but lewwe doh pretend that it doh be equally nice and entertaining to see David hold on and scratch and claw to muster up a spirited victory over Goliath... Sometimes yuh hadda just accept that a weaker side with less quality will adopt a pragmatic approach to a game, and only sometimes it will work - if it means PKs then so be it.  It hard to watch "big sides" play "negative" football but in the end teams hadda give themselves the best chance they could to win or get a result - yuh can't punish a team for that. 

« Reply #42 on: May 25, 2012, 12:10:33 PM »
That points scene sounding like potential for real controversy!

It's nothing more than a suggestion to an alternative for penalty kicks to determine the outcome of a game.

It can be debated that it may even be a fairer outcome than penalties...which really is a lottery.  Admittedly, it's a serious psychological test for all involved plus the sheer theatre of it all.  But there's an element of side show to it as well and doesn't SEEM a very fair way to decide a major championship winner.

« Reply #43 on: May 25, 2012, 01:00:57 PM »
hmmm I dunno.

I think Penalties are 100% fair by definition.  Each team gets 5 tries - no advantage given to either team. PKs might be harsh, but they fair.  The thing about it is, any side could win a PK shootout - people only find it seemingly unfair when their opinion of the better side doh win.

What more fair? 

Yuh play all over a side that park the bus, and they score one fluke goal in regulation and yuh loss...

or

Yuh play all over a side that park the bus, score end up in a draw, match go to PKs and yuh loss...

or

Yuh play all over a side that park the bus, score end up in a draw, match to to PKs and yuh win...

Look at it like that and in my opinion the end result is what determines the perception of fairness - PKs or no PKs.

« Reply #44 on: May 25, 2012, 01:09:14 PM »
hmmm I dunno.

What more fair? 

Yuh play all over a side that park the bus, and they score one fluke goal in regulation and yuh loss...

or

Yuh play all over a side that park the bus, score end up in a draw, match go to PKs and yuh loss...

or

Yuh play all over a side that park the bus, score end up in a draw, match to to PKs and yuh win...

Look at it like that and in my opinion the end result is what determines the perception of fairness - PKs or no PKs.

Scenario 1 is decided in regulation time so neither penalties nor a points system would come into play.

If it had a points system....scenarios 2 and 3 would have been decided by a FAIRER outcome than penalties IMO

At the end of the day, it's merely a suggestion.  Nothing more...nothing less.

« Reply #45 on: May 25, 2012, 01:48:08 PM »
I agree with Kicker that penalties are very fair because each team has the same opportunity.  Sometimes teams like Barca and Arsenal become so focused on style of play that they forget the object of the game is to score goals.  Yes some teams might be better in terms of attractiveness of play but at the end of the game the only "better" that counts is which team was better at putting de ball in de net.

« Reply #46 on: May 25, 2012, 02:57:41 PM »
I agree with Kicker that penalties are very fair because each team has the same opportunity.  Sometimes teams like Barca and Arsenal become so focused on style of play that they forget the object of the game is to score goals.  Yes some teams might be better in terms of attractiveness of play but at the end of the game the only "better" that counts is which team was better at putting de ball in de net.

So a team that doesn't take a shot at goal during regulation and extra time but insteadpulls all XI players back hoping for penalties is the "better" team if they "win" the penalty shootout?

We'll agree to disagree here.

Football is entertainment.  PERIOD.  And teams that sacrifice entertainment at the altar of result do the game a disservice in my opinion.

At the VERY LEAST....try to win.  It's why catanaccio was HATED back in the 70's and anti football is no different.  How many people outside of a Greece fan could honestly say they were ENTERTAINED by Greece in Portugal?

If yuh is a minnow playin a giant...at least I could understand why u playin dat way.  But when alleged "BIG" teams adopt the same tactics, it seem cowardly to me.

Even when little T&T played in Germany, they had their critics amongst their own fans.  Why Beenie didn't give Latas more time?  He tied down de players too much and didn't showcase de "trini brand".  How Theobald could play over Latas?  etc etce etc

To each their own.  I like positive football.  If "result" football is all you care about...more power to you.

And that "you" is a collective "you"...not aimed at anyone in particular.

« Reply #47 on: May 25, 2012, 03:18:42 PM »

So a team that doesn't take a shot at goal during regulation and extra time but insteadpulls all XI players back hoping for penalties is the "better" team if they "win" the penalty shootout?

Football is entertainment.  PERIOD.  And teams that sacrifice entertainment at the altar of result do the game a disservice in my opinion.

At the VERY LEAST....try to win.  It's why catanaccio was HATED back in the 70's and anti football is no different.  How many people outside of a Greece fan could honestly say they were ENTERTAINED by Greece in Portugal?

If yuh is a minnow playin a giant...at least I could understand why u playin dat way.  But when alleged "BIG" teams adopt the same tactics, it seem cowardly to me.

Even when little T&T played in Germany, they had their critics amongst their own fans.  Why Beenie didn't give Latas more time?  He tied down de players too much and didn't showcase de "trini brand".  How Theobald could play over Latas?  etc etce etc

To each their own.  I like positive football.  If "result" football is all you care about...more power to you.

Football is ENTERTAINMENT... Agreed.

But what is entertaining to you might not be entertaining to a next fan. An English or Stoke fan typically frowns on a Spanish or Barcelona brand because they find watching the ball being knocked around 100 times with no attempt on goal to be too indirect and useless for their liking. They favor a more direct approach and they like to see players getting stuck in.

Similarly, an Italian fan finds beauty in a catenaccio brand soaking up pressure with defensive discipline and structure and hitting a team on the counter attack.

A German fan will have little patience for dallying on the ball, beatsing and showboating, but value fast, efficient, effective football. A Brazilian fan on the other hand is not satisfied if their football is missing flair and exhibitions of skill.

ENTERTAINMENT is subjective... Not because you like a certain style of play means that rules should be implemented to incentivize the kind of football you like.

Part of what makes football great is that contrasting styles compete against each other to try to come out on top. Who is to say an Italian brand is worse than a Brazilian brand... A German brand better than a Dutch brand.. An Argentinian brand better than an African brand??? 

At the end of the day, if a team puts XI players behind the ball and you cannot score on them in 120 minutes of normal time, then you were tactically beaten. If you cannot score then you did not do enough to win regardless. Or maybe you were just unlucky.

It is not always the case that the better team wins, that is the beauty of football.

« Reply #48 on: May 25, 2012, 03:39:21 PM »
PK's aren't "ideal" but no other option is.  We don't even live in an ideal world so we cannot expect activities that are microcosms of life to have "ideal" endings either.  Short of that, PK's are still the best solution to determining a game winner and all them other options that people want to suggest are either even less ideal than PK's or too damned complicated (like dat crazy-ass "point" system Palos wanna trow up on we lap dey) to make any sense.  Blatter ever played this game?....or is he just on drugs? Taking penalties is the purest form of the sport, almost like the nucleus of an element.  Leave the damned thing just the way it is.   

« Reply #49 on: May 25, 2012, 04:27:15 PM »
Too many scenarios whereby teams can try to exploit the system to rack up points and allow the game to descend into folly. Just imagine the crowd cheering their team on in the last minute to earn one more jokey corner kick as if is Duckworth-Lewis they dealing with. Madness.

At least yuh attackin.  Better that than takin de ball into de corner, takin 3 minutes to come off de field for a sub in de 120th minute, or diving and rolling around on de ground like if yuh break yuh leg, tryin to waste time.

Oh wait....you is a Chelsea man.  My bad  :devil:

« Reply #50 on: May 25, 2012, 04:30:36 PM »
Football is ENTERTAINMENT... Agreed.

But what is entertaining to you might not be entertaining to a next fan. An English or Stoke fan typically frowns on a Spanish or Barcelona brand because they find watching the ball being knocked around 100 times with no attempt on goal to be too indirect and useless for their liking. They favor a more direct approach and they like to see players getting stuck in.

Similarly, an Italian fan finds beauty in a catenaccio brand soaking up pressure with defensive discipline and structure and hitting a team on the counter attack.

A German fan will have little patience for dallying on the ball, beatsing and showboating, but value fast, efficient, effective football. A Brazilian fan on the other hand is not satisfied if their football is missing flair and exhibitions of skill.

ENTERTAINMENT is subjective... Not because you like a certain style of play means that rules should be implemented to incentivize the kind of football you like.

Part of what makes football great is that contrasting styles compete against each other to try to come out on top. Who is to say an Italian brand is worse than a Brazilian brand... A German brand better than a Dutch brand.. An Argentinian brand better than an African brand??? 

At the end of the day, if a team puts XI players behind the ball and you cannot score on them in 120 minutes of normal time, then you were tactically beaten. If you cannot score then you did not do enough to win regardless. Or maybe you were just unlucky.

It is not always the case that the better team wins, that is the beauty of football.

But hoss...if brand is what de topic was yuh definitely have a point. 

But de topic is about possible alternatives to PK's.  I jes say teams that play SOLELY for PK's do a disservice to the essence of the game which is Entertainment.

Wha "brand" is PK's?

« Reply #51 on: May 25, 2012, 05:27:35 PM »

1 point for a corner

in truth, dis worse dan Duckworth-Lewis, de man hatred have him talkin sh!t a whole week later  :rotfl:

« Reply #52 on: May 25, 2012, 07:06:13 PM »
PK's aren't "ideal" but no other option is.  We don't even live in an ideal world so we cannot expect activities that are microcosms of life to have "ideal" endings either.  Short of that, PK's are still the best solution to determining a game winner and all them other options that people want to suggest are either even less ideal than PK's or too damned complicated (like dat crazy-ass "point" system Palos wanna trow up on we lap dey) to make any sense.  Blatter ever played this game?....or is he just on drugs? Taking penalties is the purest form of the sport, almost like the nucleus of an element.  Leave the damned thing just the way it is.   
        :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :salute: :salute:

« Reply #53 on: May 25, 2012, 08:08:10 PM »
Blatter should think about overturning bad calls/goals etc be refs, like going to the cameras, have the fourth official view a replay of any event and then make such decisions.

« Reply #54 on: May 25, 2012, 08:47:19 PM »
So Chelsea win UCL and all of a sudden penalty kicks is a problem? i sure if was barca who won on PK, this thread wouldnt even exist.  ::)

what d hell blatter want to use? a coin toss?  ::)

« Reply #55 on: May 25, 2012, 11:16:41 PM »

But Palos, de only thing that counts is results.  For us fans football is entertainment yes.  For the teams playing the game the only thing that counts is the score at the end of the game.  For all the attractive football Barca and Beyern Munich play I guarantee yuh that they would gladly have taken a ugly win instead of a pretty loss.

I'm not supporting de "park de bus" brand by any means.  As a fan of Brazil and Arsenal  I like attractive football but when it comes to my teams I'll take ugly winning over pretty losing any day.

« Reply #56 on: May 26, 2012, 02:31:36 AM »
Steups!!    Palos still vex Chelsea win......oh and btw Palos, Holland going and win the Euros too with dey "anti football"......

« Reply #57 on: May 26, 2012, 03:37:16 AM »
A lil stat for the anti-Chelsea brigade....Chelsea have played 13 games in the Champions League since they last failed to score....more than any other team ;)

To paraphrase an old Brazilian footballer.....There is no such thing as an ugly win...."ugly" is not winning  :chilling:

« Reply #58 on: May 26, 2012, 06:11:27 AM »
Its funny how all of a sudden penalty kicks is a problem since the favorites eh wiin!!

Football is a beautiful game, but there isnt one way to play football.  Two teams go out against each other with the task of scoring and preventing goals.  If no one scores, then in my opinion, the teams are still on equal footing. 

You cannot only reward attacking play........because some teams have wonderful defensive strength. 

What is wrong with penalty kicks? Someone please tell me!! Blatter just playing up in his ass!!

And why people fighting down defensive football..........allyuh forget that defensive football brought us one of the greatest moments in our country's history.  If the only way to beat Barca is to park the bus and defend as if your lives depend on it, then so be it.

Some people act as if defending is an easy thing to do.  So unless that "points system" also rewards blocked shots and saves, then it would be heavily biased against defenders and goalkeepers.

That pts system would destroy the art of counter attacking football and never ever give David a chance against Goliath!!

« Reply #59 on: May 26, 2012, 07:31:41 AM »
That pts system would destroy the art of counter attacking football and never ever give David a chance against Goliath!!

How so?  "David" have an entire 120 minutes plus to leggo dem slingshot. 

Counter attacking football is great.  What?  Yuh doh take shots at goal and get corners etc in counter attacking football? 

As an alternative to penalty kicks, a points system would ONLY come into effect in the event teams are deadlocked at the end of extra time

In essence, what you really confirming is that there are teams that go solely into such matches NOT looking to score....but hoping to just get to penalties where they feel maybe they could have a chance.

But it really doh matter.  PK's will be here for the forseeable future.  All I suggested was an alternative. 
« Last Edit: May 26, 2012, 07:43:32 AM by palos »