April 25, 2024, 04:20:26 PM

Author Topic: Soca Warriors attracting big guns  (Read 4651 times)

Soca Warriors attracting big guns
« on: November 30, 2005, 05:42:29 PM »
Soca Warriors attracting big guns
By Shaun Fuentes

This country’s senior team is now on the end of several invitations for international warm up matches from other countries as preparations for next year’s World Cup in Germany.

Since the 1-0 victory over Bahrain earlier this month in Manama to secure a spot in next year’s finals, T&T’s value has obviously increased and there has been an outpouring of interest from not just international teams for matches, but also from other organizations and media companies hoping to get a piece of the “Soca Warriors”.  There have been countless offers, some worthy of taking note of and others simply not worth a second thought.

The top of the list so far has been an invitation to play Argentina’s full A-team in a friendly international in Buenos Aires in December. Unfortunately though, T&T may not be able to meet that request as head coach Leo Beenhakker realizes that the date proposed for the match may make it impossible for him to field a respectable T&T selection. An invitation has also come from Hungary but Beenhakker is hopeful of meeting them next year in Europe once the arrangements can be put in place.

There is also speculation about a match against Scotland at Upton Park in England but the TTFF cannot yet confirm whether it will be played.

World Eleven, a FIFA licensed match and agent is the company interested in arranging matches involving T&T. They recently put on the Costa Rica versus France match as well Saudi Arabia vs Paraguay and Portugal vs Lithuania.

Special Advisor to the TTFF Jack Warner, insisted that it was overwhelming for T&T to now be receiving such invitations and while all may not be readily acceptable, he is confident that the build up to the World Cup in June will be a well planned and thought out one for T&T.

“While time is not on our side, I am confident that we will have things in place and we will be able to make full use of the opportunities at our disposal,” Warner told TTFF Media on Wednesday.

So far, Beenhakker, in conjunction with the two FIFA dates for friendlies, has requested one match to be played at home in late March as a farewell affair for the team before the World Cup and an earlier one will be played in Europe on February 9.

Beenhakker will also be in Germany this week to have a better look at facilities and to decide the best location for T&T’s camp for the tournament.

So far only six countries have made bookings and FIFA has blocked up to 110 Hotels for teams to select for accommodation.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2005, 05:45:14 PM by Tallman »

Re: Soca Warriors attracting big guns
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2005, 05:53:28 PM »
Great stuff, this is exciting times!

MickeyRat

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2005, 05:54:52 PM »
If we only play Argentina I will go off........................... :devil:

But I like the idea of playing teams like Saudi Arabia, Paraguay, or even Lithuania.

« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2005, 06:22:08 PM »
I for one would have loved for us to get a friendly against the Argentines.  See if air dog could shut down crespo, but say what I know we will get something nice though.

MickeyRat

« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2005, 06:23:22 PM »
I for one would have loved for us to get a friendly against the Argentines. See if air dog could shut down crespo, but say what I know we will get something nice though.

Oh Gawd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
and Edwards puttin it on Heinze.

« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2005, 06:26:25 PM »
Leave the BIG TEAMS alone until about May. That should give us time to prepare.
We should start off with teams like Ecuador , Angola , Togo , Iran and Switzerland.
Then try some of the bigger teams.

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2005, 06:31:02 PM »
We should start off with teams like Ecuador , Angola , Togo , Iran and Switzerland.
i understand where u coming from...BUT isince in world cup we could bounce up ne body i feel we should take on argentina jus to get a feel for a world class opponent

Offline benedicts bwoy

« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2005, 06:31:20 PM »
Che, ah like dat idea sah!!
Leh we get some even match ups to cut we teeth on den when we beat dem we have de CONFIDENCE to go on to bigger an betta teams!!

VIBES IT UP!!

MickeyRat

« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2005, 06:33:38 PM »

May seems to be a bit late man.  If we asking our players to come back 2-3 times prior to the World Cup camp, let us give them quality games, and if they can get a game with a big-name team, good for them.

« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2005, 06:38:40 PM »
Nice to hear Argentina give the TTFF an inivitation to play us in Argentina.

« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2005, 06:39:46 PM »
i jus glad to see teams lining up to play we...dat real good

« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2005, 07:02:51 PM »
first let us play north east stars again cause me and shotta cyar get over that nightmare we went tru

second this article made me believe that we could in fact play brasil(i had my doubts)

« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2005, 07:27:44 PM »
morvant dont bring back dem memories

free game it was back in dem days i was young on d forum too first beenie game i see birchall an lawrence in d crowd i think morvant did talk to birchall too

den north east give 2 nil kendell jagdeosingh balll whoreeeeeeeeeeeeeee

whole stadium bawling north east for world cup

look how times hav changed

« Reply #13 on: November 30, 2005, 07:34:38 PM »
yeah me and me mum had ah little convo
« Last Edit: November 30, 2005, 07:54:34 PM by morvantman »

« Reply #14 on: November 30, 2005, 07:42:55 PM »
morvantman Ah hear people mention this jagdeosingh who is he.

« Reply #15 on: November 30, 2005, 07:44:55 PM »
ah star boy who had we shaking evey time he had de ball

good player

jah bad memories

de man make dwarika look like ah tranquil player this season

« Reply #16 on: November 30, 2005, 09:03:36 PM »
We need to play as many European sides as possible.  Chances are there will be 2 Euro teams in our group and we've always had problems with the their style of play.

« Reply #17 on: November 30, 2005, 10:47:05 PM »
i say we play argentina and get experience, y de hell not, wat yuh waitin for, how many chances teams does get 2 play a calibre team like argentina, allyuh mad or wha, wait 4 wat

vibes it up

« Reply #18 on: November 30, 2005, 10:52:52 PM »
It's flattering to know that we're receiving invitations from teams like Argentina, but the date is just too soon.  We gotta be on top of we games for teams like them.

« Reply #19 on: December 01, 2005, 03:33:18 AM »

Fear is our only enemy!! We should take the big dowgs. We can only learn. Then the small dawg will be easy.... Bite the Daggie :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #20 on: December 01, 2005, 07:28:00 AM »

Fear is our only enemy!! We should take the big dowgs. We can only learn. Then the small dawg will be easy.... Bite the Daggie :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Not necessarily....If we play Argentina without being ready......we could lose handsomely, lose confidence early and not really learn a whole lot. It could be bad for a W.C. preparation campaign.....We can't be afraid of anyone, but we also have to be realistic and intelligent. I think this prep campaign is one that needs to be approached strategically...... and playing a team like Argentina too early on might be a bad strategic move.

I thnk the fact that Beenie had reservations and commented (politically) about "fielding a respectable team" shows that he doesn't really think that playing them as early on as they wished was a good idea either. Qualifying for the W.C. has been a whirlwind experience for us, and understandably we the fans think that our team is larger than life and ready to take on anything....In reality that's not the case....and Beenie knows it. We still need to grow, and I think this W.C. preparation needs to be very carefully planned out for that to happen.

just my opinion
« Last Edit: December 01, 2005, 07:30:21 AM by kicker »

« Reply #21 on: December 01, 2005, 07:41:19 AM »
Point taken

Offline Hyperhot J

« Reply #22 on: December 01, 2005, 07:46:37 AM »
   Kicker I could not have made that point any better, my sentiments exactly, playing Argentina right now may give more damage than good, a 5-0 loss in Buenos Aires right now is not what we want ESPECIALLY since the team has not even BEGUN to start re-grouping and re-training together since the Bahrain game. Doh study it we go look for England or Brasil on March 29th and then see the scenes.

Jason.  :D
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power."

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare

« Reply #23 on: December 01, 2005, 07:51:03 AM »

Well said che!! my sentiments exactly.  We cannot run with those big boys as yet so its best if we play some second tier teams so that we could build up a head of steam as to the pace of the game and then take on the bigger guys closer to the time in which we have to play them!

A 5,6 or 7 goal loss to one of the teams we have to share the world stage with will not do us any good at all!

ah love it!

« Reply #24 on: December 01, 2005, 08:33:34 AM »
I doubt Beenhakker will go through with this game. He knows that Argentina are at least 2 tiers ahead of T&T, regardless of whatteam takes the field. 5-0 or 7-0 at this juncture will do more harm than good. Your first game away should be vs one of the 2nd tier Euro teams. Greece/Slovakia/Wales/Scotland/Ireland/

« Reply #25 on: December 01, 2005, 09:49:35 AM »
oh really, what make you feel we gettin 5 against argentina? jamaica get 4 against dem in world cup and ur team wasnt as talented as dis team, wha de hell yuh talkin about

like ur fraid we really show up ja in de world cup, jealousy biting yuh

vibes it up

reggaefan is a waste of time

« Reply #26 on: December 01, 2005, 10:29:19 AM »
tings lookin nice yes

« Reply #27 on: December 01, 2005, 10:36:48 AM »
vibes it up

Trininfinite, does anyone around here take your posts seriously? I dont. If you think its impossible for Argentina to route T&T in Argentina, then you have a long way to go. Still, you are being a true fan....so I cant really argue on that last point. What do you think would b a likely score line? Keep in mind that argentina is significantly stronger than your last opponent. BTW, it was 5-0 and not 4-0.

« Reply #28 on: December 01, 2005, 02:12:59 PM »
vibes it up

Trininfinite, does anyone around here take your posts seriously? I dont. If you think its impossible for Argentina to route T&T in Argentina, then you have a long way to go. Still, you are being a true fan....so I cant really argue on that last point. What do you think would b a likely score line? Keep in mind that argentina is significantly stronger than your last opponent. BTW, it was 5-0 and not 4-0.

:rotfl: we could put 10 men behind the ball like JA did in the friendly against Brazil in England. :rotfl: though it pains me to say this but you're right, playing Argentina(FBD)* would not be in our best interest at this juncture...too strong for we.

* Fire Bun Dem

« Reply #29 on: December 01, 2005, 02:35:07 PM »
:rotfl: we could put 10 men behind the ball like JA did in the friendly against Brazil in England. :rotfl: though it pains me to say this but you're right, playing Argentina(FBD)* would not be in our best interest at this juncture...too strong for we.
* Fire Bun Dem

When did Jamaica play Brazil in England? from my recollection, Ja played Brazil on 2 occasions, and if memory serves me correct, both occasions were in the gold cup. both games were very close 0-0 and 0-1 respectively. Yes, Jamaica did takea very defensive approach to both games..and as you can see, it was very effective!