April 28, 2024, 08:05:51 PM

Author Topic: Funny Footballer Nicknames  (Read 9054 times)

Funny Footballer Nicknames
« on: December 02, 2005, 09:02:55 AM »
Fellas

Curious to know what funny footballer nicknames you have heard in your time.  Ah play under-14 vs a yute man from Diego Sec. his teammates was only callin de man "Biters"  "Biters", when ah ask why?  Men say, de man nickname is "Bite a Bomb" b/c he was missin some front teeth, ah saw lawd, we is kix yes.

Play ball wid anodder fella name "Wabine", doh know de history of how he geh his name, rather not speculate, any odder funny ones out dey?

On de prof. side, ah like Stern own, Half Slab have a ring to ot

Offline Teflon Don

Re: Funny Footballer Nicknames
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2005, 09:06:17 AM »
BELMONT jR Sec had a yute name monkey  :rotfl:

« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2005, 09:21:56 AM »
Fellas

Curious to know what funny footballer nicknames you have heard in your time.  Ah play under-14 vs a yute man from Diego Sec. his teammates was only callin de man "Biters"  "Biters", when ah ask why?  Men say, de man nickname is "Bite a Bomb" b/c he was missin some front teeth, ah saw lawd, we is kix yes.

Play ball wid anodder fella name "Wabine", doh know de history of how he geh his name, rather not speculate, any odder funny ones out dey?

You talking bout Joel "Wabine" Peters? from Fatima.... that was meh real boy....
He actual full nickname was "Ferengi Nyabinghi Wabine" LOL  :rotfl:

The man get dat nickname de first day of class in Fatima.... one man find he look like ah wabine fish... ah next man find he look like ah ferengi from Star Trek..... I cyah remember where de Nyabinghi come from though...

« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2005, 09:34:16 AM »
Fellas

I namin Stern - Digicel - always on he phone

Joomba - Cedric Augustus - QRC - real African Features

Shawn Goater - Goat - look like one too :D
most recent ah like : Air Dawg - by Trini

« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2005, 09:47:24 AM »
It have a youth does play fuh St. Anthony's a tink dat does go by "corn curls".

Ah like dat one.  Original.

« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2005, 09:48:58 AM »
You talking bout Joel "Wabine" Peters? from Fatima.... that was meh real boy....

Actually nah, this was a yute man from Barataria who went to Barataira Jr. ah believe, not sure, but wabine seems to be a popular one.  Dere was a "Monkey" who played for Barataria Ball Players alongside Alibey, Curtis Celestine was his real name, believe he had a few caps for TT as well, Tallman mite be able to confirm dey....

« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2005, 09:53:34 AM »

Actually nah, this was a yute man from Barataria who went to Barataira Jr. ah believe, not sure, but wabine seems to be a popular one.  Dere was a "Monkey" who played for Barataria Ball Players alongside Alibey, Curtis Celestine was his real name, believe he had a few caps for TT as well, Tallman mite be able to confirm dey....
I know Monkey very well but i don't think he ever played for T&T,good player though.

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2005, 09:56:00 AM »
Gilligan BamBam ..... cuz we went down the islands, and all this man doing 24-7 was fishing while nuff peeps gettin patax, tisic and crunked up

« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2005, 10:02:30 AM »
Coops we probably overlap somewhere, men at Fatima use to laugh at meh when ah say, my club side is Barataria Ball Players, dey wuld say dem cyar stop army or Trintoc, which was hot sides in dem days, if yuh know Monkey den yuh wuld know Ronnie Charles as well, who army eventually bought, may he rest in peace......

« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2005, 10:08:18 AM »
These are some names Tesheira(Red light);Lincoln(Tiger);De labastied(Tank): Davis(Rugged Tom);Henry(Sharkey);Sammy(Crab);Phillips(Nobby):Pierre(Darkhorse);Cooper(Snake);these are just a few to start.

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2005, 10:14:50 AM »
it had ah keeper from a certain school .... NO NAMES CALLING ..... who get nicknamed "ocho" .... yeah "o-cho" as in the number 8 in Spanish.
The reason why cuz he get 8 goals in he pwehfum one Tuesday afternoon in the SSFL.

Before that, he name used to be "claffy" ... I eh know how we end up with "claffy" ... but ah man named "puedo" give him that name.

It also have another man named "CUTLASH" .... cuz when yuh see he pelt blade, is cuz he miss and all he cutting down is grass.

« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2005, 10:16:53 AM »
Coops we probably overlap somewhere, men at Fatima use to laugh at meh when ah say, my club side is Barataria Ball Players, dey wuld say dem cyar stop army or Trintoc, which was hot sides in dem days, if yuh know Monkey den yuh wuld know Ronnie Charles as well, who army eventually bought, may he rest in peace......
I know all these guys i'm from San Juan and grew up playing Football in Santa Cruz;Aranguez and Barataria(the Mang),Monkey was a very good friend of mine is just that over the years we lost touch.  

« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2005, 10:24:37 AM »
I know all these guys i'm from San Juan and grew up playing Football in Santa Cruz;Aranguez and Barataria(the Mang),Monkey was a very good friend of mine is just that over the years we lost touch.  

I grow up playin in "de Mang" too... but years after you.... Jabloteh and Caledonia was always we dread rivals... at one point Arima Angels and Challengers from Malabar?? too..
"Barney" was my coach...

« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2005, 10:25:28 AM »
stern nickname is bravo...not half slab....plenty of us here should be called half slab....corn curls is national u-17 striker lester peltier....

« Reply #14 on: December 02, 2005, 10:27:30 AM »
in my time the Pres, the sub keeper name was Soobransingh-they used to call him Subs.

also, one of the hotmen on the team-Lynch.  the story is one day he came training in a bright yellow shorts, since he is a dark fella the contrast was too much so they baptise him Cornbird (over time it get shorten to just bird)

« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2005, 10:35:00 AM »
I grow up playin in "de Mang" too... but years after you.... Jabloteh and Caledonia was always we dread rivals... at one point Arima Angels and Challengers from Malabar?? too..
"Barney" was my coach...

Dread, I eh know dat, whey, ha real links on dis site, yeah Barney coach meh as well for u-14 and u-16, whaeva happen to him?  If we had some infrasturcture to we club football we wulda have many more "success" stories...

anyway, spoonfoot, yeah dat one take de cake dread....

Coops, FF, den all yuh men guh remember "moms", neva miss a ball players match, she passed sometime too in 93 I believe....

« Reply #16 on: December 02, 2005, 10:39:26 AM »
"Barney" was my coach...

Dread, I eh know dat, whey, ha real links on dis site, yeah Barney coach meh as well for u-14 and u-16, whaeva happen to him?  If we had some infrasturcture to we club football we wulda have many more "success" stories...

Coops, FF, den all yuh men guh remember "moms", neva miss a ball players match, she passed sometime too in 93 I believe....

I was now starting out all dat time
I play for Ballplayers from 91-98... from U-12 all de way to U-20

« Reply #17 on: December 02, 2005, 10:53:19 AM »
"Barney" was my coach...

I was now starting out all dat time
I play for Ballplayers from 91-98... from U-12 all de way to U-20
I never played with any of those teams but knew them very well,i was with the DF at that time and played against them on occasions,there whole thing was always to get me.Barney and i were assistants to Isa Mohamed when we had that U-16 national team with Latapy,Marcelle,Rocke etc. 

Offline Benchwarmer

• Trini to the bone...Dutch till i die
« Reply #18 on: December 02, 2005, 01:00:39 PM »
First year Mac farlene coach Fatima it had a wingback...Sean Bateau.....his father is a ref in the savannah.....i day he come to train and sit down in the stands.....somebody ask him want wrong...
he say he leg hurting him...he think he pull his groins muscles........a man say...that is the problem right dere.......yuh have to much groin muscles..........
After thaT we callin the man GROINS all thru school...

« Reply #19 on: December 02, 2005, 01:01:40 PM »
Hardest- diz a funny nickname, man disincluding de future of de team or wha

Offline Lil Jodie P

« Reply #20 on: December 02, 2005, 01:22:49 PM »
First year Mac farlene coach Fatima it had a wingback...Sean Bateau.....his father is a ref in the savannah.....i day he come to train and sit down in the stands.....somebody ask him want wrong...
he say he leg hurting him...he think he pull his groins muscles........a man say...that is the problem right dere.......yuh have to much groin muscles..........

Fatima had names like 'Bison' ad 'Balack'...CIC had names like 'Pino' and 'Spike'
FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)

« Reply #21 on: December 02, 2005, 01:32:30 PM »
Mucurapo Jr. Sec had a man they called "talent" long time.  Up to now I doh know he real name.  Nice player though.  Was on the same team with a red man they used to call "sorrel".

« Reply #22 on: December 02, 2005, 03:26:13 PM »
AH had ah youth on P. Town called "Scare Me".  Just imagine how de youth does look.

« Reply #23 on: December 02, 2005, 03:42:34 PM »
Farrier for naps was Spranga...
Kiran samaroo for pres was Beaver
Andre charles for pres was shabba

« Reply #24 on: December 02, 2005, 04:24:45 PM »
Just for fun...here is the Brazilian version (for Brazillian fans who always wondered what those names meant)

Kaka - real name is Ri-CA-rdo. His brother had problems pronouncing that when he was small and just called him CA-CA. Eventually became Kaka (which if stressed differently means shit)

Careca - In portuguese means 'bald'. Careca was anything but bald...but when he was a youth he liked a clown called carequinho (little bald spot), and his mom started calling him careca cause that's all he would talk about.

Alemao - means German. he was blond as a kid..so his friends nicknamed him German. Common nickname for blonds in Brazil

Branco - literally means 'white'. He was the only white player on an all-black youth team. They would call him Branco ('whitey')...and it stuck.

Dunga - means Dopey. His friends thouight he looked like one of Snow White's 7 dwarfs.  Remember when he had his mop in 1990?

Zinho - means 'shortest'. In portuguese you add 'inho' at the end of a name to make it 'little'. he was so small when he was a kid the just called him z-inho

Zico - was also once called Zinho...but someone misheard his name and called him Zico instead...he liked it and it stuck

Bebeto - Bebeto is to Roberto, what Bobby is to Robert

Ze' - footballers with the name Ze' like Ze Roberto and Ze Elias...are named JoSE. The 2nd syllable is pronounced like 'ZE'

Muller - father nicknamed him after the great German striker Gehrd Muller

« Reply #25 on: December 02, 2005, 04:27:03 PM »
Aye guys keep it up you all going good,it had a guy that i grew up with playing Minor League football called "Pig Juice".  

« Reply #26 on: December 02, 2005, 04:28:23 PM »

Fatima had names like 'Bison' ad 'Balack'...CIC had names like 'Pino' and 'Spike'

if yuh talking bout stephen iz i give him that name bison. cause he was big and black and nuttin passing de yute

« Reply #27 on: December 02, 2005, 04:50:04 PM »
 my ex-teammate was Boogie...Ptown player....Plenty speed....

Offline Benchwarmer

• Trini to the bone...Dutch till i die
« Reply #28 on: December 02, 2005, 05:04:48 PM »

if yuh talking bout stephen iz i give him that name bison. cause he was big and black and nuttin passing de yute
Morvantman.you is the third person i know claim that they name him.....

the first time i hear it was when he was in form 2 and was playin basketball on the court and run over a man.....the man get up and say..." you like a reall BIson boy."

« Reply #29 on: December 02, 2005, 06:55:48 PM »
BELMONT jR Sec had a yute name monkey  :rotfl:

had a man from compre called monkey too  :rotfl:, also a man from qrc called gecko. :rotfl: :rotfl:
« Last Edit: December 02, 2005, 06:59:10 PM by Tallman »