April 26, 2024, 04:14:56 PM

Author Topic: US officials gives pointers for T&T’s WC planning.  (Read 7231 times)

US officials gives pointers for T&T’s WC planning.
« on: December 01, 2005, 08:41:37 PM »
Warriors to share in FIFA payout.
By: Walter Alibey (Newsday).

Jack Warner, Special Advisor to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) has given the assurance that Trinidad and Tobago footballers will be handsomely rewarded for their achievement of taking the country to their first ever World Cup finals in Germany next year. And efforts are still ongoing to work out a system on how payments will be made and to which players.
Bruce Aanensen, manager of the national team said yesterday that despite what arrangements are made, there will always be players who may feel that they have ended up on the wrong side of the rope, where payments are concerned.
"Players who have made contributions in earlier matches of the qualifiers, against St Lucia and Antigua will rightfully have a strong case that they have played a part in the triumph by the national team," Anansen said.
But he also said that Warner, in his view has said enough to convince him that all players will be taken care of.
Although the players, rightfully, may not get as much as those who played in the final round of the qualifiers, there is a feeling that all must share in the pie. Only recently the Bahrain Football Federation rewarded their players for their contribution with a US$60,000 pay package, and it was reported that some 50 players were included in the payout.
Aanensen however pointed out also that Warner will first have to work out what the football federation will gain before he can work out what the players can get.
According to Anansen, FIFA, the world governing body for football, is expected to host a meeting soon to announce the amounts to be given out to countries for securing a place in the World Cup. He noted that a meeting has been carded for tomorrow in Germany and it could well be among the topics to be discussed.
The high profile meeting which will take place on the eve of the all-important World Cup draw in Germany, is also expected to reveal monies to be given out for the different stages of the competition such as the quarter-final, semi-final and final round.
Aanensen said further that based on how much the football federation will get for the World Cup qualification, then the football boss will decide what the players will be entitled to.
He pointed out that only in April an agreement was made between the players and the football federation for the players to be given 30 percent of all sponsorship that the team gets.
Carib Brewery has already come on board with a TT$10 million sponsorship deal most of which will go towards the World Cup team preparation.
The national team manager said that monies to be given out to the players will be delivered as promised from the football federation, while government is also to reward the players, a promise that Prime Minister Patrick Manning made on their arrival at the airport on November 17.
PM Manning had said that he would meet personally with captain Dwight Yorke to work out a payment plan. Aanensen said however that he has not heard anything from the government concerning the players’ compensation plan but noted that such a decision will be worked out with the players and the government.
News from the 05th of December 2005.
Kevin Austin left out in the cold.
By Phil Blanche (Western Mail).

As Trinidad and Tobago's World Cup heroes returned to their sun-kissed homeland and basked in the warm glow of a national holiday, Kevin Austin was wrapped up in chilly South Wales.
Which was pretty apt when you think of the Swansea City defender and how his international aspirations for the tiny Caribbean nation have been put on ice.
Austin has been out in the international cold since winning his solitary cap for Trinidad and Tobago in a World Cup qualifier in November 2000.
As Dennis Lawrence's play-off winner - which secured the island's place at their first-ever World Cup finals in Germany next summer - was replayed over and over again, the Soca Warriors became instant national heroes and celebrated like never before.
But Austin was back in Swansea dreaming of what might have been and still clinging on to the faint hope he could be testing himself against the likes of Ronaldo, Rooney and Ronaldinho this summer.
"If you'd told me a year or so ago that Trinidad and Tobago would qualify for the World Cup I wouldn't have believed you," admitted the 32-year-old Hackney-born defender, who qualifies for the country 51st in the Fifa rankings through his Trinidadian mother.
"It's a small country and they're not renowned for being a football nation, even though football's been big over there for the last 10 to 15 years. The resources are not great and it's hard to find players, so to qualify for the World Cup is a tremendous achievement."
Guided by the former Real Madrid manager Leo Beenhaker, Trinidad and Tobago progressed to the final stage of the North and Central America and Caribbean section.
Familiar names such as Dwight Yorke, Stern John and Shaka Hislop form the core of the side and fourth place behind the United States, Mexico and Costa Rica was enough to secure a two-legged play-off with Bahrain.
Lawrence's headed goal after a 1-1 home draw was enough for Trinidad and Tobago to become the fourth Caribbean nation to qualify for the World Cup finals.
"The boys have done well right through the qualifying round and up to the Bahrain play-off game," said Austin. "Everyone's ecstatic about it and the atmosphere over there is unbelievable.
"But I think they can do well in Germany. They've got good players and a settled side. I'm sure they can rise to the occasion and do well.
"People might think they're just going there to make up the numbers, but I don't think they will."
But will Austin be there in Germany with his countrymen? The odds would seem stacked against the personable Londoner, but his experience and versatility might yet prove useful in a tournament situation.
"I can honestly say I've not given it much thought," said Austin, who made his only appearance in a 1-0 home victory over Panama in a 2002 World Cup qualifier.
"It's five years since I've played and the longer the time goes on you just learn to live with it.
"The boys have done all the hard work and deserve their chance. As a pro footballer the World Cup is the ultimate, but I suppose it would be an injustice now to come in after the boys have done so well.
"Of course, I wouldn't say no if they asked me, but I haven't pushed the matter of trying to get to the World Cup.
"I can't do that. I've got no grounds because I haven't been involved and the only way I can look at it is that if I'm good enough they'll pick me."
Even so, is Austin surprised he continues to be overlooked while play-off hero Lawrence plies his trade at a lower level with League Two Wrexham ?
"Not really," he said. "Dennis has been playing international football for many years now and, no matter what level he's playing at, he's always done well for Trinidad. "Most of my family live on that island but the only thing I concentrate on is doing well for Swansea. Whatever happens after that is a bonus."
News from the 04th of December 2005.
TTFF looks to bring in Zamora, Samuel, Warner.
T&T Guardian Reports.

The T&T football team could look significantly different from the one which defeated Bahrain when it takes the field in its first World Cup game in Germany.
This was confirmed by Special Adviser to the T&T Football Federation Austin Jack Warner who revealed that TTFF has already applied to Fifa for West Ham United striker Bobby Zamora and Fulham FC goalkeeper Anthony Warner to play for T&T and has also appealed Fifa’s decision to dis-allow an earlier application from Aston Villa left back defender Jlloyd Samuel.
Warner said: “We have not closed the door to any player and I can tell you that we have gone to FIFA and requested permission to allow Bobby Zamora and Anthony Warner to play for us while we have appealed the decision against Jlloyd Samuel.”
The CONCACAF President who left yesterday to witness the drawing for next year’s World Cup finals in Germany said local players in the Professional Football League as well as other players who qualify to play for this country will be considered.
“A coach will be looking at the local players in action to see if any of them can make the team and also a scout will be looking at footballers playing in the US to see if they can also make the team.
W Connection picks up first win.
By: Jovan Ravello (Guardian).

W Connection took full points for the first time in its Lucozade Big Six campaign, with a well- deserved 5-0 win over Caledonia AIA Fire yesterday.
Playing the first match of a double-header at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar Connection went into the lead late in the first-half when captain Earl Jean struck in the 37th minute.
Seventeen minutes after the restart, Iyiaka Stanley put Connection further ahead 2-0, and Nicholson Thomas got his in the 59th to put the result pretty much beyond doubt.
But the “Savonetta Boys” were not done with the scoring against hapless opposition. Stanley again popped up around the Caledonia area to add to his tally, and Andre Toussaint put himself among the scorers with a 89th minute strike.
The win took Connection to just three points from three matches, but is a good sign that the team is still staking a claim to the title despite being three points behind leaders National Quarries North East Stars.

Results:

W Connection 5 (Earl Jean 37th, Iyiaka Stanley 57th, 67th, Nicholson Thomas 59th, Andre Toussaint 89th) v Caledonia AIA Fire 0.

North East Stars 4 (Gary Glasgow 9th, 66th, Kendall Velox 11th, Keryn Navarro 87th) v Defence Force 1 (Kevon Carter 64th).

San Juan Jabloteh 1 (Kerry Baptiste 83rd) v United Petrotrin 1 (Marlon Lewis 20th).
News from the 03rd of December 2005.
Soca Warriors Unveiled.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

This country’s National head coach Leo Beenhakker has proposed to have the National Team based in Austria during the month of May in the build up for the start of the 2006 World Cup Finals in Germany from June 9.
Beenhakker, currently in the middle of trips between Germany and Austria, revealed his intentions this week to the TTFF and will also oversee an international friendly away to either Norway or Wales on February 8, 2006.
All this with several other interesting developments were announced at a news conference hosted by the TTFF and the LOC 2006 at the Crowne Plaza on Friday morning.
The occasion, the final gathering before next Friday’s World Cup draw was attended by the top officials of the TTFF and partners.
A new official registered logo for the Soca Warriors was also unveiled as well as a new website www.socawarriorstt.com for the marketing and promotion of the National Team and the Germany experience. This website will be operational soon.
Those on hand also witnessed a feisty display involving two female models and one male model outfitted in costumes depicting the “Warriors” look.
Warner was also high in praise of Tourism Minister Howard Chin Lee for his input into the initiatives that will be taken up to promote the “Soca Warriors” brand on the global market. The Ministry of Tourism along with the Tourism Development Company, the TTFF and the newly launched Board of Directors to oversee the T&T/Germany campaign will be teaming up to ensure that the “Soca Warriors” team and by extent the country is marketed.
The Special Advisor to the TTFF, announced that following Beenhakker’s decisions, team training camps and clinics will take place in England and Trinidad between now and May 2006. Similar exercises will also take place in the United States once deemed necessary.
Warner said that Beenhakker also thanked assistant coach Theo de Jong for his services and he will now be replaced by another Dutch-born coach while the ex-Real Madrid boss has also requested that youth development officer and former national player Anton Corneal be brought on board to assist from January 2. “He wants him as his understudy so that he can leave a legacy afterwards and we were  quite pleased with that decision of his to have Mr Corneal on board. ” Warner said.
Beenhakker has insisted that he wants the team to play no other match at home other than that of the one carded for March 29 even though Warner said he will try to convince him to play another one in May. But he later explained why it would be a near impossibility stage such a match in Port of Spain.
The proposed team live in camp will take place in Austria from May 6-22. From that period too, Beenhakker will add a full-time European manager for the team that is multi-lingual and has the experience of the whereabouts in that part of the world. He will be added to the current staff.
Some of the other developments included the annoucement of the Team Staff for Germany which had as new additions - Esmond O'Brien as assistant to equipment manager to Ikin Williams and Dennis Ramdeen whose Company, Pepper Advertising will oversee public relations for the Committee, also being added as an assistant to Team Press Officer Shaun Fuentes. The rest of the staff remains with Aanensen as Manager, George Joseph, Peter Rampers and Sam Phillip as assistants, Ikin Williams (equipment manager), Zeph Nicholas (Physio), Wayne Lawson (trainer), Terence Babwah (Team Doctor).
Former General Secretary of the Jamaican Football Federation, Horace Reid, who worked on Jamaica's 1998 World Cup campaign, will serve as Chief Operational Officer of the Team while Brigadier John Sandy (Team security officer) and Cecil Wint (Chef) will also take up duty.
Meanwhile, former referee Ramesh Ramdhan has been issued a merchandising contract by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) and will be selling bumper stickers, calendars and other such paraphernalia leading up to Trinidad & Tobago's participation in the World Cup.
Yesterday, TTFF special adviser Jack Warner announced that he had advised Ramdhan to print in the region of 200,000 of the bumper stickers so that they can adorn the windscreen of every car in T&T. The stickers cost $50 for corporate bodies and $25 for ordinary citizens. Already, Warner said there was interest by an auto rental firm to have the stickers on its 1,000 strong fleet of vehicles and there were also other similar interest. Yesterday, it was also announced that a new logo representing the Soca Warriors has been launched. The logo features a battle shield with a representation of the Warriors. It was announced that the logo represents the fight that T&T intent to put up at the World Cup.
Also, it was disclosed that money continues to come into the World Cup fund. Southern Sales have donated $50,000 and Johnny Soong of the Zen nightclub has dropped in another $100,000 to the fund. Warner said that all funds received will be accounted for, even the $15 given by a young girl from Carapichaima.
It was revealed that the first leg of the playoff match against Bahrain made a profit of $1,202,913, which Warner said was the most gathered from a match played on local soil. Ticket sales amounted to $2,399,565 and broadcast rights another $100,000 - a total income of $2,499,565.
Expenditure was totalled at $1,296,652, with the largest amount of $490,745 going to airfare and ground transportation for the team and officials. FIFA/Concacaf dues also amounted to $167,970.
News from the 02nd of December 2005.
US Soccer officials gives pointers for T&T’s WC planning.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Five Executive members of the United States Soccer Federation arrived in the country on Wednesday night to meet with officials of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation and Local Organising Committee on the topic of the “Soca Warriors” 2006 World Cup planning and an overview of the Germany experience.
Heading the local committee was Special Advisor to the TTFF Jack Warner, with other members of the LOC as well as Team manager Bruce Aanensen and assistant George Joseph were also part of the meeting which lasted for just over three hours at the CONCACAF office, Edwards Street, Port of Spain on Thursday morning.
From the American’s side, Dan Flynn, General Secretary of the USSF, Tom King (Director of Administration), Jay Berhalter (director of marketing), Mike Gressle (Administration) and Jim Moorhouse (Director of Communications) were present to lend their expertise.
The idea to have the Americans here was thought of by Warner who felt it would be wise to hear further from a country that has  been to the Finals on seven occasions (1930, 1934, 1950, 1990, 1994, 1998, 2002). In recent years the United States have emerged as a force to be reckoned with, qualifying for the last four FIFA World Cup finals. The Americans reached the quarter-finals at Korea/Japan '02, losing narrowly to the eventual runners-up Germany.
The Presentation made by the USSF was called the “The People’s Team” as they rightly explained that they believed the current team belonged to the citizens of the country and they admired the euphoria that followed the 1-0 victory over Bahrain last month.
The Presentation was designed to assist in the planning for the World Cup itself, to outline potential opportunities surrounding the team and to provide a general road map for the next seven months leading up to the World Cup. From selection of training camp and living facilities in Germany, team preparations, merchandising, ticketing for local matches, sponsor activities, communications to a general outlook at the cities in Germany were discussed as the USSF related their way of doing it all.
The USSF’s Moorhouse admitted that the invitation from Warner to come here was readily accepted as they felt T&T’s achievement was not just one for the country and the Caribbean but for CONCACAF by extent.
“We followed T&T’s match against Bahrain very closely because we know this would be a great accomplishment. In our office on the day of the match we knew that the game was on but by the time the game was going on, there were about twenty of us alone in my office glued to the television screen rooting for your team to get through,” Moorhouse told TTFF Media.
”We felt now that in whatever area we could assist would be valuable and as such it was an easy decision to take up when Mr Warner made the call. We felt it would be great to be able to just give that guidance to a country like yours which is going to the World Cup for the first time and really could be the Cinderella story of the next World Cup in terms of qualification.
“Our hopes are that Trinidad can be one of the picks of the World Cup. No one expected Senegal or Croatia to do what they did last time. All it takes is one good result in one of your early matches and the whole perception changes. Four countries from CONCACAF now have a chance to make use of this opportunity.”
Moorhouse added that he could not recall this sort of partnership between the USSF and another country in terms of planning and preparation for a World Cup Finals appearance.
“It’s not been in this way. This is unique. I think because of your qualifying story and then with the playoffs and the country making its first appearance just made a lot of sense for us to get involved.”
And Warner too maybe was part of the reason for the Americans taking up the opportunity to assist the “Soca Warriors”.
“That’s an easy way for people to look at it too but I don’t think it’s as big a factor as looking at it from a standpoint where six months ago we were battling it out on the field and here we are now looking to do well as a Confederation. This is a unique situation where a country like T&T can benefit now from our past research and planning for a World Cup,” Moorhouse ended.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2005, 09:47:14 AM by Flex »

Re: US Soccer officials gives pointers for T&T’s World Cup planning.
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2005, 08:55:48 PM »
Truetrini......I patiently await your response  ! :praying:

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2005, 09:12:51 PM »
All who smelling another american worldcup bid sumtime after 2010 in south africa say i
 "IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII!!!!!!!" LOLOLOLOL
i have to had it to them kissing jack warners a$$ is a smart thing to do if they wanna host the world cup again.

« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2005, 09:16:56 PM »
I ain't surprise one bit...actually ah find they take they time in getting here...
And ah hafta agree with teflon don's comment "All who smelling another american worldcup bid sumtime after 2010 in south africa"
And who knows Jack might get more sponsorship from dey "outside"  :devil:

« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2005, 09:22:14 PM »
They try to kill T&T hope's when they sell out vs Guatemala and made Costa Rica beat them 3-0, now they trying to convienve we they on we side. ....  :devil:

Uncle Sam is all for himself, but Warner is a smart man and I dont think he really taking them on, he just give them de wok so we could win over some US critics.

Its called politricks.

« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2005, 09:24:40 PM »
yeah Concacaf..or should i say the USA want 2014 lol..but i think Brazil due for one that year..my opinion  :)

do you all know the US already selected their base city..which is Hamburg..and are going to be travelling to whatever stadium in germany they have to play their games?..anybody aware of anykind of planning we have made up to now concerning arrangements in Germany?
« Last Edit: December 01, 2005, 09:39:05 PM by Feliziano »

« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2005, 10:20:49 PM »
Truetrini......I patiently await your response  ! :praying:

Actually, I think Jack has done the right thing.

Afterall the Yankees are very successful at planning (deferrence to Iraq) and marketing.

Add to the mix, the very cordial relationship that exists between Blazer,Dan Flynn and Jack Warner...and yuh get de "spirit ah cooperation."

Smart move all around.

Props to Jack

« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2005, 10:34:54 PM »
i must reiterate once more, if we group in argentina group, like wat de mock draw indicate, and we make 2 nd rounds, we will b playin de US, a wonder wat really goin on  ???, tuh me, it look like de US realize how much potential trinidad have and we have warner, some plans in de makin 4 dis world cup, watch and see

vibes it up

US making sure dey get pass de 2nd rounds, again i say, watch and see

« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2005, 10:50:44 PM »
Regardless of their intentions we can learn a lot in terms of organization for the USSF.

Considering the complete lack of support they have had from the public and media  have done an amazing job in developing and promoting football.  If we were half as good we would be one the premier teams in our region instead of perennial underachievers.

« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2005, 11:32:39 PM »
i must reiterate once more, if we group in argentina group, like wat de mock draw indicate, and we make 2 nd rounds, we will b playin de US, a wonder wat really goin on  ???, tuh me, it look like de US realize how much potential trinidad have and we have warner, some plans in de makin 4 dis world cup, watch and see

vibes it up

breds de us had a right to make at least de semis last rounds,

dey were unlucky against germany having outplayed germany, dey did not get a blatant handball call dat woulda give dem ah penalty.

what coming to T&t have to do with dem and de second sounds?

yuh saying we go sell out if we meet dem?

« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2005, 06:06:30 AM »
Why people can't look at what it really is rather than all these silly conspiracy theories. Jack Warner is president of CONCACAF and he asked them for help in an area we all know they're strong in, planning and organisation, they obviously would take the opportunity assist us. They don't need any help to progress in the WC.

« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2005, 10:45:44 AM »
WELL SAID JAYERSON AND TRUETRINI

« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2005, 11:19:48 AM »

vibes it up

huh?   ???  we real think we big shot now huh.
too many conspiracy nuts. lets be appreciative that we got some assistance from these guys. how does having 3 people from us soccer association in town for a 3 hr meeting imply the usa wants 2014.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2005, 11:23:26 AM by supporter »

« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2005, 11:37:06 AM »
warner want money 2 fund de campaign, US givin, dey go give we money, warner will pull rank 4 de draw and next world cup after africa, we will get assistance and work together 2 advance far in de world cup, US settin up dey chances, in all honesty, de US doh have de skill tuh beat brazil and dem, neva will, so dey have tuh buy dey way 2 de finals, dey startin from now

Offline sinned

« Reply #14 on: December 02, 2005, 12:42:18 PM »
I think we should appreciate the gesture that the US is making. US football make it this far just on the basis of planning and good organization. They build up their football since '89 and look how far they now..nobody could say that the US is a laughing stock anymore. We have we could learn from them and we should be grateful for their assistance

« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2005, 12:56:00 PM »
warner want money 2 fund de campaign, US givin, dey go give we money, warner will pull rank 4 de draw and next world cup after africa, we will get assistance and work together 2 advance far in de world cup, US settin up dey chances, in all honesty, de US doh have de skill tuh beat brazil and dem, neva will, so dey have tuh buy dey way 2 de finals, dey startin from now

TrinInfinite why yuh doh change yuh handle to ShiTalkInfinite eh?!!  8)

« Reply #16 on: December 02, 2005, 12:58:05 PM »

TrinInfinite why yuh doh change yuh handle to ShiTalkInfinite eh?!!  8)

he always talking conspiracy shit.

Not to say dey eh have dat, but de USA buying nutten.

steups.

Maybe yuh should reccomend bribery to shit arse Canada.

saying dat me eh see dat bullah..winneypeg furry around dese days at all

« Reply #17 on: December 02, 2005, 01:50:49 PM »
yeah Concacaf..or should i say the USA want 2014 lol..but i think Brazil due for one that year..my opinion  :)

do you all know the US already selected their base city..which is Hamburg..and are going to be travelling to whatever stadium in germany they have to play their games?..anybody aware of anykind of planning we have made up to now concerning arrangements in Germany?

With the rotation system that Fifa has adopted, when next is Concacaf due to host the tourney?  I think it'll be either Mexico of Canada.  The bidding war is now restricted to within the confederation that is due to host the World Cup that time around.  Lets see:  Asia 2002; Germany 2006; South Africa 2010.  I think South America is in line for 2014.  It's been a very long time since South America hosted the World Cup; Argentina '78, to be exact.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2005, 01:59:16 PM by Tenorsaw »

« Reply #18 on: December 02, 2005, 01:55:15 PM »

With the rotation system that Fifa has adopted, when next is Concacaf due to host the tourney?  I think it'll be either Mexico of Canada.  The bidding war is now restricted to within the confederation that is due to host the World Cup that time around.

I dont think Canada has the infrastructure (Stadia) to host the senior World cup finals. Mexico, definately.

« Reply #19 on: December 02, 2005, 02:00:54 PM »

With the rotation system that Fifa has adopted, when next is Concacaf due to host the tourney?  I think it'll be either Mexico of Canada.  The bidding war is now restricted to within the confederation that is due to host the World Cup that time around.

I dont think Canada has the infrastructure (Stadia) to host the senior World cup finals. Mexico, definately.

But they have the money to get prepared over a four-year period.  They would do whatever was necessary to bring a major tournament to Canada, after having failed on several Olympic bids.

« Reply #20 on: December 02, 2005, 02:04:34 PM »
nice gesture by USSF..and we can definitely use all the help we can get..but regardless of conspiracy theories or not..the US wants the World Cup again in 2014...Canada is out in my mind..i not even sure if its Concacaf's turn in 2014..thought it was South America.

« Reply #21 on: December 04, 2005, 11:42:23 AM »
The better players to get would have been Craig Rocastle (through grand parents), Nathan Ellington (through grand parents) and of course Jlloyd Samuel. These 3 players would have complimented the Soca Warriors nicely. Bobby Zamora isn't a bad player whether you guys like him or not, the competition for place on the team will raise the standard of each player.

Tony Wanrer is also good and for T&T to have 4 class keepers is GREAT news....

Its all about depth. None should be a walk into the team, but depth is very important.