April 18, 2024, 10:06:17 PM

Author Topic: The number of stars that came out of the 2001 u17 world cup in tnt  (Read 7092 times)

Offline Teflon Don

i lookin thru the squad lists and quite a few of these guys are now big names with their respective snr ntl teams and big clubs in europe.

France
SINAMA PONGOLLE Florent (liverpool)
LE TALLEC Anthony (liverpool) loan to southhampton

Spain
Fernando Torres (athletico madrid) (starter on spain snr team)
INIESTA (barcelona)

Argentina
LOPEZ Maximiliano (barcelona)
TEVEZ Carlos (corinthians brazil) (argentina snr team)

USA
MAPP Justin

FIFA U-17 World Championship 2001
« Last Edit: December 03, 2005, 09:31:40 PM by Tallman »

Re: The number of stars that came out of the 2001 u17 world cup in tnt
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2005, 09:50:33 PM »
best football Trinidad ever see
who doh like that 4k away with you

« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2005, 09:57:39 PM »
best football Trinidad ever see
who doh like that 4k away with you
yuh right...It showed us how organised youth systems work

« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2005, 10:06:26 PM »
that U17 world cup was really one of the best tings to ever happen in trinidad...i felt privileged to be able to attend almost all de matches in trinidad..

Offline supaselectuh

« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2005, 10:25:13 PM »
that is how every trinidadian know where burkina faso was
with dem dance
ah rememebr getting passes from school and jumping up in the rain cheering them on in the stadium
and the masses of ppl who came out to the finals and we get jook under the scoreboard

« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2005, 10:32:49 PM »
blackman was a rel STAR boy wah happen to him boy? i know he got into a bad car crash... I WILL NEVER FORGET DA GOAL HE SCORED AGAINST CROATIA

« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2005, 11:00:05 PM »
i lookin thru the squad lists and quite a few of these guys are now big names with their respective snr ntl teams and big clubs in europe.

France

Spain
INIESTA (barcelona)

Argentina

USA
MAPP Justin

I doh remember them spanish fellas for some reason

but I remember Maxi he had short black hair
and ah man name Diego from Brasil who shake ah whole defense with one drop of his shoulder

Tevez too with ah Punk in the Stadium

« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2005, 05:17:15 AM »
Allyuh leave out Kenwyn Jones

Offline christiano

« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2005, 06:35:26 AM »
You all forget :

Winifred Sanu _ the short quick Burkina Faso foward #11 . He plays in Germany . Cant remember the team.

The baby faced #10 for Brazil who was the star ,Dark guy !. He was playing for PSV at the time! Diego was used as a sub !

« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2005, 08:01:49 AM »
You all forget :

Winifred Sanu _ the short quick Burkina Faso foward #11 . He plays in Germany . Cant remember the team.

The baby faced #10 for Brazil who was the star ,Dark guy !. He was playing for PSV at the time! Diego was used as a sub !

You talking about Leandro.

Mashcherano was also on the that Argentina team.

What ever happened to      COULIBALY for Mali , that youth was sik.

Australia goalkeeper was in the Manu youth system a few years ago. I don't know if he still with the club.

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2005, 08:33:44 AM »
Allyuh leave out Kenwyn Jones
lolol nah ah eh forget kenwyne ah jus wanted to mention players ppl might not have remember dat played.

that team should have been kept together....but we eh go go back dey in this thread.

« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2005, 08:45:01 AM »
i always hearing bout the goal blackman scored against croatia. is there any footage of it...or can someone at least describe it please??

Offline christiano

« Reply #12 on: December 04, 2005, 09:22:07 AM »
You all forget :

Actually Sanou plays in Germany for Freiburg !

If anyone want to find out the varios squads that plyed here go to :

http://www.fifa.com/en/comp/PrevTeams/0,6838,U17-2001-19,00.html

Offline christiano

« Reply #13 on: December 04, 2005, 09:38:31 AM »
This Croatian Guy played here and is touted as a sensation !

Read This !

Niko Kranjcar: The Baffling Stagnation Of A Precocious Child
Ozren Podnar reports...

No Croatian footballer has been hyped over the past five years as the young Niko Kranjcar (pronounced CRUNCH-ar).
Born in Vienna on August 13th 1984 to the famous father Zlatko Kranjcar, Niko was touted "the greatest promise of Croatian football" when he was 16 and a half. Compared to a young Zidane and a half dozen other European footballing greats, Kranjcar seemed destined for stardom ever since he stunned coaches, opponents, writers and spectators alike in his initial senior appearances with Dinamo Zagreb in early 2001.

Playing as an out-and-out striker, or more frequently as an advanced midfielder behind two forwards, he showed maturity (and stature, at 185 cm) that belied his age. His strong physique, good vision of the game, cunning, imaginative passing and excellent close control led many to prophesy his quick full international debut and stardom beyond the Croatian borders.

A month after his promotion to the first team, he appeared as a sub in the Cup final second leg when Dinamo beat Hajduk Split 1-0 securing their fifth Croatian Cup. His rise was meteoric: three weeks before his 17th birthday he scored on his League debut, later that season he collected another Cup medal and at the start of 2002/03 season was made the club's youngest ever skipper by ex-Croatia coach Miroslav Blazevic!

The campaign ended brilliantly for the youngster as Dinamo won the championship and Kranjcar was hailed as the best player of the season according to the sports press ratings.

However, three years after his celebrated debut for Dinamo he has yet to earn his first cap for Croatia. Kranjcar was a regular in all national team categories including the U-16 team, which won a bronze medal at the 2001 European championship, U-19 and U-21 teams.

Still, his senior debut has been delayed on several occasions although the press has continually appealed for his call-up for a year now. When Otto Baric finally did call him up for the February friendly against Germany in Split, he was injured on the eve of the fixture. True, at 19 and a half he has plenty of time ahead, but his progress has obviously been slower than expected. Or, was too much expected of him in the first place?

The country's best coaches have identified his shortcomings: less than ideal weight at 84-86 kg, considerable lack of pace and static play.
"He seems unaware of the need to keep an optimal weight and to work as hard as he should - in fact, as he did while I coached him," says Miroslav Blazevic to Nacional weekly. "Under my guidance in autumn of 2002 he lost 10 kilos. How did I persuade him? No persuasion, I told him."

The much travelled coach Tomislav Ivic agrees that "Kranjcar has a great feeling for the ball and great understanding of the game. Few players in the world have that virtue.

But, take Cristiano Ronaldo of Manchester United and a couple of other of his peers who play in the Champions' League. They may not have Kranjcar's skill and vision, but they have superb movements. His lack of movement was evident three years ago, and has persisted," claims the former coach of Ajax, Anderlecht, Atletico Madrid, Galatasaray and several other European giants.
"He lacks continuity in play. He does act as the team's leader, but his status is not reflected in continuity," believes Milivoj Bracun, former coach at NK Zagreb and Koper of Slovenia.

Niko's father Zlatko, himself a successful coach (two League and Cup doubles with Dinamo Zagreb, and a League title with NK Zagreb) blames coaches and their methods for his son's apparent lack of progress. But Ivic, the supreme authority among coaches, retorted.
"His father is partly to blame for his physical condition. If Niko was my son, I would put him in order."

Early into his career, Niko was in the sights of both Juventus and Milan, but his dream is to join Barcelona and in fact his career advisor, the famed Davor Suker, has already linked him with the Catalan giants who reportedly have acquired an option over Kranjcar. Still, no concrete offer from the west has reached Dinamo's offices and last autumn it was reported that CSKA Moscow would like him to join his fellow countryman Ivica Olic. Niko turned the Russians down.
"I don't want to go to Russia, it's just too cold for me." said Kranjcar. "My dreams have always been of Barcelona. I have always been their fan. Nothing could be greater than stepping out on the Nou Camp turf in the blue and claret shirt!"

But, he would be ill advised to leave for a big European club just yet, even if an offer comes along. "If he is transferred abroad now, he will be ruined. He should be grateful for playing at Dinamo, the best possible school for playing abroad."

« Reply #14 on: December 04, 2005, 11:11:23 AM »

France

Spain
INIESTA (barcelona)

Argentina

USA
MAPP Justin

I doh remember them spanish fellas for some reason

but I remember Maxi he had short black hair
and ah man name Diego from Brasil who shake ah whole defense with one drop of his shoulder

Tevez too with ah Punk in the Stadium

I think it was Maxi Rodriguez who had short black hair. Maxi Lopez has long blond hair (the call him the German tank in Argentina cause he big and blond)

« Reply #15 on: December 04, 2005, 11:23:01 AM »
Diego (he wore #10) was de big brazilian star at those championships, but he was injured so that is why he was used as a sub.

« Reply #16 on: December 04, 2005, 11:30:35 AM »

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #17 on: December 04, 2005, 11:59:34 AM »
Allyuh missing a good few...

http://www.socawarriors.net/Under_17_news.htm
i know but we talkin bout men who REALLY doin sumtin on the big stage right now....good link tho

Offline Patterson

FIFA U-17 2001 Stars
« Reply #18 on: October 21, 2006, 09:50:53 PM »
Its been 5 yrs since the U-17 world cup in T&T and i realise we had some stars playing in T&T for that tournament besides kenwyne and company

Both Andres Iniesta and Fernando Torres played for Spain
       Maximiliano Lopez,Javier Mascherano and Carlos Tevez from Argentina 
       Niko Kranjčar from Croatia
       Diego from Brazil
Florent Sinama Pongolle from france played for Liverpool and blackburn
Anthony Le Tallec from france played for liverpool also

Just add any that yuh remember

Re: FIFA U-17 2001 Stars
« Reply #19 on: October 22, 2006, 07:59:12 AM »
ah think martins might have been in the tournament....
maybe torres to

Offline Israel

« Reply #20 on: October 22, 2006, 08:32:17 AM »
ah think martins might have been in the tournament....
maybe torres to

Martins didnt play and Patterson already mentioned el Nino..........Eddie Johnson from USA played too. Leandro from Brazil & PSV also
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #21 on: October 22, 2006, 09:45:48 AM »
I haven't heard about Leandro ever since he transfered. Is he still there ?

Offline Jay10

« Reply #22 on: October 22, 2006, 10:46:16 AM »
I haven't heard about Leandro ever since he transfered. Is he still there ?

not sure
the last time i heard of him he was recovering from a long injury, cant remember what type though

« Reply #23 on: October 22, 2006, 12:24:35 PM »
jones from trinidad, southampton

« Reply #24 on: October 22, 2006, 04:09:53 PM »
Mengi from France plays in Italy and Fatty the Captain of  France plays in the French League ( Club ???)
Burkina Faso players all retired from old age  ;D
Quranta and Mapp all play for the USA and in the MLS
Don't forget Maxi Lopez at Barca

Offline troy piloy

« Reply #25 on: October 22, 2006, 04:38:59 PM »
Alot of people will not know but
Robino from Brazil, Real Madrid
Senior Advisor to AWATT's Intelligence Unit

« Reply #26 on: October 22, 2006, 04:56:26 PM »

doh try dat troy!!

bring out de proof!

Tallman, whey yuh?

« Reply #27 on: October 22, 2006, 05:23:26 PM »

doh try dat troy!!

bring out de proof!

Tallman, whey yuh?

You studying troy? All de setta cutass Trinity get dis year have him tie up like ah cow in Morvant  :devil:.

Dis is de Brazil team from 2001.

« Reply #28 on: October 22, 2006, 05:47:52 PM »
Just goes to show that excellence at youth level doesn't necessarily translate onto the senior level.

Where is Sonoma Pngolle now?  Le Tallec?  The Nigerians?  Observer done say de Burkina Faso players retire.

If yuh get 2 U 17's who go on to be regulars in yuh senior team...yuh doin REAL good.

T&T with Kenwyne Jones is about par for the course.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2006, 05:50:13 PM by palos »

« Reply #29 on: October 22, 2006, 05:50:16 PM »
Mengi from France plays in Italy and Fatty the Captain of  France plays in the French League ( Club ???)
Burkina Faso players all retired from old age  ;D
Quranta and Mapp all play for the USA and in the MLS
Don't forget Maxi Lopez at Barca

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: