April 27, 2024, 07:53:30 PM

Author Topic: who remember dem little Ladybird World Cup books???  (Read 4019 times)

Offline kevinAckin

who remember dem little Ladybird World Cup books???
« on: December 04, 2005, 02:56:27 PM »
it wud be sweet to see Trinidad & Tobago in the next one! hopefully they have one for Germany. I don't think there was one for the last world cup in 2002 but if anyone knows of it please enlighten me, i'd like to get a copy desperately. thanks.

Re: who remember dem little Ladybird World Cup books???
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2005, 02:57:06 PM »
yeah boy i used to have all of dem ting...tink my parents throw dem away sometime tho

Offline cm103

« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2005, 02:59:37 PM »
Boy dat bring back memories yes...had all of dem since 86 mexico when meh old man was filling it out.

Left dem home when I left, i hope nobody throw dem out. Need to go find one for this cup after d draw.

« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2005, 03:00:14 PM »
Yeah 4 real........I had the 86 and the 90 one............If only I could find it now.........brings back some sweet memories....Just imagine T&T go be in that book...worriessssssssssss

« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2005, 03:57:34 PM »
Yeah boy.

AH remember during de 1994 World Cup it had dem tring gum wit a lil fold-out paper of different WOrld Cup teams...ah used to collect dem ting too bad.

« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2005, 04:03:26 PM »
I still have mine from 86, 90, 94 and 98. Packed them in my suitcase with my football mags and books when I was moving.

You can get them on ebay from british sellers.

Offline cm103

« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2005, 04:05:20 PM »
I still have mine from 86, 90, 94 and 98. Packed them in my suitcase with my football mags and books when I was moving.

look d damn ting self

« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2005, 05:18:44 PM »
i have 94 and 98  hopefully dey bring out a 2006 cuz dey didnt have a 2002

« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2005, 06:23:34 PM »
yea boy... jah meh pops used to by da for all meh lil freinds when i was small  :rotfl:  dem was de days boy

u tellin meh dem sti;ll make does?

« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2005, 06:35:54 PM »
wow, that is some memories. i last saw one of those with the '86 WC - i was home for that summer. my uncle had that book. not since then ....

« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2005, 07:46:31 PM »
my uncle have all

with the writing in them from all the group stages

we eh see none this year

Guardian had ah nice lil keep sake though

« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2005, 08:02:56 PM »
dem stop makin da i feel

Offline TnTVillan

« Reply #12 on: December 04, 2005, 08:16:46 PM »
Me and my dad tried sourcing them for 2002 we had all from 86 on but apparently Ladybird sold the rights in 2000 or sometime around that and the new owners didnt continue making the books it would be nice if they did one for 2006 though.

Offline cm103

« Reply #13 on: December 04, 2005, 09:37:18 PM »
Some publisher must come up with a replacement. Yeah I think 98 was d last year I got one of those.

D chewing gum "cards" was another thing too...had all d teams from 90 and 94. Since I leave home meh family moved so I ent sure if they survive...

Guardian had ah nice lil keep sake though

When Guardian bring dat out? Ah go have to ask d family at home to look though d papers and save it fuh me. More stuff bound to come out after d draw.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2005, 09:51:11 PM by cm103 »

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #14 on: December 04, 2005, 10:46:05 PM »

Ahh lord memories with the World Cup 90 book. i noticed in the '90 they had a pic of the U.S.A team here in Trinidad on Nov. 19th
« Last Edit: December 05, 2005, 08:17:29 AM by Reaper2004 »

« Reply #15 on: December 05, 2005, 12:31:25 AM »
Them books bring back memories. I felt them in trinidad. When i go home next week for my break, i will go searching for them.

« Reply #16 on: December 05, 2005, 12:50:28 AM »
Yeah boi, fuh real, I left mine home. Ah hope it still dey, because meh mudda always cleaning an throwin away stuff.

« Reply #17 on: December 06, 2005, 10:15:16 AM »
that is one thing i bring with me.dem books and the annual nemwill cricket book.dem and de bible is the only books ah bring.

Offline Hyperhot J

« Reply #18 on: December 06, 2005, 10:35:13 AM »
     I have the 1990 and 1994 ones home, when I go home today I go make sure they still there. Them was the days yes. Wheeey it used to make understaning and following the World Cup real simple and easy, very very good simple books for any age!! The beginning of all the books used to start with the history of the WC from it first being Jules Rimet and now the WC etc. I even remember reading in another book (not sure it was the Ladybird one) about the Jules Rimet being lost and a dog finding it in a patch of grass etc.?  ??? Allyuh every remember that.

All the past world cup logos and winners were also in that cool Ladybird book. And T&T was in the 1990 book, when they showed the games that CR and USA played we were there and in the pictures for the US showing their players to watch I think it had a US player heading against a Yorke or one of them so T&T players were in 1 or 2 of the pics. I think Tab Ramos was one of the players to watch then.

Them books was so hot especially since you learnt the population and capital city of all the WC teams it real help me in World Geography especially in Europe and capital cities when I was 10 for the 1990 one.

I even named my dog "Lacatus" from that Romanian "player to watch" for the 1990 WC.

Will definitely look for those books.

J.
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power." 

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare

« Reply #19 on: December 06, 2005, 11:06:16 AM »
      I even remember reading in another book (not sure it was the Ladybird one) about the Jules Rimet being lost and a dog finding it in a patch of grass etc.?  ??? Allyuh every remember that.

A dog named "Pickles"

Offline Lil Jodie P

« Reply #20 on: December 07, 2005, 07:53:37 AM »

look d damn ting self

OMG...we used to have these! waysssssss you know how long i eh seee one of these. i think my little brother have them now yes...hummmm next year for sure....
FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)