April 18, 2024, 05:59:15 PM

Author Topic: Drug News Thread  (Read 88300 times)

Re: New Govt may hurt war on narcotics
« Reply #30 on: March 13, 2011, 10:08:46 PM »
same people in government too...

« Reply #31 on: March 13, 2011, 10:41:44 PM »
So one day customs blocking them from finding the weed.  Then a couple days later customs make a bust of their own.   :-X   They knew what was in the container.

« Reply #32 on: March 14, 2011, 08:20:14 AM »
The seal was obviously changed on the container..take time and read.

« Reply #33 on: March 14, 2011, 07:24:41 PM »
So one day customs blocking them from finding the weed.  Then a couple days later customs make a bust of their own.   :-X   They knew what was in the container.

you know you making sense. But what if it is the other way around. Right now it appears to me that we do not know which arm of the security services to trust or believe. Becuase next thing you hear they find guns and ganja in some police station ceiling.

« Reply #34 on: March 14, 2011, 08:22:32 PM »
Fact is....it far too easy to have corruption in the system and get away with it. Corrupt police...corrupt customs.....there are many officers for sale.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #35 on: March 14, 2011, 08:24:32 PM »
When these containers come to our shores or on the docks it must have a person name who ever it came to , i am quite sure it have some paper work attached to those containers and nobody get hold yet .

« Reply #36 on: March 14, 2011, 08:48:34 PM »
that is a inside job , them customs people corrupt , the fact that the original seal get tampered with , normally the seal number has the match the documents or the container would not clear, so it strange the seal get replace with a customs seal, why? Funny also how the customs was dragging they feet with it.

« Reply #37 on: March 14, 2011, 08:58:56 PM »
So then lets here what the COP have to say about that or for that matter the security minister .

All them custom officers who is working at Pt lisas should be transfered like yesterday what else coming in that we dont know about .

US Government Raises Alarm against T&T Cocaine Problem
« Reply #38 on: August 26, 2011, 12:17:26 PM »
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,146264.html

US raises alarm
By Nalinee Seelal Friday, August 26 2011

The illegal trafficking of cocaine to the United States (US) from Trinidad and Tobago (TT) was one of the reasons which prompted Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, as head of the National Security Council, to ask President George Maxwell Richards to declare a state of emergency.

Highly-placed security sources told Newsday the Prime Minister was told large quantities of cocaine were entering this country from Venezuela, Colombia and Brazil and for transhipment to the US. Some of the drugs were also been trafficked locally among gangs.

The Prime Minister was also advised by US intelligence agencies that TT needed to deal swiftly with the illegal trafficking because the country was nearing a crisis as guns were being smuggled into communities to gangs fighting over drug turfs, resulting in persons being killed. There was also concern about the trafficking of drugs to the US. Newsday understands officials from the US Department of Homeland Security. On Wednesday, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan admitted that this country was able to avert a national crisis with the declaration of a state of emergency but he declined to give further details.

He said emergency measures came after the recent seizure of $22 million in cocaine but warned that the operation had deeper implications, and had averted further trafficking of an estimated $100 million in illegal narcotics.

“By making that discovery is to stop an entire drug trafficking operation that used Trinidad and Tobago as a route and trans-shipment point,” Ramlogan said at a security briefing on Wednesday. Last Friday, a 19-year-old man was remanded in custody after appearing before an Arima magistrate charged for possession of an estimated $21.6 million worth of cocaine for the purposes of trafficking. Nathaniel Bowen, of Almond Boulevard, Arima was charged for the possession of 53.926 kilogrammes of cocaine for the purposes of trafficking; with possession of an illegal drug for the purposes of export; and possession of 10.9 grammes of marijuana.

It was alleged that at about 10.40 pm on August 16, officers of the Organized Crime, Narcotics and Firearms Bureau, were on duty at the Piarco International Airport, when they intercepted two suitcases that were checked in to load onto a Carribean Airlines flight destined for New York.

One of the suitcases was a green suitcase which held 25 packets of cocaine all wrapped in a blue blanket. The other suitcase was blue, and also contained 25 packets of cocaine, wrapped in an orange blanket.

Further investigations by the officers led them to detain Bowen, who it was alleged was the person who checked in the suitcases. As a result, the teenager was arrested, and a search was conducted at his home, where officers later discovered the marijuana hidden in a green pouch.

National security sources yesterday said the drug bust, considered to be the largest for the year thus far, was part of a large scale operation into the trafficking of cocaine valued at millions of dollars to the US via flights with domestic passengers.

The source added that the amount of drugs entering this country on a weekly basis for this year was of a larger amount than in previous years and had the capacity to cause a national crisis. It was estimated that cocaine enters this country weekly via air and sea transport.

Due to the state of emergency all borders are now under lock down and immigration and customs officers as well as the Coast Guard have been mandated to carry out new search procedures to ensure that illegal drugs do not enter the country.

Newsday understands that all the ports of entry will now have stringent security checks while at the Piarco International Airport new search procedures are also being adopted.

A source at the Organised Crime, Narcotics and Firearms Bureau yesterday said the investigations surrounding the $22 million cocaine seizure is at a sensitive stage and more persons are to be detained.

The source added that several persons employed at a company which provides services at the airport have been quizzed and key information have been obtained.

This past February $13 million worth of drugs was seized in Arima and Barataria. According to police reports after weeks of surveillance a party of officers raided a house at The Crossings, an upscale gated community of Tumpuna Road, Arima. During the raid the officers dismantled an air-conditioning unit where they discovered 21 packets of cocaine worth $8.4 million.

In the second incident, that same month, officers conducted an exercise at Saw Mill Avenue, Barataria and discovered large travel bags with compressed high grade marijuana with an estimated value of $3.6 million. Then in April officers seized pure cocaine with a street value of $800,000 which was found in a warehouse in Frederick Settlement, Caroni. Two men were subsequently detained.

In March, cocaine valued $600,000 was seized in an abandoned house in Barataria.

Also in March, high grade Arizona marijuana with a street value of more than $18 million was found in a container at the Point Lisas Port. Days after that bust, illegal narcotics, estimated at $30 million, was discovered by officers of the Customs and Excise Division at the Point Lisas Port.

Re: US Government Raises Alarm against T&T Cocaine Problem
« Reply #39 on: August 26, 2011, 12:26:38 PM »
Hmmmm.   So the picture getting clearer.

« Reply #40 on: August 26, 2011, 01:06:08 PM »

Preacher so d mighty US have 2 tell we what 2 do. Evrybody and dey brudder know we is a transhipment pt. D old Burroughs was charged for reciving drugs in Carli Bay back in d day. Carli Bay not a hot spot it eh under curfew.

Not 2 mention d Newsday get d scoop? I wonder if Ken ALi give dem?

« Reply #41 on: August 26, 2011, 01:26:02 PM »

is still froggy for some.

« Reply #42 on: August 26, 2011, 02:26:04 PM »
All dis well and good. However:

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,146264.html

He said emergency measures came after the recent seizure of $22 million in cocaine but warned that the operation had deeper implications, and had averted further trafficking of an estimated $100 million in illegal narcotics.

Is it correct in thinking...this like..."Oh shucks boy....we cyar move dem keys now nah. Leh we wait until things cool down"?

Cause...unless those drugs siezed and people arrested.....we delaying it..not stopping it.

I would hope with police having powers to search and enter premises and such that more dents in the drug trade occur.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #43 on: August 26, 2011, 02:36:43 PM »

It eh "froggy" for me....

Yuh doh need a state of emergency to deal with this.  There is enough legislation in place for law enforcement to do what needs to be done without suspending the civil rights of ALL citizens!!  What is needed is will power.......and as of day 5, I'm still waiting for a big fish to be held during this SOE......and ah don't mean the big fish down on Nelson Street ah mean de REAL big fish.....

« Reply #44 on: August 26, 2011, 03:06:43 PM »
My thinking is that since somebody lorse dey consignment the other day..the SOE would the perfect cover to bring in 3 or 4 more stash....just my thinking...... but I like conspiracy theories......

« Reply #45 on: August 26, 2011, 03:16:36 PM »

Preacher so d mighty US have 2 tell we what 2 do. Evrybody and dey brudder know we is a transhipment pt. D old Burroughs was charged for reciving drugs in Carli Bay back in d day. Carli Bay not a hot spot it eh under curfew.

MAYBE OUR PRIME Minister had no idea  we were a MAJOR  transhipment point .. this was new intelligence to her and the AG an this this used to go on so she call a SOE

"The Prime Minister was also advised by US intelligence agencies that TT needed to deal swiftly with the illegal trafficking because the country was nearing a crisis as guns were being smuggled into communities to gangs fighting over drug turfs, resulting in persons being killed. There was also concern about the trafficking of drugs to the US. Newsday understands officials from the US Department of Homeland Security. On Wednesday, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan admitted that this country was able to avert a national crisis with the declaration of a state of emergency but he declined to give further details."

« Last Edit: August 26, 2011, 03:21:09 PM by Trini _2014 »

« Reply #46 on: August 26, 2011, 03:58:13 PM »

Yuh doh need a state of emergency to deal with this. 

Maybe because their evidence collection is bad so they need to search without warrants ?  ???

« Reply #47 on: August 26, 2011, 04:22:54 PM »
The source added that the amount of drugs entering this country on a weekly basis for this year was of a larger amount than in previous years and had the capacity to cause a national crisis. It was estimated that cocaine enters this country weekly via air and sea transport.

This statement speak for itself , it shows that the past gov was doing a better job protecting the boarders
that this gov , my oponion could be wrong but this is how i see it . 

« Reply #48 on: August 26, 2011, 04:59:47 PM »

Yuh doh need a state of emergency to deal with this. 

Maybe because their evidence collection is bad so they need to search without warrants ?  ???

So rather than focus on making evidence collection better, you call an SOE??  Instead of making the courts functional, you call for an SOE?? 

So after the SOE we back to square one then??.....

« Reply #49 on: August 26, 2011, 05:02:38 PM »

This statement speak for itself , it shows that the past gov was doing a better job protecting the boarders
that this gov , my oponion could be wrong but this is how i see it . 

Before even seeing this article, I remember a talk show host this morning stating that information coming to him from sources inside the security arena is that since the start of PP's reign, the amount of drugs passing through here on its way to the US has increased dramatically.  And that the US vex like hell.....
« Last Edit: August 26, 2011, 05:04:56 PM by Brownsugar »

« Reply #50 on: August 26, 2011, 05:10:02 PM »
d coke passin increase becuz issa big big big big fish that hav free reign on d borders now. i wonder who that cud be...

« Reply #51 on: August 26, 2011, 05:18:33 PM »
d coke passin increase becuz issa big big big big fish that hav free reign on d borders now. i wonder who that cud be...

Well they did not buy the Offshore Patrol Vessels .....

« Reply #52 on: August 26, 2011, 05:50:36 PM »
let's see who mr big is!!!!!

« Reply #53 on: August 26, 2011, 05:50:44 PM »

« Reply #54 on: August 26, 2011, 06:31:45 PM »
It seems to be (and I prepared to be corrected) that usually you need some kind of solid evidence to justify a magistrate issuing a search warrant. Now everyone keeps saying that the police know who the crims and Mr Bigs are, but clearly, can't obtain evidence. This is not unusual anywhere in the world. How many mafia dons are known in the US, but can't be prosecuted? How many MR Bigs in UK are known? By instigating the SOE, police can go in and arrest the suspects, search for some evidence (no matter how small) and arrest. Once under arrest, you have a real chance of obtaining information. In fact, you hold all the cards.

Imagine you search the house of Bandit A who you know is in a gang. You arrest bandit A. Next night, Bandit A's krew are panicking in case Bandit A has talked. You then search the house of Bandit b. Even if you find nothing, you arrest him. You tell bandit B that Bandit A has been chatting away. So bandit B gets vex and starts to talk. Meanwhile, you go after bandit C. All the other gang members now are panicking as it looks like they've been fingered. They take chances and try to remove evidence from their houses, but police are watching and catch them red handed.

You could actually release bandit A without charge, but the rest of the gang is lock up.

I'm hoping this is the kind of plan they have and over the next week we will see a dramatic rise in arrests and the collection of evidence. If thats the case, I will accept the SOE as a good move.

Ah missin serious limin here, so ah hope it ent no waste a time.

« Reply #55 on: August 26, 2011, 07:02:18 PM »
My thinking is that since somebody lorse dey consignment the other day..the SOE would the perfect cover to bring in 3 or 4 more stash....just my thinking...... but I like conspiracy theories......

U maybe on 2 someting

« Reply #56 on: August 26, 2011, 07:05:51 PM »

Well they did not buy the Offshore Patrol Vessels .....

D lady did say we fightin crime on d ground

« Reply #57 on: August 26, 2011, 07:09:33 PM »

MAYBE OUR PRIME Minister had no idea  we were a MAJOR  transhipment point .. this was new intelligence to her and the AG an this this used to go on so she call a SOE

"The Prime Minister was also advised by US intelligence agencies that TT needed to deal swiftly with the illegal trafficking because the country was nearing a crisis as guns were being smuggled into communities to gangs fighting over drug turfs, resulting in persons being killed. There was also concern about the trafficking of drugs to the US. Newsday understands officials from the US Department of Homeland Security. On Wednesday, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan admitted that this country was able to avert a national crisis with the declaration of a state of emergency but he declined to give further details."

OR HOR :idea:

« Reply #58 on: August 26, 2011, 10:33:13 PM »
It seems to be (and I prepared to be corrected) that usually you need some kind of solid evidence to justify a magistrate issuing a search warrant. Now everyone keeps saying that the police know who the crims and Mr Bigs are, but clearly, can't obtain evidence. This is not unusual anywhere in the world. How many mafia dons are known in the US, but can't be prosecuted? How many MR Bigs in UK are known? By instigating the SOE, police can go in and arrest the suspects, search for some evidence (no matter how small) and arrest. Once under arrest, you have a real chance of obtaining information. In fact, you hold all the cards.

Imagine you search the house of Bandit A who you know is in a gang. You arrest bandit A. Next night, Bandit A's krew are panicking in case Bandit A has talked. You then search the house of Bandit b. Even if you find nothing, you arrest him. You tell bandit B that Bandit A has been chatting away. So bandit B gets vex and starts to talk. Meanwhile, you go after bandit C. All the other gang members now are panicking as it looks like they've been fingered. They take chances and try to remove evidence from their houses, but police are watching and catch them red handed.

You could actually release bandit A without charge, but the rest of the gang is lock up.

I'm hoping this is the kind of plan they have and over the next week we will see a dramatic rise in arrests and the collection of evidence. If thats the case, I will accept the SOE as a good move.

Ah missin serious limin here, so ah hope it ent no waste a time.

You don't need no evidence... just probable cause, which could be based on evidence, or based on reliable information from an informant, from police observation etc.  Under the SoE they still need "reasonable suspicion" which is a slightly lower threshold than PC... but somehow I doubt them police even bothering.  Is free reign they getting... so leh we see what all ah dis yields in 10 days.  All these mass arrests doing is clogging up already overcrowded jails and bogging down an overburdened judiciary.  It will take a very long time for all these cases to be sorted out... enough time for the PP to cook up some rationale to justify the SoE after the fact.

« Reply #59 on: August 27, 2011, 05:56:58 AM »
Remember during the last election coke was found in one of the politicians water tank , whatever became of that ? I never heard anything about that matter ,somebody shed some light here.