March 29, 2024, 02:17:19 AM

Author Topic: Drug News Thread  (Read 87680 times)

Re: Cocaine in Trinidad Orange & Grapefruit Juice Cans
« Reply #300 on: February 03, 2014, 04:25:20 AM »

Ah hear ah chinee man who big in the local music and feteing industry is invovled.

he didnt pack up and leave some time ago? everyone knows there were more to that shooting

Selecta draw dis fi dem:

Rumours dem spreadin
Claim dat ah sensi mi plantin
But I man a de Don inna de jugglin
Ah pure rumours ah gwaan

« Reply #301 on: February 03, 2014, 11:45:44 AM »

Ah hear ah chinee man who big in the local music and feteing industry is invovled.

he didnt pack up and leave some time ago? everyone knows there were more to that shooting

Bigger chinee who smaller

« Reply #302 on: February 03, 2014, 12:11:31 PM »

SO ON Go the investigation?   ;)

« Reply #303 on: February 03, 2014, 12:57:05 PM »
Dat self Elan...

« Reply #304 on: February 03, 2014, 11:01:15 PM »

The little bird say it taking long because of lack of cooperation from some of the main national security players.

Either this thing explode with bacchanal or it fizzle out like a wet squib.... no in betweens.

« Reply #305 on: February 04, 2014, 10:08:35 AM »

SO ON Go the investigation?   ;)

oho lol

hope we hear something....soon..

« Reply #306 on: February 04, 2014, 06:09:06 PM »
De ‘bust’ buss
By Raffique Shah
(Sunday Express)

Within days of the announcement by US authorities that they had intercepted 700-odd pounds of cocaine shipped from Trinidad to Norfolk, Virginia, and the well-publicised arrival here of a number of Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) agents, I sensed that something had gone awfully wrong.

As the media frenzy rose to frenetic proportions—Messrs Big facing imminent arrest, extradition underway, DEA interrogates Customs, and so on—the missing links in a successful drug bust were too glaring. Based on my experience (as a journalist, I had investigated and written on several big narcotics interceptions in the 1990s), I concluded that little or nothing would come out of this seizure.
In other words, de bust buss!

A successful drug bust usually begins with the arrests of several lynchpins, sometimes kingpins, at the end-user side of the market. In the instant case, for example, the first we in Trinidad should have known about the Norfolk seizure was that a syndicate in New York had been busted, with the importer and several distributors arrested and facing charges.

Simultaneously, we’d learn of the quantity of drugs seized, and its origin. And if the DEA and local police were on the ball, we’d hear that persons in Trinidad and maybe Venezuela had already been picked up as investigations intensified. DEA agents would then arrive, armed with sufficient evidence to seek the extradition of those responsible for exporting the cocaine.

Closure would usually come within months, with every-man-jack sent to prison for lengthy terms, and possibly a bonus in the form of the confiscation of ill-gotten gains from their bank accounts or properties.
In other words, success is not about seizures, although that is useful. It must include arrests and successful prosecution of a syndicate (well, it’s hardly ever a cartel), and hopefully the dismantling of its operations.

These things did not happen in this case. Instead, the US authorities made a big song and dance about the discovery of the illicit drugs, end of story. Our officials, seizing the opportunity to appear to be doing something to stem the flow of drugs, hint at having collaborated with the DEA.
The unpalatable truth is this operation has been an unmitigated disaster. In fact, for many years our drug interdiction programme has yielded only a string of stupid ‘mules’ with cocaine in their stomachs or suitcases, the occasional discovery of a few kilos of drugs, but never the arrest of anyone that resembled a drug dealer.

It is not as if this country is not one of the major transhipment points for cocaine destined for the North American and European markets. The Norfolk seizure, one-third-tonne, is an indication that we ‘big in the dance’. How many similar shipments passed through that particular port before the US authorities made a breakthrough? What’s happening at other entry points to that lucrative market, and in Europe?

A United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) research paper on the Trans-Atlantic cocaine trade, dated April 2011, concluded that the Andean countries (Colombia, Peru and Bolivia) produced 1,100 tonnes in 2009. Allowing for interceptions and seizures along the trade routes, the authors estimated that 123 tonnes eventually reached European consumers and 179 tonnes North Americans (mainly the USA).
The estimated street value of this combined 302 tonnes was put at US $70 billion! That works out to around $230 million a tonne. In the Norfolk seizure, US authorities valued one-third tonne at $100 million, or $300 million a tonne.

Bearing in mind this latter number is the street value, we can safely assume that the trans-shippers in Trinidad cream off at least 25 per cent of that, say US $75 million a tonne. Of the estimated 300 tonnes traded, if 5.0 per cent passes through Trinidad, it means US$1.1 billion, or TT$7.0 billion, is generated, and likely laundered, here.

If we are conservative in the extreme and assume only one per cent (three tonnes) passes this way, we are talking close to $2.0 billion a year of cocaine dollars circulating in the system.
That’s a lot of money in a country where government revenue for the current fiscal year is estimated at $55 billion and expenditure around $60 billion. Put in another perspective, think of what US$1.0 billion means to any small island Caribbean country whose budgetary expenditure and revenue may not exceed $3.0 billion.

Put bluntly, does it not make sense for any government in the Caribbean to turn a blind eye to the illicit operations of ‘Messrs Big’, given their contributions to the economy? In Trinidad’s case, cocaine dollars may fall behind only oil, gas, petrochemicals, services and manufacturing.
I am not suggesting that ‘somebody letting the cocaine pass’ as David Rudder sang many years ago. But if criminal enterprises can conduct canning businesses, mimicking legitimate manufacturers, and export cocaine via containerised cargo, something is rotten somewhere.

Worse, on several occasions the authorities have found large quantities of drugs in import containers, yet no one has been charged. The only ‘drug criminals’ jailed in this country are ‘coke-heads’ and two-bit pushers. That stinks.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commentaries/De-bust-buss-243118601.html
« Last Edit: February 04, 2014, 06:11:47 PM by Brownsugar »

« Reply #307 on: February 04, 2014, 06:10:35 PM »

The little bird say it taking long because of lack of cooperation from some of the main national security players.

Either this thing explode with bacchanal or it fizzle out like a wet squib.... no in betweens.

Fishs, check the article I posted above......

« Reply #308 on: February 07, 2014, 05:49:26 AM »
Not familiar with the time frame associated with these investigations i am wondering whether the DEA is actually able to crack this one. More than 3 weeks have passed, are they still even here?

« Reply #309 on: February 09, 2014, 11:21:53 AM »
http://i955fm.com/Mercer-Media-player-V1/player.html

check figueria at the station right now he has been speaking for a while.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2014, 11:45:26 AM by zuluwarrior »

« Reply #310 on: February 09, 2014, 11:45:00 AM »

Criminology lecturer: Drug dealers using more sophisticated techniques
Published:
Sunday, February 9, 2014
Charles Kong Soo

Text Size: 
University of the West Indies (UWI) criminology lecturer Daurius Figueira says drug dealers are using increasingly sophisticated techniques that can evade scanners and sniffer dogs. Figueira said the $644 million Norfolk, Virginia, USA drug bust where a 732 pounds shipment of cocaine was concealed in juice cans was an “old-school” smuggling method.

Odourless, easily disguised and virtually undetectable by even modern state-of-the-art scanners and highly-trained substance sniffing dogs, the new smuggling method is called “the darkness” because the cocaine could be hidden in plain sight and no one would know. Figueira said “the darkness” was the most effective form of drug smuggling devised to date by making the cocaine part of the legitimate product through the various manufacturing techniques that they used.

He revealed that one of the most favoured methods was to have the cocaine mixed with asphalt. The process required highly technical knowledge, he added. Figueira said after the shipment passed through Customs, the drug dealers removed the cocaine from the asphalt using a chemical process. As long as the drug dealers have the money they can “buy anybody” with the necessary skills, like chemists and other highly-trained people that have the necessary skill sets.

He said this form was practised by a very small elite as it was expensive, requiring resources, infrastructure, machinery and factories; however, it got a greater volume of product through than any other method. Figueira said the crème de la crème who practised “the darkness” were into hardcore trafficking, moving their product past Customs through the ports of Europe, the US and Canada.

He said the only way the cocaine hidden in asphalt was discovered by Colombian police was that someone who was part of the drug-smuggling organisation had informed on the shipment. Figueira said another method was to pack cocaine in the core of high-tension electrical cables while the cables were being manufactured in the factory. He said that this roll of cocaine-filled cable was mixed in with a volume and spread throughout a shipment of 40-foot containers, sometimes as many as 20 to 40 containers.

Figueira said the law of probability also worked in the drug dealers’ favour as a tired, overworked customs officer would be hard-pressed to do a random inspection of one container much less 20 or 40 containers.

« Reply #311 on: February 09, 2014, 11:51:23 AM »
With all due respect for 'due process' but it seems like with so many cases in TnT, thins blow up and get all big up then is like it all boil down to a simmer and people fuh get all about it. Makes you wonder if everyone have a price. Things that make you wonder..........

1. Goes back to the former Police commissioner and his deputy fiasco-  Were they released due to not meeting the conditions or were they getting in the way?

2. After the SOE- how could those who are entrusted with upholding the law, claim to have some of the biggest  alleged gang leaders yet they were all released due to alleged insufficient evidence?

3. How could ministers in charge keep blaming the PNM and making statements of a 'mess' they inherited yet they have  little evidence of concrete plans to deal with the present situation. You  would think that all this time when one is in opposition and when they are planning to take over power that they would have some plans to put in place to deal with the situation.

4. When will the blaming game stop, and  when will people see that what we are facing is more than  politics?  Unsolved and a lack of public disclosure to bring those at fault to justice creates more uncertainty and raises doubts about the competency, and the ethics of those who are in governance in my humble opinion. If we could print the names of those who owe money to corporations I think the public  needs to hear of and know how some of these crimes are resolved. 

P.S. when allegations are coming out stating that the criminals are  more sophisticated and have more arsenal than our ' law officers, I wonder about the ability and capacity of those in governance to be ahead of the situation.  Do the law enforcers not have access to the same resources as do the criminal elements in society? Ah wonder who feeding whom and who is gangster and who is law?
« Last Edit: February 09, 2014, 11:56:08 AM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #312 on: February 11, 2014, 09:58:57 PM »
http://www.nytimes.com/2014/02/12/nyregion/major-mafia-round-up-in-new-york-and-italy.html?ref=nyregion&_r=0

The cocaine would come from Mexican drug cartels in Guyana, which would conceal narcotics in frozen fish aboard ships operated by a Guyanese company, the authorities said.

Why Drugs? Well now you know.
« Reply #313 on: February 14, 2014, 01:53:34 PM »
Check this article.  Daft would have loved this post RIP.

http://imgur.com/a/DYU2e

Re: Why Drugs? Well now you know.
« Reply #314 on: February 14, 2014, 02:07:27 PM »
Take note of the currencies.

« Reply #315 on: February 14, 2014, 02:54:56 PM »
And they say crime doesnt pay :p

« Reply #316 on: February 15, 2014, 12:30:30 AM »
At that level, what prison could do?  At least he lost the money.  ::)

« Reply #317 on: February 15, 2014, 05:25:35 AM »
Prison can be a threat - when you run an organisation through fear, being removed from the position may see their empires crumble, or at least open the possibility for competitors internally and externally to challenge the status quo. Sadly death usually ensues.

Cocaine in cans came from Europe - DEA man says Probe continuing
« Reply #318 on: April 30, 2014, 06:10:40 AM »
Cocaine in cans came from Europe
DEA man: Probe continuing

By Camille Bethel camille.bethel@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Apr 29, 2014 at 9:32 PM ECT

The 332 kilogrammes of cocaine shipped to Norfolk, Virginia, USA, from this country in Trinidad Fruit Juice cans last December originated from Europe, Robert Kennedy, country attache for the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) for Port of Spain, said yesterday.

Speaking at the Association of Caribbean Commissioners of Police 29th annual general meeting and conference at Hyatt Regency, Port of Spain, Kennedy identified that drug bust as one of the DEA’s accomplishments.

“Another accomplishment  here in Trinidad and Tobago, for the first time in a record long time, we have had a significant seizure of a direct shipment from Trinidad to the United States,” he said.

“Not getting too much into this, but it originated out of Europe, made it to Norfolk, Virginia, and is currently being investigated by the Trinidad authorities and the DEA.”

Kennedy added that Caribbean countries need to collaborate and solidify strategies in order to stem the trafficking problem in the region.
Questioned about the ongoing investigation by the DEA on the drug bust in Norfolk, acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams said: “I am not leading the investigation...what I can tell you, surely there is a level of partnering so the Organised Crime Unit, the Customs is giving the due support to the US agencies as they pursue this investigation.”

Stating that he did not want to comment on the progress of the investigation in isolation, Williams added: “What I can tell you is that there is a definite shape pattern between Customs and the Police Service towards ensuring that we do everything within our jurisdiction in support of that investigation. But, I will not box it into dates.”

Offline Ramgoat

« Reply #319 on: April 30, 2014, 04:42:00 PM »
 Although  I am not Trini    I feel bad for the fact the  this shipment was intercepted .
 Cocaine is the drug of choice for white people in the states and I am more upset that the cocaine shipment did not go through and my Triny brothers  lost out on revenues.

Offline Ramgoat

« Reply #320 on: April 30, 2014, 05:37:42 PM »
 and like who really  gives a flying f**k bout dem that uses cocaine 

« Reply #321 on: April 30, 2014, 07:38:00 PM »
Although  I am not Trini    I feel bad for the fact the  this shipment was intercepted .
 Cocaine is the drug of choice for white people in the states and I am more upset that the cocaine shipment did not go through and my Triny brothers  lost out on revenues.

You not Trini...?

...‘Expect drug problem to get worse’
« Reply #322 on: April 30, 2014, 08:04:47 PM »
...‘Expect drug problem to get worse’
By Camille Bethel
Story Created: Apr 29, 2014 at 9:34 PM ECT (T&T Express)

Expect the illicit drug problem to get worse before it gets better, said William Brownfield, United States Assistant Secretary of State for International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs.

Speaking yesterday at the Association of Caribbean Commissioners of Police 29th annual general meeting at Hyatt Regency, Port of Spain, Brownfield said the current drug trafficking trend-line is up and the amount of drugs passing though the Caribbean has quadrupled in the last year.

“This is not something that we should take lightly. The drug crisis did not start yesterday. Homicide and violent crime is not an invention of the 20th century. It has taken generations to get to where we are and it is going to take generations to eventually solve the problem definitively. The problem is likely to get worse before it gets better.”

Brownfield, whose topic was “Enhancing security in the Caribbean”, said the problem has to be addressed strategically, looking at the past and present to change the future, which includes seeking out new partners and strengthening and adjusting the current partners.

“We have to address each element, each length of the chain. We must be creative...we all deal with budget realities. I project my budget is on a downward line path, at least for the next several years. I am not going to have the tremendous amount of resources made available to me so I want to see how we can use other opportunities that are out there.”

He admitted that the United States had dropped the ball with regard to giving information on deportees to the region, but explained why, adding that they need to find a way to give the countries in the region as much data on deportees as possible to assist in the crime-fighting efforts against transnational organised crime.

« Reply #323 on: May 04, 2014, 02:59:36 PM »
 any more updates on this juc story? oh is just another story that  gone down the drain?

« Reply #324 on: May 04, 2014, 03:03:58 PM »
any more updates on this juc story? oh is just another story that  gone down the drain?
Latest news on this is what I posted in Reply #138 above.

« Reply #325 on: August 31, 2014, 09:23:57 AM »
Cops probe $m party financier
Six individuals are being inves­tigated in relation to the US$100 million cocaine bust in the United States in December where the drug was hidden in juice cans which carried local labels. One of the people being probed is said to be a financier of a poli­

By DENYSE RENNE denyse.renne@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Aug 31, 2014 at 1:23 AM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 31, 2014 at 1:23 AM ECT
Port of Spain

Six individuals are being inves­tigated in relation to the US$100 million cocaine bust in the United States in December where the drug was hidden in juice cans which carried local labels.
One of the people being probed is said to be a financier of a poli­ti­cal party and may be the local master­mind behind the cocaine shipment, which was smuggled into Norfolk, Virginia, in tins labelled Trinidad Orange Juice, international law enforcement sources told the Sunday Express.

Sources said the man operates a multimillion-dollar business in Tri­nidad and also resides in the country.
So far, sources say, the Drug Enforce­­­ment Administration (DEA) in the United States is still investigating the matter and officers are in the pro­cess of flying to other countries, seeking more information.

Earlier this year, two DEA agents arrived in the country, seeking the assistance of Trinidad and Tobago law enforcement.
Upon their arrival, they met with two of their colleagues who are based here.

Following a meeting with local law officers, the agents are said to have departed with shipping manifests and other documents.
Speaking with the Sunday Express on Thursday after­noon, Assis­tant Commis­sion­er
of Police Glenn Hack­-

ett said: “Local law enforcement are wor­k­-
ing alongside their foreign counter­parts.”
Probed further as to who are the sus­pects, Hackett only said the matter is still the sub­ject of an inves­tiga­tion.
Also contacted was National Secu­rity Minister Gary Griffith, who said regardless of who “the person is, there
will be a price to pay. I know the matter
with the cocaine bust; they (police) are working hand in hand with the DEA.
“Many people think this is a cold case, but it isn’t. Just by the fact that the DEA are heavily involved in this case means it will not be closed overnight,” Griffith said.

He said he has done research, and cases like this take about a year or more to be thoroughly investigated.
“What they (DEA) do is not what we see here, where you grab one person and the rest get away. No... from the driver, to the shipper to the recei­ver are caught. From captain to cook will be taken down. They (DEA) look at the paper trail of all their financiers and proceed from there,” he said.

On January 26, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar told the media:
“The matter is un­der investigation and very sensitive and it would be inappropriate to comment.”
The Prime Minister noted two port scanners, purchased through grant funding at a cost of $25 million each, were in the country. The scanners arrived in T&T on December 26, 2013, while two others arrived in June this year.
At a news briefing in December 2013, Virginia police officers said the drugs carried an estimated value of US$100 million.
The cocaine was found concealed in fruit juice cans originating in T&T by United States Customs and Border Protection (CBP) officers in Virginia.

Based on information received, the shipment was smuggled in Trini­dad Orange Juice cans, which are manufactured by Co-operative Citrus Growers Association.
The cans were discovered in a shipping container which was des­tined for New York, USA. The cocaine was hidden in over 700 cans which were among thousands of cans, many of which contained juice.

SM Jaleel: Labels fake

In a release earlier this year on its website, local soft-drink manufacturer SM Jaleel said the company, which produces the popular juice drink, undertook an internal examination and the results showed the labels used on the Trinidad Juices cans found at the Port of Norfolk are “not real. They are fake”.

The company explained: “The colour of the text disclosing the net fluid ounces (at the bottom front) on the original and authentic labels are light green whereas the colour of that text on the product which has been seized is dark green.”
“It has become common know­ledge that the criminals involved in drug trafficking have been using mechanisms to transport cocaine, inclusive of items such as fruit, car parts, lumber, hardware and various others. It now appears that someone may be trying to utilise our company’s product in this regard,” the company said.

« Reply #326 on: September 01, 2014, 06:28:16 AM »
Wake me up when somebody gets arrested and charged. In this election season you feel they want to lose an sponsor like that? Ha!
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #327 on: September 01, 2014, 06:51:58 AM »

Wake me up when somebody gets arrested and charged. In this election season you feel they want to lose an sponsor like that? Ha!

Ditto.
T&T has the best probers in the world. If yuh ever want to sweep something under a carpet or make it go away we have a prober for yuh. We have probers for every budget, a police man, ex-judge or even a whole commission of inquiry. No issue too large or small for TT's finest to diligently probe into inaction.

« Reply #328 on: September 01, 2014, 08:27:31 AM »
One of the people being probed is said to be a financier of a poli­ti­cal party and may be the local master­mind behind the cocaine shipment, which was smuggled into Norfolk, Virginia, in tins labelled Trinidad Orange Juice, international law enforcement sources told the Sunday Express.

Sources said the man operates a multimillion-dollar business in Tri­nidad and also resides in the country.

Sometimes yuh does have to laugh and really wonder if those on charge does see the general population as idiots. The report above claims to have individuals and a person of interest yet they cyar name names and eh buss the mark by bringing him in or placing heat on the individual- so is either he is untouchable or well connected or...........You speculate?

In true Trini fashion given the possibilities who do you think this person is? Submit your choice

« Reply #329 on: September 01, 2014, 10:03:11 AM »
Is dem Lavantee boys who responsible for all the cocaine and guns in de country.