April 28, 2024, 09:18:14 PM

Author Topic: T&T delegation arrives in Leipzig for World Cup Draw  (Read 4273 times)

T&T delegation arrives in Leipzig for World Cup Draw
« on: December 07, 2005, 04:04:42 PM »
T&T delegation arrives in Leipzig for World Cup Draw
By Shaun Fuentes

FIFA Vice President Jack Warner and a host of Germany 2006 World Cup Organising Committee officials welcomed the country’s contingent for Friday’s Draw upon their arrival in Leipzig on Wednesday evening.

TTFF President Oliver Camps and General Secretary Richard Groden led the arrival party and Warner, here since earlier in the week for other FIFA meetings, was at the Renaissance Hotel to greet his contingent. Other members of the delegation arriving here so far are Team manager Bruce Aanansen, Press Officer Shaun Fuentes, team assistant manager  George Joseph, Cultural liaison officer Terry Joseph, security officer Roy Augustus, Tracy Davidson of the Tourism Development company. Dr James Hepple, also of the Tourism Company is expected to arrive in time for Friday’s Grand Draw.

Upon check in at the Hotel, the T&T delegation also received welcome letters from Bernd Listner, Honorary Consul of the Republic of T&T.

“We share your happiness that Trinidad and Tobago has qualified for the World Championship in Germany and are excited at which places the team trained by Mr Leo Beenhakker will play,” Listner stated.

Already, there has been a huge fanfare over T&T’s participation with several television crews requesting permission to follow the T&T delegation around and putting forward proposals to follow the “Soca Warriors” in their build up to the Finals. Sky Sports is particularly interested in spending the next few days with the T&T delegation, following the site visits among other activities as well as producing a documentary on the “Soca Warriors”.

“So far everything has indicated that this is World Cup level,” Camps told TTFF Media. “I think while we are here representing the country, everyone must be proud of the fact that we are on display worldwide and I have every bit of confidence that we will take all the benefits from something like this,” added a man who was only a guest at the 1998 Draw prior to this one. He twice came close in 1974 and 1990 when he was manager of the team then.

While Camps and company arrived here to represent, Warner, without a doubt, even in his capacity as FIFA Vice President and CONCACAF President, is the proudest individual in Leipzig with regards to T&T’s qualification and has duly been the centre of attraction thus far.

The committee also approved the composition of the names in the other pots as well as the procedure for the final draw.

The committee based its criteria for seeding the teams on the 32 finalists' performances at the FIFA World Cup finals in 2002 and 1998 (ratio 2:1) and the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking in the years 2005, 2004 and 2003 (ratio 1:1:1). Brazil consequently attained the maximum of 64 points. Italy with 44 points – a one-point lead over the USA (43) and six points ahead of the Netherlands (38) – also heads a group (cf. the complete tables).

T&T is in Pot 4 with 1 Iran, 2. Japan , 3. Korea Republic , 4. Saudi Arabia , 5. Costa Rica and the USA. The FIFA World Cup regulations stipulate that geographical criteria must also be taken into account in the draw. Each group may not include more than one team per confederation, with the exception of Europe, which has 14 representatives. Consequently, six of the eight groups will comprise two European teams. Serbia and Montenegro were allocated to a special pot to avoid drawing three European teams into one group. The reason for the decision allocating one of the nine remaining European representatives into this bowl was the FIFA/Coca-Cola Ranking in November 2005, in which Serbia and Montenegro occupied 47th place – the lowest position of the teams in question.

T&T head coach Leo Beenhakker arrives on Thursday on a private jet out of Holland with other Dutch World Cup coaches Guus Hiddink (Australia), Dick Advocaat (South Korea) and Marco Van Basten (Netherlands).

Thursday will also see the arrival of FIFA President Sepp Blatter and the opening of the information stands will take place. These stands will deal specifically with accommodation, transportation, ticketing, marketing and venues.

There will also be a marketing workshop which the TTFF is expected to be involved in and the second part of the FIFA Executive Committee meeting will take place at the Messe Leipzig Hotel. The day’s activities will close with a FIFA banquet in Glashalle, Leipzig.

Re: T&T delegation arrives in Leipzig for World Cup Draw
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2005, 04:07:58 PM »
Cyar wait for Friday boy.....ah gettin tizik already.  :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2005, 04:09:09 PM »
 How come Linhcon Phillips not on that trip? He always seems to have meaningful imput...Anyhow, it doesn't have much decisions to make...Go T&T

« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2005, 04:22:24 PM »
There will also be a marketing workshop which the TTFF is expected to be involved in and the second part of the FIFA Executive Committee meeting will take place at the Messe Leipzig Hotel. The day’s activities will close with a FIFA banquet in Glashalle, Leipzig.

Ok its now clear as to the composition of the travelling party, I agree Lincoln should have been there.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2005, 04:24:31 PM by g »

« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2005, 04:23:35 PM »
Tallmam i hadda know
how uz get dese tings as dey come out boy?
Uz do dis fulltime?

« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2005, 04:30:55 PM »
Tallmam i hadda know
how uz get dese tings as dey come out boy?
Uz do dis fulltime?

Shaun Fuentes does email stories direct....

« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2005, 04:47:10 PM »
Allyuh see Jack campaign for FIFA President start already.  Watch him slight.

Offline trinibug

« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2005, 05:04:38 PM »
Allyuh see Jack campaign for FIFA President start already.  Watch him slight.

yuh know, This image just jump in my head, of Jack and he FIFA partners in a hotel bar after a meeting and one say "Jack boy, yuh is big VP and yuh team cyah make a note" and Jack say "I bet you 10,000 euros, that I could get T&T into the next world cup"
And now Jack stalking the man in the hotel... "Ay boy, whey mih money!"
Must rhyme with an O

« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2005, 05:15:10 PM »
friday is the day yesss. cant wait.................. :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2005, 05:28:39 PM »
How come Linhcon Phillips not on that trip? He always seems to have meaningful imput...Anyhow, it doesn't have much decisions to make...Go T&T

You know what, Shaun sent me a photo today with the crew that went to Germany and I saw Lincoln Phillips there....

This is one of the photos....

Jack, Camps and Phillips behind Jack.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2005, 05:30:56 PM by Flex »

« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2005, 05:35:48 PM »
Jack Dannin it up.

If dat IS Lincoln...good to see him there.

« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2005, 06:07:49 PM »
allyuh could say wuhh allyuh want.jack warner is the effing boss.

« Reply #12 on: December 07, 2005, 06:11:38 PM »
I always felt most high level fifa officials were complete croks buh d man help we.... AND he have style... maybe this is the day that i officially begin to like Mr.Warner  8)

Offline Milan!!!

• Naps man fuh life!!!
« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2005, 07:38:23 PM »
aye...fuh real...Jack is de real dan dappa...de one and only real mcoy!!!! u ent see how de man looking like Governor General there!!!!....Jack for FIFA president....i could see it in meh crystal ball..and watch out too..with him there...we might even be in SA2010

« Reply #14 on: December 07, 2005, 10:20:42 PM »
Well if he go be President a Fifa .I suggest he lose the scarf...... :rotfl:

But say wah Jack 4 President :beermug:

« Reply #15 on: December 07, 2005, 11:03:07 PM »
how does the fifa thing work. How long can someone be presiden. 

« Reply #16 on: December 07, 2005, 11:48:27 PM »
what 4king Terry Joseph doing they?

Ms que un club.

« Reply #17 on: December 07, 2005, 11:50:30 PM »
what 4king Terry Joseph doing they?

you know me in realise that shit.

« Reply #18 on: December 08, 2005, 12:04:53 AM »
the man with the biggest chip on he shoulder is Cultural Liaison officer

good grief

Ms que un club.

Offline dutchman

« Reply #19 on: December 08, 2005, 06:18:19 AM »
I always felt most high level fifa officials were complete croks buh d man help we.... AND he have style... maybe this is the day that i officially begin to like Mr.Warner  8)

FELT, felt

The entire world knows that they are all a bunch of crooks. - remember the missing\stolen vote of haiti ?
Wasn't it Jack assistent who cast it in ?
Al least you have a trini crook up there becoming President soon. ;D
I'm not blaming Jack, he just adapted to the crook level he got in to.
These guys have total freedom nobody absolutly noone can look on their fingers.
Must be real fun to wash the money by paying Leo from Swiss accounts and then later gettin it back in nice official T&T paychecks. And the entire board here going ooh aah poor JAck is he still paying the mans
salary ? Scandall !  :D
Jack is smart very very smart.
Did he now ever tell anyone how much he got from Adidas ?

Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.

« Reply #20 on: December 08, 2005, 06:32:45 AM »
Adidas pay him and yuh eh hear nothing after that, them eh even thinking about making shirts for we, they took some old stocks and soe on de logo and give de team.... then Jack pocked de change....  :rotfl:
« Last Edit: December 08, 2005, 06:39:29 AM by Flex »

Offline Lil Jodie P

« Reply #21 on: December 08, 2005, 06:33:32 AM »

Friday is the day already boy....OMG!!!
i excited too bad.....and ah nervous at the same time!
God put ah hand...please.
FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)

« Reply #22 on: December 08, 2005, 06:51:29 AM »

Friday is the day already boy....OMG!!!
i excited too bad.....and ah nervous at the same time!
God put ah hand...please.

Let not your Heart be troubled...  ;D

« Reply #23 on: December 08, 2005, 06:53:26 AM »

You know what, Shaun sent me a photo today with the crew that went to Germany and I saw Lincoln Phillips there....

This is one of the photos....

Jack, Camps and Phillips behind Jack.

FLEX!!! That is NOT Lincoln behind Jack, that's Richard Groden. Ah know is the beard fool ya :}
« Last Edit: December 08, 2005, 06:59:27 AM by Tallman »

Offline dutchman

« Reply #24 on: December 08, 2005, 07:36:41 AM »
Adidas pay him and yuh eh hear nothing after that, them eh even thinking about making shirts for we, they took some old stocks and soe on de logo and give de team.... then Jack pocked de change....  :rotfl:

I like Jack
Better a good crook then a lazy dog y the man has vision & football heart.
It's just too funny to see how a lot of people feel so sorry for him.
But you have it right, that's how Adidas does it. :rotfl:
How do you think they were able to make 500000 shirts in time for Greece EC winners?.
The re-used half finnished French shirts. So as soon as the entire world is screaming for T&T shirts when they we are in the last 16 & Spain busted they will re-used those spannish ones .
So forget about even asking for PAN on the shirt it aint go'ne happend.

Furhter nice to see how all the stations want to follow the T&T march to Berlin!! ;D
André you better make sure you cover your rights in Austria & Germany well the entire world.
I can see them already trying to talk trini ..AAH Loeve it...Aah Loove it  & on
.... ah love it!! (rights of André pending in Europe therefor till further notices only allowed in this board)

Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.