March 28, 2024, 10:57:35 AM

Author Topic: Copyrights for Soca Warriors  (Read 3880 times)

Copyrights for Soca Warriors
« on: December 08, 2005, 10:48:33 AM »
Fellas.  The TTFF should register the "Soca Warriors" nickname as a registered trademark or copy right.  I stand for correction on the legal parlance, but allyuh ge the gist of what I"m saying.  Has this been done already?  Please fill me in.  There will be a lot of companies, even at home and in the diaspora that will try to make money off of our qualification.  The TTFF need to maximize this revenue opportunity.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2005, 04:23:43 PM by Tallman »

Re: Copy rights for Soca Warriors
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2005, 10:50:15 AM »
I doubt dey could copyright it. It out in de public domain ah long time now.

« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2005, 10:52:19 AM »

I could be wrong, but I think they still can copywright it... Does not matter how long it out in the public domain.

MickeyRat

« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2005, 10:52:24 AM »
Yeah, that good for home, but will not be enforced in foreign countries.  

« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2005, 10:53:11 AM »
 TTFF backward anyhow

MickeyRat

« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2005, 10:54:29 AM »
They can trade mark the logo with name, but the name alone they cannot.  

« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2005, 10:55:43 AM »
They can trade mark the logo with name, but the name alone they cannot. 

Well atleast thats some thing they can do..  They have to protect them selves from now . !

MickeyRat

« Reply #7 on: December 08, 2005, 10:57:47 AM »
The problem I have is that they eh hire ah friggn firm to start rolling with this.  Legal, Marketing, PR, etc.  I know of an Alum (ah Indian Trini) working with a very good firm in NY who is doing this type of work.  The problem is $$$$$$$$.  But I think it will be worth it.

Offline Behbehman

« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2005, 01:29:26 PM »

I could be wrong, but I think they still can copywright it... Does not matter how long it out in the public domain.

Yes you are quite right!

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2005, 01:32:00 PM »
How come no one aint put the fact that Sky Sports wants to do a Documentary bout the Warriors on here yet?

« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2005, 07:14:34 PM »
How come no one aint put the fact that Sky Sports wants to do a Documentary bout the Warriors on here yet?

How come yuh out of tune so?  Check the topic on this thread.

« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2005, 07:23:14 PM »
all yuh ever know we tuh honour copyright laws? ah mean how many men in here have burnt CD's? doh answer!!!!

Re: Copyrights for Soca Warriors
« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2005, 04:26:31 PM »
During de press conference today, Jack mentioned dat dey registered de name and anybody who want tuh use it fuh fete and ting like dat have tuh pay ah fee of $100,000 TT. Yuh have tuh contact Terry Joseph first.

« Reply #13 on: December 13, 2005, 04:46:25 PM »
yo, lewwe change the name back to warriors and copyright that one b4 jack.  Oh gosh man 1 man greedy so?

« Reply #14 on: December 13, 2005, 04:47:22 PM »
...and he still can't give us we blasted tickets...steupssss.

« Reply #15 on: December 13, 2005, 05:14:43 PM »
If they try to enforce that trademark they could get some trouble because officially the team only got the name Soca Warriors after qualifying.

Remember Jack said that then that he decided to aquiesce to the wishes of the fans.

« Reply #16 on: December 15, 2005, 10:25:06 AM »
Trinidad & Tobago Newsday
Thursday 15th December 2005

Soca Warriors name registered worldwide

THE NAME "Soca Warriors" is now registered worldwide and persons using it for their own benefit can feel the full brunt of the law.

This was stated by Dennis Ramdeen, Public Relations Officer (PRO) of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) Public Relations Committee, during a press conference at the VIP Lounge, Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo on Tuesday.

"The Germany 2006 company are saying that the footballers and the football must benefit from all of this success and what comes out of it," said Ramdeen. "There are people who will not follow the proper course in terms of use of the name (and) use of the logo and we have things in place to monitor that."

Ramdeen stressed that the TTFF intend, "to pull up people when we see that, either the logo or the use of the name is infringed.

"And it is only fair," he continued. "People who help football should benefit from football."

"There are sponsors who have paid handsome sums, like Carib, Busta, TSTT, KFC, Blue Waters to be a part of this," Ramdeen added.

"And we have to protect their rights as well. That’s how we see it," he ended.

« Reply #17 on: December 15, 2005, 10:58:09 AM »
We safe doh... no need to fear