April 28, 2024, 01:57:45 PM

Author Topic: Calling all Children of the eightys  (Read 6302 times)

Offline firebun

Calling all Children of the eightys
« on: December 08, 2005, 11:14:24 AM »
leh mih see how good allyuh is......

What wuz de name of the car in Knight Rider? ::)

Re: Calling all Children of the eightys
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2005, 11:15:26 AM »
kit but wha this have to do with anything??

« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2005, 11:15:50 AM »
KIT stands for Knight Industires 2000

MickeyRat

« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2005, 11:17:36 AM »
That weak:  Kit, de Englsih talking Bulla car.

"Michael"

MickeyRat

« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2005, 11:18:58 AM »
Who was Herbert Birdsfoot?

Offline firebun

« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2005, 11:20:57 AM »
Ricky, an' wha wuz the name ah de container?? :rotfl:

« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2005, 11:21:53 AM »
Ricky, an' wha wuz the name ah de container?? :rotfl:

i eh know dat one  ???

« Reply #7 on: December 08, 2005, 11:22:09 AM »

Men does say AWATT is unnecessary, but all yuh see how necessary the organization is, in light of threads totally unrelated to anything on the board!!

« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2005, 11:23:28 AM »
KIT stands for Knight Industires 2000

aye, get it right please..it was KITT...Knight Industries Two Thousand..that was a bad ass show in the day..one of my fav..you can DL on Itunes now  ;D

Offline firebun

« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2005, 11:32:22 AM »

Men does say AWATT is unnecessary, but all yuh see how necessary the organization is, in light of threads totally unrelated to anything on the board!!

No man, i jes on kicks right now. because the 80s party coming up soon, i going back in de days....
de good all days.....

« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2005, 11:36:47 AM »
Who was Herbert Birdsfoot?

wasn't he from sesame street?

MickeyRat

« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2005, 11:37:35 AM »

« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2005, 11:47:39 AM »
KITT was a transam
woo-woo

« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2005, 11:50:38 AM »
i hear KITT retire to de trailerl park.

he used to be used as a rolling meth lab at one point.

hopefully, somebody will take him of those blocks.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2005, 11:52:46 AM by Andre »

« Reply #14 on: December 09, 2005, 10:59:43 PM »
but everyone know kit man

that was to easy.

u hadda say like name all the tundercats....

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #15 on: December 13, 2005, 10:41:14 AM »

that was to easy.

That one I know............. Lion-o, Cheetara, Tygra,Panthro and the annoying twins Willykit and Willy cat. Oh and the little one Snarf.

name all the smurfs.....

Heres something my sis sent me

If you were a child of the 80'sor early 90's in Trinidad, you might remember:

giving someone and receiving a meggie

you filled empty orchard cartons with air and jumped on it to make a popping noise to scare someone

you screamed at the faintest sound of thunder

getting licks with a guava whip or a wooden ruler with a metal strip on the side

the trauma of wondering if you would pass for "ah junior sec." or "ah prestige school"

when push point pencils were in style

when stationery on a whole was in style, nice erasers were prized: scented and
colourful, sharpeners shaped like hamburgers or mechanical pencils and pilot pens, fine-point preferably

when Bata was not in style but you had to wear one anyway

carrying ah lunch kit with a thermos flask inside

reading Enid Blyton, Nancy Drew or The Hardy Boys, Judy Blume, Sweet Dreams or Sweet Valley High.

wearing baubles, barrettes, woolies and hair ribbons

wearing VERY ying, very short, very tight khaki pants to school

wearing socks with frills

wearing panties with frills on the back

the Orchard marble craze

the Coca-Cola yo-yo craze

eating a sno-cone with ears and condensed milk

learning to write cursive in a Vere Foster book with your first fountain pen

how handwriting was a big thing in primary school among girls, you wrote extremely small and extremely neat with care

how an ink splotch on your pristine uniform was a tragedy in primary school

at some point in time, having to ask someone or be asked:
a. if yuh father is a glass maker
 b. if yuh have ants in yuh pants
 c. if yuh monkey glands acting up

you loved pencil cases and you wanted a nice one shaped like a giant pencil with a zip on one end

holding hands with a another girl or boy to go somewhere on an outing (everybody, find ah partner!) meant that he/she was your good friend

you were a Brownie or a Cub Scout, no one was quite sure what Red Cross people did except you called them if somebody fell down

having your skin stained for days with iodine after you fell

boys making guns out of paper and shooting each other

saying "ABC, ketch ah crab, put yuh head in ah paper bag" to some First year's or Second year's

you read "Lucky Dip" and West Indian Readers

penacool's costing 25 cents and these were bought in ah "tuck shop"

getting excited over the sight of three red beans sprouting on a wet piece of toilet paper in an old mayonaise jar

eating condensed milk from the can, tomato balls,paradise plums,
chilibibi, shrimp slices and planter's snacks

going to Astor Cinema with those same Planter's wrappers to get a
discount

sweating it out in Red Cross Kiddies' Carnival

everybody got braids for Carnival, some with beads fastened with aluminium foil

you or someone you know played in at least one Richard Bartholomew band

wearing poppies on Poppy Day was a fashion statement

cheese paste sandwiches with food colouring on Kiss bread cut in triangles

playing "in ah fine castle, do you hear my sissy-o", "I lost my glove on a Saturday night and found it Sunday morning.." and "under the brown bushes"

going to karate lessons, swimming lessons, music or dance school

the smell of whitening your shoes

collecting 'crystals' from the empty cartridge of a pen, first by sharpening off one end of course

in primary school, you methodically collected eraser shavings

reciting times tables

you played catch, red-light/green-light, there's a brown girl in the ring and hand clapping games till your palms stung

you brought toys to school on Toys' Day

a re-fashioned balloon was called ah cheekie-chong

you made those fortune telling finger toys from copy book paper

having to religiously support some curry-q, bar-b-q or chinee-q for the school

singing parang in a school Christmas concert or a folk song, "mangoes...mangoes.."

if you went to Catholic primary school: prayers, prayers and more prayers.

Teen of the 90's (early to mid) in Trinidad, you might remember:

A'levels seemed so far away

the Malcolm X hood fashion craze

many horrible hair and fashion crazes including: finger waves with gold and glitter spray, french rolls piled high with stiff drop curls and plenty Jam! pudding, purple and mustard in the same  outfit, Cross Colours and Karl Kani, solid fabric shirts with chiffon sleeves, lambada tights, tie-dye t shirts, cycle shorts, asymmetrical fades, fellas marking eye brows like Kris Kross and girls marking side burns, slicked down baby hair, wearing stopper earrings back-to-front, wearing earrings with your name spelled out
horizontally, multiple coloured socks on one foot (like black and white socks on top each other), too many scrunchies and woogies (and maybe a wrapped sock) on one hair bun.

when 98.9 launched

somehow, meggie's came back in style

plenty girls got their ears double bore with a piercing gun

everybody had a friendship bracelet or a rasta bead chain or bracelet

fellas got an earring too-just one

rolling up the waistband of your school skirt to make it shorter

underwear lines through a fitted, school skirt was a big deal

fighting with your parents to make sure you didn't get any "ying"

school pants and coasting a "rasta" belt with it

playing scooch somewhere

fellas--sheer school blouses (girls that wore white)

wearing your book bag fashionably loose and light using just one shoulder strap or not having one at all

there was always some crew in another school to ride for at the end of the day

football limes and Intercol

no matter where you went to school, Trinity College seemed so far away

your identity was defined by your school, there were girls and then there were "Convent girls" (be that good, bad or indifferent)

waiting for Fatima mayfair to come around and the debauchery within the disco walls (and d damn disco was like an oven)

dancing in a circle in above mentioned debauchery and being scared to dance with the opposite sex even though you wanted to. If you felt a groin pressed against you (girls)--you ran. (d girls soft
man………..ha hai)

putting up your hand for the dub "all virgin.." and really actually being one then (tru tru)

girls collected song lyrics and lil poems in a copy book or notebook, and traded them with other girls. Things like: sex is good, sex is kind, nine months later, he'll say it's not mine

red band maxis and their hard pong (Boyz N Da Hood)

you hoarded coloured ink pens

a big lime was always in the mall, by the side of the road somewhere, Pizza Hut Roxy or the cinema (yeah all u can eat in Pizza Hut)

you stressed about SBA's in Form 4 and 5

if you travelled home, you had to lime first before you got there

CXC lessons and the lessons' lime

boys hitting school desks to start a chanting session

the trauma of finding a date for grad

the trauma of finding what to wear for grad

Boyz to Men was probably played at your grad. at least once

somebody wore an all white suit to your grad made out of a soft material (check those old photos and
see)

silver slide hair pins were in style, (also called Olympic pins) you always wore several at one time

some of the biggest concerts were held in our time: Barrington, Color-Me-Bad, Chubb Rock, Kisskidee Caravan to name a few

if you went to certain schools (not calling no names!) in your hair, you used PLENTY gel, plenty vaseline and just enough water

you carried a brush and a compact in your bag

maxis and maxi conductors were the scourge of Secondary school in these days, parents were always complaining about them

you knew at least one girl who was "dealing" with a maxi-man (yeah  they used to ride maxi too)

Super Blue was road-march king during this time

you pooled money with friends to buy food: 3 of y'all would share a one piece from KFC or Royal Castle and make a small fries with ketchup and mustard miraculously stretch

if you remember any of these, you my friend are a child of the 80's and 90's in sweet Trinidad!
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

Offline firebun

« Reply #16 on: December 13, 2005, 05:12:27 PM »

that was to easy.

That one I know............. Lion-o, Cheetara, Tygra,Panthro and the annoying twins Willykit and Willy cat. Oh and the little one Snarf.

name all the smurfs.....

Heres something my sis sent me

If you were a child of the 80'sor early 90's in Trinidad, you might remember:

giving someone and receiving a meggie

you filled empty orchard cartons with air and jumped on it to make a popping noise to scare someone

you screamed at the faintest sound of thunder

getting licks with a guava whip or a wooden ruler with a metal strip on the side

the trauma of wondering if you would pass for "ah junior sec." or "ah prestige school"

when push point pencils were in style

when stationery on a whole was in style, nice erasers were prized: scented and
colourful, sharpeners shaped like hamburgers or mechanical pencils and pilot pens, fine-point preferably

when Bata was not in style but you had to wear one anyway

carrying ah lunch kit with a thermos flask inside

reading Enid Blyton, Nancy Drew or The Hardy Boys, Judy Blume, Sweet Dreams or Sweet Valley High.

wearing baubles, barrettes, woolies and hair ribbons

wearing VERY ying, very short, very tight khaki pants to school

wearing socks with frills

wearing panties with frills on the back

the Orchard marble craze

the Coca-Cola yo-yo craze

eating a sno-cone with ears and condensed milk

learning to write cursive in a Vere Foster book with your first fountain pen

how handwriting was a big thing in primary school among girls, you wrote extremely small and extremely neat with care

how an ink splotch on your pristine uniform was a tragedy in primary school

at some point in time, having to ask someone or be asked:
a. if yuh father is a glass maker
 b. if yuh have ants in yuh pants
 c. if yuh monkey glands acting up

you loved pencil cases and you wanted a nice one shaped like a giant pencil with a zip on one end

holding hands with a another girl or boy to go somewhere on an outing (everybody, find ah partner!) meant that he/she was your good friend

you were a Brownie or a Cub Scout, no one was quite sure what Red Cross people did except you called them if somebody fell down

having your skin stained for days with iodine after you fell

boys making guns out of paper and shooting each other

saying "ABC, ketch ah crab, put yuh head in ah paper bag" to some First year's or Second year's

you read "Lucky Dip" and West Indian Readers

penacool's costing 25 cents and these were bought in ah "tuck shop"

getting excited over the sight of three red beans sprouting on a wet piece of toilet paper in an old mayonaise jar

eating condensed milk from the can, tomato balls,paradise plums,
chilibibi, shrimp slices and planter's snacks

going to Astor Cinema with those same Planter's wrappers to get a
discount

sweating it out in Red Cross Kiddies' Carnival

everybody got braids for Carnival, some with beads fastened with aluminium foil

you or someone you know played in at least one Richard Bartholomew band

wearing poppies on Poppy Day was a fashion statement

cheese paste sandwiches with food colouring on Kiss bread cut in triangles

playing "in ah fine castle, do you hear my sissy-o", "I lost my glove on a Saturday night and found it Sunday morning.." and "under the brown bushes"

going to karate lessons, swimming lessons, music or dance school

the smell of whitening your shoes

collecting 'crystals' from the empty cartridge of a pen, first by sharpening off one end of course

in primary school, you methodically collected eraser shavings

reciting times tables

you played catch, red-light/green-light, there's a brown girl in the ring and hand clapping games till your palms stung

you brought toys to school on Toys' Day

a re-fashioned balloon was called ah cheekie-chong

you made those fortune telling finger toys from copy book paper

having to religiously support some curry-q, bar-b-q or chinee-q for the school

singing parang in a school Christmas concert or a folk song, "mangoes...mangoes.."

if you went to Catholic primary school: prayers, prayers and more prayers.

Teen of the 90's (early to mid) in Trinidad, you might remember:

A'levels seemed so far away

the Malcolm X hood fashion craze

many horrible hair and fashion crazes including: finger waves with gold and glitter spray, french rolls piled high with stiff drop curls and plenty Jam! pudding, purple and mustard in the same  outfit, Cross Colours and Karl Kani, solid fabric shirts with chiffon sleeves, lambada tights, tie-dye t shirts, cycle shorts, asymmetrical fades, fellas marking eye brows like Kris Kross and girls marking side burns, slicked down baby hair, wearing stopper earrings back-to-front, wearing earrings with your name spelled out
horizontally, multiple coloured socks on one foot (like black and white socks on top each other), too many scrunchies and woogies (and maybe a wrapped sock) on one hair bun.

when 98.9 launched

somehow, meggie's came back in style

plenty girls got their ears double bore with a piercing gun

everybody had a friendship bracelet or a rasta bead chain or bracelet

fellas got an earring too-just one

rolling up the waistband of your school skirt to make it shorter

underwear lines through a fitted, school skirt was a big deal

fighting with your parents to make sure you didn't get any "ying"

school pants and coasting a "rasta" belt with it

playing scooch somewhere

fellas--sheer school blouses (girls that wore white)

wearing your book bag fashionably loose and light using just one shoulder strap or not having one at all

there was always some crew in another school to ride for at the end of the day

football limes and Intercol

no matter where you went to school, Trinity College seemed so far away

your identity was defined by your school, there were girls and then there were "Convent girls" (be that good, bad or indifferent)

waiting for Fatima mayfair to come around and the debauchery within the disco walls (and d damn disco was like an oven)

dancing in a circle in above mentioned debauchery and being scared to dance with the opposite sex even though you wanted to. If you felt a groin pressed against you (girls)--you ran. (d girls soft
man………..ha hai)

putting up your hand for the dub "all virgin.." and really actually being one then (tru tru)

girls collected song lyrics and lil poems in a copy book or notebook, and traded them with other girls. Things like: sex is good, sex is kind, nine months later, he'll say it's not mine

red band maxis and their hard pong (Boyz N Da Hood)

you hoarded coloured ink pens

a big lime was always in the mall, by the side of the road somewhere, Pizza Hut Roxy or the cinema (yeah all u can eat in Pizza Hut)

you stressed about SBA's in Form 4 and 5

if you travelled home, you had to lime first before you got there

CXC lessons and the lessons' lime

boys hitting school desks to start a chanting session

the trauma of finding a date for grad

the trauma of finding what to wear for grad

Boyz to Men was probably played at your grad. at least once

somebody wore an all white suit to your grad made out of a soft material (check those old photos and
see)

silver slide hair pins were in style, (also called Olympic pins) you always wore several at one time

some of the biggest concerts were held in our time: Barrington, Color-Me-Bad, Chubb Rock, Kisskidee Caravan to name a few

if you went to certain schools (not calling no names!) in your hair, you used PLENTY gel, plenty vaseline and just enough water

you carried a brush and a compact in your bag

maxis and maxi conductors were the scourge of Secondary school in these days, parents were always complaining about them

you knew at least one girl who was "dealing" with a maxi-man (yeah  they used to ride maxi too)

Super Blue was road-march king during this time

you pooled money with friends to buy food: 3 of y'all would share a one piece from KFC or Royal Castle and make a small fries with ketchup and mustard miraculously stretch

if you remember any of these, you my friend are a child of the 80's and 90's in sweet Trinidad!

MAN, U REAL REMEMBER PLENTY! YES, DEM WAS THE GOOD OLD DAYS!

Offline Rymizx

• It's a small world ! - No Really...
« Reply #17 on: December 13, 2005, 11:30:16 PM »
Going to concerts in de Stadium - Kid N Play, Kriss Cross, Aswad etc.

Wearing ah necklace pendant called a fisheye

Going bowling in Gulfcity, and then to drive in cinema in Marabella....

Offline Lil Jodie P

« Reply #18 on: December 14, 2005, 09:10:04 PM »
Going to concerts in de Stadium - Kid N Play, Kriss Cross, Aswad etc.

Wearing ah necklace pendant called a fisheye

Going bowling in Gulfcity, and then to drive in cinema in Marabella....

aye i remember all that!!! wayyyyyyyyyyyyys horse you bring back real memories ther yes! kid n play...ant the high top hair cut!!! all my cousins had that with the lil parth on the side...and wearing yuh clothes on the wrong side like kriss cross!!!
dude real ole time yes!!!
FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)

Offline cm103

« Reply #19 on: December 15, 2005, 09:37:17 PM »

Dem Coca-cola shoes and yo-yo was boss. Ah real fight up fuh dem ting back in d day, doh have promotion like dat anymore.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2005, 09:51:31 PM by cm103 »

« Reply #20 on: December 16, 2005, 03:47:29 AM »
If ah say someting bout gulf city meh age go show but Ah like this thread It have meh remembering all kinda things

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #21 on: December 29, 2005, 04:48:07 PM »
not to mention, liming in gulf city on the last day of school, going to the Club, when it was still the club or that other club in southland mall. Oh and Fido Dido from 7 up. Rikki tikki, scouting for talent.....play your cards right,
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.