April 26, 2024, 11:53:34 PM

Author Topic: Official World Cup Draw Thread  (Read 61261 times)

Official World Cup Draw Thread
« on: November 17, 2005, 10:02:04 AM »
Flex, Tallman... I am asking that you make this thread ah sticky... because I know there will be nuff questions and speculation... so men could ask questions and get dey answers right here:

The World Cup Draw will be conducted on December 9th in Lepzieg, Germany.
ESPN 2 will televise the draw live from 3pm EST
Univision and Telemundo's coverage will begin at 2pm EST

Germany will be the first seed in A1... Brazil will be in F1

63.67 Brazil
48.83 Spain
47.83 Germany
47.33 Mexico
46.33 Argentina
45.83 England
45.83 Italy
44.67 France

It is possible that FIFA could change the formula or alter it, but because the last three world cups used this formula, it is a good projection of which teams will be seeded.

The formula used can be found here on Big Soccer
http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6460526&postcount=3

There WILL be 4 pots

Pot A WILL be the 8 seeded teams

Pot B WILL be the remaining (2) Conmebol teams, 5 Africa and Australia

Pot C WILL be the remaining (9) European teams... Serbia being the lowest ranked team will be separated and drawn last

Pot D WILL be the remaining (3) Concacaf and (4) Asia

Germany WILL be in Group A with games played in Munich, Berlin and Dortmund (largest stadiums)!
Brazil WILL be based in Group F as games will also be played in Munich, Berlin and Dortmund

One team from each pot to a group.. with the following rules.

No more than one team per confederation in each group with the exception of UEFA which may have no more than two!

These are the basic rules! So for example Trinidad cannot get drawn with France and Germany as they will be in the same pot and cannot get drawn against each other. We may not be drawn with an Asian team

Here is a NEW mock draw based on the above rules

Group A: Germany, Netherlands, Paraguay, Costa Rica
Group B: Spain, South Korea, Switzerland, Angola
Group C: Italy, Ivory Coast, Croatia, Trinidad & Tobago
Group D: Mexico, Ecuador, Iran, Ukraine
Group E: France, Sweden, Japan, Australia
Group F: Brazil, Togo, Serbia & Montenegro, Portugal
Group G: Argentina, Tunisia, Saudi Arabia, Poland
Group H: England, Ghana, Czech Republic, USA

Any questions and or errors noted please post away!!
« Last Edit: December 09, 2005, 11:37:34 PM by Tallman »

Offline d00d

• ball kicker defender guy
Re: Official World Cup Draw Thread
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2005, 10:19:44 AM »
umm...u kno USA ranked much higher than italy nd england? im sure u'll see them in the top 8

Offline bill

« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2005, 10:22:09 AM »
WAIT... HOLD UP!!!.. .Trinidad is not a seeded team????... What de azz!. Dat formula had to be rubbish we!  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2005, 10:24:53 AM »
umm...u kno USA ranked much higher than italy and england? im sure u'll see them in the top 8

de top 8 not based on rankings only, it based on both rankings and performances at major FIFA competitions.

« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2005, 10:25:51 AM »
umm...u kno USA ranked much higher than italy nd england? im sure u'll see them in the top 8

Saddis.... go and read de link ah provide bout de damn seeding formula nah.....

Fifa ranking is part of the formula but not all of it.....

Offline FATZ

• I SELL FOOTBALL JERSEYS
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2005, 10:28:44 AM »
Group G - England, Poland, Paraguay, Trini & Tobago

I like that mock group there, i see a 2nd round for us. Here are a few of my groups where i see us in the 2nd round.

England, Australia, T&T and Iran
France, T&T, Switzerland, Ukraine(big up Sheva)
Argentina, T&T, Togo, Sweden
Spain, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, T&T
WELCOME TO DINSLEY OUT IN THE STREETZ THEY CALL ME FATZ

Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I can do all things. Phil 4:13

« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2005, 10:36:54 AM »
the "world cup" still to damn eurocentric.

and look at how all ah dem except germany and turkey bust last time.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2005, 10:45:10 AM »
I cannot see England and / or Spain being Seeded

« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2005, 10:48:29 AM »

Why not?

They may not be seeded in de end if Fifa changes their seeding formula.... but according to de formula... there you have it

« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2005, 11:09:06 AM »
FF I like that MOCKUP...

Ah Love it ( copy write Andre Samuel)

« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2005, 11:25:06 AM »
personally i want a  group wit africans in it

gahna, ivory coast

tnt

argentina

iran

ent we did play iran aready or was dat iraq???

i wa see whitley an esssien  go down
or drogba versus dog and stern vs toure

« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2005, 11:28:23 AM »
Makes for a good read.  Nice job dey FF.

I really doh care who we get grouped with, I just want to see the country of Trinidad and Tobago go up on de board.  Ah didn't cry yesterday (close to but did not) but ah aint promising not to on December 9th.

I can't wait for December 9th when everything will become crystal clear!!!

Offline FATZ

• I SELL FOOTBALL JERSEYS
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2005, 11:50:36 AM »

gahna, ivory coast

tnt

argentina

iran

I believe Whitley could out play Essien on a good day, Dog could more than handle Drogba in the air and Stern could break Toure back which might be the easiest matchup out of the three.
WELCOME TO DINSLEY OUT IN THE STREETZ THEY CALL ME FATZ

Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I can do all things. Phil 4:13

Offline d00d

• ball kicker defender guy
« Reply #13 on: November 17, 2005, 02:52:13 PM »

Saddis.... go and read de link ah provide bout de damn seeding formula nah.....

Fifa ranking is part of the formula but not all of it.....

oo goood...arite i goin an hide in my hole here now....but tanx dey...

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #14 on: November 17, 2005, 03:56:25 PM »
 WHITLEY COULD PLAY MID FIELD WIT NE OF D BIG TEAMS IN D WORLD HE BETTER DAN ESSIEN, ESSIEN JUS IN A FIRST WORLD COUNTRY WITH PROFFESIONAL CLUB TEAMS WHO GAMES SHOW ALL OVER THE WORLD SO PPL SEE HIM....WHITELY GOIN TO GO FAR

and as far as world cup goes alot of teams have been inconsistent so ne body could beat ne body lolol teams like spain ukraine  even france hadda take everyteam they bounce up serious

« Reply #15 on: November 17, 2005, 04:56:34 PM »
 Teflon Don ...I agree with you....It is an absolute shame that Aurtis Whitley was not given a fair opportunity under Coach Bertille St. Clair...The man is really class...I saying that long time...I wanted to know why some of the local men were getting left-out...But the thing is that we have good talent in T&T and they are never given the opportunity...Plenty of them try to go to a US school so that they could eventually enter the draft for MLS...I don't blame them because they could get a degree and eventually a good job but that doesn't hide the fact that alot of our Talent are wasted !!!

For the mock group that we in...That look like a Group of Death ;D ;D ....All i know is that if we prepare oursleves in Quality Friendlies then We will surprise plenty teams in the WOrld CUP .....GO T&T

« Reply #16 on: November 17, 2005, 05:01:24 PM »

Why not?

They may not be seeded in de end if Fifa changes their seeding formula.... but according to de formula... there you have it
spain kinda debatable for me too...anybody know if top asia, or top africa could replace?  we know, the men who come up with this formula highly eurocentric.

Offline canadiantrini

• togeter we aspire. together we achieve
  • T+T=victory!
« Reply #17 on: November 17, 2005, 05:04:07 PM »
yeh they are. but maybe dey wil b aving a broader international influece dis year when dey do de seeds.

« Reply #18 on: November 17, 2005, 05:06:04 PM »
so you think they will change the formula too?

« Reply #19 on: November 17, 2005, 05:16:47 PM »
Are you sure that FIFA will use this seeding formula?
No. However, the last world cup this was the specific formula used. World cups '98 and '94 used a formula extremely similar--possibly identical, but the details of those formulas were never spelled out as specifically as the one used in '02. It is possible that FIFA could change the formula or alter it, but because the last three world cups used this formula, it is a good projection of which teams will be seeded.

well I go answer my own question...I feel sepp blatter grandson who in primary school come up with that formula.   Imagine equal weight to world cup 16yrs ago, to now.  lewwe lodge protests...too much europe!

« Reply #20 on: November 17, 2005, 07:23:25 PM »
well I go answer my own question...I feel sepp blatter grandson who in primary school come up with that formula.   Imagine equal weight to world cup 16yrs ago, to now.  lewwe lodge protests...too much europe!

Bounty... actually they taking WC's 02, 98, and 94... and if you look at the formula it is weighted so that the most recent World Cup carries more weight....

« Reply #21 on: November 17, 2005, 07:48:20 PM »
ah hope we draw brazil, ah rather play dem in de first round 2 test our skill and it will also improve we team

vibes it up

« Reply #22 on: November 17, 2005, 08:26:01 PM »

gahna, ivory coast

tnt

argentina

iran

it was Iraq that we played and beat.

« Reply #23 on: November 18, 2005, 12:07:31 AM »
Pot C MAY likely be the remaining (2) Conmebol teams, 4 Asia and Australia

Pot D MAY likely be the remaining (3) Concacaf and (5) Africa

Fifa may lump 3 Concacaf with 4 Asia and Australia as an alternative!

No more than one team per confederation in each group with the exception of UEFA which may have no more than two!

i studying the blue/red rules. i think the green rule good enough. it seem like they could take the remaining 16 teams and spread them at random over the groups as long as they follow the green rule. but the blue/red rule ensures that one confederation can avoid getting drawn with another confederation.

in the blue situation, CONCACAF teams avoiding African teams

in the red situation, CONMEBOL and the extra UEFA teams avoiding the African teams.

i could see the europeans and south americans pushing for the red situation - dem fraid the African teams 2 bad!

Offline Montjoy

Speculation in the German Newspaper this morning
« Reply #24 on: November 18, 2005, 05:57:58 AM »
Hammer-Gruppe
Deutschland
Holland
Paraguay
Elfenbeinküste

Traum-Gruppe
Deutschland
USA
Saudi-Arabien
Trinidad & Tobago

To translate this fu allyu.: The Germans hope that they do not end up in the Group they call the hammer Group which includes Holland, Paraguay and Ivory Coast. The wish that they will end up in a group (Dream Group) with USA, Saudia Arabia and Trinidad and Tobago

Offline Franz B.

Re: Speculation in the German Newspaper this morning
« Reply #25 on: November 18, 2005, 09:06:57 AM »

Traum-Gruppe
Deutschland
USA
Saudi-Arabien
Trinidad & Tobago

To translate this fu allyu.: The Germans hope that they do not end up in the Group they call the hammer Group which includes Holland, Paraguay and Ivory Coast. The wish that they will end up in a group (Dream Group) with USA, Saudia Arabia and Trinidad and Tobago

My dream too.

Franz B.
TnT TST ticket holder

« Reply #26 on: November 18, 2005, 10:53:55 AM »
Traum-Gruppe
Deutschland
USA
Saudi-Arabien
Trinidad & Tobago

The wish that they will end up in a group (Dream Group) with USA, Saudia Arabia and Trinidad and Tobago

but that is a set of dumkopfs they have on that board. how t&t could be in the same group as the usa?

Wir zum Deutschland gehen!!!!!

« Reply #27 on: November 18, 2005, 12:59:17 PM »
I backing Spain as we seeded team...perennial chokers ! And plus all their fans in red so we team will feel at home ! Is that second European team that will be the wild card for us because the way these things work we will end up with holland and australia just to have the whole dutch connection thing ! Otherwise we capable of beating any asian side, any african side and paraguay and ecuador...especially with Leo having 6mths to plan for they ass.

Offline laertes

« Reply #28 on: November 18, 2005, 02:11:20 PM »
i did not read all the posts but i can say this, Spain may not be a seeded team, they were in a playoff just like us..

Offline Gibraldo

« Reply #29 on: November 19, 2005, 01:50:28 AM »
here you can simulate a mock draw, according to the estimated seedings.

http://home.comcast.net/~stymieg/Draw06.htm